St. John's - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Dumplings

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2015
Perfect dumplings to drop in soups! thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Simple Macaroni and Cheese

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2015
added a bit of seasoning to taste from various reviews, but otherwise recipe as is is quick, cheesy, and a lovely texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Asian Lettuce Wraps

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2015
These were just okay for me. I did recipe exactly as written. Big upfront cost (especially if not going to be making these a lot) with cost of rice vinegar, hoisin, sesame oil, chill paste. One thing that went wrong for me was the type of lettuce (not recipe fault) I couldn't get Boston bib so I used romaine. The romaine did not work well at all because of the large rib up middle of each leaf. I may have enjoyed these more if was not for that. Thanks for the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Szechwan Shrimp

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2015
Delicious! I actually used the sauce for this in a seafood stirfry with shrimp and scallops. It was delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Honey Baked Chicken Legs / Thighs by Cynthia Stone (Yummy)

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2015
Sue - I tried this with wings and they were delicious. I used more garlic for the wings - about 4 cloves. cooked them at 425 uncovered in the small round black roaster for about 1/2 hour and then turned back oven to 350 until they were good and done. Sauce goes right through them. Brad says these are his favourite wings ever. I agree....they are tangy and great!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Overnight Blueberry French Toast

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2014
Excellent. But, I did whip the cream cheese with a 1/3 cup of icing sugar and spread over the bread. Also, I used Ciabata bread - because nice and dense. Also added a sprinkle of cinnamon over the middle and top layers. I poured the blueberry sauce over for about the last 15 minutes of baking. I brought this to a pot luck brunch and it was probably the favourite dish and everyone wanted the recipe. YUUMMMMMMM
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Extreme Chocolate Cake

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2014
Came out great. Lacked intense chocolate flavor, but definitely tasted homemade and better than a cake mix. I might try adding more cocoa powder or cocoa flavoring next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mistyaqua

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Perfect Turkey

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2014
Came out beautiful. Everyone said it was the best turkey they had ever eaten. It was gone by the next day. The only thing I would do differently the next time around would be putting some tin foil over the breast meat to keep it from sticking to the bottom of the pan. It did that and tore the skin off the breast, so I put some tin foil over it to keep the moisture in, but next time I would put the tin foil over the breast at the very beginning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mistyaqua

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Blackberry Cobbler II

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2014
Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SandraD

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Old Fashioned Mac'n Cheese

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2014
good. used soy milk as called for and as usual you wouldn't know the difference. i grated the cheese and added some parmesan in with the panko as well, as another review suggested. it was nicely cheesy and had a creamy texture. the only change i might make next time is to add something for a bit of kick!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Rhubarb Barbeque Sauce

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2014
Awesome! I don't usually write reviews but after making this recipe I had to. With a big patch of rhubarb, I was getting tired of pies,and jams and thought I would give this recipe a try. I didn't use the smoke, and used paprika rather than chipotle, because it was what i had. It's so good my husband went out and bought chicken to BBQ so he could use the sauce. (I just caught him dipping his fingers in the sauce :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SandraD

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Layered Seafood Dip

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2014
Delicious! The only change I made is I used chill sauce instead of seafood sauce (seafood sauce is probably better - but I didn't have any) and I put the pepper, tomatoes and green onion on top of the shredded cheese. It was really really yummy!! thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cream of Mushroom Soup I

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2014
This is my go to recipe. I love the simplicity and ease of preparation. The only difference I made was to add about 1/4 tsp. of freshly ground nutmeg, just because I like the flavour of it with creamy dishes. Everything else I left the same.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Peanut Butter Chocolate Chip Cookies II

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2014
I made them this evening, and I didn't give this a 1 star because they technically were edible, but, as others had found, my cookies were a hot mess. Crumbly, no matter WHEN you ate them (right out of the oven or an hour or two later). The taste was bland, it wasn't overly peanut-buttery OR sweet, which made them boring to eat. I used all natural peanut butter and milk chocolate chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MissKay

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Breakfast Pies

Reviewed: May 3, 2014
loved these. i used pillsbury crescent roll dough, and made them vegetarian using veg ground round. brought them to brunch and they were devoured by all ages. definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Happy Hippy Stuffing

Reviewed: May 3, 2014
i really wanted to love this but i found it kind of dry and bland. maybe i just don't like grape nuts!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Jalapeno Poppers I

Reviewed: May 3, 2014
i used panko crumbs cos that was what i had, and these were just awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Nacho Cheese Sauce

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2014
Was perfect! Added some chopped pickled jalapeños and some of brine to add some heat....mmmmm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jenkat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Pumpkin Wheat Honey Muffins

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2014
awesome when following the general suggestions in the reviews. used craisins and sliced almonds, nice combination.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Tex Mex Stuffed Mushrooms

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2014
these just didn't work for me. first time i've made stuffed mushrooms of any sort where they weren't all eaten.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States