Dartmouth, Nova Scotia - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More
Photo by Christopher Norman

Cod Fish Cakes

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2014
Love the recipe, but the taste needs a little... zing. it's easy to make and is awesome to fill up on. I will definitely be making it again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christopher Norman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Salmon with Lemon and Dill

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2014
OMG! So easy and sooooo goooooooood. Literally took me 30 minutes. I mean, I had all the stuff, but 5 minutes to prepare, 25 to bake. Voila awesomeness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christopher Norman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Pretzel Turtles®

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
made for a fundraiser! great choice! rave reviews
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANDREAATWOOD

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Spinach Brownies

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
humm changed a few things in my version. added finely chopped, cooked apple smoked bacon, never had enough mozzarella, so i used fresh grated Parmesan. was a hit at work potluck
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANDREAATWOOD

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Beef Stew VI

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2013
This is the best stew I've ever had! We added half a Rutabaga(diced), as well as one large Parsnip(Also diced). Also increased the veggies(not sure how much, but there was at least double the potato) We made this in our crock pot slow cooker, and added more water and an additional bouillon cube as well as a squirt of lemon, and a pinch of salt and garlic. And of course, we added some dumplings. We've made it twice so far, and this will absolutely be our go-to recipe for when we want a hearty, filling and drool-worthy stew. I think next time we might add some mushrooms as well, I think the taste would compliment this stew rather well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Richard Moser

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Pork Chops for the Slow Cooker

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2013
The most tender pork chops I have ever had! I should have listened to a few of the reviews and cut the soya sauce in half, I found it a bit too salty but not enough to give this recipe a bad review. We used boneless pork chops and cooked on low for 8 hours, incredibly tender! Great recipe but definitely cut the soya sauce in half and add the honey as recommended by others.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dieppe, New Brunswick, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Santa Fe Chicken

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2013
Made this for supper tonight. Added 1/2 cup frozen corn, sprinkle fajita spice from epicure on the chicken, and topped with kraft jalepeno cheddar. Also didn't have cream of chicken soup, so i used cream of mushroom and added chicken stock to the water. Really enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANDREAATWOOD

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Asian Marinated Pork Chops

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2013
YUM!! I really liked this recipe - very easy to make! The only change was that I used fresh grated ginger - I try using fresh ingredients as much as possible and since I just bought some the night before I thought I would add it instead of the powder. We marinated the pork chops overnight and baked them instead as the temperature outside was a bit too chilly for BBQ. Very good recipe and super easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dieppe, New Brunswick, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Classic Bran Muffins

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2013
I love it! Make them all the time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anjelka

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Banana Banana Bread

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2013
Very good, I added 2/3 cup chocolate chips to this and it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by junebugg

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Spruce Grove, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Roquefort Pear Salad

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2013
I would recommend this to anyone. Pretty to look at, glorious flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Sugar Cookie Glaze

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2013
I mix up a huge batch then separate for different paste food coloring. I also use the food color markers and this holds up well if I let it dry overnight - it may be ready sooner, but I always wait at least 10 hours. It packs and ships well too. The only time I have had difficulty it when I've overdone the water or corn syrup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OlliesMommy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

S'mores

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2013
Try making them with chocolate covered shortbread or flavoured chocolate. Yummmm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANDREAATWOOD

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Pizza Dough III

Reviewed: May 20, 2013
Love this recipie. Used it n oven and on grill. I cook on 525* on a pizza stone. Check dough at 6 mins. Quarter turn every 5 mins til golden brown.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANDREAATWOOD

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Sweet and Sour Drumettes

Reviewed: May 16, 2013
Absolutley fantastic!! Super, super easy recipe to prepare / cook! I wouldn't change a thing - the only thing I didnt do was actually measure the flour - I just used what I thought was needed! YUMM :))
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dieppe, New Brunswick, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Pineapple Angel Food Cake I

Reviewed: May 12, 2013
This is the easiest and tastiest cake ever. I can't believe how good it is with such little prep and only 2 ingredients. I actually added 1/2 cup shredded coconut but may add a bit more next time. We ate the bundt cake within 2 days, just the two of us. I bought a few more angel food cake mixes and stocked up on crushed pineapple. This will be my go to dessert whether I'm in a rush with company over or whether it's just hubby and I. yummo. We're from Hawaii as is our dog and we love the pineapple, coconut combo. Topped with cool whip. Nothing sweeter than that needed. Thanks for sharing. So easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WahiniSuzi

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Haiku, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Best Big, Fat, Chewy Chocolate Chip Cookie

Reviewed: May 5, 2013
Yep, these are my new fave! I used a non-stick pan and only baked for 13 minutes, as another reviewer recommended. Three days later, and they are still soft and delicious. I only ended up with 16 and used a 1/4 cup measure for each cookie. But they are big enough to share, so it's all good. I lost my old stand-by recipe and have been trying to find a replacement. Bingo! I just did. Thanks for this, Elizabeth!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heatherbee

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Hazelnut-Mushroom Pilaf

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2013
This turned out fantastic! I didn't change a thing. Will make this as an impressive side dish many more times. Thanks for sharing the recipe, Stephndon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heatherbee

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Marinade for Chicken

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2013
Loved it, you bet! With so many positive reviews, I figured I couldn't go wrong, and I wasn't disappointed! I changed the serving quantity to 8 from 32 and did everything else as was called for (using olive oil), though I did leave out the salt, as some suggested. I marinated three chicken breasts, cut into smaller pieces for kabobs, for close to 6 hours, reserving 1/4 cup for basting on the grill. We brushed it on the veggie skewers too, and everything was delicious. The chicken was remarkably tender. I served this with hazelnut-mushroom pilaf, also on this site. Absolutely fabulous, and it made three generous servings. Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heatherbee

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Slow Cooker Cranberry Roast

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2013
DELICIOUS! A definite must try and super easy to make!! I only did one thing different - when the meat is done, take the drippings out of the slow cooker and pour in a pot, put on the stove. Add the flour and butter as stated and make your gravy there! I found it took a long time in the slow cooker and didn't get the gravy texture I was looking for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dieppe, New Brunswick, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-40 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States