Surrey, British Columbia - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Broiled Tilapia Parmesan

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2015
A new favorite recipe for our family! I added 1/8 tsp of Old Bay spice as well and cut down on the butter but regardless it was amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

Christmas Breakfast Sausage Casserole

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2015
I made this for Christmas brunch this year, doubled the sausage and used 10 eggs doubling everything else as well. I also used whole slices of crustless bread and layered the bottom of the casserole with these first as suggested by other reviewers. Then after cooking a chopped onion with the sausage, I layered this next and then added the egg mixture. Finished it off topped with the cheese. Set overnight and followed instructions for baking exactly on Christmas morning. I was afraid of what this was going to turn out like since I hadn't made it before and I had company for brunch but to my great pleasure and surprise, it was fantastic!!! Not going to wait for Christmas to make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cher

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ingersoll, Ontario, Canada

Easy Bake Fish

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2015
Really good. I'll make this again but I'll pass on salmon steaks. Too many bones to pick through while trying to enjoy this truly delicious fish. Saving to do again with filets. Thanks for posting this, so easy, so tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cher

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ingersoll, Ontario, Canada

Slow Cooker Vegetarian Minestrone

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2015
Followed this recipe exactly except I cooked pasta separately and added it and the spinach to the soup about 10 mins before serving. I also used the Smokey Chipotle Tabasco as suggested by another reviewer and I truly believe that made the difference between just a good soup and a superior soup. Made enough for two meals for hubby and I and enough to freeze for at least one more meal so very economical as well. On my repeat list for meatless Mondays. Thanks for posting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cher

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ingersoll, Ontario, Canada

Easy Spicy Roasted Potatoes

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2015
They were tasteless and not the least bit crispy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cher

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ingersoll, Ontario, Canada

Honey Baked Chicken II

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2015
This was pretty tasty. I used drumsticks and just a little more curry powder then called for. I also used foil for the first half hour but the next time I do these I won't do that. They hardly browned up enough by the time the meat was cooked so that bit of advice from other reviewers did not work for me. Thinking about trying it with wings next time. Great flavor. Thanks for posting this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cher

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ingersoll, Ontario, Canada

Turkey Carcass Soup

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2014
WOW!! This has to be the one of the best soups I've ever made. Here's what I did: Using 4 quarts of chicken broth, 1 whole head of garlic gently crushed, 3 cut up carrots, 3 stalks of cut up celery and one onion diced. I simmered the carcass for almost 7 hours and then strained the broth twice and tossed out the solids. Instead of shredding a whole cabbage I used a bag of pre-shredded cole slaw. I didn't use potatoes but with 10 mins left to simmer I put in a bag of medium egg noodles. I had at least a full 1 1/2 lbs of turkey meat trimmed from the carcass that was also diced up and put in the pot. Everything else was exactly as written in the recipe. This was an incredible soup that we'll be eating for the better part of this week since it made so much. Highly recommend using this recipe when needing to use up the holiday turkey. So GOOD!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cher

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ingersoll, Ontario, Canada

Grilled Cheese Sandwich

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2014
Everyone's a critic or comic. Even the most basic grilled cheese garners critical reviews simply because it might be as basic as boiling water. However there are many good reasons for the basic recipes to be included on this site including the reason I use them - menu planning and also for those who are just learning how to cook. Grilled cheese sandwiches were the very first thing I ever made for what would be my future husband 40 some odd years ago. I burned them. Because no one had taught me how to make them properly. He married me anyway, go figure! These basic recipes DO serve a purpose and I appreciate those that post them. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cher

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ingersoll, Ontario, Canada

Chicken Breasts Pierre

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2014
I've been making this meal for years only with drumsticks instead of breasts. Served over rice it is one our favorite meals. Add more hot sauce if you dare.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cher

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ingersoll, Ontario, Canada

Egg and Spinach Casserole

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2014
I also added two extra eggs as other reviewers suggested along with 2 small cans of green chillies. Left out the butter but otherwise kept the recipe exactly as written. We really liked this for our meatless Monday meal. Served with country biscuits only and it made a really nice light meal. Will be repeating this so thanks for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cher

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ingersoll, Ontario, Canada

Skillet Pork Chops with Potatoes and Onion

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2014
Only used 2 pork chops, 1 large onion and 3 large red potatoes with skins left on. This was SO good! Even hubby, who is not a big potato eater, thought this was extremely tasty. Adding to my regular rotation for pork chops. Thanks for posting this really great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cher

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ingersoll, Ontario, Canada

Crab Quiche I

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2014
Used 5 eggs and whole grain flour with 2 cans of crab meat. Excellent served alongside of garlic roasted cauliflower from this site. Nice Friday night dinner which I will certainly be repeating. Thanks for posting this great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cher

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ingersoll, Ontario, Canada

Owen's Veggie Stir-Fry

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2014
Great base. I changed quite a bit but I have to credit the recipe for the inspiration. I had a mess of veggies I used, shredded carrot, green and red pepper, celery, zucchini, green onion, snow peas, cauliflower, broccoli, mushrooms, left out the corn 'cause hubby's not a fan and added grated fresh ginger along with the garlic. Also threw in about a teaspoon of crushed red pepper flakes for the zing. I had some kikkoman stir fry mix packages in the back of my pantry which I used for this instead of the sauce called for. Served over steamed fried noodles with spring rolls and plum sauce on the side, meatless Monday dinner tonight was FABULOUS!!! Thanks for the inspiration. Plenty of room to play with this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cher

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ingersoll, Ontario, Canada

Oatmeal Chocolate Coconut Chewy

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2014
Delicious if you make the modifications - half butterscotch chips or maybe even toffee bits & add nuts
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Ham and Pear Panini

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2014
I used provolone instead of mozzarella and a President's Choice "Sweet with Heat" mustard I picked up at Superstore. These were DELICIOUS! on my panini griller using ciabatta rolls. On my repeat list. Thanks for posting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cher

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ingersoll, Ontario, Canada

Fish Fillets Italiano

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2014
This recipe was too bland. It really was. Followed directions exactly and although edible, there was no WOW factor at all and really, just a forgettable dinner. Easy and quick to prepare however, I won't be repeating this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cher

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ingersoll, Ontario, Canada

Cod Curry

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2014
Although I will never make this again, I am giving it a high rating because I liked it. Unfortunately hubby did not and since he usually loves anything with fish in it, it doesn't bode well for this recipe that he did not finish his dinner. I didn't change anything, just made it exactly as written. If hubby doesn't like it, it doesn't get repeated. But there's nothing wrong with this recipe as it is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cher

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ingersoll, Ontario, Canada

Lentils and Rice with Fried Onions (Mujadarrah)

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2014
Have not tried this recipe yet but it is the same recipe my husband has been making off and on for 10 years with the addition of cumin and sesame oil. We love it and we are not Arabic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by theseamstress

Cooking Level: Expert

Mint Jelly

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2014
Deeeelish! Very fresh tasting and yummy... I skipped the fake green - and it may not be as bright, but it's still pretty in the jar - and incredibly tasty. Makes quite a lot - so I put the extra into 125ml jars and canned it for later.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carolyn Vantol

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Delta, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Garlic Roasted Chicken and Potatoes

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2014
This was really good. Made exactly as directed using chicken drumsticks/thighs combination and new potatoes instead of the golds. Also didn't use the maple syrup for diabetic reasons but I don't think we missed it. It was excellent and I will be making this one lots. Added chopped carrots for the veggies so it was a one dish meal for us and leftovers served up nicely for lunch the next day. Recommended!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cher

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ingersoll, Ontario, Canada

Displaying results 41-60 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States