North Vancouver - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Chicken Cordon Bleu II

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2014
My husband absolutely loves when I make this! Don't change a thing! It's been very popular for guests or just a meal for the two of us with leftovers! The sauce that results is divine! The tricky bit is rolling the chicken with the ham and cheese, but you'll get the hang of it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Chef John's Minestrone Soup

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2014
Really good and super flexible. Used four strips of bacon instead of pancetta, skipped the celery, but added a bit more onion, used canned borlotti beans instead of dried cranberry beans, only a quarter tsp of red pepper flakes, orzo instead of ditalini, and skipped the salt (I did need to add some at the table). Also forgot the parsley. Since I didn't used dried beans I added the pasta with the cabbage and then added the beans when it was al dente (saved a bunch of time this way). Threw in the chard once the beans were warm and turned off the heat. The parm and olive oil really add something. Simple, basic recipe that I will make again. Maybe with sausage next time? Or maybe not.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Curried Honey Mustard Chicken

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2014
This recipe is the BEST! I used coarse mustard, and extra Cayenne, and I'm glad I did. My chicken was a little larger, so cook time was about 35 minutes til juices ran clear. I also re-basted them at the 10 minute mark after removing the tin foil lid I made. So flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robert Cole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Hasenpfeffer (Rabbit Stew)

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2014
I have been thinking of raising rabbits for meat, so I bought one at the grocery store for a test run. After tasting this, my husband is on board with my new venture! Minus one star because the white meat was a little dry after only an hour and I agree with some other reviewers that all that bacon is not necessary. Otherwise excellent flavour. I will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Nutty Raspberry Chocolate Muffins

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2014
These did not work out for me at all. They didn't rise and were soggy (impossible to get out of the pan) even though they were cooked. It was disappointing considering it is a more complicated muffin recipe. I used a stoneware muffin pan, maybe this contributed to the problem? It hasn't been a problem for other recipes (I make muffins regularly). I did add the milk and yogurt to the butter and egg mixture and mixed well before adding to the dry ingredients because the recipe as written seemed like it would be too much mixing for muffins. These muffins are also rather sweet in my opinion to be considered "healthier". I give two stars because the flavor was yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Spicy Spaghetti Squash

Reviewed: May 12, 2014
Easy, check. Healthy, check. Tasty, check. It's in the regular rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Easy Beef Strogonoff

Reviewed: May 12, 2014
I use this recipe as a base. I add Worcestershire to taste and it makes all the difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Mexican Style Meatballs

Reviewed: May 12, 2014
These were good and very easy, but it seems that we don't care for chipotle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Rice and Raisin Breakfast Pudding

Reviewed: May 12, 2014
I would give this 5 stars, except that 1/4 cup of maple syrup is waaay too much, especially for breakfast. I used white rice (it's what I had leftover), regular milk, and two tablespoons of maple syrup. With the raisins it was still too sweet for me and next time I will only use one tablespoon. I can't imagine how sweet it would be if your soy milk is sweetened too! Otherwise I will make this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Zesty Quinoa Salad

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2014
This is a really excellent quinoa recipe. The lime and pepper flakes between them add enough zing to counter the natural bitterness that can sometimes turn people off quinoa. The salt called for is way too much for me; I suggest you salt to your own taste. I had to sub out the tomatoes because of an allergy in the family, and found that frozen sweet corn kernels fit in nicely. My 7-year-old (the one with the allergy) helped make the dressing and pronounced it "the best quinoa salad ever!" I think this will become a lunch-box staple!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Honey Nut Granola

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2014
I make this all the time with hazelnuts instead of pecans. I also add an extra cup of oats to make it go a little further, but the recipe is perfect as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Egg Noodles

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2013
I'm brand new to making noodles so I tried this today using the exact ingredients and then using my Kitchen Aid hook to kneed it. I did small batches to roll out, and the pizza cutter to make "noodles". Pretty flour-y and kinda rubbery - I may try it again as I learn this process, but all in all? Not worth the time to me - I'll just go to the store instead ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Issaquah, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Quick and Easy Hollandaise Sauce in the Microwave

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2013
This is a great recipe which is very good the way they suggest you use it. This time however, I added a tablespoon of mayo before melting the butter and whisked it together before the heating step. It added some great creaminess that was lacking from the initial version and held it together more when spooning it over my eggs. WIN!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
69 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Issaquah, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Beef Samosas

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2013
I keep coming back to this recipe. Always a crowd pleaser. We bake them in the oven at 350' for 15/20 min
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Munki

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Sugar Cookie Glaze

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2013
I still prefer butter icing as my base. If I use lots of icing sugar it hardens up. Then I use royal type icings for the details.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Sugar Cookie Icing

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2013
I prefer to use a butter icing to ice cookies with. It does dry fairly well if you leave it for a day or two. i just use royal type icings for eyes and mouths etc..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Veggie Potato Salad for a Crowd

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2013
This is going in the rotation - great for potlucks! I made 8 servings and it was enough for about 4 meals as a (large) side. I blanched the beans (you can use the potato water when they're done) and skipped the capers (because I forgot to buy them) and it was delicious! I will definitely try with the capers next time and/or try another reviewer's idea of adding anchovies (yum!). I will probably also roast the potatoes whole instead of boiling. The smaller the potatoes the better - would work with any firm-fleshed variety (purple? golden nugget? fingerling?), just don't overcook them. Oh yeah, I also added just a touch of maple syrup to the dressing, used a grainy mustard, and a lot less onion, very finely chopped.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Homemade Mac and Cheese

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2013
Not for us. Will keep looking for another recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pazko

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Taytay, Rizal, Philippines

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Hearty Breakfast Muffins

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2013
Best breakfast muffin recipe I've ever made! So many ways to customize :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leslie

Cooking Level: Expert

Easy Indian Butter Chicken

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2013
fantastic! made this the other night, followed the original recipe and it was perfect!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Munki

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States