Kelowna - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Linguine with Chicken and Sauteed Vegetables

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2015
Flavours didn't work for us. The line and cilantro stood out as separate flavours rather than enhancing the dish. Other than the lime and cilantro, the dish was extremely bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Broccoli Cauliflower Casserole

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2015
Very tasty, a little rich. Good way to use up some vegetables
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Slow Cooker Baby Back Ribs

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2015
Rubbed ribs with salt, pepper, paprika, brown sugar and a pinch of garam masala; also added ginger ale to the crock pot - I didn't have beer or Pepsi and I figured it was worth a shot! The crock pot and oven method was easy and the ribs turned out perfectly, thanks for sharing Norah!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Queen Llemon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Greek Lentil Soup (Fakes)

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2015
Wow, delicious! I added chicken stock instead of water and used fresh rosemary (delicious), but otherwise the recipe was the same. We also used Balsamic vinegar instead of red wine vinegar as that's all we had. It was amazing. I agree, the vinegar (or lemon) is an important part of the recipe. It really brings out the flavours. This will be a regular part of our menus from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brenda Grate

Cooking Level: Expert

Deep Dark Old Recipe Bran Muffins

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2015
Good, old school bran muffins! 4 yr old said "They taste like REAL muffins!" and I agree - unlike store bought "cake" muffins, they are dry, which we loved. Had no molasses on hand so added a bit of brown sugar, used 1c buttermilk and 1/2c applesauce, and coconut oil instead of shortening. Also used 1c frozen blueberries instead of raisins - added to dry ingredients to prevent colour bleeding. The kids devoured them! Thanks for sharing LorrieT1!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Queen Llemon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Cabbage Fat-Burning Soup

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2015
This is a great, easy, and very satisfying soup. I made a half batch and it is still a ton of food. To save on a bit of the chopping, I used a bag of pre-cut cole slaw instead of the head of cabbage. I also substituted a can of black beans (for protein) for the green beans (ick), and added some garlic, thyme, and basil. Planning on using it for lunches and for my late night snacks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Teri

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Red Deer, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Restaurant-Style Prime Rib Roast

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2015
Timing of roast seems to be very tricky. My 4 pound roast took only 45 minutes. Fortnately I was using a meat thermometer and the resting stage is flexibke so the vegetables can 'catch up''.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Gluten Free Nutty Apple Crisp

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2015
Not enough sweetness in the topping. Consider more syrup in the topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Prime rib, Randall and Christina

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2015
Dinner was good. Cooked the roast at 400F in order to cook the potatoes at 400F and roast was done sooner than expected.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Figs and Toasted Almonds Brie

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2014
Guests and hubby like this. Works better with dried figs than fig preserves. Havn't been able to find fresh figs yet, but I look forward to using fresh figs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Pumpkin Pie

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2014
This made more than would fit in a standard pie crust. I poured the excess in a small tart pan, no crust and made an extra crustless pie. Cooking time also was a little more than indicated but not excessve.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Posh Squash

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2014
Most of my dinner guests really liked this dsh. My hubby prefers smple baked squash with no mashing or additives.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chef John's Pumpkin Pie

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2014
This was my first attempt at a pumpkin pie, and I am not sure what I am exoecting in a good pumpkin pie. I tried two separate receipies for Christmas dinner, bith were very dense but tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chef John's Roasted Brussels Sprouts

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2014
This worked very well for me. The sprouts were tender without being mushy and the sprout eaters in the family liked the dish. Of course, not everyone likes sprouts, even if they are done to perfection. I have never remembered to garnish with lemon, and I don't think it is required.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

2014, turkey Christmas dinner

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2014
Spent the whole day, partly because I was in a strange kitchen. brussel sprouts were a hit, everthing was timed pretty well. dave was a big help in the kitchen.b Sheleey didn't eat the salad or the stuffing because they had meat in them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Prime rib, Gary and Jill

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2014
Preparation wasn't spot on, eg salad wasn't as pre-prepped as it could have been. Timing on roast wasn't very precise. Meal was generrally pretty good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Roy's chicken with Bill and Melinda

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2014
Bill couldn't eat greens in beet salad, Melinda didn't appear to like the beet salad. Squash was a little overwhelming on the plate. Baked brie was popular as were the raspberries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Prime rib roast, Susan and Bill, Dec 1, 2014

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2014
Very good, Bill and Susan were very appreciative. Roast was tender. Pineapple casserole was a hit. Baked brie works well as a special appetizer. Made gravey with beef drippings that was very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Roast Chicken, dave's birthday

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2014
I thought it was very good, but I had a loypt of picky eaters. Strawberry salad needs more care to rime the ingredients right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Salmon, Dave and Judy, Oct 31/14

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2014
Tarragon sauce was a little heavy, nuts on beet salad were too candied, squash was a hit, pie almost overcooked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-60 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States