Kelowna - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

12/19/14, Gary and Jill

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2014
Preparation wasn't spot on, eg salad wasn't as pre-prepped as it could have been. Timing on roast wasn't very precise. Meal was generrally pretty good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Roy's chicken with Bill and Melinda

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2014
Bill couldn't eat greens in beet salad, Melinda didn't appear to like the beet salad. Squash was a little overwhelming on the plate. Baked brie was popular as were the raspberries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Prime rib roast, Susan and Bill, Dec 1, 2014

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2014
Very good, Bill and Susan were very appreciative. Roast was tender. Pineapple casserole was a hit. Baked brie works well as a special appetizer. Made gravey with beef drippings that was very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Roast Chicken, dave's birthday

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2014
I thought it was very good, but I had a loypt of picky eaters. Strawberry salad needs more care to rime the ingredients right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Salmon, Dave and Judy, Oct 31/14

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2014
Tarragon sauce was a little heavy, nuts on beet salad were too candied, squash was a hit, pie almost overcooked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Salmon, asparagus, rice

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2014
Nice dinner, Roy doesn't like the tart on the strawberry dessert, next time prepare one separately for him
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Salmon, Billinda, March 29, 2014

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2014
Salmon was undercooked
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Porkloin, 10/24/14, Michael and Suzanne and Eric and Min

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2014
Pork was dry without the sauce, blueberry pie was terrific, beet salad wasn't as good as usual, used Suzanne's garden beets which were less flavourful
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Southern Baked Yellow Squash

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2014
4 stars and very tasty as written. It is quite rich and doesn't need all the butter called for. I agree with other reviewers that the squash should be 'sweated' with a little of the butter and the onion and not boiled. It is also a very forgiving recipe. I have used a mixture of zucchini and yellow squash. You could also add add cubes of ham to make this a main dish, or bacon bits to make it a little fancier for a company meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Apple Butter Pork Loin

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2014
Cooked relatvely fast . Try in a crockpot fir a longer cook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Creamy Au Gratin Potatoes

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2014
The onions should be chopped, not sliced to add flavour without affecting the texture. I had to use a 2 quart casserole to hold the recipe for 6 persons and it still bubbled over. Be sure to place your casserole dish on some foil for easier clean up. I also added the sauce intermittently as I layered the potatoes to ensure the sauce gets down to all the potatoes. I like the idea of removing the top foil for the last 20 minutes to get some extra browning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Spicy Garlic and Pepper Shrimp

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2014
We didn't enjoy this recipe. Cabbage may need a lot more time to cook and there is far too much red pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Grilled Bell Peppers with Goat Cheese

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2014
A nice way to use up some peppers. I didn't find that the flavours commingled very well, what you have is grilled peppers with goat cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chicken and mushrooms, Phil Klotz and Jerry Morrison

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2014
I wasn't happy with the chicken this time. I over cooked them and I had trouble getting the mushroom sauce for 6 to thicken a little. The chicken turned out a little dry without enough sauce. I also let the asparagus get cold while I was fussing with the chicken. The dessert was a redeeming feature. Very sweet, but everyone liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Beet Salad with Goat Cheese

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2014
Would have been 5 stars except that I knew I wouldn't like the walnuts candied in maple syrup. I candied the walnuts by heating them gently in a teflon frying pan with brown sugar. The brown sugar melts and makes a lighter candied nut, good for salads. Dressing was surprisingly good. I was a little concerned because the orange concentrate makes a rather thick texture to the dressing, but the flavour is great. I like to toss the greens in the dressing before plating the salad and adding the beets, nuts and cheese. Be careful that you use just enough dressing to coat the greens lightly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Pineapple Casserole Dessert

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2014
My first attempt was a huge success, even though I forgot to drain the crushed pineapple. I haven't tried draining the pineapple in my subsequent attempts. It was very sweet, but my subsequent attempts at the recipe to cut back the sugar were not as good. The dish is too sweet for a side dish in our family. Hubby didn't think the cheddar cheese topping was a good fit, and the cheese may not be necessary for a successful dessert. I have tried using up some whole grain bread that was getting a little stale, and it was good, but we enjoy the results better when I use a fresh heavy white bread. The cinnamon is a good addition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Slow Cooker Pulled Pork

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2014
Very easy, very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Lamb Shawarma

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2014
This was a little on the spicy side for our tastes, next time I will cut back on the cayenne. Yogurt curdled on cooking, but flavour was still very good. Served on rice, which was helpful in absorbing the extra spicy heat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sheena

Piggy Wiggys

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2014
I made these for a birthday party and not only did the kids enjoy them the parents did too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sheena

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Saskatoon Pie

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2014
I thought it turned our beautifully. Hubby was hesitant when giving his rating. I will use this recipe again,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States