Victoria - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Cherry Pie III

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2013
Very good! I used more cornstarch as I hate sloppy pie...maybe 1 extra tbsp....came out nice and firm but still soft, sweet and DELICIOUS! Will make again for sure, this was a hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JENZA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saturna Island, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Flatlander Chili

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2013
Excellent recipe as is, more or less. I like it hot so I add a little Tabasco or cayenne powder. I have tried it with diced tomatoes instead of tomato sauce, it makes it a little thicker but tastes about the same.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by murr

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

Refrigerator Cookies I

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2013
These are great :) We are always short on time so I loved the make ahead nature of these. VERY tasty as well, nice and buttery :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JENZA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saturna Island, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Pineapple Chicken Tenders

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2013
i'm always one for anything pineapple but this needed something. I did try it again but I didn't have any pineapple juice so tried it with orange instead as well as I also took up someone else advice and tossed in some garlic powder. Tasted far better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Di

Cooking Level: Expert

Bourbon-Mango Pulled Pork

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2013
Absolutely fabulous! LOVED it! I used Vancouver Island sea salt as I did not have kosher salt. Big amount for a single person but I froze some for later. YAY for later!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Bay, Ontario, Canada

Shoyu Chicken

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2013
great recipe - followed it exactly as requested and it turned out wonderful! thx for sharing your recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Kale, Quinoa, and Avocado Salad with Lemon Dijon Vinaigrette

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2013
i love anything with quinoa. this salad was good. i found the avocado was a bit strange in this salad...i didn't think it went well w/the feta. i did not cook my kale, i just added it to the hot quinoa (it cooks it for you) the sauce; i was a bit scared with how much dijon mustard was required but it tasted quite good. thx for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Oven Roasted Potatoes

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2013
These are just amazing! Have made twice now and looking forward to the next time...I use fresh herbs as much as possible. I also use whatever kind of potato I have available with skin on and cut into same smaller size pieces. Thx for this recipe - it's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by s©tt

Homemade Hamburger Buns

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2013
Gotta love Chef John's buns! These turned out really well - light, lovely taste and texture. Also delicious when made with whole wheat flour. The only change I made to the recipe was to cut the sugar down to 1 tblsp, because 3 tblsp makes it way too sweet for my (European) taste, and it adds unnecessary calories. I whisked the egg, then tossed all the ingredients into my bread-making machine on the dough-making setting, thereby skipping steps 2 through 6, resuming at step 7. I also use this recipe for hot dog buns, and the results are excellent. For hot dog buns, in step 7, flatten each of the 8 pieces into 15x15cm (6x6-inch) rectangles, very tightly roll each one, pinch the ends and along the remaining edge, then lay out on the baking sheet with the remaining edge down. In step 10, brush lightly with the egg-wash, but skip the sesame seeds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by s©tt

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Amsterdam, Noord-Holland, Netherlands

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Fresh From the Vine Tortellini

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2013
very good recipe. i added some balsalmic vinegar to the oil/salt/pepper mixture to coat the tomatoes. i used sunflower kitchen zest-o pesto as this is my favorite pesto. i used more basil leaves than required and i used way more fresh grated parmesan chz. i also like to chop up the stems of the basil and put in the olive oil when you put in the garlic...it gives it more flavor. i will keep this recipe to make for many more occasions. thx!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Slow Cooker Taco Soup

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2013
I won't use packaged taco mix so I added chili powder, cayenne and dried chili peppers and a couple shakes of Frank's red hot. I added a jar of salsa in addition to the canned tomatoes. Very easy and tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Rhubarb Dumplings

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2013
These were delicious and a great way to use rhubarb. I will definitely be making these again! I used half white sugar half brown sugar to cut down the sweetness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AmberC2

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Catherine's Spicy Chicken Soup

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2013
this soup got me "souper" excited about to make it!! I used some other suggestions that were previously mentioned..i upped the garlic to 4 cloves, only one large tin of crushed tomatoes, no whole ones..an I also did add corn or kidney beans but rather put in brn rice..used my homemade salsa - very fresh. added chili powder towards the end lil by lil till my husband would still eat it..omitted salt, enough with cannned tomato soup an oxo cubes..bought a rotisserie chicken an deskinned it..much lazier but end results were totally narly!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by heidi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Strawberry Muffins

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2013
I didn't have strawberries, so I used raspberries....so good! I also added a touch of Vanilla extract and used half whole wheat flour. Further - I added milk to the finished batter as it was very dense, the result was nice and fluffy muffins!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JENZA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saturna Island, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

The Best Fresh Tomato Salsa

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2013
this was AMAZING!!!! made waaay too much, lucky fer everyone else cause they all received some jars of this an they had the same response as me! whoa! this is awesome! thank you! so nice from the store bought, so lite an fresh an just narly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by heidi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Broccoli Casserole II

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2013
This was great! We have a vegetarian au pair living with us and I needed something quick and easy to make for dinner. This was very well received :) Very tasty and very easy! My 18 month old daughter loved it too :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JENZA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saturna Island, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Curried Coconut Chicken

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2013
I really enjoy this, it makes enough for leftovers to take for lunch the next day! I only change the amount of sugar by decreasing to 2 tblsp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CATWALK16

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

Carrot Cake III

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2013
Great base but definitely needs adjustment. Overpowering amounts of sugar, cinnamon and pecans destroy the subtle tastes and could easily leave the blind taste-tester wondering if it's just a spice cake with butter icing. Instead of 2c white sugar, I use 1-1/4 c loosely packed light brown sugar. Instead of 1-1/4 c oil, which I find too much to consume in one cake, I used 3/4 c oil (peanut oil) and 1/2 c apple sauce. I added 4c of carrot, grated with a course cheese grater. 2 tsp cinnamon overpowers the carrots and leaves a burning sensation in the throat, so I reduce to 1 tsp. I wouldn't recommend additional vanilla, cinnamon or nutmeg, because it just overpowers it. Baking soda works as a rising agent when combined with acid so I found it odd there's no particularly acidic ingredient in this recipe, so I added 4 slices pineapple, crushed and drained. 4 c sugar in the icing is way too much, I reduced it to 1/2 c to let the lovely cream cheese flavour come through, and I eliminated the nuts and butter. To those having problems with the centre caving in, I would suggest having all your ingredients ready beforehand, and add the baking powder and soda at the end. Baking soda starts rising immediately and if it's added before you've grated your carrots or chopped your pecans, it will have used and lost some of its rising abilities before going in the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by s©tt

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Amsterdam, Noord-Holland, Netherlands

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Quinoa Black Bean Burgers

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2013
Great taste and consistency. For a slightly fuller flavour, I added 1tsp Worcestershire Sauce to this recipe. I used bread crumbs as called for in the recipe, but they were from a whole wheat loaf I'd made myself. I put a piece of the bread in a food processor for a few seconds to pulverise it. I baked/grilled the patties in the oven, eliminating the need for oil. For the last couple of minutes in the oven, I top each of the patties with with a slice of pineapple and a slice of swiss cheese (my favourite toppings) and served with some curry ketchup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by s©tt

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Amsterdam, Noord-Holland, Netherlands

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Italian Sausage Soup

Reviewed: May 29, 2013
Added 1 purple sweet potato,2 small potatoes,1 extra garlic, half a large onion, 2 stalks of celery, 1.5 fresh tomatoes, no pasta, 2 Tablespoons of italian seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 61-80 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States