Victoria - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Italian Grilled Cheese Sandwiches

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2013
i made these kinda lastnite..used it as a base..i had left over rotisserie chicken so i made buffalo style chicken salad an topped it off with mozza..omg!! delicious!! put it on french loaf..loved the idea of butter,garlic an oregeno brushed on the outside..totally different recipe but you inspired me from yers..so thank you!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by heidi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2013
I took the great base recipe, and tweaked it with a compilation of reviewer recommendations. The end result is a winner, to be sure. Here is what I did (and I won't change a thing the next time I make it): 1. Increase flour to 1/3 cup and substitute seasoned salt for regular salt. Put flour mixture into a zippered bag. Shake beef in bag to coat. Sauté coated beef in 1-2 tablespoons olive oil until browned. Add chopped onion to beef to sauté and soften. Transfer to slow cooker. 2. Mix beef broth with 1 TABLEspoon Worcestershire and ½ cup red wine. Pour into hot skillet to deglaze, then pour over beef and onions in cooker. 3. Add remaining ingredients with these additions: increase garlic to 2 cloves minced, 2 bay leaves; add 1 packet McCormick's Beef Stew Seasoning. Your home will smell wonderful all day, and your meal will be a savory feast! I served the stew in bowls, accompanied by slices of fresh, crusty bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CATWALK16

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

Slow-Cooker Chicken Tortilla Soup

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2013
Wow! Amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Old-Fashioned Scalloped Corn

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2013
I added a can of diced green chilies and a smidgen of cayenne. For the cracker topping I added some Parmesan cheese - it was really good, will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Oatmeal Pancakes II

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2013
i used sprouted whole wheat flour instead of all purpose, and i used 1% milk. i didn't have a very big food processor so i just mixed the dry ingredients in it and then did the wet separately. i have to say, these were fabulous. i am not a fan of pancakes but my son is, and even my hubby loved them!! we all had seconds! oh ya, i doubled the recipe and that gave us probably at least 3 each but i put about 1/4 of a cup in the pan (actually a bit more than this) these pancakes are really filling! they were so light and fluffy. i only put in half the required salt and oil. thx so much for this great recipe! my family gave them a big thumbs up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Blondie Bumstead

Ruth's Grandma's Pie Crust

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2013
Made this dough/pastry recipe just as written, but added (with the water/egg mixture a half tsp white vinegar). The pastry when cooked was light, flaky and delicious! I will keep this recipe as my regular one for any pies (meat or fruit).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Blondie Bumstead

Chicken Pot Pie IX

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2013
Best chicken pot pie I've ever made.... and I forgot to put the peas in! Still tasted awesome. I made the pie crust pastry from scratch though. Light and fluffy, filling flavorful and not runny, yet not too dry either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Auto Parts Chicken

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2012
great recipe, and great for leftovers as well. I made herb dumplings for the top of mine. Added some peas during the last 10min or so, probably about 2teaspoons of poultry seasoning, and used 2T of butter(rather than 1 and 1 oil) I used 2 very large leeks,2 celery, just the white parts, and to be honest, if you cut it small enough, you'd never know there was leek in there! Everyone cleans off their plate, almost to the licking stage. Try to cut your veggies large as you would stew. (2inch potatoes,, and evenly. Carrots seem to take the longest to cook! I mistakenly added the flour to the broth (well stirred), it was nice and thick! Would make again. Its sort of like a cross between a stew and the inside of potpie :P Love the big chicken breasts rather than cubes, as you get a full cut-able serving of meat, rather than meat fibers disintegrating in the liquid.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Best Chocolate Chip Cookies

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2012
This is an awesome chocolate chip cookie recipe cookie. We used Almond pieces instead of walnuts MMMM
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bills sister

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sooke, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Boston Baked Beans

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2012
Didn't add sugar and replaced the molasses with honey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by akleckner

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Very Simple Spelt Bread

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2012
I half the recipe and put another loaf pan on top as another all recipe user suggested and it turns out perfect every time! This is a weekly recipe in our house now! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by magnoliakng

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Coconut Rice

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2012
Coconut rice is the answer to all lifes problems! YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by magnoliakng

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Pumpkin Soup

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2012
Easy and delicious! Can't get any better than that!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by magnoliakng

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Unbaked Chocolate Oatmeal Cookies

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2012
Yummy goodness! Thanks for the easily veganized recipe! The raisins and coconut are fantastic in here and I also put a 1/4c of seed mix (flax, pumpkin, sunflower, chia, sesame hemp) in there as well for some added healthy fats. I think I will also add a little cinnamon and cayenne for some spice next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HoyhoyCooks

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Boilermaker Tailgate Chili

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2012
I made this chili for a fund raising event, at my work, and it won first prize. Certainly a keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sean Eckman-Dempster

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Shortbread Supreme

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2012
Wonderful! I did add a bit of vanilla and a pinch of salt (unsalted butter) Well, it was my teenage son actually who made them with some assistance. He made some dulce de leche too and with this recipe managed to get 60+ small rounds which he sandwiched into 30 caramel filled cookies. I'm jealous of his class who get to eat them tomorrow, but at least we got to sample them first. Very nice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jellicle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Puyallup, Washington, USA

Pumpkin, Sweet Potato, and Leek Soup

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2012
Great fall soup! I'm not usually a big fan of that spice mix, but I wanted to try it anyways. I wasn't crazy about this soup for that reason but it was still good. I didn't want to give a poor review because it's my own personal palate that made it less enjoyable for me, not a flaw in the recipe (plus my room mate LOVED it). I didn't use cream and just added another cup of vegetable stock. I did not puree the soup, I just mashed it with a potato masher because I like a fairly chucky soup. Next time if I was going to mash it, I would add more liquid because it wasn't very soupy. I used a suggestion from a previous reviewer saying to cut the pumpkin into slices and boil for 15 minutes for easier removal of the peel. Great suggestion!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Izblue

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

My Canadian Friends Bean Soup

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2012
Delicious, just double the broth if your gonna let it simmer for awhile.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicole

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: West Palm Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Pralines, Coffee and Cream Cake

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2012
This cake is a hit every time I make it. The "cream" concoction makes the cake very moist and rich. I sometimes substitute the cool whip with whipped cream and that works well too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LFerreira

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Quick and Easy Oatmeal Muffins

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2012
I made these exactly as written and they were super yummy! They are simple and quick to make. I'm sure I will make these again, but add some extra ingredients next time. Chopped nuts, fruit, chocolate chips... Anything you have on hand would be tasty. This is a great and versatile recipe :) My one complaint is that it did not yield a dozen muffins. I only got 9 muffins out of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aureliee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-100 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States