Nanaimo - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Krista's Sticky Honey Garlic Wings

Reviewed: May 9, 2012
Fabulous, except . . . Cut the soya sauce in half, otherwise it's too Teriyaki-type falvoured. I made one set with no soya sauce and it was great as well, just a nice sweet honey garlic vs. tangy honey garlic with the soya sauce. Neither time, did I mix the extra 3/4 cup of water in with the cornstarch; I just used some of the hot sauce, as I felt there was enough water in this recipe and I wanted to max the flavour. Also, pouring the sauce over the wings wastes a lot of sauce. I dunk the wings in the sauce and then bake 10 minutes, redunk again with the rest of the sauce and finish baking. Then the wings are nice and saucy and the least amount of sauce is wasted on the pan. I put a layer of tinfoil down and spray it with Pam. Then they don't stick to the pan much, if at all. Definitely a keeper recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by windlecm

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Quick Chicken Zingarella

Reviewed: May 8, 2012
AWESOME! I don't know what some of the other reviewers were talking about in regards to lack of flavour. I thought the flavour was wonderful. I have made this recipe with chicken and another time with a mix of large shrimp (1.25 ilb,) and scallops (1 ilb.). I seared those seperately with a little olive oil, salt, and fresh cracked pepper and then added them in at the end. Both versions of this recipe were great. As for changes to the recipe in general besides what type of protien I used, I could not find roasted Italian cherry peppers, so I substituted an equal amount of sliced roasted red peppers and added 1/2 tsp. crushed red chili flakes. I put the flakes in with the garlic, at the beginning, to bring out their flavour. The 1/2 tsp. was just enough to say 'hey, I'm here, I'm spice, but not too much spice'. If you wanted this dish to have more kick, I'm sure you could use a whole tsp. without overpowering the other flavours. Also, the spaghetti sauce I used was President's Choice Marinara sauce. If you're not Canadian, you might not know this brand, but it's a groccery store brand of okay quality. It worked out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by windlecm

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Creamed Chicken for Biscuits

Reviewed: May 6, 2012
This was an excellent recipe! I recommend it for sure. My Quebecoise roomies used to make something very very simmilar with puff pastry busicuits instead of regular biscuits. The only thing I would change is that before adding the flour to the butter, I would have browned the butter to bring out that slightly nutty flavour, then added the flour. I think this would have added a subtle dimension to the end product, as I found the recipe just needed that little something extra. I also skipped the almonds and added another cup of veggies to replace it. The other thing was, I also used frozen mixed veggies (peas, corn, carrots, green beans) instead of just peas as I was trying to copy my roomates' recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by windlecm

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reveillon Tourtiere

Reviewed: May 5, 2012
CUT the CINNAMON and CLOVES in HALF! Just like everyone else doing reviews suggests. But otherwise, totally awesome pie. Even to receipe, it was very good, just a little after-tastey with all that cinnamon and cloves. Will make again for sure! Makes a nice hardy pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by windlecm

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Big Soft Ginger Cookies

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2012
Excellent, BUT... It needs more Ginger, I'd say 2.5 tsp. instead of just 2; and 1 1/4 c. sugar instead of 1 c. The flavor and texture are like bakery cookies. Great! Will make again! Some tips: you can put the dough in the fridge or freezer for 20 minutes to 1 hour to make the ball rolling easier. It will not change the outcome of the cookie. I rolled mine in sugar completely and found that I didn't need need to flatten the cookies. They do that on their own in the oven. I also used butter instead of margarine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by windlecm

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Oven Baked BBQ Ribs

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2012
I taught my man to make ribs with this recipe and he's been the rib-maker in the family for four years with this recipe. It even beats my mom's ribs. The only adjustment he's made is to subsitute half the ketchup for BBQ sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by windlecm

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Slow Cooker Beef Stroganoff I

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2012
I was really disappointed in the lack of flavour in this meal. It wasn't horrible, but I wouldn't make it again. Felt that it was missing ingredients! (Only thing I had added was 4 sliced mushrooms)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shandy B

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Restaurant-Style Hashbrown Casserole

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2012
Was a touch salty but turned out really great and everyone loved them! (Husband and kids 4 and 2)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shandy B

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Grandmother's Oatmeal Cookies

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2012
Awesome cookies. I was looking for a recipe that only called for 2 cups oats and picked this one. I left out the raisins because my boys don't like them. I added the eggs into the creamed butter and sugar then followed the recipe. I added 1 1/2 cups chocolate chips. Super super yummy. Thanks for a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by laughingmagpie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Parksville, British Columbia, Canada

Grandmother's Oatmeal Cookies

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2012
Awesome cookies. I was looking for a recipe that only called for 2 cups oats and picked this one. I left out the raisins because my boys don't like them. I added the eggs into the creamed butter and sugar then followed the recipe. I added 1 1/2 cups chocolate chips. Super super yummy. Thanks for a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by laughingmagpie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Parksville, British Columbia, Canada

Marshmallow Crispie Bars

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2012
My ONLY complaint is that the recipe amount does not fill the size of dish is recommends. Would definitely double to recipe for that size of dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shandy B

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Smoked Paprika Vinaigrette

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2012
Loved this, made it as written, just so good! Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hanover, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chocolate Chocolate Chip Cookies I

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2012
OMG these are so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hanover, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Sausage and Peppers Lasagna

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2012
Amazing!! Will definately be making this again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lantzville, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Apple Rhubarb Crumble

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2012
I made this with apples and blueberries and added 1/4 cup shredded unsweetened coconut and 1/4 cup rolled oats to the topping. Fabulous with vanilla ice cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FiddleTrish

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Sourdough Bread I

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2011
Really easy to make and tasty, but next time I'll cut the sugar back some.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lantzville, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Meatball Nirvana

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2011
Love these meatballs. They have a nice kick to them. I usually make a huge batch and freeze them for easy meals through the week. I use pork sausage if I have it along with the ground beef, which adds a bit more flavour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by maggie84

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Brown Sugar Meatloaf

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2011
I was skeptical after reading all the reviews, but I made it like it was written and it was great! Sauce on bottom and all! You get a nice crispy top, but it's still moist and you get good flavour from the bottom. Not your typical with the glaze but very delicious! Thank you for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shandy B

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Classic Pancakes

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2011
I actually really liked this recipe. Not as "cakey" as many other fluffy pancake varieties. Turned out a very yummy, moist pancake! Definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shandy B

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Big Soft Ginger Cookies

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2011
I've been looking for a recipe as good as Tim Horton's ginger cookies. This is it... or better!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lantzville, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-60 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States