Winnipeg - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More
Photo by JennyLee

Granny's Banana Bread

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2014
So moist and gooey I couldn't believe there was no added fat! I only had three bananas so I added a small can of peaches. I used baking splenda instead of sugar for the diabetic needs and added only half the amount required. I would definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JennyLee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Christmas Breakfast Sausage Casserole

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2014
My Family loved this recipe. I added some chopped green peppers and sliced Mushrooms not canned.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cynthia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

Raspberry and Almond Shortbread Thumbprints

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2014
wow these were so simple and easy to make. one thing that i found was that when you make the thumbprint, if it cracks make sure you redo that one or the jam leaks out when cooked. I am going to skip the glaze as we found it way tooo sweet and too strong a almond flavor. 3/4 of a tsp is way too much for only 1/2 cup of icing sugar, I also had to add more milk to make the drizzle work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gilly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Gramma's Date Squares

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2014
Out of nostalgia I made this recipe for myself not expecting the boys (11,14, 16) to like them. To my surprise they not only liked them they loved them and the entire pan of goodies disappeared in no time. Enjoy I did !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by John 1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

The Best Sweet and Sour Meatballs

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2014
I had 2 lbs of ground beef, so i decided to double the recipe. I started off making EXACTLY as written..but was skeptical on the amount of sugar, thinking it would be too sweet. so i only added 3/4 for a doubled recipe. For my tastes it was still to sweet and not enough sour. so i proceeded to try to make it more of our liking..adding 1/4 cup of ketchup and a huge squeeze of Dijon mustard..for some zip. Popped it all into the slow cooker, (after browning the meatballs) neat the end i gave them a taste, and still seemed like something was missing to me..honestly they were too sweet still. i added a HUGE dash of red chili pepper flakes..and it cooked it some more. That gave it that underlying spice to even out the sweet. Overall its a great starter recipe..and it would be great for those who like really sweet foods.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef V

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Photo by Chef V

Big Soft Ginger Cookies

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2014
This was the 1st time I made gingerbread cookies, the flavor turned out spot on! I I followed the recipe exactly, except using butter instead of margarine. After the first pan came out of the oven I decided to chill the dough in the fridge for 30 mind. I this made a HUGE difference in the appearance. I they weren't as flat, which I liked! Regardless if that the flavour is delicious, and will definitely be making these again. Topped mine with sprinkles before baking. I might try using 1/2 teas. Of baking powder and 1/2 teaspoon of baking soda next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef V

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

Valentino's Pizza Crust

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2014
Really easy to make and bakes up nicely. I've been using it to make calzones (big pizza pops), one crust makes about 4 calzones.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

Peanut Butter Chip Chocolate Cookies

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2014
Perfect as is! I doubled the recipe and added an extra 1/2 cup of mini-PB chips that I had in the cupboard. Made them about half the size and baked at 325F Convection for 8 mins. These will not last long.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by YellowPepps

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Danish Peppernut Christmas Cookies (Pebernodder)

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2014
I have been looking for a peppernut recipe to match my family recipe from when I was a kid. These are perfect. I was able to make over 200 peppernuts. I followed the tips of mobygirl and omitted the cloves, and added the white pepper. Also added the 2 tsp of baking soda. I baked them on parchment paper. They will be a great addition to my Christmas gifts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by YellowPepps

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Whipped Shortbread Cookies

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2014
These are just like mom use to make. I followed the tips of the others, adding a 1/2 tsp of vanilla, whipping the butter 5 mins, adding the sugar and whipping another 5 mins, then adding the flour a 1/2 cup at a time and whipping 2 mins inbetween followed by 10 mins. I added an extra 1/4 cup of flour and they puffed up just like the picture. Instead of cherries, in the last minute of whipping I added about 1/2 cup of Christmas coloured sprinkles to keep with the theme of my Christmas baking. Adds a nice texture. I piped them into little piles and called them 'snowman poop'! Finally, I baked on parchment paper on convection at 325F for 12 mins. Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by YellowPepps

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Greek Feta Chicken

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2014
Followed this recipe exactly !! (Except I did bake the chicken because it is way to Winter here for my grill) It was Delicious!! Thank you very much for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nikki

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Delicious Ham and Potato Soup

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2014
Is was so starchy and all I could taste was the flour. Anyone know what I might have done wrong?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Foolproof Rib Roast

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2014
JUST A QUESTION, DO I COVER THE ROAST IT DOSN'T MENTION AND I WOULD LOVE TO TRY IT. Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Spicy Garlic Lime Chicken

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2014
I was good, it was quick...just felt maybe a little less garlic would suffice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Indian Fish Curry

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2014
Very tasty. I was out of Cayene Pepper so I substituted masala seasoning and a small amount of crushed chili peppers and it was delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by John 1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Fajita Seasoning

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2014
Very good and very simple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BRIDY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Brown Sugar Meatloaf

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2014
I should have followed the recipe to the T, but i have made a similar one and knew it needed a bit more. I added one pack of onion soup mix, one carrot shredded, one onion, one stalk of celery chopped very fine. 3/4 of a cup of oats as I didn't have crackers, Montreal steak spice, 3 cloves of garlic. For the sauce I used catsup, steak sauce, a bit of bbq sauce and some dried mustard. This was the best meatloaf I have ever made. I also reduced the amount of milk to 1/2 a cup
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Chef V

Eggnog Cookies I

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2014
so delicious! since i wanted a cookie where the eggnog flavor actually shined through i went with what others suggested and upped the amount to 3/4 cup of eggnog, and then added a few more tbl spoons of flour. I also added a big fat pinch of salt to the dry mix. As for sugar i did 3/4 cup white and 1/2 brown. I only got 3 dozen cookies out of the batch, but i DID make larger ones. I put the batter in the refrigerator for a few minutes so i was able to roll them, so they would come out puffier and more round. sprinkled the tops with sugar and cinnamon after they came out of oven. Super nice fluffy cookies, i believe putting the batter in the fridge for a while helped out. Will be making these again around the Christmas season. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef V

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

Mall Pretzels

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2014
Everyone in the house liked them and I will make them again. The dough was perfect and next time I will try what another Allrecipes member suggested and boil them in 4 cups water and 4 tblspns baking soda until they float.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by John 1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Rosemary Pasta in Roasted Garlic Sauce

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2014
Really good. Other than adjusting the recipe for only 2 servings, I used dried rosemary. I added the rosemary to the frying pan before the chicken stock till it got fragrant. That helps with the flavor of a dried herb. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MINNIE000

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Niverville, Manitoba, Canada
Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States