Kelowna - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Chef John's Perfect Mashed Potatoes

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2013
We could probably make an advertisement with this recipe. 'Nothing gets between me and my mashed potatoes.' Keep it simple and let the mashed potato strut its stuff. Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Creamy Dill Cucumber Toasties

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2013
This is one of my regulars when preparing dinner for guests. Simple and flavourful and lets me concentrate on finishing the cooking of the rest of the meal while guests munch and talk. I always prepare the spread ahead of time to allow flavours to mingle. I prefer to use a crispier cracker such as Melba canapés than sliced french bread. I usually a little extra dill right into the spread and always top with fresh dill.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Pat's Mushroom Saute

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2013
I thought the balsamic vinegar added Pop to the mushrooms without overwhelming the natural flavours. I liked it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Italian Pork Tenderloin

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2013
I doubled the amount of sauce and served with mashed potatoes. I thought it was very good, but hubby kept adding salt and pepper to his plate. We both finished off rather large portions, so it must have been pretty good. Next time I will add more Italian species, basil and oregano (and salt and pepper), and serve as a pasta sauce to see if I can please both hubby and me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Simple Roasted Butternut Squash

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2013
It is a little more effort to peel and cube the squash before roasting, but it has the benefit of cooking faster than the more traditional way of baking the squash in its skin. I also like that the spicing is designed to enhance rather than mask the flavour of the squash.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chef John's Salmon

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2013
Be prepared to leave the salmon in the oven a little longer than specified, depending on the thickness of the cut. The combination of broiler and oven in this recipe made for a great presentation. I look forward to experimenting with other fresh herbs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sheena

Grilled Chicken Burgers

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2013
It was good and fresh! Easy to prepare and make for a crowd!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sheena

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Black Forest Cake I

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2013
I haven't been able to find sour cherries ( in Canada) and so haven't tried this yet. I am hoping that the sour cherries will be a fresher alternative to cherry pie filling used in other recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Jenny's Black Forest Cake

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2013
Hubby would like me to find a fresher alternative to cherry pie filling, and he would have preferred whipped cream in the construction of the cake. Having said that, he had no trouble finishing off the leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Tenderloin dinner, Phil and Karen

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2013
Hubby prepared this meal. I stepped in to make the Black Forest cake when he thought he might buy one pre made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Asian chicken and rice, Eric, Min and Cherie celebration

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2013
Hubby thought it was very good. He liked that I used restraint in the size of the portions. Slight mismatching of recipes. Chocolate dessert keeps me awake a night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chocolate Mousse II

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2013
Worked very well for me. I used high grade dark chocolate chips. They melted instantly with the addition of the hot water, no need for blender, microwave or double boiler, although I was prepared to use the microwave. Be sure to have the egg whites beaten and ready for the final mixing so that the chocolate doesn't cool and set before you are finished. Makes a very dark, rich mousse, which I love. I added whipped cream on top which helped to soften the intense flavour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Asian Glazed Chicken Thighs

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2013
I had to add corn starch to thicken the remaining sauce. Flavour was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Honey Ginger Green Beans

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2013
I am not sure that soya sayce is a good choice for a green vegetable. It resulted in mottling the color of the beans which I often rely upon for a bit of colour on a plate. I reduced the honey and doubled the ginger and garlic as indicated in the reviews. Flavour was ok.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Lancashire Hot Pot

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2013
I used leftover cooked lamb so I had to modify cooking times. I should have also reduced the amount of liquid if I wanted consistency of a stew, but the flavours were just great as a lamb soup. I added green beans for colour and nutrition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Seven Layer Tex Mex Dip, My changes

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2013
It didn't get completely consumed at the appetizer party, but hubby and I had no trouble finishing it over the next several days. The flavours were very compatible, but a little understated. I reduced the taco seasoning after reading the reviews, but I will try the full amount next time. I also added a layer of mild and shredded iceberg lettuce which added some crunch and stayed surprisingly fresh for several days. Next time I will try a spicier salsa. See other versions for my modifications.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Seven Layer Tex Mex Dip

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2013
It didn't get completely consumed at the appetizer party, but hubby and I had no trouble finishing it over the next several days. The flavours were very compatible, but a little understated. I reduced the taco seasoning after reading the reviews, but I will try the full amount next time. I also added a layer of mild and shredded iceberg lettuce which added some crunch and stayed surprisingly fresh for several days. Next time I will try a spicier salsa. See my modifications under Other Versions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Garlic Chicken

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2013
Use crushed or minced garlic to ensure the oil is thoroughly infused with garlic. I thought it was pretty plain, but hubby liked it. I wouldn't use it if we were were entertaining for dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Absolutely Delicious Baked Root Vegetables

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2013
A very good recipe for root vegetables, but if you don't like rutabagas or parsnips or carrots, it is better to leave them out and go with what you like. My personal preference was to substitute acorn squash for rutabaga. I also found that the carrots and parsnips cooked more slowly than the other vegetables, so next time I will try giving them a head start by par boiling them. Husband thought the spices were a little overwhelming, and I will reduce the punch next time to suit our tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Pork Tenderloin Diane

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2013
Based on other reviews, I quadrupled the recipe for the sauce and still didn't have too much. However, the sauce was little too tangy for us as written. Next time I will add a little chicken broth or cream or butter as recommended in other reviews. Very easy to make, so it worth investing some time on getting it to your liking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-60 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States