Vancouver - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Coconut Chicken

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2015
I absolutely loved this recipe. It was full of flavour. I left out the coconut flakes (not a huge fan) added an extra clove of garlic to the marinade. Followed directions perfectly and my chicken came out juicy on the inside and extra crispy on the outside! Cannot believe it was not fried. Served with brown rice and vegetables made an awesome healthy meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful
Photo by Phoebe

Stuffed Pepper Soup

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2015
Lovely, the salsa taste really comes through so judge the spice level of salsa in it accordingly. Would probably add some fresh garlic and just put the rice in the soup mixture to cook next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Phoebe

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Mom's Favorite Baked Mac and Cheese

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2015
I only gave it 3 stars due to the processed cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dwleo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Pesto Chicken

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2015
These were amazing! We served the chicken with couscous rice and boiled vegetables. It made for a great healthy dinner and the guests loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by obdrew

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Best Big, Fat, Chewy Chocolate Chip Cookie

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2015
After leaving these cookies to cool for two days they became tough and hard to chew, almost like a bar instead of a good cookie. The center was not as chewy as promised. The taste was excellent, however. 3/5
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by obdrew

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Oven-Roasted Asparagus

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2015
So simple and delicious! Why haven't I made this in the oven before? I usually steam, but this worked well tonight since I had potatoes and chicken in the oven. Just reduce the salt - a lot - I used maybe 1/4 tsp (a few twists of pink himalayan salt) and it was plenty as the cheese is salty. A drizzle of balsamic vinegar is fantastic if you don't have lemon juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by karen u

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Almond Wild Rice

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2015
Love this, although like others have mentioned, I changed the method. Threw the rice and broth into my rice cooker, dry toasted the almonds on the stove, and then threw everything in the rice once it was done. Stirred it all up and let it sit for a few minutes and voila - a side dish simple enough for a weeknight and elegant enough for an occasion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Sweet Chicken Adobo

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2015
LOL..this is my recipe...it should say 1/4 cup chicken stock...(not boulion), and 4 cloves of GARLIC.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa Poetzschke

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Marathon, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Award Winning Soft Chocolate Chip Cookies

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2015
I loved the cookies when I tryed them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ZeddDotsCooking

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

Curried Quinoa

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2015
This was delicious. Great way to use up veggies in the fridge. I added some baby bok choy and spinach.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Isabella

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

Easy Chicken Tetrazzini

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2015
I used chicken broth instead of the water; organic condensed cream of mushroom soup instead of the cream of chicken soup and I added a couple of tablespoons of organic powdered chicken boullion (along with a bit of sage and thyme, since I used mushroom soup, instead of chicken). Next time, I will add a couple of cloves of garlic, too. Oh, and 1/4 cup of cheddar cheese was not nearly enough to cover a 9" x 13" dish -- I doubled that. I agree that spaghetti, as another reviewer mentioned, is not the best choice for holding the sauce, but Tetrazzini is supposed to be spaghetti, so you'd have to change the name, I would think, if you used a different pasta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by earthygirl

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

Chocolate Chip Muffins

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2015
This recipe is wonderful! I used 1 cup milk, 1/2 cup oil, 1 cup chocolate chips & a bit of vanilla. Excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Whole Chicken Slow Cooker Recipe

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2015
Very good and very easy! I didn't put it in the bag overnight (no time), I used only black pepper (I didn't have any white pepper on hand) and I laid the chicken on a chopped onion in the slow cooker. When it was done I took all the good meat off the chicken I tossed the bones back in the slow cooker along with carrot, celery, onion, bay leaf, parsley, thyme and salt and cooked on low overnight to make soup stock.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Phoebe

Billy Boy's Butter Tart Slice

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2015
This is a NICE alternative to at traditional butter tart, top with whipped cream or ice cream for dessert!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Phoebe

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Phoebe

English Butter Tarts

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2015
No butter for these butter tarts, shortening is the ingredient, very nice change!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Phoebe

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Carne Guisada III

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2015
My boyfriend is Puerto Rican and he misses tasting food from home. I have been trying different recipes to help him get over his cravings. He loved this one. The only thing he said was missing is some caramelized onions. So next time I will add onions. Thank you for posting the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Debra Miller

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Napa, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Easy Salsa Meatloaf

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2015
Easy, tasty meatloaf.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by toni

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ladysmith, British Columbia, Canada

Cabbage Roll Casserole

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2015
This was delicious. Since I didn't have quite as much meat (I used ground chicken) as the recipe called for, and I had cooked basmati rice to use up, I briefly sautéed the chopped cabbage and then added a bit of water to steam and mostly cook it, then I set is aside, while I cooked the meat and onions. Then, I added as much cabbage as I thought was appropriate,* along with the tomato sauce and simmered it for a while longer. Then I added the rice and adjusted the seasoning, allowing the rice to take on some of the flavours of the mixture. I didn't bother baking this in the oven; the dutch oven on the stovetop worked beautifully. Next time I make this, I plan to add some chopped bacon, for more depth of flavour. (Just don't tell my Ukrainian MIL, lol.) *Leftover cabbage is always nice to have on hand, anyway!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by earthygirl

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Photo by tamboden

Sandra's Butter Tarts

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2015
This was just okay for me. To save on time, I used frozen/prepared mini tart shells. I then followed the recipe exactly, and found it be a bit bland. Perhaps this is best used as a 'base' recipe, to which you would add your own raisins and/or walnuts? As is, it just misses the mark. I wouldn't rule out this recipe in the future, however if/when I make again, I will certainly try adding some extra goodies to jazz it up. Tip:: Pop the shells into the oven for 5 minutes or so BEFORE filling them, so that the shells can get a bit of extra cooking time (they'll need it).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tamboden

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Teena's Bacon and Cheddar Potatoes

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2015
This is a simple yet great alternative to the usual mashed potatoes. Reading the reviews, how can one say it didn't wow them when they changed the recipe? Try it as it states then judge. people.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dwleo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-40 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States