Vancouver - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Grilled Fish Tacos with Chipotle-Lime Dressing

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2014
This was good; my family liked it. I wish I had remembered to salt & pepper the fish prior to broiling. I used wild caught cod instead of tilapia, and the results were good. I wasn't crazy about the dressing, but my kids liked it. The cilantro was amazing in this recipe! I think I will search out a better dressing for fish tacos before I make this again, but I definitely will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Georgia

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Nelson, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Pepper

Szechwan Shrimp

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2014
Love it! We make this a few times per month, so easy and yummy! I double the sauce (and the garlic/onion, too) and serve it over rice. Mmmmm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pepper

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Chicken Parmesan

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2014
My husband made this for the fam and absolutely blew us away. SOOOO GOOD!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Quinoa Tabbouleh

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2014
This is a good base recipe. I cut the olive oil down to 1/8 a cup and lemon to 1/2 the olive oil. Also added a 1/4 teaspoon of cumin to the mix and a can of washed and drained garbanzo beans,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by eatvancity

Cooking Level: Expert

Bread Pudding II

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2014
Yummmm! Great with maple syrup. Candied pecans would be a great touch
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Miss Niss

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Walnut Creek, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by tamboden

Easy Morning Glory Muffins

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2014
My husband has been asking me to make 'Morning Glory' muffins for some time now… Confession:: I had never even heard of them prior to meeting my guy! Finally I decided to try them out. Over all, a very good recipe. Easy & full of fairly healthy ingredients. A great hearty 'breakfast muffin'. One star deducted because I found that the amount of sugar that this recipe calls for it a bit excessive. I reduced to 1 cup.. but could have easily gone down to 3/4 a cup without missing any sweetness. Also, 2 tsp of cinnamon is just not early enough for a muffin that is this hearty. I brought mine up to 3 tsp, and added 1/2 tsp of all spice as well. With those few, basic modifications though, this recipe was a hit. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tamboden

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Easy Cauliflower and Broccoli au Gratin - scaled down

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2014
YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by earthygirl

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

Hot Sweet Habanero Chile Sauce

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2014
good recipe and the ingredients can be played around with, I guess the darkening comes from the brown sugar and smoke. I've seeds on order, aji amarillo, cascabel and hot Thai so will use those this year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by quinoahater

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Beef Pot Pie III

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2014
I used a blade roast and while it was simmering I added 2 bay leaves. I didn't use the beef broth or frozen peas because I didn't have either on hand so I used onion, celery and carrots. With a little salt and pepper I found it was quite tasty. My hubby ate as a stew for two days and loved it then I made pie crust and made meat pies for him to have when I work afternoons.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KATKOMP

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chef John's Perfect Prime Rib

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2014
Ok i was a serious skeptic. My 50 dollar roast and a house full of company what could go wrong. I made the marinade from the garlic prime rib. Did exactly as this recipe said. 30 minutes for my 6 pound roast, shut off the oven and waited 2 hours wondering the whole time if it would work Without a doubt the roast was spectaclar. Beautiful crust on the outside, perfect, pink in the middle and so juicy and tender. I wont do it any other way ever again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by tamboden

The Best Double Chocolate Chip Cookie

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2014
The best double-chocolate cookie I have ever made… and possibly the best chocolate chip cookie PERIOD. Make sure to refrigerate your dough for 1-2 hours at least-- this solves the issue with cookies coming out too flat. Also, increase that cocoa up to 1/2 cup. Fantastic recipe. Will be making again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tamboden

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Baked Teriyaki Chicken

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2014
Waay too salty!! Need to cut soy sauce by at least half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crunchy-p

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Strawberry Spinach Salad I

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2014
A little less sugar, half the recipe, and use one tablespoon or less of sugar. Salad greens ok too, instead of spinach. Pine nuts, or walnuts. Add hempseeds. Use red onion minced, balsamic vinegar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crunchy-p

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Buttermilk Oatmeal Muffins

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2014
Yummy! I have two suggestions to change it up a bit. Pulse your whole oats (even steel cut) in the blender/food processer to grind it. This will make the muffins lighter and less chewy, while keeping all the goodness of the oatmeal. Second, add chopped fruit, like strawberries, blueberries, etc.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Slow-Cooker Pepper Steak

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2014
this recipe was tasty and revived some old freezer burnt steaks (they had been in the freezer for a year!).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chef John's Pasta Primavera

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2014
This recipe lends itself well to modifications. I reduced the olive oil to 1\3 cup to cut calories. I found it was lacking in salt, so you may wish to add some extra. I didn't have jalapenos, so I skipped that step. I added broccoli instead of snap peas because that's what I had on hand. To keep the zucchini from getting mushy, add it with the asparagus at the end. I found 3 cups of broth to be too much; if I make it again, I will reduce it to 2 cups.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Georgia

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Nelson, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cocoa Apple Cake

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2014
Recipe was amazing...so moist and hearty. I made a few small changes - 1 c. of cubed apples 1 c. shredded; doubled spices as suggested; added 1/2 c. chopped walnuts in with choc chips and cooked in a 9x13 pan. After one bite Hubby said he wanted to take cake to work to show the guys how great a baker his wife was! He has never said that in 8 yrs so thank you lol!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chocolate Revel Bars

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2014
They turned out super crunchy on edges - next time will cook for shorter time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Mashed Potato Casserole

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2014
Excellent recipe thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chef John's Caramel Apple Pie

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2014
This pie is easy to make and extremely delicious! I followed the recipe exactly, with the exception of adding 2 tablespoons of all purpose flour to the butter and sugar mixture. As long as the pie is allowed to cool completely, it will not be watery when cut.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sandie

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States