Nanaimo - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Brunch Scones

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
Did i do something wrong? The dough was really gooy and that was using 2 cups of flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by johnb

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

American Lasagna

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2011
Why would anybody bother boiling noodles anymore when you can buy the oven ready and just layer them with the rest of the ingredients....omit the eggs and the sugar also that's not necessary either, your recipe is extra work for nothing. Strangest recipe I've seen for lasagna. Omit this stuff and it's as Italian as it can get except diced tomatoes should be replaced by sauce. Sorry didn't like it at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chocolate Chip Banana Muffins

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2011
My family loves this recipe! It was the first time my husband didn't say "they're good, but could use more chocolate chips!" Delicious, thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shandy B

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Curried Coconut Chicken

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2011
Love this recipe! Everyone who has tried it, raved about it! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shandy B

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Oatmeal Peanut Butter Cookies

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2011
These were the best PB cookies I have ever made. Period.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hanover, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chicken Stew With Coconut Milk

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2011
Simple and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Neppers

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

New York Italian Pizza Dough

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2011
Nice chewy crust!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Rexburg, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Best Bread Machine Bread

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2011
The basic recipe is good but has some issues: 1) "Bread Machine Yeast" is just another name (purely for marketing) for "Instant Dry Yeast" (IDY) which is INSTANT and therefore does not require pre-proofing in water. Simply add it to your dry ingredients and continue without the "dissolve and foam" step noted. There, you've save 10 minutes! 2) Active Dry Yeast is not Bread Machine/Instant Dry Yeast and it *does* like to be pre proofed as noted in the original recipe. Active Dry yeast is in little round beads about the size of a pin head. Instant yeast is very small and more like little threads of yeast, much smaller than Active. You would need about 25% more Active yeast than Instant. 3) Salt: Salt is normally 2% of a recipe's flour amount. Here we have 410g of flour (check the metric version) so we want 8 grams of salt, or about 1 1/2 teaspoon. The recipe as given is therefore missing 33% of the required salt which is more than just a "taste" problem. Salt will not only improve the taste of your bread (this or any other) but is needed to help the gluten's strength by tightening the gluten strands a little. Bread with too little salt will not only taste bland, it will also be too soft. Try this experiment: Make this recipe with the correct 1-1/2 tsp (8 grams) of salt then again without salt and compare the two for taste and structure. You can use the saltless loaf for breadcrumbs or feed the birds afterwards.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
296 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Yumarama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

White Chocolate Macadamia Cranberry Dreams

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2011
my whole family loves these! Even those who don't like white chocolate!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JacquelineP

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Black Creek, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Classic Waffles

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2011
Best waffle recipe I've tried so far! Especially good with yummy additions, like blueberries!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shandy B

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chocolate Zucchini Bread II

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2011
Awesome recipe and soooo moist! I doubled the batch and made 4 loaves at a time. To bake all 4 simultaneously you will need all 60 minutes of baking time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JacquelineP

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Black Creek, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Rhubarb Wild Rice Pilaf

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2011
Excellent recipe. Love the idea of a savory dish for rhubarb, the other vegetable. The spice combo screamed lamb to me so I made this to serve with greek lamb kabobs. I used brown basmati rice in place of white because that is my 'house' rice. I don't use raisins often but I had dried cranberries so I subbed them. We loved this dish. Next time I will reduce the cinnamon, it was just a touch overpowering to our palate. The overall taste and experience of this dish is mediterranean, very exotic. I really liked the tangy bits of rhubarb in each bite. I was fresh out of Greek wines so I paired this and the lamb with a very nice Beaujolais, with the spice it tied together nicely. ??a??et???
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by laughingmagpie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Parksville, British Columbia, Canada

Fresh Cherry Cobbler

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2011
I agree that this is more of a sponge cake with cherries than a cobbler but it still is good with a few changes. Definately use 1/4 cup of butter and an 8x11 baking pan. You will need to bake this for the 50-60 minutes suggested if you use the smaller pan. I used half white and half brown sugar for the batter and I added 1 tsp. vanilla extract,1/2 teaspoon cinnamon and a 1/4 teaspoon nutmeg. The milk I used was skim milk. I used 3 cups of cheeries, 1/2 teaspoon of almond extract and approximately 1/4 cup or less of white sugar as I used Bing cheeries which are already very sweet. I would substitute lemon juice for the almond extract if using blueberries or blackberries and adjust sugar accordingly. When it came out of the oven I sprinkled the top with cinnamon sugar. Fantastic on its own or with ice cream. See you at the gym to work this lovely dessert off?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LAKRULL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Moo Goo Gai Pan II

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2011
Mmmm....good. The sauce was a little plain, though. I'd use soya sauce next time instead of sherry and also maybe make a bit more of the sauce. This recipe is nice because if you don't like one item you can change it for another and the recipe is still great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by windlecm

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

The Best Fresh Tomato Salsa

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2011
A little spicy for my liking. I'd half the jalopinos for myself, but everyone else loved it. Firm, ripe tomatoes are a must. Delicious and fresh salsa. Corn could be added in if you like corn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by windlecm

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Fresh Pineapple Upside Down Cake

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2011
This recipe is fabulouse. The cake is sort-of light but thick at thd same time. The baking soda adds a nice pop that accents the pineapple and syrup wonderfully. Fresh pineapple really makes this recipe. The cake was very popular when made for friends.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by windlecm

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Sirloin Tips and Mushrooms

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2011
I made this for dinner with a couple of minor changes... I used fresh mushrooms that I pre-browned... I 2 tbsp tomato for the tomato sauce and added the paste before the other ingredients after the meat had browned... I also added onion and bay leaf.. This was super good yes I made changes but the basic concept is solid and delicious. I can imagine that it would be 5 star even without my changes.. Thanks GRANNYA for a keeper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by laughingmagpie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Parksville, British Columbia, Canada

Thai Meat & Potatoes

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2011
So as a gang-up recipe this was a big success. I attempted to perfume the potatoes by boiling them with the rosemary and they did have a really nice flavour all by themselves. However because (I think) we are on well water the combination of boiling the potatoes with the rosemary turned the potatoes grey. Good thing the sauce was such a pretty yellow to hide the potato colour...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by laughingmagpie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Parksville, British Columbia, Canada

Bacon Cheese Muffins

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2011
Really good and really easy. I only used half the bacon, as that's all I had on hand, and fresh herbs from my garden.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lantzville, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Maryland Crab Cakes II

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2011
Vancouver island is also famous for crabs!! :) These turned out awesome, I didn't have bread crumbs, so I bashed up some crackers instead. I used cilantro and coriander seeds for a bit of flavour as I don't like mustard. The only thing that I would have changed, is greasing the pan a bit more, mine stuck. Great recipe, will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by maggie84

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-80 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States