Nanaimo - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Almond Bars I

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2014
This was an excellent recipe but I do have one caveat. I doubled the recipe with great results, trying to plan ahead for my sons' school lunches .... alas, it did not occur to me that meringue toppings don't freeze very well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FiddleTrish

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chef John's Homemade Mayonnaise

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2014
Like Silentdeer I ended up with liquidy oily stuff.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SuiteMomma

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Creamy Chocolate Frosting

Reviewed: May 13, 2014
Thank you! I'm not a chocolate fan, but my husband is and I needed a nice homemade frosting for his cake (Being a baker; I don't use anything packaged). Rather than canned milk I used chocolate rice milk. Amaretto rather than vanilla and I used more cocoa powder to thicken the frosting rather than more Confectioners' sugar. This is an excellent base recipe! Oh and I just wanted to say to those who gave a bad review.. You obviously don't know how to bake. Like I always say “There's more to baking then just fallowing a recipe”.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristintyrell

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Fried Cabbage II

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2014
This was really really good! We will definitely be having this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lantzville, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

French Bread Rolls to Die For

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2014
Very good, very easy. A nice, basic dinner roll.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lantzville, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Pumpkin and Sausage Soup

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2014
Really good soup! We make it a lot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lantzville, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Big Soft Ginger Cookies

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2013
I've made these for 3 years...it helps to cool the dough, but it's always going to be a little sticky. This year I rolled them smaller than usual and baked for 7 minutes. Perfect for a cookie tray, and well-balanced spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hanover, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Easy New Zealand Squares

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2013
I doubled it and did need to add two beaten eggs, otherwise it was GREAT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FiddleTrish

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Banana Oat Muffins

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2013
Not a change made to the recipe, and we loved it. Muffins are sort of my "thing" and I'm usually reluctant to try a new recipe, but I will absolutely add these to my weekly muffin rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FiddleTrish

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Whole Grain Waffles

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2013
I tweaked the recipe a bit, switched the Whole Wheat-Flour with All Purpose Unbleached White, used Oat Bran instead of Wheat Germ, then made them non dairy by using Oat Milk. It was my first time making my own Waffles at home and the first time hubby has had them,he Loved them! and so did I!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Violet

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Port Alberni, British Columbia, Canada

Banana Streusel Muffins

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2013
Added pecan bits to the dough, yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hanover, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Maple Salmon

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2013
Simple and delicious! This will be a new salmon staple for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shandy B

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chicken Crescent Casserole

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2013
I cut the recipe in half and baked it in an 8 by 8 inch pyrex dish. It was pretty good, tucked asparagus (raw) in around the rolls and sauteed some mushrooms to serve on top. Used the Kraft Italiano cheese mix. My only complaint was the sogginess of the rolls, which might be fixed by using a 9 by 9 next time, making the sauce a little more shallow in the pan. Might try this again, pretty good as comfort food!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hanover, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Fried Rice I

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2013
This was delicious! Our family of 5 loved it and gobbled it right up! Right down to our 18 month old! Definitely worth keeping. An excellent base recipe that can be changed up very easily! We used pork bits instead of bacon, and I'm sure the options are endless.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shandy B

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Grandma's Baking Powder Biscuits

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2013
I have only made biscuits once, and this is my second recipe I've tried and it's great! It does have a distinct sweetness, but I like it! I added a little shredded cheese to jazz mine up and they turned out so well I almost didn't believe it was me who made them! Thanks for sharing your recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shandy B

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Grilled Whole Turkey

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2013
My husband conquered this one, and it turned out incredible! all of our dinner guests were nervous of a non-traditional turkey at first, but afterwards they couldn't believe how well it turned out. Will definitely do again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shandy B

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Claire's Yummy Crepes

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2013
Great recipe. Simple, tasty, good texture. Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shandy B

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Pretzel Smoochies

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2013
Loved this recipe. Wouldn't change a thing. It was a big hit over Christmas!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Neppers

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chocolate Covered Pretzels

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2013
Great recipe. As one commenter said, the cream wasn't necessary. I used one bag of chocolate chips, heat over a double boiler, and was able to dip 2 bags of pretzels. Then topped them with sprinkles. They were a hit this Christmas!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Neppers

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Vegetarian Moroccan Stew

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2013
Absolutely lovely! I was out of chickpeas so I sauteed brown lentils with the onion mixture, and it turned out wonderfully. But I'll make sure to have chickpeas on hand next time to see what it was intended to taste like! We have a large music teaching studio in our home, and my partner's students were in heaven because of the smell.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FiddleTrish

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States