Nanaimo - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

The Best Rolled Sugar Cookies

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2011
AMAZING!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel Munro

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Oat Applesauce Muffins

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2011
Really good. I add a pinch of nutmeg and cinnamon. The kids love these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Rexburg, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Croissants

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2011
The best! Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Rexburg, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Lepp's Marathon of Love

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2011
A wonderful recipe, great for everyday and appeals to every taste. I added a big dash of prayers...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by laughingmagpie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Parksville, British Columbia, Canada

Peppy's Pita Bread

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2011
Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Rexburg, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Albondigas

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2011
If you like a good spicy soup this is it. I somehow left out the hamburger when I made it and it was just great....just bought a small bottle of salsa and used the whole thing.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Butter Brickle Frozen Delight

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2011
I started out to make it exactly as the recipe but found out I only had a small can of sweetened condensed milk so in view of the fact one reader had said it was a little soupy I only used it and cut back to 3/4 of a carton of cool whip. It turned out very well and sooo rich... I always print out the recipe I want and then copy some of the changes other have made on the side of the recipe for my own use if I want to make changes myself thus ending up changing it for lack of the ingredient...thanks it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Bread Machine Focaccia

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2011
I added a couple of tablespoons of sugar with the yeast (the second time i made this recipe) and found i got a bit more rise out of it. Fresh herbs make this, I added a bit of fresh oregano to mine, topped it with a bit of olive oil and rosemary (as described), some cracked sea salt and shredded parmesan...freaking awesome! (have made it 3x now...no issues, just have to be sure it rises once before you start the shaping process, and it shapes better if you let it rest for about 5-10 mins after the 2nd kneading is done) Next time i'm going to spike the top with roasted garlic cloves as well. I've no doubt it will be just as good as the first few times. Thanks so much. PS...this was the first recipe i tried with a bread machine and it worked, so it has encouraged me to try more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MelanieG

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Everett, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Restaurant-Quality Baked Potato Soup

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2011
My boyfriend and I LOVE this soup!! I used cheddar flavored potato flakes and as other reviewers suggested, I cut down on the flakes and cornstarch. At first I was worried that it would have a "fake" potato taste due to the flakes, but this was not an issue at all. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Clone of a Cinnabon

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2011
Wow, these are great! We have made them 4 times now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Rexburg, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Jam Filled Butter Cookies

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2011
This recipe turns out almost identical to one my mom learned as a child from her grandmother. That recipe, however, was all based on the weight of your egg(s) which made it fun to make. Now I find it more convenient to use this recipe that to drag out the scales to weight everything every time. So good, just as they are.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lantzville, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Oatmeal Peanut Butter Cookies III

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
These are sweet, crisp, and peanut buttery. Not hard to make, either. I'll be making them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lantzville, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Apple Crumb Pie

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
I've made this pie several times now, using a mix of granny smith apples and whatever else is on sale. It always turns out really well, no tinkering with the recipe is necessary--always appreciated!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hanover, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Apple and Carrot Christmas Pudding

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2010
I love Christmas pudding, and this is a good one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lantzville, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Baked Coconut Shrimp

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2010
Disappointing....cocoanut should be pulsed finer, it was too sweet and overtook the prawns. I have had cocoanut prawns in a high end restaurant and the cocoanut was very fine. The concept is good but it needs some tweaking.......sorry
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Gingerbread Men

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2010
This was the easiest cookie ever! I cut the butter into little cubes and mixed it with the dry ingredients with my fingers- worked great! They tasted fantastic- love the butterscotch flavour. Watch the baking time though, my first batch of little guys were a bit overdone. Didn't stop my family from inhaling them though!! This one is going in the recipe box for next year!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by maggie84

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Pastry Cream

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2010
Mmm...tastes like Boston Cream doughnut filling. Would be excellent on homemade Danishes. Avoid using cream vs. milk as the heavier the fat content, the more gel-esq the cream gets, but still flavourful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by windlecm

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Lebanese Lemon Salad Dressing

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2010
Wow, beautiful light but flavourful dressing. Good with or without the pepper. I didn't have a light flavoured olive oil, so I used grapeseed oil, which I would suggest.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by windlecm

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

The Best Banana Bread

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2010
Good basic recipe. Sweet, so you could replace the white flour with brown for a heathier bread and not have to adjust thd sugar level.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by windlecm

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Mushroom Stuffing

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2010
I have to agree with previous reviews. I did don't think that I will make this with eggs again. Taste good but I didn't like the texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-100 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States