Victoria - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Blueberry Cream Muffins

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2014
PERFECTION! My son said this was the best blueberry muffin ever! To bring the flavor up a notch try subbing half the oil for peach puree or applesauce. I like that this muffin is tart and not too sweet. If you want it a little sweeter try topping the muffins with some course raw sugar or a streusel topping. This is truly a muffin and not a cake in disguise, perfection!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by westcoastmom

Cooking Level: Expert

Pectin-Free Strawberry Rhubarb Jam

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2014
It's nice to see a real jam recipe without boxed pectin or even worse, Jello!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GangesRose

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Old Fashioned Onion Rings

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2014
These simply are the best onion rings I've ever had. I used panko bread crumbs and they turned out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by magnoliakng

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Homemade Garlic Basil Mayonnaise

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2014
Really, really fabulous - and so easy! I used light-tasting olive oil (avoid Extra Virgin Olive Oil for mayo as it's too strong tasting and often results in bitter mayo). I just bought avocado oil so may try that next time. This was SO good, I immediately had my husband taste it and he thought it would be awesome as a dipping sauce (ie, for fondue). It has an aioli feel (from the garlic). The only thing to know is that the basil turns brown by the next day. Still 100% fine, but not as brilliant-looking if serving to company. Given how easy this is with an immersion blender, I'd rather do fresh, smaller batches the day of if you're concerned about presentation. It doesn't affect the taste though. SO yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chickadee

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

To Die For Blueberry Muffins

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2014
They taste like what you'd get pre-packaged in a cheap grocery store.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chickadee

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Baked Sweet Potatoes

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2014
I used avocado oil (it handles the heat much better than olive oil) but otherwise followed the recipe. It was well-received by family & guests alike! I told everyone what was in it but they were convinced there was a "secret ingredient" - guesses ranged from various spices to parmesan cheese! (Weird, right??). But it had rave reviews. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chickadee

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Ten Clove Garlic Marinade

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2014
I made this marinade with chicken breasts,marinading for just 3 hours. I followed some reviews and did not add the salt or oil. It turned out amazing. We are making it again for a pork roast. I can't wait to taste it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sharie2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Parksville, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Simple Pesto Pasta

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2014
I was making for 2 so cut it in half, and didn't use butter, but 2 tablespoons of sour cream, and a smidge of olive oil. I also added a sliced artichoke for additional flavour. It was outstanding, in my very humble opinion. ;o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bjc22

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Rhubarb Barbeque Sauce

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2014
Awesome! I don't usually write reviews but after making this recipe I had to. With a big patch of rhubarb, I was getting tired of pies,and jams and thought I would give this recipe a try. I didn't use the smoke, and used paprika rather than chipotle, because it was what i had. It's so good my husband went out and bought chicken to BBQ so he could use the sauce. (I just caught him dipping his fingers in the sauce :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SandraD

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Quinoa Tuna Casserole

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2014
This was really good and really quite filling. I cut the recipe in half and made a small one for our family of 3. We had steamed chard on the side of it, very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JENZA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saturna Island, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Fluffy Cake Doughnuts

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2014
These weren't fluffy at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by fit_chick

Cooking Level: Expert

Actually Delicious Turkey Burgers

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2014
Added assiago cheese to the mix, then tzazhiki sauce on the slider buns was amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Bay, Ontario, Canada
Photo by C.Gotobed

Bread Machine Bagels

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2014
This recipe was great! I've made bagels before and almost burned out my stand mixer from mixing the thick dough. I never thought to make it in the bread machine! So much easier this way, and they taste great! I topped some of mine with poppy seeds, and some with cheddar cheese and garlic. We're almost finished the batch and I'm going to make more today!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by C.Gotobed

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Coriander (cilantro) Steak Marinade

Reviewed: May 23, 2014
This recipe should read "Coriander - dried flakes" which is the same as Cilantro. You can buy the flakes in spice jars or bulk typically. Happy BBQ'ing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carrie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

Coriander Steak Marinade

Reviewed: May 23, 2014
This recipe should read "Coriander - dried flakes" which is the same as Cilantro. Not sure how this translation happened but I have never used the seed so not sure how it would work and I am sure the amount would have to be adjusted. You can buy the flakes in spice jars or bulk typically. Happy BBQ'ing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carrie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

Carrot Cake Muffins with Cinnamon Glaze

Reviewed: May 4, 2014
I substituted 1 cup of regular flour with whole wheat flour, used 1/3 cup of white sugar rather than 2, and used applesauce instead of oil. I also cooked the muffins for a shorter time as my oven is a bit temperamental. The muffins turned out great(I also did mini muffins) - very moist, lots of flavour and I loved the chewy addition of coconut. I will definitely make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carmella333

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Baked Spaghetti Squash with Beef and Veggies

Reviewed: May 1, 2014
This was an amazing dish! I used ground pork and Italian sausage instead of ground beef. I added red, yellow and orange bell pepper, sliced mushrooms, cayenne pepper, chili flakes and increased the amount of spices they called for. The leftovers are even better, the flavors were fabulous, can't wait to make it again!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tammylynn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Tomato-Curry Lentil Stew

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2014
I doubled this recipe and the end result of this Curry Lentil Stew was pleasantly delicious, however,I made some changes and additions based on the comments I read. As it has been said previously, this is a great foundation for the stew, and adding the ingredients you prefer will only make it better. Definitely add more spice than called for and add others that you see suggested in the reviews.I boiled the lentils in chicken stock, added chick peas, yellow peppers,and cayenne pepper. Added a dollop of greek plain yogurt when served.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tammylynn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Peppy's Pita Bread

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2014
These were great! Very puffy and very tasty. Mine did not come out very big, so I think next time I will roll them a bit thinner before baking, and also maybe make fewer than 8 per batch. We will definitely make these again though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JENZA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saturna Island, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Mexican Casserole

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2014
I had some leftover pico de gallo to use up and used it instead of salsa. We loved this, though we deviated from the basic concept somewhat. Like other reviewers, I modified the ingredients and seasonings to include corn, cumin, cilantro and garlic. I also substitued black beans for refried beans and added ground beef, all of which I simmered while toasting the tortillas, as suggested by another reviewer to avoid a soggy texture. Served with sour cream and heartily enjoyed by the family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heatherbee

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-80 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States