Victoria - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Mom's Best Meatloaf

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2014
Been searching a very long time for a meatloaf recipe that was good enough to use as a regular standby. I think this is it! Delicious....& even more so leftover.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Simple Turkey Chili

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2014
I tried this chili last night in the crockpot. I did tweak it as well; I sautéed the onions and garlic in the olive oil, then added the ground turkey. I cut out the water, and used 1 cup of chicken stock and two tins of kidney beans, red and white for color. I added cinnamon, Montreal Chicken Seasoning, hot sauce, lemon juice and chopped red peppers. This chili was delicious, and had some spicy kick to it! I will definitely be making this again and it is very versatile.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tammylynn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Quinoa Vegetable Salad

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2014
I added more balsamic vinegar and cilantro than the recipe stated. Next time I think I will cut down on the Quinoa quantity, add lemon juice and substitute chicken broth for the water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tammylynn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Perfect Pumpkin Pie

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2014
Awesome! Was a total thanksgiving hit :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JENZA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saturna Island, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Hearty Halibut Chowder

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2014
My daughter brought me back halibut pieces from Ahousat (a small Native community on Flores Island, not too far from Tofino, BC) & I needed a recipe - this worked out perfectly! This recipe is wonderful! I added fresh basil & dill (couple tbsp each), some sliced fresh mushrooms & some chopped celery. I didn't have any stewed tomatoes so I used 8 oz of crushed tomatoes. I used Lactose Free Half & Half cream. I wish I had read the reviews first & had blended the potatoes to make the soup thicker more like chowder, but that's my only complaint (I'll do that next time). I also had a few tbsp of sour cream that needed to be used up so I threw that in the soup too. The soup goes really well with Rye bread toast. :D BTW, I'm not usually a fan of tomato based chowders but this recipe changed my opinion!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Deborah

Mom's Zucchini Bread

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2014
LOVED this recipe. Only difference: since I can't have walnuts, I used a large handful of mini chocolate chips. I also just ran the zucchini through the food processor and it turned out awesome. My very picky toddler has been gobbling this up (glad it makes two loaves!).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deborah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

Slow Cooker Vegetable Soup

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2014
Wasnt bad, but I agree with the gummy feeling/taste review of Carlin A. Wont make again but if you prefer a brothy soup, this is more of a stewy feel.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Grilled Fish Tacos with Chipotle-Lime Dressing

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2014
amazing! for the dressing - i used 2 whole limes & zest and put in the food processor bx my chipotles were a bit chunky. i also used more chipotles than called for and it was hot! but it was great! i used regular sour cream instead of light, i think next time i will just use plain yogurt. i don't like tilapia so i used cod. i don't think one lb of fish cuts it for more than 2 people so i bought a bit more...next time, i'll buy even more as we barely had enough. i bought already cut up slaw mix and mixed my dressing into it...i made my own salsa with the cilantro, tomatoes, jalapeno, onion and lime juice. i used small flour tortillas and we had 3 each. there were no complaints! thanks so much for sharing this recipe! this is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Sweet and Spicy Green Beans

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2014
very good! i was quite surprised how much my whole family liked these beans...even my very picky 14 year old!! thx for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Asian Grilled Chicken

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2014
i enjoyed this dish but i wish i let the meat marinade longer...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Chipotle Cream Chicken

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2014
it wasn't my favorite but it wasn't bad at all. i added 2 chipotle peppers without the seeds but found it not hot enough so i added more adobo sauce. we made rice and had it with tortillas. the cilantro is a must for this dish. thx for sharing your recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Spicy Spaghetti Squash

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2014
WARNING!!: I followed the suggestion a reviewer made to cook the squash in the microwave. I used a common glass casserole dish I'd used a zillion times in the oven, and I'm positive it must have been microwave safe. After about 12 min it was done, I took it out, set it on the counter and BAM! it shattered into a million little pieces.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs.Robinson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Port Coquitlam, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Tender Italian Baked Chicken

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2014
This recipe is perfect as is I had no separation at all. My husband can't get enough of it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy

Cooking Level: Expert

Photo by westcoastmom

Chocolate Banana Bread

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2014
I have made this a few times now and my kids love it! I've used the sour cream with great results, but I have also subbed it for yogurt and canned coconut milk and they all taste great! Just realize that if you use more cocoa powder you will end up with more of a chocolate cake texture, the cocoa powder makes it a lighter loaf. I always half this recipe and it fits in my 9x5 loaf pan with no leftover batter. I don't add the extra chocolate chips either and the kids still love it! A great after school treat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by westcoastmom

Cooking Level: Expert

Blackberry Cobbler II

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2014
Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SandraD

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Best Steak Marinade in Existence

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2014
This recipie truly lives up to its name i left steaks sitting in it for 2 and a 1/2 days and they turned out amazing if you use sirracha it just turns out better. 5*'s for sure
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Young Chef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sooke, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Blueberry Cream Muffins

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2014
PERFECTION! My son said this was the best blueberry muffin ever! To bring the flavor up a notch try subbing half the oil for peach puree or applesauce. I like that this muffin is tart and not too sweet. If you want it a little sweeter try topping the muffins with some course raw sugar or a streusel topping. This is truly a muffin and not a cake in disguise, perfection!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by westcoastmom

Cooking Level: Expert

Pectin-Free Strawberry Rhubarb Jam

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2014
It's nice to see a real jam recipe without boxed pectin or even worse, Jello!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GangesRose

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Old Fashioned Onion Rings

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2014
These simply are the best onion rings I've ever had. I used panko bread crumbs and they turned out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by magnoliakng

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Homemade Garlic Basil Mayonnaise

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2014
Really, really fabulous - and so easy! I used light-tasting olive oil (avoid Extra Virgin Olive Oil for mayo as it's too strong tasting and often results in bitter mayo). I just bought avocado oil so may try that next time. This was SO good, I immediately had my husband taste it and he thought it would be awesome as a dipping sauce (ie, for fondue). It has an aioli feel (from the garlic). The only thing to know is that the basil turns brown by the next day. Still 100% fine, but not as brilliant-looking if serving to company. Given how easy this is with an immersion blender, I'd rather do fresh, smaller batches the day of if you're concerned about presentation. It doesn't affect the taste though. SO yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chickadee

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-100 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States