Kelowna - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Chantal's New York Cheesecake

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2014
Super easy recipe. I had to bake it for 1.5hrs. It was delicious, and we will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gingerbreadgirlz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sheena

Bacon Potato Salad with Ranch

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2014
This was easy to make and super delicious!! I only had 2 pieces of bacon so I used that and some ham that I had on hand. I used 8 smaller russet potatoes and 5 eggs. I doubled the sauce mixture because we are having this for dinner tomorrow. I loved loved the fresh parsley it was a nice addition. I WILL make this again and again! So good, thank you for posting!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sheena

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Sugar Cookie Icing

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
Worked great. Just make it as thick or as runny as you like. We added some lemon juice for extra flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Luchinka

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Turkey Stuffing from Patricia Verheyden

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2013
Excellent
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gingerbreadgirlz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Terri's Veal Marsala

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2013
Once again I made Terri's awesome veal recipe and consider it my go to recipe for quick and scrumptious. I'm very proud to call her my personal cooking inspiration and friend. I don't change anything in the recipe and it always turns out like restaurant gourmet. My husband, who's quite picky at meals raves about this one. Thanks for this recipe Terri.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gail Roughsedge

Cooking Level: Beginning

Chef John's Sausage & Shrimp Jambalaya

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2013
I liked it a lt, but Hubby found it too spicy. I will try again and cut back on the hot spices next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MissiLLScarlett

Basic Biscuits

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2013
These are incredibly flakey and delicious. I fallowed another users advice, and used cold grated butter. They turned out perfectly. Delicious !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MissiLLScarlett

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chef John's Perfect Mashed Potatoes

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2013
We could probably make an advertisement with this recipe. 'Nothing gets between me and my mashed potatoes.' Keep it simple and let the mashed potato strut its stuff. Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Creamy Dill Cucumber Toasties

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2013
This is one of my regulars when preparing dinner for guests. Simple and flavourful and lets me concentrate on finishing the cooking of the rest of the meal while guests munch and talk. I always prepare the spread ahead of time to allow flavours to mingle. I prefer to use a crispier cracker such as Melba canapés than sliced french bread. I usually a little extra dill right into the spread and always top with fresh dill.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Pat's Mushroom Saute

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2013
I thought the balsamic vinegar added Pop to the mushrooms without overwhelming the natural flavours. I liked it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Italian Pork Tenderloin

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2013
I doubled the amount of sauce and served with mashed potatoes. I thought it was very good, but hubby kept adding salt and pepper to his plate. We both finished off rather large portions, so it must have been pretty good. Next time I will add more Italian species, basil and oregano (and salt and pepper), and serve as a pasta sauce to see if I can please both hubby and me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Simple Roasted Butternut Squash

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2013
It is a little more effort to peel and cube the squash before roasting, but it has the benefit of cooking faster than the more traditional way of baking the squash in its skin. I also like that the spicing is designed to enhance rather than mask the flavour of the squash.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chef John's Salmon

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2013
Be prepared to leave the salmon in the oven a little longer than specified, depending on the thickness of the cut. The combination of broiler and oven in this recipe made for a great presentation. I look forward to experimenting with other fresh herbs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sheena

Grilled Chicken Burgers

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2013
It was good and fresh! Easy to prepare and make for a crowd!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sheena

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Black Forest Cake I

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2013
I haven't been able to find sour cherries ( in Canada) and so haven't tried this yet. I am hoping that the sour cherries will be a fresher alternative to cherry pie filling used in other recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Jenny's Black Forest Cake

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2013
Hubby would like me to find a fresher alternative to cherry pie filling, and he would have preferred whipped cream in the construction of the cake. Having said that, he had no trouble finishing off the leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Tenderloin dinner, Phil and Karen

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2013
Hubby prepared this meal. I stepped in to make the Black Forest cake when he thought he might buy one pre made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Asian chicken and rice, Eric, Min and Cherie celebration

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2013
Hubby thought it was very good. He liked that I used restraint in the size of the portions. Slight mismatching of recipes. Chocolate dessert keeps me awake a night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chocolate Mousse II

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2013
Worked very well for me. I used high grade dark chocolate chips. They melted instantly with the addition of the hot water, no need for blender, microwave or double boiler, although I was prepared to use the microwave. Be sure to have the egg whites beaten and ready for the final mixing so that the chocolate doesn't cool and set before you are finished. Makes a very dark, rich mousse, which I love. I added whipped cream on top which helped to soften the intense flavour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Asian Glazed Chicken Thighs

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2013
I had to add corn starch to thicken the remaining sauce. Flavour was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-60 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States