Surrey, British Columbia - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Slow Cooker Beef Pot Roast

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2014
I couldn't get fresh herbs so I used dried. Otherwise made exactly as directed and enjoyed a really great Sunday night dinner served over mashed potatoes. Even hubby who is not a big potato fan scarfed this up. Adding to my regular crockpot section so thank you Chef John for another great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cher

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ingersoll, Ontario, Canada

Kettle Corn

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2014
I made this recipe this afternoon. I did substitute 2 tablespoons of clarified butter for oil for a buttery flavour. I also added 1/2 teaspoons sea salt with the butter, oil, sugar mixture. The clarified butter helps to prevent burning because the milk solids are removed. For people that are having trouble with burning a heavy bottomed pot is essential and keep the pot moving. This is as easy as making regular popcorn. I will be making again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Mini Orange Mince Pies

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2014
I enjoyed the crust on these tarts but my hubby didn't care for it as he found it too crunchy and because it was mini, it didn't have enough mincemeat. I liked it but he didn't care for it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Banana Cake VI

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2014
An easy cake to make and oh so moist and delicious! A definite keeper. ;o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Veracruz-Style Red Snapper

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2014
Excellent dinner tonight using this recipe baked in single serving au gratin dishes along with the blue tortilla chips as per Chef John's video. The only thing I didn't care for was the olives and that's because I used the wrong ones. They were way too strong so I'll change that up the next time but this is definitely going in our regular Friday fish night rotation. Hubby LOVED it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cher

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ingersoll, Ontario, Canada

Spicy Red Snapper

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2014
This recipe was extremely easy to put together and tasted pretty good. I am not a fish lover but am trying to add more fish to our menus for health reasons. So last night I was able to actually eat my entire plate without once thinking "Ugh, I hate fish!". That's a good thing. My hubby loves fish and he was very pleased with this so it's on my regular rotation for Friday night fish night. Thanks for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cher

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ingersoll, Ontario, Canada

Cup of Everything Cookies

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2014
I found it too be rather insubstantial...I liked the idea of using so many ingredients but found the cookie too fragile and crumbly. Maybe I would just use butter and no oil if I made it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by theseamstress

Cooking Level: Expert

Garlic Chicken

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2014
Love the garlic in it and was so easy to make but yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by theseamstress

Cooking Level: Expert

Chef John's Swedish Meatballs

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2014
Had this for dinner tonight and it was excellent! Best meatballs I think I've ever had and the gravy is to die for over mashed potatoes. Didn't change a thing except for adding a 1/4 tsp of browning sauce to the gravy because I thought it was too pale-looking. Adding to my regular rotation. Thanks for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cher

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ingersoll, Ontario, Canada

Pork Chop Suey

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2014
Excellent! Doubled the sauce amount and only just eyed up the veggie measurements but this turned out great tonight served over steamed fried noodles. Adding to my regular rotation of stir fry's. Thanks for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cher

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ingersoll, Ontario, Canada

Spinach Quiche

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2014
I like this quiche well enough but the time to cook is off by quite a bit. The in-oven time alone is 55 minutes with 10 minutes to sit after so that's already an hour and 5 mins without counting the preparation time. This is crucial when I come home from work and need to know at a quick glance how long dinner will take to get on the table. I hope the recipe owner will amend this. Otherwise this is a very good quiche that I use for Meatless Mondays a lot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cher

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ingersoll, Ontario, Canada

Spaghetti Sauce with Ground Beef

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2014
This was excellent spaghetti sauce tonight for dinner and made enough to last us at least one more night if not two. I did add a teaspoon of sugar but otherwise made it exactly as directed. It's going in my recipe box as my stand-by pasta sauce. Thanks for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cher

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ingersoll, Ontario, Canada

Baked Chicken Wings

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2014
Only thing I did different was add 2 tsps of Franks Hot Sauce to the mix and after an hour of baking they were not very crispy at all so I broiled them for about 5 minutes. I could only eat 2 before I got turned off them but my hubby thought they were okay, just not much taste or heat. Will not repeat since I have a bunch of other chicken wing recipes that are way better. Sorry I couldn't give this a better review.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cher

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ingersoll, Ontario, Canada

Fried Rice Restaurant Style

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2014
I made some minor changes based on the reviews and it turned out fabulous! I made the rice ahead of time and allowed it to chill in the refrigerator. I used frozen mixed vegetables. I did not boil these but simply rinsed under cold water, drained and then stir fried them with about 3 cloves of minced garlic and about a teaspoon of minced ginger before adding in the rice. I beat the eggs slightly and then in a separate fry pan cooked them without scrambling. When finished I put them on a cutting board and sliced into strips. I really hate recipes that say add to taste. What the heck does that mean anyway? So I added about 1/3 cup of soy sauce, 2 teaspoons of sesame oil and 2 teaspoons of oyster sauce. My hubby went back for seconds raving about how good this was and then ate the leftovers for lunch the next day raving again about how terrific this fried rice was. This is now on my regular rotation for Meatless Mondays and side dishes. Thanks for posting a really great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cher

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ingersoll, Ontario, Canada

Awesome Ham Pasta Salad

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2014
Made this for a potluck dinner. Everyone liked it and my friend who hates pasta salad ate two servings. Winner winner! Didn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shane16

Cooking Level: Expert

Creamy Chicken on Linguine

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2014
Yummy. A meal the whole family enjoys.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Sensational Steak Sandwich

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
Made this tonight for dinner and will make again. As per some reviewers comments, I waited until an hour before dinner to add the veggies and I saute'd them briefly first. I didn't use the horseradish/brown mustard mixed because I had a jar of horseradish/dijon in the fridge. Next time I won't use the mushrooms because they just tasted rubbery and I'll do something different then a loaf of french bread. There was way too much for just the two of us. Otherwise I liked this a lot and have added it to my regular rotation. Thanks for posting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cher

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ingersoll, Ontario, Canada

Creamy Macaroni and Cheese

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2014
Made this on Sunday exactly as directed except I spread Panko breadcrumbs soaked in butter over top and baked it for 30 minutes before serving. I loved it! Hubby not so much but he never gets very enthused about macaroni and cheese dishes so I'm going to ignore his apathy. This recipe makes a ton so next time I will cut it in half. There will definitely be a next time. Very cheesy, easy to prepare and the leftovers make great lunches. Thanks for posting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cher

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ingersoll, Ontario, Canada

Grandma Johnson's Scones

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
Absolutely wonderful! Made the basic scones (no extra additions this time but will definitely in the future) and served with homemade strawberry jam & raspberry jam. Num num num!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sandi S.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Slow Cooker Pulled Pork

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2013
Since I have never had pulled pork before, I have nothing to compare this to. One thing I do know, this was tasty! tasty! tasty! I only had 1 x 1-pound tenderloin so I used 1 cup root beer to which I mixed in about 1/4 cup of bbq sauce before pouring over the meat in the slowcooker. I also added a little extra bbq sauce to the top of the tenderloin while cooking. Even tho I reduced the amount of ingredients, I did not reduce the cooking time. I served it with homemade mac and cheese--hubby& I absolutely LOVED it! A definite make again recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sandi S.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-100 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States