Penticton - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Unbelievable Fish Batter

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2014
I have tried this recipe several times and it was ok. Then I really read the reviews. I saw that you had to reduce the baking powder but I didn't read on how much. I reduced the baking powder to 2 Tbsp as suggested this time and it was terrific. My husband even asked this morning how I did it! Too bad 'All Recipes' doesn't edit it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JUNETENNANT

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Newmarket, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Shrimp Fettuccine Alfredo

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2014
I made this with home made linguini noodles. It was soooooooooo good! yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GoodBill

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Jemput Jumput (Banana Fritters)

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2014
I made a few minor adjustments to this recipe including using gluten free baking mix instead of regular flour. I cut the recipe way down since I realized how many servings it is for! There are only three in our household! Lol. I used brown sugar instead of white and fried them in coconut oil. Since I realized these were not what I consider traditional banana fritters I was happy with the outcome. They are not fluffy so if that is what you are wanting, skip this recipe. But, they have a nice banana flavor and even though you may think they are too dark let them fry to a deep brown on each side. I recommend this for anyone looking for a change to their regular fritters!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cabo San Lucas, Baja California Sur, Mexico

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Lemon Square Bars

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2014
I have made lemon bars so many times before but this time couldn't find my recipe. Thinking that all lemon bars/ squares equal I made this one because it had the most stars and great reviews. That was my first mistake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Easy Sweet Coconut Cookies

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2013
GO MAKE THESE NOW! I used butter in place of shortening and followed the advice of another reviewer by lessening the amount of sugar (since I used sweetened coconut). There was more than enough dough to make a dozen cookies - so I put the rest into mini muffin pans, which also turned out fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VeXedPiNk

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Photo by CanAm

Bloody Fingers

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2013
The kids beg for these every year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Blueberry Oat Muffins

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2013
Yes I make these all the time.. but usually just make 11 muffins and do about 1T. less of flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Brooke's Best Bombshell Brownies

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2013
VERY FUDGY AND GOOD
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Mushroom Rice

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2013
I sometimes add a bit of parmesan cheese or feta at the end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paige

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

Baked Halibut Steaks

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2013
Let me say first I don't like fish very much but I am trying to loose a few pounds so I need to eat "lighter"... and this was so good I could eat it every night...that good! I used some Italian seasonings instead of the basil -the only change I made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Quick and Almost-Professional Buttercream Icing

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2013
I made this for icing cupcakes for my daughters birthday party. It was awesome, I did add a touch more vanilla and used salted butter as that's all I buy and we all loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Newmarket, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Old-Fashioned Pancakes

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2013
My daughter wanted to make pancakes from a box mix for breakfast after a sleep over. I am a baker and using anything from a box mix make me want to be ill. We found this recipe and followed it almost to a T. I added 1 tsp of vanilla extract and they were amazing! There were NO left-overs here. I put this in my recipe box and will never buy a box again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Newmarket, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Sweet Potato, Carrot, Apple, and Red Lentil Soup

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2013
It was the perfect soup to make on a rainy Sunday..today. I used 1/8 cup olive oil and 1/8 cup of butter and no salt.. my hubby ate two huge bowls of it...yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Guacamole

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2013
I make this recipes at least once a week for my family. My 8 year old daughter is on her way to memorizing this recipe just as I have.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chewy Brownies

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2013
I will never make another brownie recipe again!!! I bake nut-free and this is awesome. I get requests for it all the time. So quick and easy to make, I'm not sure why I was so scared to make something not from a box lol
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Newmarket, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chocolate Cake II

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2013
I made this cake to use in a black forest trifle and it was amazing!!! Got rave reviews from everyone who ate it :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Newmarket, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Carrot Cake XI

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2013
I made this into muffins and the only change I made was to use one cup whole wheat and one cup white flour. They are pretty bland and the texture is kinda weird. Won't be making them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Newmarket, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Mom's Ginger Snaps

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2012
These are some of the best cookies I have ever eaten! I followed the recipe exactly as written, baked them for 10 minutes at 375F and ended up with two dozen soft ginger snaps - just the way I like them! The dough was rather oily and hard to roll, but I didn't worry too much about the shape. It all evens out when they spread out during baking. I will definitely be making these again - perhaps later today when my husband and I finish off this first batch :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VeXedPiNk

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

Oatmeal Raisin Cookies VI

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2012
Made these today for a custom order (I don't normally make oatmeal raisin cookies) and they are super soft and yummy :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Newmarket, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Easy Sugar Cookies

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2012
I made these but rolled them out and cut them! My daughters class loved them and so did I :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Newmarket, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States