Vancouver - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Chocolate Zucchini Cake III

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2014
Wow. Amazing cake! Dense, moist, and incredibly delicious. My husband said it was the "best cake ever" and this is a man who says that cake is his favourite food-- so it's tall praise! I did end up making a few adjustments… - Cut back on the sugar by 1/2 a cup - Cut back on the oil by 1/4th of a cup - Omitted the cinnamon & walnuts completely - Added about half a cup of shredded coconut. Watch your baking time. The recipe says 50 minutes, but ours was done in about 30 min. I will absolutely be making this again. And again. And again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tamboden

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chef John's Minestrone Soup

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2014
Really good and super flexible. Used four strips of bacon instead of pancetta, skipped the celery, but added a bit more onion, used canned borlotti beans instead of dried cranberry beans, only a quarter tsp of red pepper flakes, orzo instead of ditalini, and skipped the salt (I did need to add some at the table). Also forgot the parsley. Since I didn't used dried beans I added the pasta with the cabbage and then added the beans when it was al dente (saved a bunch of time this way). Threw in the chard once the beans were warm and turned off the heat. The parm and olive oil really add something. Simple, basic recipe that I will make again. Maybe with sausage next time? Or maybe not.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2014
YUM! I really loved this recipe! made a couple small changes - first off, I cooked it in a bundt cake pan and it worked out really well (it wasn't as "deep" as it probably is in the bread pan but it worked). I also added about a teaspoon of cinnamon to the actual cake mixture, too, to give it a wee cinnamon boost, since I love cinnamon. I also added a teaspoon of Kosher Salt to bring out the flavors, and I used Soy Milk instead of regular milk (we just prefer it), and cooked it at 350 for about 45 minutes - everything else I did exactly as the recipe suggested and it turned out moist & DEEELICIOUS! my family could have mowed down the entire thing in one sitting - I'm saving this to my recipe box and will definitely make it again (might add a tiny bit more apple next time, too ;-)) - thanks for the great recipe, Jinglebells!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by marek

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Russian Chicken with Feta Cheese

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2014
delicious! The aroma in the kitchen was mouth watering. I did a few tweaks because I always do. Used leg/thigh and rubbed with some turkish spice before browning. Little more onion, little less sour cream, little more vodka and used home grown chopped orange tomatoes instead of paste. And because I just browned the chicken, it was a full hour in the oven at very low. Flavour combination is very good. I will be making this again and will use with pork tenderloin as well. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Good dog Molly

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prospect Bay, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Rosemary Ranch Chicken Kabobs

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2014
FANTASTIC! I followed the recipe exactly, and instead of threading the chicken onto skewers and throwing the marinade away, I baked everything in a casserole dish in the oven at 375 degrees for about 40 minutes, and served it over rice. It was a hit with the entire family. I followed this suggestion from other reviewers and I'm very glad I did. *REVISION, as we found it a bit salty (for oven version only) - reduce the salt to 1/4 teaspoon, reduce the oil to 1/4 cup, and increase the ranch dressing to 3/4 cup. Otherwise, if preparing this for kebobs, follow Theresa's recipe exactly and you won't be disappointed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Coconut Walnut Squares

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2014
The crust turned out perfectly. 4 not 5 stars only because I felt it tasted a bit bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Sangria! Sangria!

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2014
Left me and everyone else wanting more!!! I bought this to a party and it was a huge hit with a the ladies !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by food4me

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Sangria! Sangria!

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2014
Too much citrus as-is. Added more cherries and less citrus the second time around and was much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Kale, Quinoa, and Avocado Salad with Lemon Dijon Vinaigrette

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2014
I made the recipe as is and it was ok. very salty and the feta cheese was overpowering. I omitted the feta cheese the second time around and the flavour was excellent - definitely 5 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Summer Garden Crustless Quiche

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2014
This is a good recipe to use with Kale. I took the advice of another review and massaged the Kale in a solution of water, lemon juice, and salt. I made one quich without cheese and it was good as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Slammin' Salmon

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2014
Addictive salmon! I made exactly as listed the first time and have never seen the need to fool around with it (unusual for me)in the many times I have made it since. This salmon is also VERY good served cold with a lime mayo for dipping the chunks of salmon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Good dog Molly

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prospect Bay, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Good dog Molly

Clone of a Cinnabon

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2014
Under bake rather than over bake. Watch them like a hawk. They have to be soft to get that cinnabon texture. And as another commenter said, flip the pan upside down over a baking sheet while they cool to keep the syrup from pooling on the bottom of the pan. (and I don't use bread makers either) I make them night before then refrigerate. Rise in the morning and bake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Good dog Molly

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prospect Bay, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Brazilian Lemonade

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2014
fantastic! I whizzed the limes thru the juicer first, then poured everything into the blender, including the ice. Easy - no straining and got all that lovely lime juice. The taste of this is divine and the kitchen smells delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Good dog Molly

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prospect Bay, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chicken Cheddar and Guacamole Burgers

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2014
I didn't have any cumin or jalapeños on hand, so my patties (and my guac) were missing these favours, and the result was still so so tasty. The frozen ground chicken i had came in a 1lb pack, and that amount produced four thick patties, which cooked perfectly at medium-high on my grill for 4-5 min each side. Will probably make ahead and give a few hours to set in the fridge next time but this is a repeat make for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LION5466

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Hasenpfeffer (Rabbit Stew)

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2014
I have been thinking of raising rabbits for meat, so I bought one at the grocery store for a test run. After tasting this, my husband is on board with my new venture! Minus one star because the white meat was a little dry after only an hour and I agree with some other reviewers that all that bacon is not necessary. Otherwise excellent flavour. I will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Pork Chops With Black Cherry Sauce

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2014
Very nice change of pace to ordinary porkchops. Liked the cherries mixed with the wine. Didn't have beef stock, but did use the drippings from the baked chops which seemed a good substitute.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WestCoast Frog

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Nutty Raspberry Chocolate Muffins

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2014
These did not work out for me at all. They didn't rise and were soggy (impossible to get out of the pan) even though they were cooked. It was disappointing considering it is a more complicated muffin recipe. I used a stoneware muffin pan, maybe this contributed to the problem? It hasn't been a problem for other recipes (I make muffins regularly). I did add the milk and yogurt to the butter and egg mixture and mixed well before adding to the dry ingredients because the recipe as written seemed like it would be too much mixing for muffins. These muffins are also rather sweet in my opinion to be considered "healthier". I give two stars because the flavor was yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Clipthywings

Kentucky Butter Cake

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2014
This cake was an immediate hit! My husband ate half of it, followed the recipe and it turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Newcastle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rookies

Absolutely the Best Chocolate Chip Cookies

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2014
You have to have this NOW! It was so good, I almost died! My dad took four, pretty unhealthy, huh? I put in a bit less flour (1/2 cup) and still worked out. I put in 2 cups of chocolate chips and that was way too many! Try 1/2 cups, I did it and it was better. Hope you have it soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rookies

Cooking Level: Beginning

BBQ Dry Rub

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2014
I subbed in maple syrup for brown sugar simply because I didn't have any of the latter and rubbed the paste onto thick cut pork chops before grilling. I have never enjoyed a chop so much in my entire life. This one is a keeper for sure, and i can see no reason to swap out the maple syrup if you happen to have it. Thanks for this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LION5466

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-100 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Spring Asparagus
Spring Asparagus

The new crop of asparagus is finally here. Enjoy it in hundreds of different ways.

Homemade Waffles
Homemade Waffles

Waffles make Sunday mornings special, but they're great for lunch and dinner, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States