Vancouver - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More
Photo by Miss Pris

Cornmeal Waffles

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2014
Delightful; topped it off with custard & then mixed berries sauce...as for the dryness, once noticing; just really oiled down the waffle maker and let it sit to season well, and then continued to re-oil before each waffle,..and just because I am a cinnamon addict; I added some and a tiny bit of nutmeg too. I probably added vanilla also;..vanilla and cinnamon are like habits to me, I just add them. http://images.media-allrecipes.com/userphotos/250x250/01/80/21/1802116.jpg
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Miss Pris

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Brooke's Best Bombshell Brownies

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2014
We LOVED these brownies. I gave it 4 stars instead of 5, because I only used 2.25 cups sugar, and it was plenty sweet. Three cups may be tasty, but I really think they would be too sweet. I usually make 'Best Brownies' http://allrecipes.com/recipe/best-brownies/ from this site. The recipes are quite similar. With less sugar and the addition of pecans, this is my new favorite Brownie. Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Greek Feta Chicken

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2014
Followed this recipe exactly !! (Except I did bake the chicken because it is way to Winter here for my grill) It was Delicious!! Thank you very much for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nikki

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chicken Cordon Bleu II

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2014
My husband absolutely loves when I make this! Don't change a thing! It's been very popular for guests or just a meal for the two of us with leftovers! The sauce that results is divine! The tricky bit is rolling the chicken with the ham and cheese, but you'll get the hang of it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Sweet, Sticky and Spicy Chicken

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2014
Liked this very much! Though, I would advise to also follow the advice of reviewers and change the method slightly:: I heated the sauce in a small sauce pan, while sautéing my chicken pieces in a separate pan. When chicken was 3/4 done, I added the heated (and, by that point, thickening) sauce & cooked the chicken the rest of the way like that on low heat. The result was perfectly saucy, sticky, spicy-sweet chicken bites. Super easy too! Absolutely lovely with rice and steamed broccoli. Will definitely make this again ( & again, & again)!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tamboden

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Easiest Peanut Butter Fudge

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2014
I followed exactly what to be made yet I followed the reviewers' measurements of the ingredients. It was the bomb! :) thank you, cooks out there!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hanover, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Kettle Corn

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2014
what came out was pretty good but sugar stuck and burned in the bottom of pot
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Baked Buffalo Wings

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2014
I like this but i bake mine first then sauce. Wings come out nice and crunchy and i dont have to use a spatula to get them off the tray.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ChipmunkSerious

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kingston, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Fluffy Pancakes

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2014
Absolutely perfect, no need to say more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Zippy and Tangy Turkey Rice Soup

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2014
This soup is not bland at all, perfect amount of spices. Super tasty!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Orzo with Parmesan and Basil

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2014
A bit on the bland side, but nothing hot sauce couldn't fix :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Brown Sugar Smokies

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2014
These are simple and delicious. Brought these to a 420-style gathering and all of a sudden I could hear a man's voice loudly repeating "WHO brought these?" I put my hand up and he said "These are like heaven on a toothpick." He then proceeded to monitor how many everyone was eating and insisted that some be put aside for newcomers. He would walk up to them with the weenie raised high, sort of singing like there were angels around, and he would present it to them on one knee :) Also brought them to my daughter's high school. The boys fought over them and one ran away with the dish, gobbling as many as he could before they were taken away. Not such a big hit with my book club though. Someone's always on a freakin diet. So just remember that if it's a mixed gathering, you might make someone's wife jealous, THEY'RE THAT GOOD! I found I used WAAAAY more brown sugar than called for, even though I followed the recipe. Just use more and enjoy the sweet syrupy deliciousness that is what we have dubbed "Maple Weenie Tots".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Slow Cooker London Broil

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2014
I followed this recipe to the T, and got very good results. All in all an extremely simple, tasty, & tender crockpot recipe. I'm deducting one star though because I think that the flank would really have benefitted from being flipped over at least once during cooking (the top side, got a bit dried out). Also, next time I will follow the advice from other reviews and add some chopped up onion and probably a couple of dashes of worchestershire. Over all though, even as-is, this is a solid recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tamboden

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Basic Pasta

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2014
Sorry to be the downer on here, but I just don't think it's worth all the effort involved. Sure the noodles were nice, but it took a good portion of my day, and nearly all counter space to make them. I also let them dry for 3 hours like many recipes suggest. Don't get me wrong, I'm not a lazy chef. My kids never ate baby food from a jar and I almost never buy something packaged, if I can easily do it myself, like bread. But this is too much work. Maybe it's because I am more of a sauce person. The noodles are just a way to transport sauce. And considering I can buy organic egg noodles and dump them in boiling water on the spurr of the moment, I'll stick with that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Bran Flax Muffins

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2014
Perfect as-is. I had to bake mine for 25 min to be fully done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Guacamole

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2014
I make guacamole every weekend, and wanted to change it up a bit. This was absolutely terrific. Pick always use less salt, so that is the only change I made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Double Tomato Bruschetta

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2014
Absolutely fabulous and so easy. Will definitely be a repeat for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Oatmeal Raisin Cookies IX

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2014
yummy 'healthy' cookies. still prefer the unhealthy version though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Quinoa Side Dish

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2014
I did not care for this recipe. My husband ate his but didn't want it for lunch the next day (that never happens). I don't usually toast it before I cook it; not sure if I want to try that again. :-( It seemed lacking in flavour, except that it was a bit bitter, even though I thoroughly rinsed the quinoa before cooking it. I am not sure I want to use the red variety again, at this point...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by earthygirl

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

Sausage Pasta

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2014
I am generally more of a 'creamy sauce' fan, but I have to say…. I am so glad that I stepped out of my comfort zone a bit and tried this recipe. It was wonderful! Super simple & quick, but the flavours are absolutely fantastic. I followed the recipe almost exactly, with the exception of adding just a touch of salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tamboden

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-100 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States