Dartmouth, Nova Scotia - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Roast Sticky Chicken-Rotisserie Style

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2014
One of my favorite chicken recipes. I also make the spice mix and use it for a lot of other things as well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Benatural

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Oven Meatballs

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2014
Looked this up on a whim and had it ready in an hour. Was really happy with it! Was easy to put together and tasted pretty good too. Sauce was a bit runnier than I expected but was still quite good over rice. I'll make it again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christopher Norman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Marinated Flank Steak

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2014
Wow, this was so delicious! My husband started eating it while I was thinly slicing and when I was done he said he could eat the whole thing himself. I made it exactly as written. Used a 2.5 lb flank, I boiled for 8 minutes per side on a foiled sheet. It was so juicy. Can't wait to make poo-poos for the next gathering. This will be a huge hit! thank you :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WahiniSuzi

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Haiku, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Venison Stew I

Reviewed: May 6, 2014
I have been trying different recipes for cooking deer for 4 years. My husband is an avid hunter and loves venison. I've found the winner! He asked me how I made it because he has never in his life had it any tastier. He said it was perfect! I'm so happy to know I finally found "the one". I didn't make a stew though I just cooked exactly as written minus adding veggies but used onion with the meat. He prefers it this way rather than a stew. I usually slow cook a roast. I wonder if this recipe could be adapted for a roast? I'll try it next time. THANKS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WahiniSuzi

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Haiku, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Jambalasta

Reviewed: May 6, 2014
Can I give this a 5+++? This is amazing. My husband asked for jambalaya but does not like rice so I searched for a recipe that was made with pasta instead and found this one. I invited all my kids home for dinner==>I have 3 grown sons so I tripled the recipe. Fantastic. Only change I made was that I used penne pasta rather than linguini (hubby's preference). Been making it for almost 3 years now and never get tired of it. A friend of my sons has had it and then ordered at a restaurant. He told the staff they needed to ask me for my recipe cuz theirs didn't even come close. If you get the chance you have to make this. RAESIVE thank you for sharing this. YUMMY
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Orangeville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Roasted Onions

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2014
These are delicious, I will never fry onions again! I cut the large white onions into quarters, placed on one cut side then flipped over half way thru since I had two sides cut. Yummy. My hubby and I devoured them along with cold Chinese pork and Hasselback taters. Can't wait to make for guests. (I skipped balsamic vinegar)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WahiniSuzi

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Haiku, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Mexican Casserole

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2014
I had some leftover pico de gallo to use up and used it instead of salsa. We loved this, though we deviated from the basic concept somewhat. Like other reviewers, I modified the ingredients and seasonings to include corn, cumin, cilantro and garlic. I also substitued black beans for refried beans and added ground beef, all of which I simmered while toasting the tortillas, as suggested by another reviewer to avoid a soggy texture. Served with sour cream and heartily enjoyed by the family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heatherbee

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Aimee's Quick Chicken

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2014
So. Tasty. I really didn't think something that simple would taste so good! Oh... and I used real bacon crumbled in it. May have been the game changer. Still.. amazing. Can't wait to eat the left overs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christopher Norman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Shrimp Alfredo Pasta

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2014
I used a 2 lb bag of frozen shrimp. Boiled in water til just cooked then strained. As a reviewer mentioned there were a lot of dishes, I managed to avoid that. After removing shrimp from pot I boiled them in, I melted about 1/4 c butter. I added shrimp to it and stirred to coat. I then placed buttered shrimp back into strainer to sit. I sauteed minced garlic and sliced mushroom in the now buttered pot. Once that was done I added the bottled 3 cheese Alfredo sauce. Heated on medium then added shrimp back to pot and continued to heat. Added chopped green onion at this point. Cooked pasta in mean time and voila! Yummy meal! I omitted cumin as well as green pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WahiniSuzi

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Haiku, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Spanish Rice Bake

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2014
Tasty! Reminds me a bit of my stuffed bell pepper filling, but easier and quicker to make. My kids are grown, but I wish we'd had this recipe in our arsenal while they were with us. It's great to have another option for ground beef. I followed the recipe, except I used a 28-oz can of tomatoes, as well as a couple of the tips in other reviews, adding a handful of frozen corn at the same time as the other additions, and browning the ground beef along with a clove of garlic and the onion. I, too, made the entire meal in a cast iron skillet rather than messing with other pots. My husband raved about this and enjoyed seconds as well as taking some for lunch the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heatherbee

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Kalua Pig in a Slow Cooker

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2014
I have been making kalua pig while we lived on the Islands and now on the mainland. I used to use banana leaf but now since we no longer have a banana tree in my backyard, I use 4-5 whole bananas. I poke holes all over the pork and then rub the smoke and salt all over. With fat side up, place bananas on top then on goes the lid. I cook for 3 hours high then 5-6 on low. We eat it with white rice and peas. Yummy! Also with leftovers, kalua pig nachos are great. Just layers of nacho chips, cheese, pig, then top with black olives, tomatoes, guacamole, whatever you like! This recipe is da kine grinds!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WahiniSuzi

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Haiku, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Turkey and Quinoa Meatloaf

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2014
Absolutely delicious and SUPER MOIST!! We followed the instructions exactly (we'll add a bit more quinoa next time because we love it so much!) and it turned out wonderful. Definitely a keeper and we will make this again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dieppe, New Brunswick, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jen L

Blueberry Loaf

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2014
We found this very bland flavor wise. It's a good base but really needs cinnamon. Also I found for my oven 60min is a little too long.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Christopher Norman

Cod Fish Cakes

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2014
Love the recipe, but the taste needs a little... zing. it's easy to make and is awesome to fill up on. I will definitely be making it again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christopher Norman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Salmon with Lemon and Dill

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2014
OMG! So easy and sooooo goooooooood. Literally took me 30 minutes. I mean, I had all the stuff, but 5 minutes to prepare, 25 to bake. Voila awesomeness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christopher Norman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Pretzel Turtles

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
made for a fundraiser! great choice! rave reviews
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANDREAATWOOD

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Spinach Brownies

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
humm changed a few things in my version. added finely chopped, cooked apple smoked bacon, never had enough mozzarella, so i used fresh grated Parmesan. was a hit at work potluck
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANDREAATWOOD

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Pork Chops for the Slow Cooker

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2013
The most tender pork chops I have ever had! I should have listened to a few of the reviews and cut the soya sauce in half, I found it a bit too salty but not enough to give this recipe a bad review. We used boneless pork chops and cooked on low for 8 hours, incredibly tender! Great recipe but definitely cut the soya sauce in half and add the honey as recommended by others.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dieppe, New Brunswick, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Santa Fe Chicken

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2013
Made this for supper tonight. Added 1/2 cup frozen corn, sprinkle fajita spice from epicure on the chicken, and topped with kraft jalepeno cheddar. Also didn't have cream of chicken soup, so i used cream of mushroom and added chicken stock to the water. Really enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANDREAATWOOD

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Asian Marinated Pork Chops

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2013
YUM!! I really liked this recipe - very easy to make! The only change was that I used fresh grated ginger - I try using fresh ingredients as much as possible and since I just bought some the night before I thought I would add it instead of the powder. We marinated the pork chops overnight and baked them instead as the temperature outside was a bit too chilly for BBQ. Very good recipe and super easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dieppe, New Brunswick, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States