Surrey, British Columbia - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Baked Chicken Wings

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2014
Only thing I did different was add 2 tsps of Franks Hot Sauce to the mix and after an hour of baking they were not very crispy at all so I broiled them for about 5 minutes. I could only eat 2 before I got turned off them but my hubby thought they were okay, just not much taste or heat. Will not repeat since I have a bunch of other chicken wing recipes that are way better. Sorry I couldn't give this a better review.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cher

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ingersoll, Ontario, Canada

Fried Rice Restaurant Style

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2014
I made some minor changes based on the reviews and it turned out fabulous! I made the rice ahead of time and allowed it to chill in the refrigerator. I used frozen mixed vegetables. I did not boil these but simply rinsed under cold water, drained and then stir fried them with about 3 cloves of minced garlic and about a teaspoon of minced ginger before adding in the rice. I beat the eggs slightly and then in a separate fry pan cooked them without scrambling. When finished I put them on a cutting board and sliced into strips. I really hate recipes that say add to taste. What the heck does that mean anyway? So I added about 1/3 cup of soy sauce, 2 teaspoons of soy sauce and 2 teaspoons of oyster sauce. My hubby went back for seconds raving about how good this was and then ate the leftovers for lunch the next day raving again about how terrific this fried rice was. This is now on my regular rotation for Meatless Mondays and side dishes. Thanks for posting a really great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cher

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ingersoll, Ontario, Canada

Awesome Ham Pasta Salad

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2014
Made this for a potluck dinner. Everyone liked it and my friend who hates pasta salad ate two servings. Winner winner! Didn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shane16

Cooking Level: Expert

Creamy Chicken on Linguine

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2014
Yummy. A meal the whole family enjoys.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Sensational Steak Sandwich

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
Made this tonight for dinner and will make again. As per some reviewers comments, I waited until an hour before dinner to add the veggies and I saute'd them briefly first. I didn't use the horseradish/brown mustard mixed because I had a jar of horseradish/dijon in the fridge. Next time I won't use the mushrooms because they just tasted rubbery and I'll do something different then a loaf of french bread. There was way too much for just the two of us. Otherwise I liked this a lot and have added it to my regular rotation. Thanks for posting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cher

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ingersoll, Ontario, Canada

Creamy Macaroni and Cheese

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2014
Made this on Sunday exactly as directed except I spread Panko breadcrumbs soaked in butter over top and baked it for 30 minutes before serving. I loved it! Hubby not so much but he never gets very enthused about macaroni and cheese dishes so I'm going to ignore his apathy. This recipe makes a ton so next time I will cut it in half. There will definitely be a next time. Very cheesy, easy to prepare and the leftovers make great lunches. Thanks for posting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cher

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ingersoll, Ontario, Canada

Grandma Johnson's Scones

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
Absolutely wonderful! Made the basic scones (no extra additions this time but will definitely in the future) and served with homemade strawberry jam & raspberry jam. Num num num!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sandi S.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Slow Cooker Pulled Pork

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2013
Since I have never had pulled pork before, I have nothing to compare this to. One thing I do know, this was tasty! tasty! tasty! I only had 1 x 1-pound tenderloin so I used 1 cup root beer to which I mixed in about 1/4 cup of bbq sauce before pouring over the meat in the slowcooker. I also added a little extra bbq sauce to the top of the tenderloin while cooking. Even tho I reduced the amount of ingredients, I did not reduce the cooking time. I served it with homemade mac and cheese--hubby& I absolutely LOVED it! A definite make again recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sandi S.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Left-Over Turkey Pot Pie

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2013
I love anything wrapped in pastry and this was an excellent way to use up leftover Christmas turkey. I prepared this exactly as directed and it came out delicious. Takes a bit of time in preparation but certainly not difficult to prepare. Saving this to my favorite turkey file. Thanks for posting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cher

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ingersoll, Ontario, Canada

Naan

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2013
Very delicious. Could eat it by itself. The garlic butter made the bread. Yum-MOO! ;o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Honey-Glazed Pork Chops

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2013
Love that the recipe is easy to put together - had all of the ingredients and it doesn't take too much time. However, I did find it a little too sweet. I did make 1-1/2 times the sauce and added the red pepper flakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sandi S.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

The Best Rolled Sugar Cookies

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2013
Amazing! Super easy to make and roll out. I didn't change a think in the original recipe, but took the advice of someone else and rolled them out using icing sugar instead of flour. These are going straight to my niece's birthday party!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JORDANTHEGIRL

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Regina, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Vegetarian Korma

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2013
Made this for Meatless Monday exactly as directed but both hubby and I found this dish to be rather bland and tasteless. I had high hopes because it was fun to make and looked good. But there just wasn't any taste to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cher

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ingersoll, Ontario, Canada

Garlic-Ginger Chicken Wings

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2013
When I make these wings again and I will make them again, I will follow my gut instinct and cook them only 20 mins per side. I knew it was too long to cook for 30 mins each side but did it anyway because I always follow any new recipe exactly as directed the first time. These were way overcooked and tasted much like I imagine shoe leather would taste. But hubby thought they tasted great despite being overcooked so the three stars is for the glaze only. I will update my review after cooking them the next time but I strongly suggest the owner of this recipe revise the cooking time downward.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cher

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ingersoll, Ontario, Canada

Shepherd's Pie VI

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2013
Fantastic recipe. Who cares that it's not traditional Shepherds pie. I like it. I did however make a few changes and additions. I followed the recipe but added two large cloves of garlic when I sauteed the onions. I used vegetable stock instead of beef. I added an extra 1/4 cup of water and sprinkled extra flour to thicken the gravy. a few splashes of Worcestershire sauce is a must. I did mash the carrots but they ended up being chunky ( tasted great ) and added some frozen peas to the veg layer. It was a family hit. I saved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MommaB6

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Meadowwood Tapioca Pudding

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2013
Very delicious! A keeper. Lessened the sugar as suggested to 1/2 cup but overall yum-MOO!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Yakisoba Chicken

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2013
This was tonight's dinner and I made it almost exactly as directed except for the soba noodles which I could not find at the grocery store. Instead I used steam fried noodles. I cut back on the meat by 3 breasts since there was only two of us and it turned out really well. Hubby loved it! I'd give it a 5 star but for the saltiness of the soy sauce. Next time I will use a low sodium soy sauce or maybe just less soy sauce. I am a salt lover and this was way too salty for even my taste buds. Otherwise GREAT! recipe, easy to make and inexpensive to buy. It's on my regular rotation now so thanks for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cher

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ingersoll, Ontario, Canada

Easy Beef Stroganoff

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2013
Made this for dinner tonight with a side of country biscuits and although it was okay and we ate full portions, it still needs something to zip it up. Next time, and I will make it again because it's easy, inexpensive and really did taste okay, I'm going to take some reviewer's suggestions for adding garlic and worchestershire to add some kick. It was just a wee bit bland. But still goes in my regular rotation so thanks for posting this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cher

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ingersoll, Ontario, Canada

Spanish Potato Omelet

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2013
Excellent! Adding to my regular rotation for Meatless Mondays. I was pleasantly surprised when hubby admitted to liking this as well because he does not normally tolerate anything with potatoes. Thanks for posting. I made this exactly as instructed except served sliced tomatoes and green onions on the side instead of on top. Really quite good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cher

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ingersoll, Ontario, Canada

Sweet and Sour Pork Tenderloin

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2013
Tonight's dinner was awesome! Served over steam fried noodles, I made this exactly as directed except I had double tenderloin so doubled sauce. So good! Just the right amount of heat for us. Thanks so much for posting this. I'll make this again. Easy/fast too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cher

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ingersoll, Ontario, Canada

Displaying results 61-80 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States