Surrey, British Columbia - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Chef John's Chicken Cacciatore

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2014
Great recipe! A bit labor intensive but totally worth the effort. Used legs with backs attached and an entire 14 oz can of tomato sauce. Served with spaghetti it made a really great dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cher

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ingersoll, Ontario, Canada

Beef Patties In Onion Gravy

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2014
One of my all time favorite quick and easy meat and potatoes on a weeknight dinner. Extremely tasty, easy and even hubby likes this even though he's not a potato lover at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cher

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ingersoll, Ontario, Canada

Baked Asparagus with Balsamic Butter Sauce

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2014
Very good but didn't get too much balsamic flavour... Might have to play with the recipe a little more, the steps to roast the asparagus were perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALLIE

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chipotle Garnet Yams

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2014
Loved it, easy to make, creamy, with personality. Just because I love chipotle and maple syrup in other foods, I used half brown sugar and half maple syrup (of the 1/4 cup listed on the recipe) and it turned out delicious. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALLIE

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Peppered Shrimp Alfredo

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2014
Delicious! Restaurant-like pasta dish. I did half shrimp half chicken because that's what I had available and we liked it...probably best with all shrimp though. I also added more pepper since I didn't have mushrooms and it was great. I highly recommend this! Easy weeknight meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

White Frosting

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2014
Good not too sweet frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Red Snapper Livornese

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2014
Forgot to buy black olives so used some slice manzanilla olives I had on hand. Otherwise used 2 lbs of snapper filet and did not drain the tomatoes before using. Served over rice and steamed broccoli on the side, hubby said it was delicious. I am not a fish eater but I didn't mind this at all so putting it on my regular Friday night fish rotation. Definitely recommend using tomatoes with juice because that was the best part served over rice in my opinion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cher

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ingersoll, Ontario, Canada

Cream Cheese Bars II

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2014
This was really good although a bit rich. Mine didn't come out nearly as attractive as the picture featured on the recipe page either. Not sure how the crescent dough was flattened out and made to look so neat and tidy. Maybe some direction in the recipe itself might have helped. Nevertheless they tasted great but I probably won't make them a lot since they are so extremely fattening.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cher

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ingersoll, Ontario, Canada

Roasted New Red Potatoes

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2014
Cooked as the recipe directs, these turned out completely tasteless and boring. With enough tweaking and spicing, I suppose it would be a better recipe. Into my "do not repeat file".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cher

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ingersoll, Ontario, Canada

Hearty Vegetable Lasagna

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2014
This is an incredible veggie lasagna. I also added chopped zucchini, shredded carrot and chopped broccoli to the sauce mix and used chopped spinach in the cheese mixture. You just don't miss the meat with this dish. We had it two nights in a row so it reheats in the microwave very well and then I also had for my lunch on day 3. Delicious lasagne, I highly recommend this recipe for your Meatless Mondays.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cher

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ingersoll, Ontario, Canada

Pork and Pepper Stir Fry

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2014
This was just okay. I served it over steamed fried noodles as I do every stir fry I make and it was very dry. Certainly needs more sauce. In fact it needs so much tweaking as other reviewers suggest, might as well just find another pork stir fry recipe that doesn't require as much to make it edible. Hubby thought it was pretty good but I probably won't repeat this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cher

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ingersoll, Ontario, Canada

Aunt Carol's Spinach and Fish Bake

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2014
It's been in the oven for 20 minutes at 350 and it hasn't even begun to cook! I absolutely hate recipes that mislead on the cooking time because it screws me up for getting dinner on the table and that ticks me off!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cher

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ingersoll, Ontario, Canada

Quick and Easy Yorkshire Pudding

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2014
Made exactly as directed except I used 6 large muffin tins instead of 12 smaller ones. They came out terrible! Thick bottoms and way too tough to eat. Maybe if I try this again I'll use the 12 muffin tin but I'm not going to try when I have company like I did yesterday. Very disappointing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cher

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ingersoll, Ontario, Canada

Broiled Tilapia Parmesan

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2014
I don't like fish. I loved this! Every Friday night I force myself to cook and eat fish just because it's healthy and hubby loves it. I've been dreading Friday nights lately but no more! I made this exactly as written and it turned out brilliantly. I ate every bite and wished I had more. Unfortunately, hubby scarfed up all of it. Easy and relatively inexpensive so adding this to regular rotation for Friday nights. Thanks for posting it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cher

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ingersoll, Ontario, Canada

Chinese Chicken Fried Rice I

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2014
Excellent recipe and so easy to make. Everything cooks in one frying pan so fast and easy clean up too. Very simply to substitute what you have on hand. I added a teaspoon of oyster sauce as suggested but not sure it added anything to the taste. I cooked the egg in the fryer first omelette-like and then sliced it up and set it aside to add at the very end. I also added a generous tablespoon of garlic to the onion while frying. The rice absolutely MUST be made a day ahead for this recipe to turn out well. I didn't have any carrots but didn't miss them either. Reheated very well the next day for my lunch so this is real keeper meal for me. Thanks for posting it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cher

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ingersoll, Ontario, Canada

Italian Vegetable Soup

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2014
This was quite good soup but I didn't realize it would be so tomato-y. It was basically tomato vegetable soup and that's not what I was looking for. However it turned out really good, was extremely easy to make and hubby loved it. It made way too much for just one meal and he did not love it enough to eat it for lunch so it was wasted but still, a very good soup for those who like tomato soup with a lot of healthy veggies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cher

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ingersoll, Ontario, Canada

Chef John's Shepherd's Pie

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2014
Loved it!! Only thing I didn't like was the potatoes tended to be a bit mushy but that might be because I used reds instead of the ones suggested in the recipe. I usually prefer reds but next time I'll try the russets for this recipe. (I've never seen yukon gold at my grocery store). I did follow some suggestions and added onion and garlic to the meat while browning. This was awesome, even my potato hating husband liked it and I used the leftovers for two brown bag lunches for me during the week. Reheats very well. Now on my regular rotation, thanks for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cher

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ingersoll, Ontario, Canada

Cajun Chicken Pasta

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2014
Very nice and easy cajun chicken & pasta recipe with lots of veggies. I have several of these types of recipes and this one rates well. I didn't change anything and will make it again too. Thanks for posting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cher

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ingersoll, Ontario, Canada

Mexican Baked Fish

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2014
Super easy to make, served this tonight in au gratin dishes with blue corn chips on the side, prepared exactly as written. I'm not a huge fish fan but this was okay for me and I ate most of mine. Hubby loves fish, said this was all right but wouldn't call it a favorite. Then he said the fish was done too much so maybe it was my fault although I only cooked for the 15 mins called for. I'll make it again sometime and cut back on cooking time some. Thanks for posting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cher

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ingersoll, Ontario, Canada

Cream Of Carrot Soup

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2014
This was super easy to make and made for a nice dinner on Meatless Monday served with fresh rolls. But it wasn't a standout and I probably won't make it again. Taste is extremely subtle. In fact it took several mouthfuls to even detect a taste at all. I suppose experimenting with the spices might improve the flavor but with so many great soup recipes on this site, I'll probably just file this under not repeatable. Inexpensive and easy though so if you like mildly flavored, try this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cher

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ingersoll, Ontario, Canada

Displaying results 61-80 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States