New Brunswick - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

E-Z Drop Biscuits

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2014
I added the cheese and they were great! So easy and quick. It's nice it only dirties up one bowl too. I will definitely make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Coral

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JescaLew

Bruschetta III

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2014
This was DELICIOUS! The only thing I changed was using a Garlic Clove rather than Garlic Powder. It was so good words can't even describe just drool :P haha.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JescaLew

Cooking Level: Expert

Shortbread Cookies II

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2014
This actually makes several dozen cookies. Don't forget they don't rise like sugar cookies so roll them as thick as you want the cookie to be. I was able to roll them out and use cookie cutters with no problem. I love recipes that only have a few ingredients like this! I got lots of compliments on the cookies and I think they were my favorite tasting shortbread cookies ever. A definite keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Coral

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Baked Kale Chips

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2014
These are great! As the original poster of this recipe mentioned, I do add spices to my kale. Sometimes it's a curry powder mix, chipotle powder, smoked paprika, or just plain sea salt. I also melt a bit of coconut oil and toss the kale in a bowl with my hands while drizzling some of the oil on top, followed by my spice of choice, then popping the tray in the oven. Yummy! Thanks for the great healthy snack recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by misspia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Honey Dijon Vinaigrette

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2014
this vinaigrette was very good! Be aware that the recipe is a little more on the Dijon side than the sweet side so it's got kick to it. I just added more honey to balance it out and it was delicious :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sly Can Adian

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Apple Toast

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2014
I tried it and I realized I was just doing it cause I was hungry. I didn't keep the recipe in mind there for I didn't out the oven on broil. Haha... So note to self people! It has to be put on broil! Or you will just get mushy bread but good apples.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JescaLew

Cooking Level: Expert

The Best Rolled Sugar Cookies

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2014
These cookies came out amazingly! It was for a Christmas treat at work and everyone loved them and thought they were so cute a lot of them would pick them up and not want to eat them, but once they had one, that quickly turned into three or four. Excellent recipe! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JescaLew

Cooking Level: Expert

Short Ribs with Honey Chimichurri Sauce

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2014
Wow! These were great. Will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather Clements

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Best Brownies

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2014
The brownie part is easy and great, but the frosting recipes just yields an "un-spreadable" ball. This was a disaster for me. I thought the frosting might warm up and become spreadable when I put it on the warm brownies, but it wasn't. I had to take it off twice to add more butter so it would spread. They look terrible. I still gave this 2 stars because they taste amazing and I appreciate that all the ingredients are things I usually have on hand, but there is something wrong with this frosting recipe. Perhaps all the high reviews are from people who didn't bother with the icing part?!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Coral

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Baked Teriyaki Chicken

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2014
This recipe is AWESOME! My wife is not a big fan of Asian food and LOVED IT! I was thinking ahead of time of reducing the amount of sugar but opted out of that idea and added lots of veggies in instead, thankfully it was for the best. The only change I would make would be to double the recipe for the same amount of chicken since I had no sauce/glaze left over for those who wanted some on their rice or vegetables.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sly Can Adian

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Banana Sour Cream Bread

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2014
I tried this recipe once and loved it! My only change was the amount of butter. It asks for WAY to much. Cut it down by a third and you'll be fine... enjoy :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sly Can Adian

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Sweet Potato, Carrot, Apple, and Red Lentil Soup

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2014
I have now made this several times and it is always a crowd pleaser! I usually use coconut oil instead of butter which has an added bonus of making it vegan. I also almost double the spices, reduce the salt, and if I don't have sweet potatoes on hand, I have used squash with great success! This soup is so versatile and loved by everyone I have seen try it. You won't be disappointed! Today I made a variation by adding red curry paste, coconut milk, and fresh cilantro... It was amazing! Sriracha also goes along nicely. I don't find the yogurt garnish adds much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Coral

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Golden Rum Cake

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2014
This is a lovely, rich, and impressive cake to make!! I was a bit sceptical about using a cake mix as an ingredient, but it seems to be in the recipe for a reason and I will definitely make this again. I like that you can use different rums and am looking forward to trying out some variations, but I used Goslings black rum from Bermuda for both the cake and the glaze this time. I followed some suggestions from other reviews and poked holes in the cake right before glazing it. I also only used half the walnuts which was fine. The walnuts really add a nice flavour and texture that compliments the booziness of the cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Coral

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Banana Crumb Muffins

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2014
So tender! remember not to overstir!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Marinated Grilled Shrimp

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2014
awsome recipe! the only thing a change the red wine vinegar for a good quality balsamic vinegar. Yummy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tide Head, New Brunswick, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Dad's Leftover Turkey Pot Pie

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
Made this tonight. I cooked regular carrots, cooked for 25 min, and added them instead of the beans. I also used bob's red mill all purpose flour (cup4cup) to make it gluten free. Turned out perfect. I will try using summer savoury instead of the Italian seasoning, next time, to try and recreate my hubby's favourite maritime turkey pie. Excellent recipe as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Harvest Pork Stew

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2013
Delicious! Also use this recipe for Squash soup without the pork.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Yarmouth, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Sara's Pumpkin Pie

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2013
I used sweetened condensed milk instead of evaporated milk and got rave reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Spicy Fan

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Woodstock, New Brunswick, Canada
Living In: Peace River, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cocktail Meatballs

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2013
Made these in a double batch, following the listed recipe. Only change I made made was I used onion soup mix in the meatballs instead of onions (wasn't sure if there were any opinion haters at the function I was attending), and I added a drizzle of honey to everything during the last 10 minutes of cooking. These were amazingly good. Will definitely make again and again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by devinrowan

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oromocto, New Brunswick, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chocolate Eggnog Fudge (no marshmallows)

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2013
im trying to edit - as it won't allow me unless i pay for a monthly sub - you can replace the chocolate and dark chocolate with white chocolate for that Egnoggy Feel :) And use Rum extract instead of Vanilla :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tokie

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Glace Bay, Nova Scotia, Canada
Living In: Shediac, New Brunswick, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-60 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States