Victoria - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Amish Meatloaf

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2014
Best ever! This recipe has brought meatloaf back to our family menu. I do cut the basting sauce in 1/2 but otherwise make exactly as written! This is on the menu tonight once again with scalloped potatoes and buttered green peas :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carrie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

Baked Tomatoes Oregano

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2014
Easy and tasty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DELTAQUEEN50

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Berry Lemon Mousse Parfait

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2014
Light and refreshing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DELTAQUEEN50

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Orzo with Parmesan and Basil

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2014
Simple & delicious. This has become a staple dish in our home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Linzer Tarts

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2014
A lot of work, but incredibly delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Shorecook's Cashew Brittle

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2014
I just made this and of all the brittle recipes ive tried..this one worked!!! perfect instructions..super tastey!! xmas gifts fer gift baskets..awesome!! thank you shorecook!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by heidi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Aunt B's Peanut Butter Muffins

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2014
Great versatile recipe, this batter can be made into pancakes too! I found it to be the perfect amount of peanut butter, I used all natural peanut butter which I feel ups the peanut taste. Chocolate chips would make this five stars for sure! ~Update~ I also made this egg free for a friend and subbed a 1/4 cup of sour cream for the egg, Perfect! I think the by mixing the sour cream with the peanut butter it helped incorporate it more and boosts the flavour. The egg seems to be just for binding, but I did add a 1/2 tsp. of baking soda because of the acidity of the sour cream, all in all a great substitution if you want it to be egg free!:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by westcoastmom

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Penhold, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Robbi's M&M Cookies

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2014
I'm really pleased with this recipe and it's now my go-to base recipe for a basic cookie. I like a really buttery, soft cookie, so I used 1 1/4 of butter instead of the 1 cup of shortening. They come out fabulous every time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fiona

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Rich and Creamy Tomato Basil Soup

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2014
I made this recipe tonight and it was phenomenal. Just absolutely wonderful. I served it up with a grilled cheese for my roommate and I and got probably the best review I could have asked for: "I would have been more than happy to pay $20 for that in a restaurant and I would have been totally pleased with it." I agreed! I like a really thick tomato soup so I added 1 1/2 tablespoons of flour at the same time as the butter and cream and built up from there until it was the consistency that I wanted. That was the only thing I changed, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fiona

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Curry Stand Chicken Tikka Masala Sauce

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2014
im just finishing upi makin this..the only thing I changed was to add a red bell pepper..its sooooo tastey!! wow!! indian food is by far my favorite foodies!! I never make it..took a chance an I had all the ingridients in my fridge!! who has that?! I did..yaaah me! thank you fer submitting this recipe! my husbands gonna think im a rockstar tonite!! well, more so than already..heheh..;)this is one of those recipes that NO ONE really tweaks anything..an the amount of reviews an positivity of this recipe? holy cow..try it..don't even keep reading anymore posts..this is it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by heidi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Grilled Pork Loin Chops

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2014
Way too much Worcestershire sauce, the marinade was thin and the family did not like it. It seems to me that there was a mistake made in the ingredients and that it should have read: 3 Tablespoons of Ketchup and 2 Teaspoons of Worcestershire instead of the other way around as it is written!! I would try that next time! This is similar to a delicious recipe on here called Peking Pork Chops, I much prefer the Peking version.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by westcoastmom

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Penhold, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Mom's Best Meatloaf

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2014
Been searching a very long time for a meatloaf recipe that was good enough to use as a regular standby. I think this is it! Delicious....& even more so leftover.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Simple Turkey Chili

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2014
I tried this chili last night in the crockpot. I did tweak it as well; I sautéed the onions and garlic in the olive oil, then added the ground turkey. I cut out the water, and used 1 cup of chicken stock and two tins of kidney beans, red and white for color. I added cinnamon, Montreal Chicken Seasoning, hot sauce, lemon juice and chopped red peppers. This chili was delicious, and had some spicy kick to it! I will definitely be making this again and it is very versatile.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tammylynn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Quinoa Vegetable Salad

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2014
I added more balsamic vinegar and cilantro than the recipe stated. Next time I think I will cut down on the Quinoa quantity, add lemon juice and substitute chicken broth for the water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tammylynn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Perfect Pumpkin Pie

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2014
Awesome! Was a total thanksgiving hit :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JENZA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saturna Island, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Hearty Halibut Chowder

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2014
My daughter brought me back halibut pieces from Ahousat (a small Native community on Flores Island, not too far from Tofino, BC) & I needed a recipe - this worked out perfectly! This recipe is wonderful! I added fresh basil & dill (couple tbsp each), some sliced fresh mushrooms & some chopped celery. I didn't have any stewed tomatoes so I used 8 oz of crushed tomatoes. I used Lactose Free Half & Half cream. I wish I had read the reviews first & had blended the potatoes to make the soup thicker more like chowder, but that's my only complaint (I'll do that next time). I also had a few tbsp of sour cream that needed to be used up so I threw that in the soup too. The soup goes really well with Rye bread toast. :D BTW, I'm not usually a fan of tomato based chowders but this recipe changed my opinion!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Deborah

Mom's Zucchini Bread

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2014
LOVED this recipe. Only difference: since I can't have walnuts, I used a large handful of mini chocolate chips. I also just ran the zucchini through the food processor and it turned out awesome. My very picky toddler has been gobbling this up (glad it makes two loaves!).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deborah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

Slow Cooker Vegetable Soup

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2014
Wasnt bad, but I agree with the gummy feeling/taste review of Carlin A. Wont make again but if you prefer a brothy soup, this is more of a stewy feel.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Grilled Fish Tacos with Chipotle-Lime Dressing

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2014
amazing! for the dressing - i used 2 whole limes & zest and put in the food processor bx my chipotles were a bit chunky. i also used more chipotles than called for and it was hot! but it was great! i used regular sour cream instead of light, i think next time i will just use plain yogurt. i don't like tilapia so i used cod. i don't think one lb of fish cuts it for more than 2 people so i bought a bit more...next time, i'll buy even more as we barely had enough. i bought already cut up slaw mix and mixed my dressing into it...i made my own salsa with the cilantro, tomatoes, jalapeno, onion and lime juice. i used small flour tortillas and we had 3 each. there were no complaints! thanks so much for sharing this recipe! this is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Sweet and Spicy Green Beans

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2014
very good! i was quite surprised how much my whole family liked these beans...even my very picky 14 year old!! thx for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States