Victoria - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More
Photo by Deborah

Mom's Zucchini Bread

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2014
LOVED this recipe. Only difference: since I can't have walnuts, I used a large handful of mini chocolate chips. I also just ran the zucchini through the food processor and it turned out awesome. My very picky toddler has been gobbling this up (glad it makes two loaves!).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deborah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

Slow Cooker Vegetable Soup

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2014
Wasnt bad, but I agree with the gummy feeling/taste review of Carlin A. Wont make again but if you prefer a brothy soup, this is more of a stewy feel.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Grilled Fish Tacos with Chipotle-Lime Dressing

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2014
amazing! for the dressing - i used 2 whole limes & zest and put in the food processor bx my chipotles were a bit chunky. i also used more chipotles than called for and it was hot! but it was great! i used regular sour cream instead of light, i think next time i will just use plain yogurt. i don't like tilapia so i used cod. i don't think one lb of fish cuts it for more than 2 people so i bought a bit more...next time, i'll buy even more as we barely had enough. i bought already cut up slaw mix and mixed my dressing into it...i made my own salsa with the cilantro, tomatoes, jalapeno, onion and lime juice. i used small flour tortillas and we had 3 each. there were no complaints! thanks so much for sharing this recipe! this is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Sweet and Spicy Green Beans

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2014
very good! i was quite surprised how much my whole family liked these beans...even my very picky 14 year old!! thx for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Asian Grilled Chicken

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2014
i enjoyed this dish but i wish i let the meat marinade longer...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chipotle Cream Chicken

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2014
it wasn't my favorite but it wasn't bad at all. i added 2 chipotle peppers without the seeds but found it not hot enough so i added more adobo sauce. we made rice and had it with tortillas. the cilantro is a must for this dish. thx for sharing your recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Spicy Spaghetti Squash

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2014
WARNING!!: I followed the suggestion a reviewer made to cook the squash in the microwave. I used a common glass casserole dish I'd used a zillion times in the oven, and I'm positive it must have been microwave safe. After about 12 min it was done, I took it out, set it on the counter and BAM! it shattered into a million little pieces.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs.Robinson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Port Coquitlam, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Tender Italian Baked Chicken

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2014
This recipe is perfect as is I had no separation at all. My husband can't get enough of it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy

Cooking Level: Expert

Photo by westcoastmom

Chocolate Banana Bread

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2014
I have made this a few times now and my kids love it! I've used the sour cream with great results, but I have also subbed it for yogurt and canned coconut milk and they all taste great! Just realize that if you use more cocoa powder you will end up with more of a chocolate cake texture, the cocoa powder makes it a lighter loaf. I always half this recipe and it fits in my 9x5 loaf pan with no leftover batter. I don't add the extra chocolate chips either and the kids still love it! A great after school treat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by westcoastmom

Cooking Level: Expert

Blackberry Cobbler II

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2014
Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SandraD

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Best Steak Marinade in Existence

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2014
This recipie truly lives up to its name i left steaks sitting in it for 2 and a 1/2 days and they turned out amazing if you use sirracha it just turns out better. 5*'s for sure
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Young Chef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sooke, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Blueberry Cream Muffins

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2014
This is great! My son said this was the best blueberry muffin ever! To bring the flavor up a notch try subbing half the oil for peach puree or applesauce. I love adding a little lemon zest to this too. I like that this muffin is tart and not too sweet. If you want it a little sweeter try topping the muffins with some course raw sugar or a streusel topping. This is truly a muffin and not a cake in disguise, perfection!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by westcoastmom

Cooking Level: Expert

Pectin-Free Strawberry Rhubarb Jam

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2014
It's nice to see a real jam recipe without boxed pectin or even worse, Jello!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GangesRose

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Old Fashioned Onion Rings

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2014
These simply are the best onion rings I've ever had. I used panko bread crumbs and they turned out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by magnoliakng

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Homemade Garlic Basil Mayonnaise

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2014
Really, really fabulous - and so easy! I used light-tasting olive oil (avoid Extra Virgin Olive Oil for mayo as it's too strong tasting and often results in bitter mayo). I just bought avocado oil so may try that next time. This was SO good, I immediately had my husband taste it and he thought it would be awesome as a dipping sauce (ie, for fondue). It has an aioli feel (from the garlic). The only thing to know is that the basil turns brown by the next day. Still 100% fine, but not as brilliant-looking if serving to company. Given how easy this is with an immersion blender, I'd rather do fresh, smaller batches the day of if you're concerned about presentation. It doesn't affect the taste though. SO yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chickadee

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

To Die For Blueberry Muffins

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2014
They taste like what you'd get pre-packaged in a cheap grocery store.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chickadee

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Baked Sweet Potatoes

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2014
I used avocado oil (it handles the heat much better than olive oil) but otherwise followed the recipe. It was well-received by family & guests alike! I told everyone what was in it but they were convinced there was a "secret ingredient" - guesses ranged from various spices to parmesan cheese! (Weird, right??). But it had rave reviews. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chickadee

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Ten Clove Garlic Marinade

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2014
I made this marinade with chicken breasts,marinading for just 3 hours. I followed some reviews and did not add the salt or oil. It turned out amazing. We are making it again for a pork roast. I can't wait to taste it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sharie2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Parksville, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Simple Pesto Pasta

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2014
I was making for 2 so cut it in half, and didn't use butter, but 2 tablespoons of sour cream, and a smidge of olive oil. I also added a sliced artichoke for additional flavour. It was outstanding, in my very humble opinion. ;o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bjc22

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Rhubarb Barbeque Sauce

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2014
Awesome! I don't usually write reviews but after making this recipe I had to. With a big patch of rhubarb, I was getting tired of pies,and jams and thought I would give this recipe a try. I didn't use the smoke, and used paprika rather than chipotle, because it was what i had. It's so good my husband went out and bought chicken to BBQ so he could use the sauce. (I just caught him dipping his fingers in the sauce :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SandraD

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-60 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States