Surrey, British Columbia - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Di's Stuffed Green Peppers

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2015
My hubby raved about these stuff peppers which I made exactly as directed. He ate the leftovers the next day and raved again. His mother used to make stuff peppers all the time and I'm sure he thought no one could surpass his mom's peppers. But it would appear I did with this recipe so thank you for posting. It will be my go-to from now on when I want to make stuffed peppers for dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cher

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ingersoll, Ontario, Canada

Downeast Maine Pumpkin Bread

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2015
Great recipe and thank you for sharing it. This is one of the tastiest, easiest breads I have tried to date. The aroma while it was baking drove my husband crazy. I didn't have any oil (other than grapeseed), so I used 1/2 melted butter and 1/2 greek yogurt. I don't like to change a recipe before I test it, it was just done out of necessity. I doubled the recipe because I had a 28 oz. can and baked 2 - 9 X 13 pans for 70 minutes. Yum this is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Junebug

Cooking Level: Expert

Best Green Bean Casserole

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2015
This is a really good green bean casserole. I used 3 cans of green beans and probably used a bit more cheese and onions. So good and reheated the next day just fine for my lunch. Keeping and repeating this one. Thanks for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cher

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ingersoll, Ontario, Canada

Cozy Cottage Beef Stew Soup

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2015
I made this as directed except used a 28 oz of crushed tomatoes and no tomato sauce only because you can't buy a 14 oz of crushed tomatoes here and I didn't want to waste it. My hubby thought it was okay but I didn't like it all. It just tasted like tomato soup with some stew beef thrown in. Won't be repeating this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cher

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ingersoll, Ontario, Canada

Sweet and Spicy Stir Fry with Chicken and Broccoli

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2015
This was so good! I doubled everything and added just a tad more broth at the end to give us a little sauce. We both loved it and ate far too much. The heat was exactly right for us but that's certainly adjustable. This is a keeper for me, adding to my regular rotation as it's easy and served over rice, makes a nice healthy low fat meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cher

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ingersoll, Ontario, Canada

The Best Parmesan Chicken Bake

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2015
I'm usually a pretty big fan of any recipe I've ever tried by Chef John but I have to say, this is not my favorite and I probably won't repeat it. I didn't much care for the croutons at all. They started out crispy but pretty soon they turned to mush. Maybe it was the store bought marinara sauce that overpowered everything else but whatever the reason, I just was not thrilled with this chicken casserole. It was really easy to put together so for that reason, I'll give it 3 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cher

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ingersoll, Ontario, Canada

Sausage Spinach Alfredo Lasagna

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2015
Hubby raved about this tonight after his initial sniff about non-traditional lasagne. I doubled the meat using 2 lbs of spicy italian sausage, doubled the spinach, doubled the alfredo sauce as well adding another equal jar of milk. I also added 1 tbls of minced garlic to the meat mixture. Otherwise made this as directed. It was a little dicey having enough sauce to do all three layers but I managed and this came out very tasty. Enough for 2 meals and possibly one lunch bag portion. Thanks for sharing this, I'll be making this often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cher

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ingersoll, Ontario, Canada

Superfast Asparagus

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2015
So good! 15 mins might be 2-3 minutes too long in the oven for me but still was delicious as our side dish tonight. Thanks for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cher

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ingersoll, Ontario, Canada

Creamy Chicken Gnocchi Soup

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2015
Family loves this rich filling soup. Have made twice and find it too thick even after adding extra broth. Next time will omit flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Cream of Broccoli Soup I

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2015
For all the work to putting this together, both hubby and I thought this soup was tasteless.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cher

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ingersoll, Ontario, Canada

Slow Cooker Chicken Creole

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2015
Made this tonight for dinner exactly as directed except for the "creole seasoning to taste" part. How am I supposed to know what "to taste" is if you don't provide me a guideline? Is that a teaspoon or a cup?? I used 3T per another reviewers suggestion which seemed to be just right. This recipe wasn't bad but I wouldn't call it great either and I probably won't ever repeat it. 5 hours on low made the 4 chicken breasts way overcooked and dry. The sauce over the egg noodles was the best part but again, nothing to write home about.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cher

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ingersoll, Ontario, Canada

Slow-Cooker Pepper Steak

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2015
Excellent recipe. Made exactly as directed except mixing up peppers sometimes. Regular menu item at my house and easy to have ready to go before work and come home to dinner ready once rice or noodles are cooked. Love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cher

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ingersoll, Ontario, Canada

Chef John's Garlic-Ginger Bok Choy

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2015
Really tasty and makes a lovely side for any meal. Followed directions exactly and am definitely adding this to my regular rotation. Thanks for posting another great recipe, Chef John.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cher

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ingersoll, Ontario, Canada

San Francisco Pork Chops

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2015
Really good. Follow recipe pretty much exactly except I doubled the sauce, used boneless pork chops and didn't cook it more than about 20 minutes. Served with stir fried bok choy and steamed fried noodles. Very nice dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cher

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ingersoll, Ontario, Canada

Banana Oatmeal Protein Bars

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2015
I made this for my trainer as she wanted something quick and good for her busy days. I made it as is and she, and her friends, liked them a a lot. She then asked if I could make it a cookie so it felt more like a treat. I made them with applesauce, added about 1/2 tsp nutmeg and a bit more vanilla, and used a small scoop to portion the cookies. I baked them at 350 about 12-13 minutes. They turned out great! Just enough cookie-like consistency, although a bit softer. I also let the batter stand about 5 minutes then stirred it before scooping. I plan on using pumpkin next time! Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andrea98

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Pizza Casserole

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2015
Made this several times and we all enjoyed it. A quick and easy recipe. The pizza sauce really makes it so don't substitute for pasta sauce. VDries out quickly so I wouldn't save it for another day unless you were putting more sauce in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

Zesty Zucchini and Squash

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2015
The zucchini ended up overcooked and the squash was barely cooked. Hubby really liked this dish anyway so I may do this again as a side but I surely won't be using butternut squash and will add the zucchini half way through cooking time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cher

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ingersoll, Ontario, Canada

Portobello Penne Pasta Casserole

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2015
Not so appealing to look at but sure did taste good. Easy to put together for Meatless Monday so keeping on my repeat list. Didn't change anything, made exactly as directed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cher

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ingersoll, Ontario, Canada

Quinoa Black Bean Burgers

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2015
delicious and very filling cooked exactly like the recipe except for oats instead of bread crumbs im a big meat eater so was surprised how much i enjoyed them girlfriend thought they were a hit cant wait to try them with company :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by brian

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Colleen's Slow Cooker Jambalaya

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2015
Made this today for dinner exactly as directed except I couldn't find any andouille sausage so used hot italian. This completely fell apart in the pot and so I mostly had what looked like a ground meat soup with some chicken and overcooked shrimp. I even used uncooked frozen shrimp but still, the 7 - 8 hours on low is way too long for this recipe. All the meat was way overcooked. Still, it tasted really good served over rice in soup bowls and we will more than likely finish it off again later this week. It makes a lot. But next time I make this I'll only slow cook it on low for 4 hours at the most.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cher

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ingersoll, Ontario, Canada

Displaying results 21-40 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States