Surrey, British Columbia - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Slow Cooker Pulled Pork

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2013
Since I have never had pulled pork before, I have nothing to compare this to. One thing I do know, this was tasty! tasty! tasty! I only had 1 x 1-pound tenderloin so I used 1 cup root beer to which I mixed in about 1/4 cup of bbq sauce before pouring over the meat in the slowcooker. I also added a little extra bbq sauce to the top of the tenderloin while cooking. Even tho I reduced the amount of ingredients, I did not reduce the cooking time. I served it with homemade mac and cheese--hubby& I absolutely LOVED it! A definite make again recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sandi S.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Left-Over Turkey Pot Pie

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2013
I love anything wrapped in pastry and this was an excellent way to use up leftover Christmas turkey. I prepared this exactly as directed and it came out delicious. Takes a bit of time in preparation but certainly not difficult to prepare. Saving this to my favorite turkey file. Thanks for posting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cher

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ingersoll, Ontario, Canada

Naan

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2013
Very delicious. Could eat it by itself. The garlic butter made the bread. Yum-MOO! ;o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Honey-Glazed Pork Chops

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2013
Love that the recipe is easy to put together - had all of the ingredients and it doesn't take too much time. However, I did find it a little too sweet. I did make 1-1/2 times the sauce and added the red pepper flakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sandi S.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

The Best Rolled Sugar Cookies

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2013
Amazing! Super easy to make and roll out. I didn't change a think in the original recipe, but took the advice of someone else and rolled them out using icing sugar instead of flour. These are going straight to my niece's birthday party!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JORDANTHEGIRL

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Regina, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Vegetarian Korma

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2013
Made this for Meatless Monday exactly as directed but both hubby and I found this dish to be rather bland and tasteless. I had high hopes because it was fun to make and looked good. But there just wasn't any taste to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cher

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ingersoll, Ontario, Canada

Garlic-Ginger Chicken Wings

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2013
When I make these wings again and I will make them again, I will follow my gut instinct and cook them only 20 mins per side. I knew it was too long to cook for 30 mins each side but did it anyway because I always follow any new recipe exactly as directed the first time. These were way overcooked and tasted much like I imagine shoe leather would taste. But hubby thought they tasted great despite being overcooked so the three stars is for the glaze only. I will update my review after cooking them the next time but I strongly suggest the owner of this recipe revise the cooking time downward.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cher

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ingersoll, Ontario, Canada

Shepherd's Pie VI

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2013
Fantastic recipe. Who cares that it's not traditional Shepherds pie. I like it. I did however make a few changes and additions. I followed the recipe but added two large cloves of garlic when I sauteed the onions. I used vegetable stock instead of beef. I added an extra 1/4 cup of water and sprinkled extra flour to thicken the gravy. a few splashes of Worcestershire sauce is a must. I did mash the carrots but they ended up being chunky ( tasted great ) and added some frozen peas to the veg layer. It was a family hit. I saved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MommaB6

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Meadowwood Tapioca Pudding

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2013
Very delicious! A keeper. Lessened the sugar as suggested to 1/2 cup but overall yum-MOO!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Yakisoba Chicken

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2013
This was tonight's dinner and I made it almost exactly as directed except for the soba noodles which I could not find at the grocery store. Instead I used steam fried noodles. I cut back on the meat by 3 breasts since there was only two of us and it turned out really well. Hubby loved it! I'd give it a 5 star but for the saltiness of the soy sauce. Next time I will use a low sodium soy sauce or maybe just less soy sauce. I am a salt lover and this was way too salty for even my taste buds. Otherwise GREAT! recipe, easy to make and inexpensive to buy. It's on my regular rotation now so thanks for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cher

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ingersoll, Ontario, Canada

Easy Beef Stroganoff

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2013
Made this for dinner tonight with a side of country biscuits and although it was okay and we ate full portions, it still needs something to zip it up. Next time, and I will make it again because it's easy, inexpensive and really did taste okay, I'm going to take some reviewer's suggestions for adding garlic and worchestershire to add some kick. It was just a wee bit bland. But still goes in my regular rotation so thanks for posting this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cher

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ingersoll, Ontario, Canada

Spanish Potato Omelet

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2013
Excellent! Adding to my regular rotation for Meatless Mondays. I was pleasantly surprised when hubby admitted to liking this as well because he does not normally tolerate anything with potatoes. Thanks for posting. I made this exactly as instructed except served sliced tomatoes and green onions on the side instead of on top. Really quite good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cher

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ingersoll, Ontario, Canada

Sweet and Sour Pork Tenderloin

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2013
Tonight's dinner was awesome! Served over steam fried noodles, I made this exactly as directed except I had double tenderloin so doubled sauce. So good! Just the right amount of heat for us. Thanks so much for posting this. I'll make this again. Easy/fast too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cher

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ingersoll, Ontario, Canada

Hot Ham and Cheese Sandwiches

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2013
Terribly overrated recipe in my opinion. Made these sandwiches tonight using kaiser rolls and ingredients exactly as recipe directs. Made 4. There's not enough filling, the dill seed was $6/small jar and had very little impact on the sandwich and the amount of butter mixture was just barely enough to cover one side of each of the 4 kasier rolls. Will not be repeating this as I've made other baked sandwiches that were far better and less expensive.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cher

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ingersoll, Ontario, Canada

Easy Spicy Roasted Potatoes

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2013
Great recipe! I did end up baking this dish at a lower temperature for longer (baked at the same time as the Marinated Baked Pork Chops) but still came out tasty. A little too salty, but that can be reduced. Will definitely be making again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sandi S.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Marinated Baked Pork Chops

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2013
Absolutely fantastic flavor and so easy to make! Only 1 change: since I don't do Worcestershire sauce, I added a few drops of hot sauce instead. Served it with "Easy Spicy Roasted Potatoes" and green beans. Nummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sandi S.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Parsleyed Rice Pilaf

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2013
I really liked the fact that this recipe was so easy and quick. I'm not much of an onion fan so I did find it a little over the top with the onion. Think I would reduce the amount of onion next time and use a can a chicken broth as others recommended for extra flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sandi S.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Bountiful Garden Zucchini Enchiladas

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2013
Made this exactly as directed and dinner was okay but for the amount of work that went into this recipe, I expected more. I may do these again and implement some reviewer changes. Both hubby and I were slightly ambivalent about how much we liked this so that's not usually a good sign.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cher

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ingersoll, Ontario, Canada

Classic Canadian Caesar

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2013
I live in Vancouver, B.C. Canada and indeed this is often the drink of choice. I was dismayed when we were in Hawaii years ago and couldn't buy Clamato juice. This is a great recipe and I hope you all enjoy it as much as we do here.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Bob's Slow Cooker Braciole

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2013
I followed this recipe exactly today and am disappointed to say it wasn't all that good and I won't be repeating it. Everything was just fine until I tried to "slice" the meat before serving. It completely fell apart! When served over pasta we got mouthfuls of just the stuffing mix which fell out of the middle in clumps(UGH!)and no evidence of any cheese or bacon. I cooked it on low in my slow cooker for 7 hours. It was at least edible as the meat was extremely tender and although the sauce over the spaghetti was okay this was not nearly as good as it should have been for the trouble it took to make it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cher

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ingersoll, Ontario, Canada

Displaying results 81-100 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States