Kelowna - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Doreen's Ham Slices on the Grill

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2015
Very tasty, adds interest to the standard ham steak. Be careful that you don't dry out the ham on the grill, it doesn't need a lot of time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Homesteader Cornbread

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2015
My first attempt made a very dense, but flavourful cornbread which we thoroughly enjoyed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chef John's Blueberry Clafoutis

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2015
Berries in custard, not too sweet. Probably best served warm, I haven't had any leftovers to try when chilled. Consider adding sprinkling of powdered sugar when out of the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Thai Cucumber Salad

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2015
Very tasty way to eat up cucumber. I used English cucumber and didn't bother with the step of peeling and cutting out the seeds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Kielbasa and Cabbage

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2015
The recipe is a little sweet and uses caraway. We like caraway, but will cut back on the sugar next time. The bacon also is a little overkill in the fat department considering that the cabbage is being served with Kielbasa. We will definitely try this recipe again with a few tweaks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Asian Coleslaw

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2015
I liked this. The peanut dressing is delicious. The recipe make very large portions, so cut back accordingly. Chopped salad vegetables will stay fresh longer if not mixed with the dressng, so only add dressing to the quantity to be used and the rest will keep in the fridge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cobb Salad

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2015
Cobb salad is one of my favorites when eating out and I can get a little fussy about what makes a good cobb salad. This one is very good. Don't hesitate to use the blue cheese veey sparingly (or not at all) if you don't like blue cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Delicious Egg Salad for Sandwiches

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2015
Easy, good proportions for the ingredients for a basic egg salad sandwich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Awesome Egg Salad with a Kick

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2015
Love it, although I don't usually have sour cream around and just use more mayonnaise. I am careful with the red onion and the horse radish, but they definitely take the standard egg salad sandwich up a notch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Garlic Spinach

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2015
Very simple and tasty. Makes a healthy side dish that is compatible with many things. Of course, you have to like garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chicken Stir-Fry

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2015
Very good! I did cut back on the soy sauce and substituted a little teriyaki sauce. I needed to double the portions for the sauce in order to have sufficient sauce to coat the vegetables in the final cooking. 4 stars for the recipe as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

30 Minute Almond Chicken by Minute® Rice

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2015
Skipped the italian dressing as our kids dislike anything "vinegar-y", seasoned chicken with oregano & sea salt. Also used chicken stock from the freezer instead of broth. Used leftover rice. No leftovers - H ate the beans but liked the chicken best, V was the opposite. Next time with broccoli? I liked that this recipe didn't use cream, soup, sour cream etc - did not need it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Queen Llemon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Janet's Rich Banana Bread

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2015
Good! Would be 5 stars if the bananas were mashed. I also creamed the sugar with softened butter, and not melted butter as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cucumber Sunomono

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2015
Very tasty and a great way to use up fresh cucumber.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Mom's Cucumbers

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2015
Very tasty and a great way to use up fresh cucumber.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cranberry Waldorf

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2015
Quite good, I made it to use up some frozen (previously fresh) cranberries that were in the freezer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Roasted Autumn Root Vegetables

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2015
This made a delicious dish of roasted vegetables. Pay close attention to the size of the cut up vegetables as they are best if all are thoroughly roasted to yeild a soft interior. I like the addition of chicken brroth at the end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Sesame Shrimp Stir-Fry

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2015
My first attempt was only worth 3 stars. The marinade spices seemed to need a liquid, maybe soy sauce or rice vinegar. The cornstarch thickening was too thick. I will try again with some modifications because with so many good reviews, the recipe seems to have more potential.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Spiced Yogurt Pound Cake

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2015
Very moist and tasty. Freezes well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Butternut Squash Soup II

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2015
This is a delicious, creamy and low fat soup. The only change I made is adding about a tablespoon of chopped ginger, because we love it. I had no problems with stringy celery, just needs to be chopped small and simmered until all veggies are soft. I used red potatoes and didn't peel them, and they also pureed perfectly. Browning the veggies until they are golden gives this soup the great flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Irene Rose

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States