Vancouver - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

World's Best Lasagna

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2014
Yum!! I used spicy italian sausage rather than sweet, and I think that it's what made this recipe. So, so, so good. And even better the next day after the flavours have had all night to mingle :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tamboden

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Black Magic Cake

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2014
This was the first time that I EVER made a cake from scratch! I was really nervous going in, but ultimately was blown away by how easy it was… and how tasty the final product is! Word to the wise-- The batter, before baking, is VERY thin. Don't be alarmed!! It will bake up into a wonderfully fluffy, decadent chocolate cake. This cake is quite airy and fluffy--- if you're looking for a more dense, hearty cake this recipe is not for you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tamboden

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Awesome Ham Pasta Salad

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2014
All in all, this was a fabulous recipe! Easy, yummy, and full of goodies!! A great addition to any potluck or BBQ.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tamboden

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Brigadeiro

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2014
Nope. I followed this recipe exactly and it absolutely DID NOT come together. I even chilled the concoction in the fridge overnight and, still, it was just goo (firm goo, but goo none-the-less). Maybe I didn't cook it all for long enough? It would be helpful if this recipe included a temperature that one should keep it on the stove for. Going in, I thought that this recipe just looked too simple and too good to be true… and ultimately I was right. Bummer!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tamboden

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Mom's Tourtiere

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2014
The best around. The amount of spices really brings it to the next level.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by renegade

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Baked Tomatoes Oregano

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2014
Easy and tasty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DELTAQUEEN50

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Berry Lemon Mousse Parfait

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2014
Light and refreshing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DELTAQUEEN50

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Miss Pris

Cornmeal Waffles

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2014
Delightful; topped it off with custard & then mixed berries sauce...as for the dryness, once noticing; just really oiled down the waffle maker and let it sit to season well, and then continued to re-oil before each waffle,..and just because I am a cinnamon addict; I added some and a tiny bit of nutmeg too. I probably added vanilla also;..vanilla and cinnamon are like habits to me, I just add them. http://images.media-allrecipes.com/userphotos/250x250/01/80/21/1802116.jpg
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Miss Pris

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Brooke's Best Bombshell Brownies

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2014
We LOVED these brownies. I gave it 4 stars instead of 5, because I only used 2.25 cups sugar, and it was plenty sweet. Three cups may be tasty, but I really think they would be too sweet. I usually make 'Best Brownies' http://allrecipes.com/recipe/best-brownies/ from this site. The recipes are quite similar. With less sugar and the addition of pecans, this is my new favorite Brownie. Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Greek Feta Chicken

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2014
Followed this recipe exactly !! (Except I did bake the chicken because it is way to Winter here for my grill) It was Delicious!! Thank you very much for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nikki

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chicken Cordon Bleu II

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2014
My husband absolutely loves when I make this! Don't change a thing! It's been very popular for guests or just a meal for the two of us with leftovers! The sauce that results is divine! The tricky bit is rolling the chicken with the ham and cheese, but you'll get the hang of it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Sweet, Sticky and Spicy Chicken

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2014
Liked this very much! Though, I would advise to also follow the advice of reviewers and change the method slightly:: I heated the sauce in a small sauce pan, while sautéing my chicken pieces in a separate pan. When chicken was 3/4 done, I added the heated (and, by that point, thickening) sauce & cooked the chicken the rest of the way like that on low heat. The result was perfectly saucy, sticky, spicy-sweet chicken bites. Super easy too! Absolutely lovely with rice and steamed broccoli. Will definitely make this again ( & again, & again)!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tamboden

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Easiest Peanut Butter Fudge

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2014
I followed exactly what to be made yet I followed the reviewers' measurements of the ingredients. It was the bomb! :) thank you, cooks out there!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hanover, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Baked Buffalo Wings

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2014
I like this but i bake mine first then sauce. Wings come out nice and crunchy and i dont have to use a spatula to get them off the tray.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ChipmunkSerious

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kingston, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Fluffy Pancakes

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2014
Absolutely perfect, no need to say more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Zippy and Tangy Turkey Rice Soup

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2014
This soup is not bland at all, perfect amount of spices. Super tasty!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Orzo with Parmesan and Basil

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2014
A bit on the bland side, but nothing hot sauce couldn't fix :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Brown Sugar Smokies

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2014
These are simple and delicious. Brought these to a 420-style gathering and all of a sudden I could hear a man's voice loudly repeating "WHO brought these?" I put my hand up and he said "These are like heaven on a toothpick." He then proceeded to monitor how many everyone was eating and insisted that some be put aside for newcomers. He would walk up to them with the weenie raised high, sort of singing like there were angels around, and he would present it to them on one knee :) Also brought them to my daughter's high school. The boys fought over them and one ran away with the dish, gobbling as many as he could before they were taken away. Not such a big hit with my book club though. Someone's always on a freakin diet. So just remember that if it's a mixed gathering, you might make someone's wife jealous, THEY'RE THAT GOOD! I found I used WAAAAY more brown sugar than called for, even though I followed the recipe. Just use more and enjoy the sweet syrupy deliciousness that is what we have dubbed "Maple Weenie Tots".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Slow Cooker London Broil

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2014
I followed this recipe to the T, and got very good results. All in all an extremely simple, tasty, & tender crockpot recipe. I'm deducting one star though because I think that the flank would really have benefitted from being flipped over at least once during cooking (the top side, got a bit dried out). Also, next time I will follow the advice from other reviews and add some chopped up onion and probably a couple of dashes of worchestershire. Over all though, even as-is, this is a solid recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tamboden

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Basic Pasta

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2014
Sorry to be the downer on here, but I just don't think it's worth all the effort involved. Sure the noodles were nice, but it took a good portion of my day, and nearly all counter space to make them. I also let them dry for 3 hours like many recipes suggest. Don't get me wrong, I'm not a lazy chef. My kids never ate baby food from a jar and I almost never buy something packaged, if I can easily do it myself, like bread. But this is too much work. Maybe it's because I am more of a sauce person. The noodles are just a way to transport sauce. And considering I can buy organic egg noodles and dump them in boiling water on the spurr of the moment, I'll stick with that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States