Vancouver - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Mexican Rice III

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2014
I don't know authentic Mexican rice but what I do know is we really liked the flavors of this rice dish. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Artichoke Chicken

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2014
I made this recipe for a big family dinner. I asked my family's honest opinion, and the general consensus was that it's fattening, heavy, and not in keeping with the new way of cooking - lighter, cleaner, more healthy ingredients with flavour provided by herbs instead of heavy sauces. I won't make it agai.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Georgia

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Nelson, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Grilled Cheese Sandwich

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2014
Grilled cheese has always been my lazy day yummy meal! I basically just searched this so I could share this with you - Fontina cheese, sliced jalapeños and garlic powder. Try it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stoney Creek, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Campbell's Kitchen Chicken Broccoli Divan

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2014
I highly recommend this recipe to anyone! It's simple, quick and tastes great. I have made this as is but I've found I've made it better by adding 1 tsp of garlic and curry powder to the chicken when cooking it. I also use extra bread crumbs and cream lf mushroom soup instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stoney Creek, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Asparagus and Mushroom Frittata

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2014
I would give this recipe 5 stars but I ever so slightly changed it up a bit so I could make it with what I had at home. I turned into into a baked frittata using most of these ingredients. I don't have an oven-safe skillet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stoney Creek, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chicken Tikka Masala

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2014
I have always been intimidated by Indian recipes (even though I love indian food). Tonight I was brave and tried out this recipe and was REALLY impressed. It's super easy, and the results were VERY good. Not as good as some of the better indian restaurants that I have been to…. but waaay better than any of the indian sauces that I've tried out of a jar over the years. I marinated my chicken for a few hours… and also cut WAY back on the salt. 7 teaspoons of salt in this recipe is WAY too much salt!! I used maybe 2 teaspoons altogether and honestly, it was even that a bit too salty! A fabulous recipe. Will definitely made again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tamboden

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Spicy Cream of Asparagus Soup

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2014
Made this before but somehow the recipe changed. No jalapeno or hot stuff added, just sautéed garlic with the onions and used an immersion blender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Phoebe

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Roasted Pork Loin

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2014
Tried this tonight and it was delicious! But why does the video say to bake the pork loin for 2 hours when the recipe say 1 hour? Don't cook it for 2 hours!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Spiced Pecans

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2014
Amazing! I love how there is no butter in this recipe. As suggested by others, I left out the cloves, cut down on nutmeg (personal preference) and beat the egg whites til only soft peaks which I think helped with coating the nuts. I used raw cane sugar (I ground it so it was finer like white sugar) and cut it down to just over half the amount and it was still sweet enough. Baked at 300, stirred every 10 minutes and it needed about 35 minutes total in my oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DanaMustEat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Kettle Corn

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2014
I made this recipe this afternoon. I did substitute 2 tablespoons of clarified butter for oil for a buttery flavour. I also added 1/2 teaspoons sea salt with the butter, oil, sugar mixture. The clarified butter helps to prevent burning because the milk solids are removed. For people that are having trouble with burning a heavy bottomed pot is essential and keep the pot moving. This is as easy as making regular popcorn. I will be making again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Whole Egg Mayonnaise

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2014
So amazing. I used olive oil and added minced garlic, and used a hand blender. Huge hit! Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Miss Niss

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Walnut Creek, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Best Chocolate Chip Cookies

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2014
Followed the recipe exactly, but these cookies didn't have much flavour. The texture was pretty good when they were hot out of the oven, but the next day they were completely hard.. like store bought cookies. Definitely not my favourite recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Fresh Strawberry Upside Down Cake

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2014
The cake turned out great but, with the marshmallows melting when heated I found it hard to tell when cake was done. Not enough to deter me from making this again-----as I will in 1hour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Delta, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Creamed Eggs on Toast

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2014
When I saw this recipe come up on my computer, my brain got enveloped in a myriad of flashbacks of meals long forgotten. My Mom used to make this and I loved it! Could not believe it. I had completely forgotten about this dish for 50 years. The only difference is she used to add paprika and dry mustard to it. I made it and was rewarded with pleasureable memories - not to mention a happy stomache! Thanks Allrecipes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dwleo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Caramelized Turnips

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2014
Very easy to prepare and absolutely scrumptious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Ciabatta Bread

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2014
Made this last night for a dinner party. It All got eaten! Quickly! I'm making more today!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dockgirl

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Absolutely Fabulous Greek/House Dressing

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2014
Fantastic recipe as it is but I tweaked it a bit to suit family tastes. I took the advice from previous reviewers and reduced the oil to 1/4 cup (for 12 servings) and added 1/4 cup water, then I changed the vinegar to 1/2 cup red wine vinegar and 1/4 cup balsamic. LOVE it! We're big-time salad eaters in our house so I'm always trying different dressing recipes and this one is a huge hit with all of us. I've made it when having company over and a friend who said that they didn't like "Caucasian food" could not stop eating the salad with this dressing - pasta with cucumber, peppers, black olives, feta cheese, tomatoes, onions and this dressing ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicole

Cooking Level: Expert

Vegetable Chowder

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2014
Pureed this for my elderly Mother, pretty good. 4.25
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Phoebe

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Buttery Garlic Green Beans

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2014
Nothing special. My beans turned all mushy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Creamy Chicken Gnocchi Soup

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2014
4.5 Used squash gnocchi, 1 pint of half and half, one cup of water. Otherwise, recipe as presented.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Phoebe

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-40 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States