Langley, British Columbia - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Raspberry Chiffon Pie II

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2015
Our family really enjoyed this pie. Because we don't care for graham cracker crust I made a pate sucre that worked very well. This is a generous filling so I put the leftover in small ramekins and just had them as a snack.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Autumn Pork Roast

Reviewed: May 25, 2015
I made this tonight and it was a hit! Like some other reviewers, I added a couple of apples as well and cut the brown sugar down to a quarter cup. I had a three and a half pound pork butt roast so I cooked it for 2.5 hours and tented the foil for the last hour to thicken the sauce. Next time I think I will add carrots but this was excellent just as it was. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Davena

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Authentic French Meringues

Reviewed: May 21, 2015
Great recipe. I added a touch of clear vanilla and 1/4 tsp. of cream of tartar. Meringues were perfect, light, crispy but not hard. I'm going to try using this recipe for individual pavlovas with a little raspberry flavouring and lots of fresh fruit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Easy Brown Sugar Muffins

Reviewed: May 13, 2015
I just made these. My only change was to use almond milk instead of cows milk, due to allergies. I was very unimpressed. Bland. Too dense. If I made some of the changes mentioned in the comments, they may be ok, but then it would be a different recipe because there were a LOT of changes mentioned. These won't be made again. The ones I already made will probably go uneaten, which is unheard of in my house with a 15 year old boy and his friends passing through my kitchen every day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by FAIRUZAH

Pasta e Fagioli II

Reviewed: May 7, 2015
A few changes based on reviews- a can of crushed tomatoes instead of juice, half chicken broth and half veg broth. A couple changes based on what I had on hand- I used white kidney beans and ditalini pasta. My husband and son loved it. I thought it was ok, but I'm not a huge tomato fan, so my opinion probably means less!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Honey-Garlic Slow Cooker Chicken Thighs

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2015
Excellent. Made just the way it is, with about 15 thighs in 2 slow cookers. Made the dressing for each cooker. Was simple and yummy and tender and everybody loved it. Leftovers were excellent. thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Natalie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by Brigitte

Kumquat Marmalade

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2015
I altered this recipe and added 2 envelopes of liquid pectin because the marmalade did not gel. I thought there was too much liquid when I sta but I went ahead and followed the recipe anyway. The next day I ended up re cooking & re sterilizing my jars & adding pectin. Vola! It turned out perfect!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brigitte

Cooking Level: Expert

Photo by FAIRUZAH

Lemon Butter Herb Pasta

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2015
The only changes I made to this was to add some capers (I added them while the butter melted) and about doubled the herbs. I then served it with sliced grilled Cajun chicken on top and sprinkled it all with some fresh parmesan. My husband and I both were unsure for the first few bites, but it got better the more we ate! I'll definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Spinach Stuffed Chicken Breasts

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2015
This was very good. I pre-cooked the bacon (added two slices per breast), used fresh spinach and combined part low fat mayo and part low fat herb & garlic cream cheese as well as some garlic and spices. It was very good. I also placed the chicken on a cooling rack above a cookie sheet and did not cover the pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Davena

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Hot Tamale Pie

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2015
I made some changes, but the basis of this recipe is a great idea,so 4 stars! First, I used homemade cornbread batter. It doesn't get as dry as the boxed stuff. Second, I added a can of black beans and some taco seasoning (instead of the spices) to my meat mixture. I've made it with a few other changes as well (no cheese, extra veg, etc) but the above changes were the ones we liked best. This recipe is one of those that you can adapt to what you have in your cupboards and fridge that day. I know it's a keeper when I actually print the recipe for my book, and with this one I did just that! Thanks for sharing :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Moist Chocolate Muffins

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2014
This recipe was pretty good- the tops got a little crispier than I expected no matter how much I shortened baking time, but the inside was moist and lovely. And I actually liked the crisp tops so that wasn't a problem for me. I did make a couple changes, but I'm basing my review on the basic recipe part. I skipped the vanilla extract and added peppermint extract. I used vanilla coconut milk yogurt instead of plain yogurt, because that's what I had (I substitute that all the time with no problems). And instead of basic muffins, I put a small amount of batter in the bottom of the muffin liner, then put in an oreo cookie, then covered with another scoop of muffin batter. They cooked up perfectly, and are a fun addition to the boxes of baking I sent out this year!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Unstuffed Cabbage Roll

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2014
This is a very good recipe. I really enjoyed it, and my husband and son (who have both tried but never got that excited about cabbage rolls) said they enjoyed this more. The only change I made was to use the flavoured cans of diced tomatoes...I had olive oil-basil-garlic flavour on hand. Simple recipe for a pretty quick dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Sloppy Joe Sandwiches

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2014
This one is definitely in our go-to dinner rotation now! My husband and teenage son both adored it. Even I liked it, and I'm not a sloppy joe fan. I made minimal changes. We prefer ground turkey over beef so I used that, and instead of garlic powder I tossed in a spoonful of minced garlic. Very tasty, thanks for sharing this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Baked BBQ Baby Back Ribs

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2014
I have made these twice: once followed the instructions exactly and cooked them in the oven. The other time I did the final cooking on the bbq. Both times they were absolutely fantastic. I did do the first cook in the oven for probably closer to three hours and they still held together beautifully on the barbeque.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Davena

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Beef or Chicken Marinade

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2014
I used this marinade with chicken for a stir fry. Delicious! I made the full recipe but only needed half for the three chicken breasts I used so put the other half in the fridge to use on the next thing I want to marinade! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Davena

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Garlic-Ginger Chicken Wings

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2014
These were delicious! I followed the recipe pretty much to the T except I didn't have ginger root so substituted a heaping 1/2 tsp. of ground ginger. I also didn't have Asian chile pepper sauce so I subbed Thai Chili Roasted Garlic sauce. Like some other reviewers suggested, once I had tossed the wings in the glaze, I popped them back in the oven for 5-10 mins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Davena

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

My Favorite Beet Salad

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2014
This was excellent; we loved it. The only change I made was to add some honey to the dressing ingredients. 1-2 Tbsp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Davena

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Mary's Meatloaf

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2014
This meatloaf stayed together well and the topping was great, but the meatloaf itself lacked flavor. Maybe some Worcestershire to spice it up a bit. It needed something.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Davena

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Fresh Asparagus Soup

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2014
I made this to use up some asaparagus I had and wow was I impressed! I had to make a couple minor changes to make it OK for my son who has a severe dairy allergy, but nothing that I think changed the original intention/taste of the recipe by much. I substituted dairy free butter, almond milk, and I served his portion before I stirred in the yogurt (of which I used sour cream since I only had flavoured yogurt on hand). Also, I added an extra 1/4-1/2 cup of broth in the blender because it was too thick to puree properly. My picky 1.5 year old loved it. My 15 year old LOVED it. My husband and I loved it. My only complaint about this recipe is that it didn't make enough for leftovers! Next time I'm doubling the recipe. ***BTW, adding sriracha sauce took it over the top for my teenager. The flavours work awesome together and it didn't take away from the asparagus taste at all. Thank you so much for this, I'll be making it often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

One-Dish Chicken and Stuffing Bake

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2014
would make this a 5 star... but did a slight change with sprinkling chicken with poultry spice before pour soup mix over top =) Chicken was very moist... no left overs with this one!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Daddyzlitlgrl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States