Nanaimo - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Creamed Chicken for Biscuits

Reviewed: May 6, 2012
This was an excellent recipe! I recommend it for sure. My Quebecoise roomies used to make something very very simmilar with puff pastry busicuits instead of regular biscuits. The only thing I would change is that before adding the flour to the butter, I would have browned the butter to bring out that slightly nutty flavour, then added the flour. I think this would have added a subtle dimension to the end product, as I found the recipe just needed that little something extra. I also skipped the almonds and added another cup of veggies to replace it. The other thing was, I also used frozen mixed veggies (peas, corn, carrots, green beans) instead of just peas as I was trying to copy my roomates' recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by windlecm

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reveillon Tourtiere

Reviewed: May 5, 2012
CUT the CINNAMON and CLOVES in HALF! Just like everyone else doing reviews suggests. But otherwise, totally awesome pie. Even to receipe, it was very good, just a little after-tastey with all that cinnamon and cloves. Will make again for sure! Makes a nice hardy pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by windlecm

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Big Soft Ginger Cookies

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2012
Excellent, BUT... It needs more Ginger, I'd say 2.5 tsp. instead of just 2; and 1 1/4 c. sugar instead of 1 c. The flavor and texture are like bakery cookies. Great! Will make again! Some tips: you can put the dough in the fridge or freezer for 20 minutes to 1 hour to make the ball rolling easier. It will not change the outcome of the cookie. I rolled mine in sugar completely and found that I didn't need need to flatten the cookies. They do that on their own in the oven. I also used butter instead of margarine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by windlecm

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Oven Baked BBQ Ribs

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2012
I taught my man to make ribs with this recipe and he's been the rib-maker in the family for four years with this recipe. It even beats my mom's ribs. The only adjustment he's made is to subsitute half the ketchup for BBQ sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by windlecm

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Slow Cooker Beef Stroganoff I

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2012
I was really disappointed in the lack of flavour in this meal. It wasn't horrible, but I wouldn't make it again. Felt that it was missing ingredients! (Only thing I had added was 4 sliced mushrooms)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shandy B

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Restaurant-Style Hashbrown Casserole

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2012
Was a touch salty but turned out really great and everyone loved them! (Husband and kids 4 and 2)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shandy B

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Grandmother's Oatmeal Cookies

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2012
Awesome cookies. I was looking for a recipe that only called for 2 cups oats and picked this one. I left out the raisins because my boys don't like them. I added the eggs into the creamed butter and sugar then followed the recipe. I added 1 1/2 cups chocolate chips. Super super yummy. Thanks for a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by laughingmagpie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Parksville, British Columbia, Canada

Grandmother's Oatmeal Cookies

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2012
Awesome cookies. I was looking for a recipe that only called for 2 cups oats and picked this one. I left out the raisins because my boys don't like them. I added the eggs into the creamed butter and sugar then followed the recipe. I added 1 1/2 cups chocolate chips. Super super yummy. Thanks for a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by laughingmagpie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Parksville, British Columbia, Canada

Marshmallow Crispie Bars

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2012
My ONLY complaint is that the recipe amount does not fill the size of dish is recommends. Would definitely double to recipe for that size of dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shandy B

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Smoked Paprika Vinaigrette

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2012
Loved this, made it as written, just so good! Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hanover, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chocolate Chocolate Chip Cookies I

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2012
OMG these are so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hanover, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Sausage and Peppers Lasagna

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2012
Amazing!! Will definately be making this again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lantzville, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Apple Rhubarb Crumble

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2012
I made this with apples and blueberries and added 1/4 cup shredded unsweetened coconut and 1/4 cup rolled oats to the topping. Fabulous with vanilla ice cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FiddleTrish

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Sourdough Bread I

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2011
Really easy to make and tasty, but next time I'll cut the sugar back some.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lantzville, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Meatball Nirvana

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2011
Love these meatballs. They have a nice kick to them. I usually make a huge batch and freeze them for easy meals through the week. I use pork sausage if I have it along with the ground beef, which adds a bit more flavour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by maggie84

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Brown Sugar Meatloaf

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2011
I was skeptical after reading all the reviews, but I made it like it was written and it was great! Sauce on bottom and all! You get a nice crispy top, but it's still moist and you get good flavour from the bottom. Not your typical with the glaze but very delicious! Thank you for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shandy B

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Classic Pancakes

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2011
I actually really liked this recipe. Not as "cakey" as many other fluffy pancake varieties. Turned out a very yummy, moist pancake! Definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shandy B

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Big Soft Ginger Cookies

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2011
I've been looking for a recipe as good as Tim Horton's ginger cookies. This is it... or better!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lantzville, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Brunch Scones

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
Did i do something wrong? The dough was really gooy and that was using 2 cups of flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by johnb

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

American Lasagna

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2011
Why would anybody bother boiling noodles anymore when you can buy the oven ready and just layer them with the rest of the ingredients....omit the eggs and the sugar also that's not necessary either, your recipe is extra work for nothing. Strangest recipe I've seen for lasagna. Omit this stuff and it's as Italian as it can get except diced tomatoes should be replaced by sauce. Sorry didn't like it at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-60 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States