Kelowna - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Salmon, asparagus, rice

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2014
Nice dinner, Roy doesn't like the tart on the strawberry dessert, next time prepare one separately for him
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Salmon, Billinda, March 29, 2014

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2014
Salmon was undercooked
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Porkloin, 10/24/14, Michael and Suzanne and Eric and Min

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2014
Pork was dry without the sauce, blueberry pie was terrific, beet salad wasn't as good as usual, used Suzanne's garden beets which were less flavourful
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Southern Baked Yellow Squash

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2014
4 stars and very tasty as written. It is quite rich and doesn't need all the butter called for. I agree with other reviewers that the squash should be 'sweated' with a little of the butter and the onion and not boiled. It is also a very forgiving recipe. I have used a mixture of zucchini and yellow squash. You could also add add cubes of ham to make this a main dish, or bacon bits to make it a little fancier for a company meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Apple Butter Pork Loin

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2014
Cooked relatvely fast . Try in a crockpot fir a longer cook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Creamy Au Gratin Potatoes

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2014
The onions should be chopped, not sliced to add flavour without affecting the texture. I had to use a 2 quart casserole to hold the recipe for 6 persons and it still bubbled over. Be sure to place your casserole dish on some foil for easier clean up. I also added the sauce intermittently as I layered the potatoes to ensure the sauce gets down to all the potatoes. I like the idea of removing the top foil for the last 20 minutes to get some extra browning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Spicy Garlic and Pepper Shrimp

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2014
We didn't enjoy this recipe. Cabbage may need a lot more time to cook and there is far too much red pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Grilled Bell Peppers with Goat Cheese

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2014
A nice way to use up some peppers. I didn't find that the flavours commingled very well, what you have is grilled peppers with goat cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chicken and mushrooms, Phil Klotz and Jerry Morrison

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2014
I wasn't happy with the chicken this time. I over cooked them and I had trouble getting the mushroom sauce for 6 to thicken a little. The chicken turned out a little dry without enough sauce. I also let the asparagus get cold while I was fussing with the chicken. The dessert was a redeeming feature. Very sweet, but everyone liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Beet Salad with Goat Cheese

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2014
Would have been 5 stars except that I knew I wouldn't like the walnuts candied in maple syrup. I candied the walnuts by heating them gently in a teflon frying pan with brown sugar. The brown sugar melts and makes a lighter candied nut, good for salads. Dressing was surprisingly good. I was a little concerned because the orange concentrate makes a rather thick texture to the dressing, but the flavour is great. I like to toss the greens in the dressing before plating the salad and adding the beets, nuts and cheese. Be careful that you use just enough dressing to coat the greens lightly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Pineapple Casserole Dessert

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2014
My first attempt was a huge success, even though I forgot to drain the crushed pineapple. I haven't tried draining the pineapple in my subsequent attempts. It was very sweet, but my subsequent attempts at the recipe to cut back the sugar were not as good. The dish is too sweet for a side dish in our family. Hubby didn't think the cheddar cheese topping was a good fit, and the cheese may not be necessary for a successful dessert. I have tried using up some whole grain bread that was getting a little stale, and it was good, but we enjoy the results better when I use a fresh heavy white bread. The cinnamon is a good addition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Slow Cooker Pulled Pork

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2014
Very easy, very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Lamb Shawarma

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2014
This was a little on the spicy side for our tastes, next time I will cut back on the cayenne. Yogurt curdled on cooking, but flavour was still very good. Served on rice, which was helpful in absorbing the extra spicy heat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sheena

Piggy Wiggys

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2014
I made these for a birthday party and not only did the kids enjoy them the parents did too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sheena

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Saskatoon Pie

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2014
I thought it turned our beautifully. Hubby was hesitant when giving his rating. I will use this recipe again,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Korean BBQ Sauce

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2014
I have tried this twice, both times on ribs that got overcooked. The sauce seemed too salty and peppery. I need to try again without overcooking the meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Easy Marinated Pork Tenderloin

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2014
Works very well, easy and tasty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Apple Pie by Grandma Ople

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2014
My first use of this recipe was to use up some extra pastry dough that I had left over. I scaled back all the ingredients proportionate to one serving and simply wrapped sliced apples in the dough and poured the sauce in an opening that I left at the top. I followed the ingredients and the cooking temperature closely. The 'pasty' set beautifully ( not runny or gooey as others experienced) and the flavour was very good. I am looking forward to making a full pie, but the 1 star reviews have me a bit worried.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Easy Cheerio Coconut Rum balls

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2014
Easy and guests enjoyed
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gingerbreadgirlz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Sharon's Scrumptious Souvlaki

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2014
The first time I made this recipe, I added just a little lemon juice to the marinade as recommended by other reviewers, but it was too much acid. Second time I followed the recipe more precisely and thought it was better. The cucumber yogurt sauce is quite good and compares favourably to other tzatziki sauces.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-80 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States