Vancouver - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Whole Chicken Slow Cooker Recipe

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2015
Very good and very easy! I didn't put it in the bag overnight (no time), I used only black pepper (I didn't have any white pepper on hand) and I laid the chicken on a chopped onion in the slow cooker. When it was done I took all the good meat off the chicken I tossed the bones back in the slow cooker along with carrot, celery, onion, bay leaf, parsley, thyme and salt and cooked on low overnight to make soup stock.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Phoebe

Billy Boy's Butter Tart Slice

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2015
When you cannot be bothered to fill tart shells, this is a NICE alternative to at traditional butter tart, top with whipped cream or ice cream for dessert!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Phoebe

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Phoebe

English Butter Tarts

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2015
No butter for these butter tarts, shortening is the ingredient, very nice change!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Phoebe

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Carne Guisada III

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2015
My boyfriend is Puerto Rican and he misses tasting food from home. I have been trying different recipes to help him get over his cravings. He loved this one. The only thing he said was missing is some caramelized onions. So next time I will add onions. Thank you for posting the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Debra Miller

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Napa, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Easy Salsa Meatloaf

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2015
Easy, tasty meatloaf.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by toni

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ladysmith, British Columbia, Canada

Cabbage Roll Casserole

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2015
This was delicious. Since I didn't have quite as much meat (I used ground chicken) as the recipe called for, and I had cooked basmati rice to use up, I briefly sautéed the chopped cabbage and then added a bit of water to steam and mostly cook it, then I set is aside, while I cooked the meat and onions. Then, I added as much cabbage as I thought was appropriate,* along with the tomato sauce and simmered it for a while longer. Then I added the rice and adjusted the seasoning, allowing the rice to take on some of the flavours of the mixture. I didn't bother baking this in the oven; the dutch oven on the stovetop worked beautifully. Next time I make this, I plan to add some chopped bacon, for more depth of flavour. (Just don't tell my Ukrainian MIL, lol.) *Leftover cabbage is always nice to have on hand, anyway!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by earthygirl

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Photo by tamboden

Sandra's Butter Tarts

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2015
This was just okay for me. To save on time, I used frozen/prepared mini tart shells. I then followed the recipe exactly, and found it be a bit bland. Perhaps this is best used as a 'base' recipe, to which you would add your own raisins and/or walnuts? As is, it just misses the mark. I wouldn't rule out this recipe in the future, however if/when I make again, I will certainly try adding some extra goodies to jazz it up. Tip:: Pop the shells into the oven for 5 minutes or so BEFORE filling them, so that the shells can get a bit of extra cooking time (they'll need it).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tamboden

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Teena's Bacon and Cheddar Potatoes

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2015
This is a simple yet great alternative to the usual mashed potatoes. Reading the reviews, how can one say it didn't wow them when they changed the recipe? Try it as it states then judge. people.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dwleo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Rotisserie Chicken

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2015
AMAZINGLY DECICIOUS ! And beautiful in it's simplicity. We took advice of another & used olive oil in place of butter. In the drip tray we put quartered onion, garlic, white wine & chicken stock .... The chicken gets steamed by the mixture in drip tray plus - basting drips in to tray as well adding yo amazing flavor .... Thank you for a fabulous meal
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 1stephanie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Bistec Encebollao

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2015
My boyfriend is Puerto Rican and does not cook but misses his native food. I have been looking for recipes and found this one. I made it along with sofrito black beans. The only thing I did differently was add 1/3 cup of sofrito. My boyfriend love it. He ate all of it! What a smile this dish put on his face. Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Debra Miller

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Napa, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by tamboden

Fish Tacos

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2015
I do not own a deep frier, so I fried our fish (mahi mahi) in a pan with about 1/2 inch of vegetable oil and the results were FABULOUS. I had never attempted fried fish tacos at home before, and have to admit that I was a bit nervous… but I was so pleased with the results! Even my husband who swears up and down that he doesn't like fish, loved these. He ate SIX! A few tips:: I added some seasoning to the batter itself to kick up the flavour a bit. Just some cumin, cayenne, salt and pepper. You could really jazz it up however you like. The fish was really tasty and could easily have been eaten on its own.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tamboden

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Yancakes

Exotic Mushroom and Walnut Pate

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2015
Great earthy paté! If it feels "dirty", you may be forgetting to clean your portobello properly (never forget to scoop the gills out!) I really didn't find it that difficult or time consuming. Before I put it in my ramekin, after it was oiled, I added a tonne of fresh cracked pepper, chunky kosher sea salt, thyme and a spring of parsley and it came out gorgeously.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Yancakes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Caramelized Baked Chicken

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2015
I have made this two ways. With and without the skin. I am a skin-on guy as it imparts so much flavor to the dish. In deference to the writer I also tried it skinless. No comparison. With the skin is soooo much more tasty. As to boneless - bone in as chicken wings (mini drumsticks) are meant to be eaten with hands not a knife and fork. The bone gives a 'handle' with which to eat them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dwleo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cranberry Sauce

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2015
I am not a cranberry sauce person - never liked it. This is delicious! The combination of tart cranberry and burst of orange tastes and smells wonderful. And yes, it is a breeze to make. I do smack the cranberries around a bit as they cool to make it smoother. Perhaps other people's cranberries submit easier - mine stay pretty much whole.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Good dog Molly

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prospect Bay, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Hot Pepper Sauce - A Trinidadian Staple

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2015
I plan to make this this year. I'm growing several kinds of peppers but plan to use my Aji Peppers (50,000 scovilles) for a double batch and then use my sweet ones plus ajis again for a second batch. Rememebr the purpose of hot peppers is to enhance the flavor not burn your mouth, so play with the varieties! A recipe like this is more of a blueprint that you can modify
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by quinoahater

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Canadian Apple Pie

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2015
I have made this recipe several times. It is always a winner with the family. Not to sweet and really easy to make. I usually get asked to make apple pie at the last minute and this one never fails. LOVE IT!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Debra Miller

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Napa, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Bee Sting Cake (Bienenstich) II

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2015
I followed the recipe exactly. My end result was disappointing. The pastry was gooey, the filling was too much, and it was too big for the 8 inch pan,which made it rise quite high. I might try it again in the future to see if I get different results with a bigger pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

One Egg Lemon Pound Cake

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2015
I must agree with other negative reviews. The cake took well over an hour to bake. Cutting the butter into the dry ingrediants was an odd step for this type of recipe. The flavour was lacking, and the cake had a hard crust, and a dry interior. I was attracted to the reciepe, because I didn't have a lot of eggs. Sorry I will not be making this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hungry Lawn Gnome

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

Honey Baked Chicken II

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2014
My five year old started to critique this dish like she was on the food network. It was a huge hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Maui Onion Dressing

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2014
This is a favorite of family and friends, they ask for it by name...thanks! Wouldn't change a thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States