New Brunswick - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Braised Balsamic Chicken

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2015
This is a great recipe!! I keep coming back to this one time and again. Definitely a staple in my household!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JennyB

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

It's Chili by George!!

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2015
This chili is amazing! My husband and I are on a "healthy kick" so I made it with ground turkey (which I am not usually a fan of...at all) and it was wonderful. I can only imagine how good it would be with beef! 5 stars!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JennyB

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JennyB

Simple Whole Roasted Chicken

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2015
This recipe is FANTASTIC!! Like other reviewers, I doubled the spices except for the salt and sugar I also added onion inside the chicken. I cooked a 2 pound fryer chicken at the same cook temp and time that the recipe calls for and it turned out perfectly! This is definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JennyB

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Susan Voth

Pecan Snack

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2014
I can't believe how simple and yet amazing these are! They were delightful. I ashamedly didn't measure anything and just poured it on and guesstimated but it worked out so well! Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan Voth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Grandma's Secret Pie Crust

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2014
very easy to make and it taste great! love it xxxx
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chantale St-Pierre

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Campbellton, New Brunswick, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Eilish

Pumpkin Pancakes

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2014
Like Autumn in your mouth! Pancakes rise well and have great flavour and texture. Thanks so much for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eilish

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Miramichi, New Brunswick, Canada
Living In: Yarmouth, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Pumpkin Spice Coffee Muffins

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2014
Excellent! Did exactly as die ever but took another reviewers idea and put cream cheese icing! Yum!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Pumpkin Apple Streusel Muffins

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2014
Excellent recipe. I did not use the full amount of sugar, just one and a half cups instead of two. They were very moist and delicious. The whole family enjoyed them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Slow Cooker Vegetable Soup

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2014
Wasnt bad, but I agree with the gummy feeling/taste review of Carlin A. Wont make again but if you prefer a brothy soup, this is more of a stewy feel.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Best Ever Beef Marinade

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2014
I've never made a marinade before, and always just used a premade, but decided to get a little fancy today. Followed the recipe exactly, forked the *** out of my inside round roast and let it marinate for 6-8 hours this morning. Took it out of the marinade, rubbed all over with kosher salt and fresh ground pepper and seared it. Braised in the oven at low heat sitting in beef broth. SUPER YUMMY! Roast was moist and very tender and forked apart easily, and the outside pieces had a WONDERFUL flavour. Gravy was superb (though again, I didn't cook it in the marinade.) Hubby says it's the best roast I've ever made! Definitely a repeat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vanillexlove

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Spicy Stuffed Chicken Thighs

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2014
I tried this for supper tonight and found it just okay. The combination of spices didn't do it for me. Too bad because it sounded good. It just didn't live up to what I thought it was going to be.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

The Best Fresh Tomato Salsa

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2014
This one had not flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillybean

Mahi Mahi with Coconut Rice and Mango Salsa

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2014
I have made this twice, using frozen Mahi Mahi fillets from Costco, once broiling the fish and once grilling it. Turned out great both ways. I added red pepper to my salsa, more for colour than taste. I made the coconut rice in my rice cooker using 1c of rice and 1 can of coconut milk topped up with water to make 2 c. This dish tastes fantastic and looks beautiful too. Definitely company worthy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillybean

Cooking Level: Expert

Raspberry and Blueberry Cobbler

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2014
I tried this recipe on a whim, since I had blueberries and raspberries about to go bad. I followed all the ingredients to a T, and it turned out great! I didn't have a cast iron skillet, so I cooked the berry mixture in a pan first, and then transferred it to a dish where I scooped the topping on top of it. I feel the topping didn't cover as much of the berries as I would've liked, since the berries were poking out from underneath all over the place, but I may have made the scoops too big. Word of advice, dish out small scoops to make sure you have enough to cover it all evenly. I would definitely do this recipe again; simple, easy, and verrrrrry good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GabZ1985

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Pork Ribs Piquant

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2014
I made the sauce exactly as the recipe stated. The ribs came out so tender they were falling off the bone but the taste could have been better. The sauce was too watery too so next time, I'm upping the amount of vinegar, brown sugar and Worcestershire sauce and lowering the amount of water a bit. I think it's a very good starter recipe for ribs and just needs a little tweaking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Blackened Salmon Fillets

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2014
I cooked this recipe tonight for supper and ended up throwing over half of it in the garbage. You may wonder why I still gave it 4 stars. The reason is because, although my husband and son loved the flavour of the spices, it was way too salty. The only changes I made to the recipe were to use regular butter because I had no unsalted butter and, because of that, I cut the salt in half and used one teaspoon of salt instead of the called for two. My husband said he was afraid for his blood pressure and my son said he was afraid he'd get heart palpitations so I know it was salty. I didn't try it because I can't eat that much spice. I'm keeping the recipe but changing the butter to olive oil and still keeping the added salt to one teaspoon. I'll give it one more try like that and see if they'll eat it then.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Blackened Salmon Fillets

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2014
I cooked this recipe tonight for supper and ended up throwing over half of it in the garbage. You may wonder why I still gave it 4 stars. The reason is because, although my husband and son loved the flavour of the spices, it was way too salty. The only changes I made to the recipe were to use regular butter because I had no unsalted butter and, because of that, I cut the salt in half and used one teaspoon of salt instead of the called for two. My husband said he was afraid for his blood pressure and my son said he was afraid he'd get heart palpitations so I know it was salty. I didn't try it because I can't eat that much spice. I'm keeping the recipe but changing the butter to olive oil and still keeping the added salt to one teaspoon. I'll give it one more try like that and see if they'll eat it then.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by misspia

Veggie, Almond, and Raisin Quinoa Salad

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2014
This is my go-to quinoa salad, which I make often during the summer months. If you can find sheep's milk feta, I would suggest you try it in this salad, it's not as sharp tasting as goat's milk feta, and I find it has a slightly creamier texture. Another variation to this recipe would also be to use half a bunch each of minced fresh cilantro leaves and parsley.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by misspia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Spanish-Style Chicken and Sausage

Reviewed: May 10, 2014
We loved this! I did make a couple of changes because I didn't have all the ingredients but it was delicious. I used one can of chicken broth instead of the bouillon cubes and water and I used one can of diced tomato instead of the fresh tomatoes. I also didn't use peas. We'll definitely reuse this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Spanish-Style Chicken and Sausage

Reviewed: May 10, 2014
We loved this! I did make a couple of changes because I didn't have all the ingredients but it was delicious. I used one can of chicken broth instead of the bouillon cubes and water and I used one can of diced tomato instead of the fresh tomatoes. I also didn't use peas. We'll definitely reuse this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:


Displaying results 21-40 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States