Nanaimo - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Amish White Bread

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2012
I'm from Amish country and this bread tastes exactly like the bread and buns we used to get from our small town bakery. Watch the baking time, my loaves were well done at 25 minutes. I plan to make this again for Christmas dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by maggie84

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Delicious Ham and Potato Soup

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2012
This is my go to recipe for using up leftover ham. My 9 month old also loves it after I purée it a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by maggie84

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Buttery Soft Pretzels

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2012
Great recipe. These are so easy to make and my family loves them. I make half with cinnamon sugar and half kosher salted pretzels. They are best straight out of the oven, but also freeze really well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by maggie84

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Candy Cane Cookies from Gold Medal® Flour

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2012
The smell brought me back to my mom making these when I was young! I thought the ratios were great. Made a wonderful dough, and when baked the texture was perfect! My ONLY suggestion, was that the peppermint flavour was too faint. I will double peppermint next time. I will definitely make these again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shandy B

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Russian Mushroom and Potato Soup

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2012
Delicious! I wouldn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Maria's Broccoli Rabe

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2012
Wow!! :D didn't have parmesan. Still great. Used like 3 garlic cloves. You could cut the oil down to 3 tbsp. Could be awesome with a bit of soya sauce or balsalmic vinegar thrown in after the garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by windlecm

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Sun Dried Tomato Pesto (no nuts)

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2012
Really great recipe. Used 3/4 tbsp. garlic and found it just right (you know that kind already minced in the jar). Deep and rich flavour. Served it over toasted baguette slices (thin) Don't really think you need to change anything. But I am curious how a little wine or balsalmic would play into it. Also wondering how it would taste with a little pine nuts. Some things to try later. But, seriously, really great recipe as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by windlecm

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Potato Chips

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2012
I tried this, they worked and tastedd great ! donnt think i'll be doing it again though as its probably much cheaper to buy potato chips than to have another "microwave safe" safe crack into two :/
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chicken Pot Pie IX

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2012
I have made this before and is so good!I made my own crust and used Turkey it is so awesome.Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenn Markel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lantzville, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Better Than Pumpkin Pie

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2012
I've made "Pumpkin Pie" before,secretly substituting the pumpkin with Butter-Nut and was told it was my best "Pumpkin Pie" ever! So I give it 5 Stars!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Violet

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Port Alberni, British Columbia, Canada

Sarah's Applesauce

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2012
Love, love, love this recipe. Tried it as stated, which was delicious, but then tried it again without sugar or cinnamon. Also delicious. Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Neppers

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Puff Pastry Salmon Bundles

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2012
Phenominal recipe! My boyfriend said that if five-star restaurants had a fish and chips dish on the menu, this would be just the kind of thing they would make. I'm going to put out some ideas as to how I'm going to do it next time, but honestly, this recipe is great just as it's shown here. I did notice that some of the instructions were vauge-ish. It said to reduce the sauce for ten minutes or until thickened. And I wondered, at what tempurature. Because a simmer would reduce less than a boil. Also, it didn't mention how thick the sauce should be after ten minutes. I'd say go for a thinner sauce. The sauce was very strong to taste naked, but worked very well on the pastry. I would definitely use just a medium or small lemon for zesting and 2 to 3 tsp. dill, depending on how dilly you want the sauce. I used regular chicken broth, but would use low sodium next time, and also I may look for low sodium cream cheese (if that exists). The recipe is very hardy, and I'm a light to medium eater, so next time I plan to cut the salmon into eight pieces. That way there is more size choice depending on how hungry everyone is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by windlecm

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Finadene Sauce

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2012
Finadene goes with everything!! I also add a couple of slices of lemon to the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Easy Bacon and Cheese Quiche

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2012
This was delish! I used regular milk and added some tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Amazing Slow Cooker Chocolate Cake

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2012
Absolutely fabulous. I had serious misgivings when I saw how thin the batter was, but this cake was beautifully moist and delicious. I added a dash of cayenne to really bring out the chocolate flavour. Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FiddleTrish

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

To Die For Blueberry Muffins

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2012
Delicious muffins and so easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Biscuits and Beans

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2012
Just love this easy recipe, you can use almost any meat- Spam, wieners, left over chopped chicken, pre-cooked sausages ect.... Biscuits get a bit soggy when baked on top so if wanting to bake separate then put on top of the bubbling beans then add cheese just before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Violet

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Port Alberni, British Columbia, Canada

Mild Cheesy Chicken Enchiladas

Reviewed: May 29, 2012
This is good but would be much better if you sauteed some green peppers and onion's, then add salsa (mild), you can even throw a can of refried beans into the mix, then add your tomatoes and cheese when you roll them up Don't forget to add more cheese on the top as your putting them in the oven! Before you dish them out, have some veggies like lettuce\spinach chopped thin for the Enchiladas to sit on then let everyone put on their favorite toppings like cheese, sour cream, more green onions and tomatoes and olives!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Violet

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Port Alberni, British Columbia, Canada

Krista's Sticky Honey Garlic Wings

Reviewed: May 9, 2012
Fabulous, except . . . Cut the soya sauce in half, otherwise it's too Teriyaki-type falvoured. I made one set with no soya sauce and it was great as well, just a nice sweet honey garlic vs. tangy honey garlic with the soya sauce. Neither time, did I mix the extra 3/4 cup of water in with the cornstarch; I just used some of the hot sauce, as I felt there was enough water in this recipe and I wanted to max the flavour. Also, pouring the sauce over the wings wastes a lot of sauce. I dunk the wings in the sauce and then bake 10 minutes, redunk again with the rest of the sauce and finish baking. Then the wings are nice and saucy and the least amount of sauce is wasted on the pan. I put a layer of tinfoil down and spray it with Pam. Then they don't stick to the pan much, if at all. Definitely a keeper recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by windlecm

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Quick Chicken Zingarella

Reviewed: May 8, 2012
AWESOME! I don't know what some of the other reviewers were talking about in regards to lack of flavour. I thought the flavour was wonderful. I have made this recipe with chicken and another time with a mix of large shrimp (1.25 ilb,) and scallops (1 ilb.). I seared those seperately with a little olive oil, salt, and fresh cracked pepper and then added them in at the end. Both versions of this recipe were great. As for changes to the recipe in general besides what type of protien I used, I could not find roasted Italian cherry peppers, so I substituted an equal amount of sliced roasted red peppers and added 1/2 tsp. crushed red chili flakes. I put the flakes in with the garlic, at the beginning, to bring out their flavour. The 1/2 tsp. was just enough to say 'hey, I'm here, I'm spice, but not too much spice'. If you wanted this dish to have more kick, I'm sure you could use a whole tsp. without overpowering the other flavours. Also, the spaghetti sauce I used was President's Choice Marinara sauce. If you're not Canadian, you might not know this brand, but it's a groccery store brand of okay quality. It worked out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by windlecm

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-40 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States