New Brunswick - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Dijon Grilled Pork Chops

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2013
I followed this recipe to the letter & it had absolutely no taste. I saved some of the marinade for basting as we bbq'd them & they were moist, but that was about it. Won't make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Riverview, New Brunswick, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Sweet and Sour Pork I

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2013
I have to admit I used this recipe simply for the sauce which was fantastic! I simply dredged the pork in arrowroot flour, and chopped up a mixture of vegetables I had on hand. I made the sauce the way it was written except for substituting rice vinegar for the white vinegar, and leaving out the salt. Everyone loved it and I will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tonia.st

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Strawberry Lemon Muffins

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2013
Awesome. Used 3 tbsp lemon juice and 1 1/4 cups chopped frozen strawberries, also subst. water instead of milk and used all purpose flour for the whole amount (no whole wheat flour) and they turned out beautifully moist and delicious! Lemon/icing sugar topping goes well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

White Chocolate, Chocolate Cookies

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2013
Delicious!! Didn't change a thing. I ended up with 5.5 dozen cookies. Will make these again. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by natashabjw

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sackville, New Brunswick, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

All American Apple Pie

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2013
When I read the ingredients for the crust, I was a bit leery, but after eating the pie, we found we loved it. I did have to cook it longer then suggested, but in the end it was excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Riverview, New Brunswick, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Strawberry Rhubarb Custard Pie

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2013
I have made this recipe a few times... With great success.. .. I was asked to make a few pies for a local community fund raiser and auction ... So now I can Boast that if you want my pies .. you'll need to pay a whopping $1000 each..... Thanks Chef John for sharing this recipe..!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Belfast, Prince Edward Island, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Spiced Sweet Roasted Red Pepper Hummus

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2013
this is AMAZING. We eat it like 4 days out of the week ..addicted completely! I use jars of roasted red or yellow peppers instead of roasting my own, works perfectly (drained). Thanks for sharing this recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Zap

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Manchester, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Refreshing Spaghetti Squash and Cucumber Salad

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2013
The spaghetti squash was not cooked after 30 minutes, I gave it an extra 30 because it wasn't even close, and at that point it was still kind of crunchy. Should have specified on size of squash. The sauce made it too lemony and oily. This kind of made me feel sick, but my husband said it was alright so that's why I give it 3 stars, rather than 2.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Caribbean Banana Muffins

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2013
I can only give this 3 stars because, although the taste was okay, they were a little drier than I prefer. I made the recipe as is because this was my first time using it. I'll keep looking for one I like better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Szechwan Shrimp

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2013
This was a hit with my husband - he used a fork instead of our usual chopsticks, saying he "wanted to be able to eat it faster"! haha Very nice flavour. We doubled the sauce as suggested and it made a good amount for mixing up with a few stir fried veggies and rice. Nothing wrong with pre-cooked shrimp, just don't leave it on the heat more than 2 minutes or less (you won't need to).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Italian Sausage Soup

Reviewed: May 29, 2013
Added 1 purple sweet potato,2 small potatoes,1 extra garlic, half a large onion, 2 stalks of celery, 1.5 fresh tomatoes, no pasta, 2 Tablespoons of italian seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Exotic Mushroom and Walnut Pate

Reviewed: May 24, 2013
Very good! Im vegan so i had to modify the ingredients but it turned out fabulous. I also added almond pulp (from making almond milk) the texture is smooth like a liver pâté. Hubby liked it too, he couldn't stop eating it. Will make this again but will make sure to use the variety of mushrooms asked for in the recipe. I only had button mushrooms on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Smog

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gatineau, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Edmundston, New Brunswick, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Stuffed Cabbage Rolls

Reviewed: May 20, 2013
To me this is a basic recipe. What I do is cook the hamburg up with onions and garlic pepper then add a package of taco seasoning and water, and cooked rice. I also add re-fried beans for added taste. It is spicy but not too and with the taco seasoning it just adds that punch of spice it needs. I then use a can of Accents tomatoes instead of the soup. We just love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Riverview, New Brunswick, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Sweet and Sour Drumettes

Reviewed: May 16, 2013
Absolutley fantastic!! Super, super easy recipe to prepare / cook! I wouldn't change a thing - the only thing I didnt do was actually measure the flour - I just used what I thought was needed! YUMM :))
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dieppe, New Brunswick, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Award Winning Chili Con Carne

Reviewed: May 12, 2013
Never tasted any thing so boring.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Spicy Fan

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Woodstock, New Brunswick, Canada
Living In: Peace River, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Maple-Garlic Marinated Pork Tenderloin

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2013
We were a little disappointed with this recipe. I cooked it on the outdoor grille and it was just OK for us. I reserved and boiled the marinade, using it for basting while grilling and drizzled some over the sliced meat when serving. I did add quite a bit of freshly ground black pepper to the marinade hoping to offset the sweetness but still too sweet. This one is not a 'keeper' for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Mom's Fabulous Chicken Pot Pie with Biscuit Crust

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2013
it was easy good and quick i cooked the chicken one day, with other dinners and made the pie today, less than 30 min,good for a busy family , and its not out of a box :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by grimace

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Windsor, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Quispamsis, New Brunswick, Canada

Lana's Sweet and Sour Meatballs

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2013
I made this recipe exact as printed. However, I found that 3 tablespoons of cornstarch was a bit much and actually made the sauce too thick. I had to thin it with additional pineapple juice. I will only use 1 tablespoon of cornstarch next time. Overall it had a great flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Randy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kingsley, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Woodstock, New Brunswick, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Always Juicy Baked Ham

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2013
Hi there! I am the self professed foodie who submitted this recipe, and there is an error in the brown sugar amount. It should read 2 TBSP, and not 1/2tsp. Not sure why that happened, but happy people have been enjoying our family favourite ham! Just made it for our Easter dinner, and everyone left the table very content! Thanks for the wonderful reviews!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bitsybites

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sherwood Park, Alberta, Canada

Actually Delicious Turkey Burgers

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2013
great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-100 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States