Victoria - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More
Photo by westcoastmom

Greek Lemon Chicken and Potato Bake

Reviewed: May 26, 2015
This smelled so good while baking! You know it's good when your picky 13 yr old boy tells you it's the best chicken he's ever had!! I used 6 bone-in/skin-on thighs. I rendered the fat off the skin in a skillet before baking, as I didn't want all the fat in the pan.(add the thighs skin side down in a cold skillet, turned to medium heat and cooked for 5 minutes until the skin was brown and the pan is filled with fat) I only used one Tablespoon of Greek seasoning for all the other herbs, a tsp. of pepper, a tsp. of garlic powder and the zest of a lemon. This cooked up in 40 minutes total. My store had no fresh green beans so I left them out this time, and served it with Greek salad, pita bread and tzatziki sauce! Yum! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by westcoastmom

Cooking Level: Expert

Maple Syrup Custard Cups

Reviewed: May 24, 2015
Delicious and velvety. I pre-boil the water before adding to the baking dish and custards are perfectly set at 35 min. Avoid using B or no.2 Grade maple syrup in this dish or the maple flavour will be overpowering
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Classic Canadian Caesar

Reviewed: May 15, 2015
This is a classic Canadian Cocktail! When I lived in Vancouver BC, the Pubs always had Caesar Mondays. Every pub had it's own signature garnish, pickles, pickled green beans, celery, skewered shrimp or prawns. My husband likes it really spicy so I add a little horseradish to his or extra tabasco. I have the Motts Clamato rimming salt that gives the rim extra flavor. The lime wedge is a must though! You need to squeeze the lime juice into your drink when it's served to you. The only thing missing from this is a little freshly ground black pepper, and it's perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by westcoastmom

Cooking Level: Expert

Best Baked French Fries

Reviewed: May 15, 2015
I thought I'd try this method for French fries. Never heard of the sugar trick before! I know salt does the same thing as well. The sugar did release some liquid after 30 minutes, and I decided to rinse the potatoes off and dry over paper towels. A 1/4 cup of olive oil sounded like way too much, and I didn't want the potatoes burnt so I used a Tbsp. of canola oil and a Tbsp. of olive oil. I also left off the salt until after baking as the salt can make the potatoes soggy in the oven. So I sprinkled them with sea salt right out of the oven. I have a good quality heavy bottomed sheet pan and these baked for 15 minutes on one side, 10 on the other and they were perfectly cooked. Everyone loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by westcoastmom

Cooking Level: Expert

Spaghetti Carbonara II

Reviewed: May 14, 2015
This a great, simple and easy carbonara! I didn't have an onion so I added a couple spring onions at the end. And used some pasta cooking water instead of the wine to help emulsify the sauce. I cut the recipe in half, but had to use close to a 1/2 cup of pasta water to bring the sauce together. So my only recommendation is to keep some pasta cooking water on hand when making this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by westcoastmom

Cooking Level: Expert

Sherry Braised Beef Short Ribs

Reviewed: May 10, 2015
This was great ! And easy too. I wouldn't change a thing. Thanks Chef John, this one is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by murr

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

Pork Chops for the Slow Cooker

Reviewed: May 7, 2015
More like three and half stars. I used loin chops, boneless. I wish I used a sirloin chop because the loin was way too dry. The pork was completely submerged in the sauce, and it fell apart after being cooked, but chewy dry. It was cooked in two hours on low, so I kept the slow cooker on the keep warm setting for another two hours and ate early! The sauce was good, according to some reviewers they added water, but I would not do that! The sauce was a perfect thick consistency as written, the slow cooker adds moisture so no need for it! I added some onion slices, a dash of sesame oil and some hot chili sauce to taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by westcoastmom

Cooking Level: Expert

Slow Cooker Rice Pudding

Reviewed: May 5, 2015
This is the first time I ever made rice pudding. I have been looking for a simple recipe, and this one is it. Made two, separate, batches and they both turned out great. The recipe is simple enough that you can add your own flavouring, without, changing the end result of the recipe. I added one cup of raisins and a half a teaspoon of cinnamon, for the first batch, the second batch I added the same thing but one and a half of Rose Water, and it still turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sean Eckman-Dempster

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Rockin Robin's Classic Potato Salad

Reviewed: May 4, 2015
This is a fantastic classic potato salad! I followed the amounts and ingredients listed to the letter. But I added a couple things. We had leftover bacon, so I crumbled in a couple slices, as well as chopped up one dill pickle and a splash of pickle juice. I like the little bit of dill and garlic from the pickle, but I'm sure it's not needed! I added the recommended paprika as well. It was one of the best potato salads I've made in awhile. A true classic, thanks for sharing your recipe! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by westcoastmom

Cooking Level: Expert

Photo by westcoastmom

Spice Roasted Chicken Quarters

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2015
I usually drizzle the glaze over the chicken, and not coat it heavily as the spice rub has lots of flavor. The glaze just gives it a little more colour and sheen. If you want enough to coat the chicken, then you may need to double the glaze or just use it as a dip after the chicken is cooked. I hope you enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by westcoastmom

Cooking Level: Expert

Photo by westcoastmom

The Best Ricotta Pancakes

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2015
This is my family's favorite pancake recipe! We like it as is, but for a change up you could add a pinch of nutmeg, lemon zest or vanilla. It's great with fresh berries or peaches too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by westcoastmom

Cooking Level: Expert

Kalamata Olive Tapenade

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2015
Delicious! I have just put this together, and as I couldn't resist, I tasted it immediately - so good! I think it will be even better after it has sat in the fridge for a bit to "meld". Following the suggestions of other users, I made the following modifications: I did not put in the blender, but rather finely chopped everything by hand, I subbed in a handful of black olives to mellow out the flavor (plus, as we are olive lovers and always have lots, I tossed in a few green olives too!) and I didn't add any additional salt. Also, as I did not have fresh parsley I added 1 tbsp of dried - seems fine! Really good, thanks for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JENZA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saturna Island, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by westcoastmom

Fluffy Canadian Pancakes

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2015
These are super fluffy pancakes! I followed the recipe exactly except I added a few blueberries to the pancakes right before flipping. I did not add them to the batter because I did not want to deflate the fluffiness! My griddle fits 8 medium pancakes (each pancake is a 1/4 cup of batter) and I got exactly 18 fluffy gems of goodness. If you have a small pan and can't do large batches at once your batter will probably start deflating after it sits awhile, so the fluffiness is determined by how long your batter sits for! I didn't find them eggy at all, if you want them a little sweeter you could add a little sugar to the egg whites and some vanilla to the yolk/milk mixture (as I did) If you love fluffy pancakes, you'll really love these!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by westcoastmom

Cooking Level: Expert

Chicken Quesadillas

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2015
We thought these were great! I tried to take a short-cut and do the chicken in the frying pan with the seasoning before adding the veggies. Most of the seasoning congealed in the frying pan so lost a bit of flavour and made myself more work (take heed & learn from my mistakes!!, LOL) They were still fantastic, but looking forward to the extra seasoning being on the chicken when I do it the way it is written :) I did them in the small tortillas, more like a sandwich instead of folding over the bigger ones. I sprayed a small amount of olive oil on the pan which gave them a tiny crunch and served with pico de gallo, sour cream & avocado. Definitely will be making these again & again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carrie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

Rum-Spiked Horchata

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2015
So worth the effort!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by westcoastmom

Stoplight Sausage Pasta

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2015
This is delish! I appreciate that it uses whole grain pasta and turkey sausages. Even with all the veggies the kids gobbled it up! A very colourful and flavorful dish! I don't really care for green peppers so I used zucchini and peas for the 'green stoplight' colour, I loved that combo of veggies! I liked the beef stock in this too, I think it makes the turkey feel like beef but chicken stock would be just as good. I used a tablespoon of cornstarch with an extra 1/2 cup of stock to thicken the sauce so it stuck to the pasta better and topped it with grated Romano cheese. I served it with the recommended garlic breadstick and green salad, Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by westcoastmom

Cooking Level: Expert

Photo by westcoastmom

Thai Chicken Spaghetti

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2015
Yum!! A weeknight Winner! This was easy to prepare and with on-hand ingredients it was a cinch to make. I added extra garlic and chili's to the vegetable mixture rather than at the end of cooking. And mixed the sauce in the same pan rather than a separate pot as that was simpler. I also added some Sriracha to the sauce to give it a little more heat. When I was making this I thought some sliced ginger might be a nice addition, but I don't miss it, it's perfect the way it is. The peanuts are what really makes this dish, so don't skip them! I also used really flavorful concentrated chicken stock (low sodium) sometimes your ingredients can make or break the dish! I did add some green onions for a final touch which added some freshness and brightness. I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by westcoastmom

Cooking Level: Expert

Photo by westcoastmom

Jewel's Chicken Giardino

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2015
This is a nice light meal. I added a little more garlic to the marinade. And added garlic and onion to the sautéed vegetables, as well as a little more herbs. I cut the veggies smaller and used more chicken stock instead of wine because my kids were eating it. I used the veggies I had on hand, (broccoli cauliflower, red pepper, carrots, peas). I will make this again when I can get more of the veggies called for! I love zucchini and yellow squash and it would be so good in this. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by westcoastmom

Cooking Level: Expert

Photo by westcoastmom

Greek Yogurt Poppy Seed Muffins

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2015
When I first made this I thought there was too much flour, I had to add more liquid to the batter before baking. The second time, I kept the flour the same but added an extra egg, Bingo! So add **TWO EGGS** I halved the baking soda and salt this time too, as there was too much soda and the muffins sank. This time the leavening was perfect. I used the zest of a lemon, and added the juice to a measuring cup and dispersed enough milk to make 3/4's of a cup. I fit all the batter into 12 large muffin cups instead of 15. The result is a glorious lemon poppy seed muffin!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by westcoastmom

Cooking Level: Expert

Photo by westcoastmom

Mom's Oatmeal Blueberry Pancakes

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2015
I think the submitter meant to use quick oats and not regular rolled oats. But this is easily fixed by soaking the oats in the buttermilk first. I soaked the oats for 1/2 an hour in half the buttermilk. And when I added everything else I just added extra flour until I got the consistency I liked (I like thinner pancakes) I used a porridge oat blend that has flax seeds, wheat germ, oat bran and large flaked oats. It definitely helped to soak them first so everything softened. This could be a 5 star raving recipe if the proper oats were specified in the ingredients, or if the instructions called for soaking first. So with that, I'll give it 4 stars because the whole family loved them!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by westcoastmom

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States