Vancouver - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Sweet, Sticky and Spicy Chicken

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2014
Liked this very much! Though, I would advise to also follow the advice of reviewers and change the method slightly:: I heated the sauce in a small sauce pan, while sautéing my chicken pieces in a separate pan. When chicken was 3/4 done, I added the heated (and, by that point, thickening) sauce & cooked the chicken the rest of the way like that on low heat. The result was perfectly saucy, sticky, spicy-sweet chicken bites. Super easy too! Absolutely lovely with rice and steamed broccoli. Will definitely make this again ( & again, & again)!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tamboden

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Easiest Peanut Butter Fudge

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2014
I followed exactly what to be made yet I followed the reviewers' measurements of the ingredients. It was the bomb! :) thank you, cooks out there!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hanover, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Baked Buffalo Wings

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2014
I like this but i bake mine first then sauce. Wings come out nice and crunchy and i dont have to use a spatula to get them off the tray.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ChipmunkSerious

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kingston, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Fluffy Pancakes

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2014
Absolutely perfect, no need to say more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Zippy and Tangy Turkey Rice Soup

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2014
This soup is not bland at all, perfect amount of spices. Super tasty!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Orzo with Parmesan and Basil

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2014
A bit on the bland side, but nothing hot sauce couldn't fix :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Brown Sugar Smokies

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2014
These are simple and delicious. Brought these to a 420-style gathering and all of a sudden I could hear a man's voice loudly repeating "WHO brought these?" I put my hand up and he said "These are like heaven on a toothpick." He then proceeded to monitor how many everyone was eating and insisted that some be put aside for newcomers. He would walk up to them with the weenie raised high, sort of singing like there were angels around, and he would present it to them on one knee :) Also brought them to my daughter's high school. The boys fought over them and one ran away with the dish, gobbling as many as he could before they were taken away. Not such a big hit with my book club though. Someone's always on a freakin diet. So just remember that if it's a mixed gathering, you might make someone's wife jealous, THEY'RE THAT GOOD! I found I used WAAAAY more brown sugar than called for, even though I followed the recipe. Just use more and enjoy the sweet syrupy deliciousness that is what we have dubbed "Maple Weenie Tots".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Slow Cooker London Broil

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2014
I followed this recipe to the T, and got very good results. All in all an extremely simple, tasty, & tender crockpot recipe. I'm deducting one star though because I think that the flank would really have benefitted from being flipped over at least once during cooking (the top side, got a bit dried out). Also, next time I will follow the advice from other reviews and add some chopped up onion and probably a couple of dashes of worchestershire. Over all though, even as-is, this is a solid recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tamboden

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Basic Pasta

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2014
Sorry to be the downer on here, but I just don't think it's worth all the effort involved. Sure the noodles were nice, but it took a good portion of my day, and nearly all counter space to make them. I also let them dry for 3 hours like many recipes suggest. Don't get me wrong, I'm not a lazy chef. My kids never ate baby food from a jar and I almost never buy something packaged, if I can easily do it myself, like bread. But this is too much work. Maybe it's because I am more of a sauce person. The noodles are just a way to transport sauce. And considering I can buy organic egg noodles and dump them in boiling water on the spurr of the moment, I'll stick with that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Bran Flax Muffins

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2014
Perfect as-is. I had to bake mine for 25 min to be fully done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Guacamole

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2014
I make guacamole every weekend, and wanted to change it up a bit. This was absolutely terrific. Pick always use less salt, so that is the only change I made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Double Tomato Bruschetta

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2014
Absolutely fabulous and so easy. Will definitely be a repeat for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Oatmeal Raisin Cookies IX

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2014
yummy 'healthy' cookies. still prefer the unhealthy version though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Quinoa Side Dish

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2014
I did not care for this recipe. My husband ate his but didn't want it for lunch the next day (that never happens). I don't usually toast it before I cook it; not sure if I want to try that again. :-( It seemed lacking in flavour, except that it was a bit bitter, even though I thoroughly rinsed the quinoa before cooking it. I am not sure I want to use the red variety again, at this point...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by earthygirl

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

Sausage Pasta

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2014
I am generally more of a 'creamy sauce' fan, but I have to say…. I am so glad that I stepped out of my comfort zone a bit and tried this recipe. It was wonderful! Super simple & quick, but the flavours are absolutely fantastic. I followed the recipe almost exactly, with the exception of adding just a touch of salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tamboden

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chocolate Zucchini Cake III

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2014
Wow. Amazing cake! Dense, moist, and incredibly delicious. My husband said it was the "best cake ever" and this is a man who says that cake is his favourite food-- so it's tall praise! I did end up making a few adjustments… - Cut back on the sugar by 1/2 a cup - Cut back on the oil by 1/4th of a cup - Omitted the cinnamon & walnuts completely - Added about half a cup of shredded coconut. Watch your baking time. The recipe says 50 minutes, but ours was done in about 30 min. I will absolutely be making this again. And again. And again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tamboden

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chef John's Minestrone Soup

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2014
Really good and super flexible. Used four strips of bacon instead of pancetta, skipped the celery, but added a bit more onion, used canned borlotti beans instead of dried cranberry beans, only a quarter tsp of red pepper flakes, orzo instead of ditalini, and skipped the salt (I did need to add some at the table). Also forgot the parsley. Since I didn't used dried beans I added the pasta with the cabbage and then added the beans when it was al dente (saved a bunch of time this way). Threw in the chard once the beans were warm and turned off the heat. The parm and olive oil really add something. Simple, basic recipe that I will make again. Maybe with sausage next time? Or maybe not.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2014
YUM! I really loved this recipe! made a couple small changes - first off, I cooked it in a bundt cake pan and it worked out really well (it wasn't as "deep" as it probably is in the bread pan but it worked). I also added about a teaspoon of cinnamon to the actual cake mixture, too, to give it a wee cinnamon boost, since I love cinnamon. I also added a teaspoon of Kosher Salt to bring out the flavors, and I used Soy Milk instead of regular milk (we just prefer it), and cooked it at 350 for about 45 minutes - everything else I did exactly as the recipe suggested and it turned out moist & DEEELICIOUS! my family could have mowed down the entire thing in one sitting - I'm saving this to my recipe box and will definitely make it again (might add a tiny bit more apple next time, too ;-)) - thanks for the great recipe, Jinglebells!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by marek

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Russian Chicken with Feta Cheese

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2014
delicious! The aroma in the kitchen was mouth watering. I did a few tweaks because I always do. Used leg/thigh and rubbed with some turkish spice before browning. Little more onion, little less sour cream, little more vodka and used home grown chopped orange tomatoes instead of paste. And because I just browned the chicken, it was a full hour in the oven at very low. Flavour combination is very good. I will be making this again and will use with pork tenderloin as well. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Good dog Molly

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prospect Bay, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Rosemary Ranch Chicken Kabobs

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2014
FANTASTIC! I followed the recipe exactly, and instead of threading the chicken onto skewers and throwing the marinade away, I baked everything in a casserole dish in the oven at 375 degrees for about 40 minutes, and served it over rice. It was a hit with the entire family. I followed this suggestion from other reviewers and I'm very glad I did. *REVISION, as we found it a bit salty (for oven version only) - reduce the salt to 1/4 teaspoon, reduce the oil to 1/4 cup, and increase the ranch dressing to 3/4 cup. Otherwise, if preparing this for kebobs, follow Theresa's recipe exactly and you won't be disappointed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States