Nova Scotia - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Fluffy Pancakes

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2015
LOVE this recipe.. it is so quick and easy to put together and the pancakes turned out great, tall and fluffy! I added some chocolate chips and everyone gobbled them up! Doesn't make enough though, next time I will definitely double the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen Newton

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sudbury, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Truro, Nova Scotia, Canada
Photo by Shilo

Best Hot Sauce

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2015
I know the recipe says beef bouillon, but I actually use chicken. You can use any type of bouillon you like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shilo
Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

Date Nut Loaf Cake

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2015
What a great loaf, crushed up nuts really fine everyone loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by grammy frizzell

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pictou, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Big Smokey Burgers

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2015
I'm no wimp when it comes to spicy food, in fact I love it. But this recipe was way too spicy. Took away from the natural beef flavor. It was also far too much garlic. I want my burger to taste like a burger, not like smokey chili peppers covered in garlic. Burger recipes should accent the natural flavors of the meat - NOT overpower them. Will definitely not be making this again.. At least not as burgers. If you reduce just about everything, it would make a wonderful meatloaf, I think.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Richard Moser

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Old Fashioned Coconut Cream Pie

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2015
I made the changes suggested by previous reviewers (1.5 c coconut milk, 1.5 c blend, corn starch instead of flour). I used flaked coconut from a bag as I couldn't find frozen, untoasted in the custard and toasted on top. I used real whipped cream, 1cup with 2 tbsp sugar and 1tsp coconut flavouring instead of vanilla. I also cooked the custard in the microwave, I did 1 minute intervals stirring after each min, took 7 minutes. I had enough filling for 12 tarts and 1 8" pie shell. Super yummy and surprisingly easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Boiled Bagels

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2015
delicious! but one warning - make sure you do not OVER rise them or they will collapse into horrid, wrinkly slabs when you scoop them out of the boiling water. I made 12 the first time, one collapsed, 10 the next time and all collapsed because my oven was on auto clean and stayed locked past the rising time. Live and learn. Next batch (made with garlic and caramelized onion) was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Good dog Molly

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prospect Bay, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Original Irish Cream

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2015
delicious & easy to make. I like it thinner so I use half & half (called coffee cream in Nova Scotia) instead of the heavy cream. Cut the whiskey down to 1 1/2 C and a few times skipped the almond flavouring when I ran out. It's more authentic with 1/2 tsp almond but still delicious. I never have instant coffee so I use the bottom of the pot ( 1/4 C) or a brewed pod of espresso. You can play with the recipe and it stays good. I always add the cream to the whiskey, not other way around and it never curdles. And I always use Jamiesons whiskey. No playing with that part of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Good dog Molly

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prospect Bay, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

My Best Clam Chowder

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2015
My husband made this for supper tonight and followed the recipes to a tee. Nice surprise to come home to this. Must say it was delisous and the croutons made it that much better. We are from Nova Scotia but must say this is the best I have ever had. A BIG YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim Leeder Smith

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lower Sackville, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Waldorf Salad II

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2015
Delicious easy salad. I used Honeycrisp apples and drenched them with the lemon juice. I can see swopping the walnuts out with sunflower seeds and Craisins to change it up. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by K Gilchrist
Home Town: Waverley, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2015
Excellent as is:0)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chronicbon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sydney, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Starr

Potato Rosemary Rolls

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2015
I've made this twice recently. Once with white bread flour and again yesterday with my own milled flour with the bran sifted out. I weighed the dough into 14 pieces instead of 12 as I wanted smaller dinner buns. These are so excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Starr

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Amherst, Nova Scotia, Canada
Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

Baked Teriyaki Chicken

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2015
New family fave. Only used 9 thighs but the sauce was PERFECT. Will be making again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christopher Norman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Grandma's Lemon Meringue Pie

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2015
Store didn't have lemons but used 4 limes instead. Oh! and the meringue takes FOREVER to whip by hand, so use a mixer! Super tasty though. Family really enjoyed it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christopher Norman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Beef Stew VI

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2015
It reminded me of the stew my mom made when I was little. It was perfect! Needed a little thickening at the end, but nothing a little roux couldn't fix. So tasty. Definitely going to be a highlight in our recipe box.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christopher Norman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

To Die For Blueberry Muffins

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2015
My gluten-free version: sub the flour for 1 c white rice flour and 1 1/2 c gluten-free all purpose flour containing chick pea flour, reduce sugar to 1/2 c, replace baking powder with 1 1/2 tsp GF baking powder + 1/2 tsp xanthan gum and increase milk to 1/2 cup. Mix dry ingredients well and do the same with the wet. Then mix together. I used white rice flour in the topping mixture. I keep the leftover topping mix in the fridge because it makes way too much for one batch. I divided the blueberries in half in two bowls, coating one half with rice flour and lightly crushing the other half. Bake 22 minutes at 400 convection.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cyndi Brannen

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Traditional White Bread

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2015
This bread is a good solid white bread and I've used it to make several types; it's easy to modify this bread. I've made cinnamon swirl with raisin, jalapeno cheddar as well sundried tomato & basil. Also, rolls turn out fantastic as well
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by erin

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Glace Bay, Nova Scotia, Canada
Living In: Sackville, Nova Scotia, Canada

Killer Cells Be Gone

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2015
Dr. Johanna Budwig, a German biochemist and expert on fats and oils was nominated SIX times for nobel award for her findings on preventing and helping the body cure cancer. She had an almost 100% success rate in treating cancer patients. (Nominated but never won on SIX occasions doesn't this tell you something about the power of the medical profession). Shame on them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kenneth Smith

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oxford, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Turkey Pepperoni Soup

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2015
So good!! I just throw in as many veggies as I have on hand...whole family enjoys!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tami

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Barrie, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Robin K.

Golden Sweet Cornbread

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2015
Just made this, it was super easy and tastes great, a little sweet. I made it in a cast iron skillet , 400* for 20 minutes. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robin K.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

Roasted Winter Root Vegetables

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2015
Did up carrots, parsnips, onions and garlic buds in the Actifry with 1 tbsp olive oil, the basil and black pepper for two people. Excellent with the Slow Cooker German Shortribs!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Starr

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Amherst, Nova Scotia, Canada
Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States