Surrey, British Columbia - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Delicious Black Bean Burritos

Reviewed: May 19, 2014
An extremely boring and tasteless dinner tonight. Made these exactly as written and the only feedback I got was "tastes like a bean sandwich". And then everything got thrown out and we ate turtle cream pie for dinner. Won't be repeating this one but I suppose if you like bean sandwiches, the positive things I can say about this was it was very easy to put together and quite inexpensive too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cher

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ingersoll, Ontario, Canada

Guacamole-Style Quinoa

Reviewed: May 19, 2014
Loved it, make this all the time and the entire family loves it! Although of course as I always do I make my own variation. I add corn kernels and chickpeas browned in olive oil for extra vegetarian healthfulness ;) it's delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sita Dumma

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Easy and Elegant Pork Tenderloin

Reviewed: May 9, 2014
Really really good! Two pieces of tenderloin lasted us two meals and reheating the second piece the following night gave us a piece of pork that was equally as tasty the 2nd night as it was the first night. I just microwaved it real fast to heat it back up. This has become my favorite way to prepare tenderloin and I'll be using this recipe often. There was no way the crumb mixture was sticking to the meat enough to leave a 1/4 inch coating but it didn't really matter. It still tasted wonderful. Thanks for posting this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cher

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ingersoll, Ontario, Canada

Jagerschnitzel

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2014
Good and I added a few dried wild mushrooms to the fresh ones.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by theseamstress

Cooking Level: Expert

Easy Vegetable Pot Pie

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2014
I made this pie exactly as written but the thyme overpowered everything else and the filling was too runny. The pastry was the only good thing about this pie but that's to pilsbury's credit. Sorry I can't give a better review but I've made several other vegetable pot pies that were way better albeit more work. Will not repeat this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cher

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ingersoll, Ontario, Canada

Authentic German Potato Salad

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2014
Having never tried German Potato Salad. I quite liked it. I new there was a potato salad that was with a vinagrette dressing. Instead of Mayo and eggs. I was surprised to find this was a warm salad. I prepared it almost to the letter, but I only had a few sugar cubes in the house so I used six of them which I think is equal to about 2 tbsp instead of 3. The recipe didn't say what kind of potatoes to use. I used Russets. I think it needs a firmer potato. I look forward to trying this one again. ( I have tried this again using mini red potatoes, quartered with skin on. Prepared exactly per the recipe and this is now a staple dish in my house)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tara

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Hoisin Pork Stir Fry

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2014
This was very good. I used sliced pork tenderloin and we enjoyed it over steam fried noodles. Added to my regular stir fry rotation so thanks for posting this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cher

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ingersoll, Ontario, Canada

Chef John's Chicken Cacciatore

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2014
Great recipe! A bit labor intensive but totally worth the effort. Used legs with backs attached and an entire 14 oz can of tomato sauce. Served with spaghetti it made a really great dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cher

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ingersoll, Ontario, Canada

Beef Patties In Onion Gravy

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2014
One of my all time favorite quick and easy meat and potatoes on a weeknight dinner. Extremely tasty, easy and even hubby likes this even though he's not a potato lover at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cher

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ingersoll, Ontario, Canada

Baked Asparagus with Balsamic Butter Sauce

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2014
Very good but didn't get too much balsamic flavour... Might have to play with the recipe a little more, the steps to roast the asparagus were perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALLIE

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chipotle Garnet Yams

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2014
Loved it, easy to make, creamy, with personality. Just because I love chipotle and maple syrup in other foods, I used half brown sugar and half maple syrup (of the 1/4 cup listed on the recipe) and it turned out delicious. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALLIE

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Peppered Shrimp Alfredo

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2014
Delicious! Restaurant-like pasta dish. I did half shrimp half chicken because that's what I had available and we liked it...probably best with all shrimp though. I also added more pepper since I didn't have mushrooms and it was great. I highly recommend this! Easy weeknight meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

White Frosting

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2014
Good not too sweet frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Red Snapper Livornese

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2014
Forgot to buy black olives so used some slice manzanilla olives I had on hand. Otherwise used 2 lbs of snapper filet and did not drain the tomatoes before using. Served over rice and steamed broccoli on the side, hubby said it was delicious. I am not a fish eater but I didn't mind this at all so putting it on my regular Friday night fish rotation. Definitely recommend using tomatoes with juice because that was the best part served over rice in my opinion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cher

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ingersoll, Ontario, Canada

Cream Cheese Bars II

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2014
This was really good although a bit rich. Mine didn't come out nearly as attractive as the picture featured on the recipe page either. Not sure how the crescent dough was flattened out and made to look so neat and tidy. Maybe some direction in the recipe itself might have helped. Nevertheless they tasted great but I probably won't make them a lot since they are so extremely fattening.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cher

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ingersoll, Ontario, Canada

Roasted New Red Potatoes

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2014
Cooked as the recipe directs, these turned out completely tasteless and boring. With enough tweaking and spicing, I suppose it would be a better recipe. Into my "do not repeat file".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cher

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ingersoll, Ontario, Canada

Hearty Vegetable Lasagna

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2014
This is an incredible veggie lasagna. I also added chopped zucchini, shredded carrot and chopped broccoli to the sauce mix and used chopped spinach in the cheese mixture. You just don't miss the meat with this dish. We had it two nights in a row so it reheats in the microwave very well and then I also had for my lunch on day 3. Delicious lasagne, I highly recommend this recipe for your Meatless Mondays.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cher

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ingersoll, Ontario, Canada

Pork and Pepper Stir Fry

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2014
This was just okay. I served it over steamed fried noodles as I do every stir fry I make and it was very dry. Certainly needs more sauce. In fact it needs so much tweaking as other reviewers suggest, might as well just find another pork stir fry recipe that doesn't require as much to make it edible. Hubby thought it was pretty good but I probably won't repeat this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cher

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ingersoll, Ontario, Canada

Aunt Carol's Spinach and Fish Bake

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2014
It's been in the oven for 20 minutes at 350 and it hasn't even begun to cook! I absolutely hate recipes that mislead on the cooking time because it screws me up for getting dinner on the table and that ticks me off!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cher

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ingersoll, Ontario, Canada

Quick and Easy Yorkshire Pudding

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2014
Made exactly as directed except I used 6 large muffin tins instead of 12 smaller ones. They came out terrible! Thick bottoms and way too tough to eat. Maybe if I try this again I'll use the 12 muffin tin but I'm not going to try when I have company like I did yesterday. Very disappointing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cher

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ingersoll, Ontario, Canada

Displaying results 41-60 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States