Vancouver - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More
Photo by Phoebe

Zucchini Artichoke Summer Salad

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2015
Very nice and easy dinner salad. Had pepperoncini peppers screaming at me in my fridge so chopped up a few of those and wish I had some grape tomatoes to add as well. As I am a garlic fiend, added 3 minced cloves to the zucchini and added more olives. A simple green salad on the side and dinner is ON!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Phoebe

Cooking Level: Expert

Ice Cream Lasagna

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2015
70 grams of sugar and 52 grams of fat per serving? Are you kidding me??? Sure it sounds tasty, but no thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by earthygirl

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

Quick and Easy Cheese Bread

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2015
This turned out really well. On the suggestions of others I used one cup of milk and 1 1/2 cups of cheese ( I used a mix of medium cheddar and Parmesan). I added a tsp of herbes Provençal to the dry ingredients. Thanks for the recipe, it's a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kat4662

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Moose Jaw, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Lemon Cupcakes

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2015
I baked these in 2 round pans for Mom's birthday cake. I baked for 30 mins and they came out perfect. Fluffy and moist, beautiful lemon flavour. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicole

Cooking Level: Expert

Banana Blueberry Muffins with Lavender

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2015
Delicious! I used my gluten free flour mix and 3/4 cup coconut palm sugar. Very light and flavourful. This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Phoebe

Rainbow Carrot Salad

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2015
My friend's daughter, who does not like carrots, gobbled up this salad because of the light, fresh taste from the carrots marinating overnight in the unique dressing. Definitely a keeper! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Phoebe

Cooking Level: Expert

The Best Ricotta Pancakes

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2015
I've had excellent ricotta pancakes in the past (at a favourite brunch place in San Francisco) & I was really hoping that these would compare... but unfortunately they missed the mark. The only alteration to the recipe I made was adding a tsp of vanilla paste. Over all, they were okay. Edible, for sure. But the consistency was just too gooey for me. I think that if I were to ever make again, I might stick to making really SMALL & thin pancakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tamboden

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Phoebe

Spring Fiddleheads and Sweet Peppers

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2015
A very nice change for a gourmet vegetable when available. Please pay particular attention to the warnings on the fiddlehead packaging from Canada Health and CFIA as to the preparation and consumption of this delicacy. Fiddleheads must NEVER be eaten raw and they have to be boiled at least 10 minutes prior to being eaten. I put mine in a large bowl to soak, trimmed the brown parts off and rinsed them twice and once again after boiling before adding to the sauté pan. This ensured all the dirt and debris was removed prior to serving, enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Phoebe

Cooking Level: Expert

Bodacious Broccoli Salad

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2015
I would have given this 5 *'s but after mixing the sauce into the cut broccoli (I used half cauliflower, too), it was immediately obvious that there was not nearly enough to properly coat all the veggies. So, I had to get everything for the sauce out again and make a 2nd batch. Not difficult, of course, but annoying, as I was short on time... So, taste: 5* ratio: 3* = 4* ;-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by earthygirl

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

Makivnyk (Poppy Seed Roll)

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2015
This is an easy recipe to follow! It's delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Petrosha

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Mom's Best Macaroni Salad

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2015
This is a wonderful macaroni salad recipe. I made it a day ahead for a dinner party and it was absolutely delicious . I followed the recipe exactly but did add 1 Tbsp. Dijon mustard and one can of niblet corn (398ml). It was very creamy but still had a crunch to it. Thank you for sharing this recipe....it's a keeper for summer salads!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Petrosha

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Bow Ties with Sausage, Tomatoes and Cream

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2015
I loved it. Only thing I added was some anise seed. Very yummy!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Brooke's Best Bombshell Brownies

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2015
Awesome awesome brownies. The taste is great and I must say it was even better after refrigerated overnight. But there was only one problem that led it to be a 4 star... The top was a bit flakey and made the brownie a bit dry (I followed the recipe exactly) but other than that I loved this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by obdrew

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Sweet, Sticky and Spicy Chicken

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2015
Easy, quick and delicious Asian-inspired chicken! We dredged the chicken in flour as recommended by other reviewers. Also substituted hot sauce for 1 1/4 teaspoon of Sambal. Turned out amazing, we will be adding this to our list of staple dinner dishes. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by obdrew

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Phoebe

Winter Root Vegetable Salad

Reviewed: May 31, 2015
I was very skeptical of this salad to begin with but OH, what a pleasant surprise but totally different from the salads I usually prepare. Agreed it is a misnomer as the ingredients are available all year round but it is nice, crunchy change and good for us!!! The only thing I would change is a bit more dressing but don't double it and I did chop up a few more pepperoncini peppers than called for. Do give it a try, very different and will have folks guess exactly WHAT is in it!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Phoebe

Cooking Level: Expert

Photo by Phoebe

Artichoke and Salmon Salad

Reviewed: May 28, 2015
I couldn't find a pouch of salmon in my area of Canada so purchased a small portion of lightly smoked salmon. Increased the Greek seasoning slightly as well as the lemon juice and mixed the salmon in with the cream cheese, lemon juice, parsley and seasoning. As you can see, I ended up with a delightful antipasto lunch with crackers, tomato, pickles, artichoke hearts (my fav) and black olives on the side!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Phoebe

Cooking Level: Expert

Bodacious Broccoli Salad

Reviewed: May 25, 2015
I would have given this 5 *'s but after mixing the sauce into the cut broccoli (I used half cauliflower, too), it was immediately obvious that there was not nearly enough to properly coat all the veggies. So, I had to get everything for the sauce out again and make a 2nd batch. Not difficult, of course, but annoying, as I was short on time... So, taste: 5* ratio: 3* = 4* ;-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by earthygirl

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

Chef John's Chicken Under a Brick

Reviewed: May 25, 2015
What a great idea! It was so different, I just HAD to try it. We live in a condo, so I went to a building centre to buy 2 bricks (good conversation starter). I've always spatchcocked chicken with a boning knife, but I must admit, kitchen shears ARE easier. The brick trick worked perfectly, though mine was a bit slippery, since I placed a sheet of silicone paper between the aluminum foil-wrapped bricks and the chicken (I never cook with/on aluminum). I don't use cast iron anymore (glass cooktop), so I thought I'd use my heavy 14" stainless sauté pan... but it was NOT large enough, so I used a shallow enamelled (rectangular) roasting pan, lined with more silicone paper, and that worked beautifully. If I can find a cast iron pan that is rectangular, I would buy it, just for this purpose. It was that good! Thanks, Chef John! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by earthygirl

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

Fresh Rhubarb Pie

Reviewed: May 24, 2015
Perfect rhubarb pie recipe, butter or no.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Corinne Murphy

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Vaudreuil-Dorion, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Vegetable Curry

Reviewed: May 17, 2015
loved this recipe, followed it exactly and it was perfect. I did keep a lid on it so it would stay moist, half way through add a very small amount of water. Perfect
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States