Abbotsford, British Columbia - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Baja Fish Tacos from KRAFT®

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2015
Wow, that was good. I didn't substitute anything, but did add some chopped jalapeño to the slaw. I also used homemade taco seasoning instead of store bought. I would definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by redfisher80

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bothell, Washington, USA

Black Beans and Pork Chops

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2015
not bad. we enjoyed. will try again before making any serious judgement
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Mom's Chocolate Chip Cookies

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2015
excellent easy recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Slow Cooker Sweet and Sour Pork

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2015
Not bad, but not quite what I was expecting flavour-wise. Did try to thicken it up but sauce was still runny.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sandi S.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by redfisher80

Eileen's Spicy Gingerbread Men

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2014
These came out so well! My boyfriend's one request was to make them more spicier. I saw other reviewers comments to double the spices (except nutmeg) but I decided to see how it came out first before changing the recipe. Next batch will definitely have the doubled spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by redfisher80

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bothell, Washington, USA

Chef John's BLT Pasta

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2014
I made this for my family of 6 tonight and everyone loved it; (however, my 3 year old picked out the cooked tomatoes.) I went a little heavier on the lemon zest and really heavy on the cheese - I topped the entire skillet with parmesan cheese :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicole Kealy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: North Delta, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Oatmeal Raisin Cookies VI

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2014
I had been looking for a recipe that I could sub some applesauce in for oil. This one worked well! I read a number of reviews and made some similar adjustments to other cooks. I used half margarine, half applesauce, and reduced the brown sugar. I substituted 1 c. whole wheat flour and a half cup ground flax for the all purpose. Just because I like spicy cookies, I added cloves, nutmeg, and ginger as well. I'm munching on them now as they cool down and they are delish...they aren't as moist with the modifications, but they are soft and not at all greasy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa Laplante

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Strawberry Bread

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2014
Ooohhhh sooooo good! Only changes were too add extra strawberries and reduce the cinnamon (rather taste the fresh fruit than the spice) to less than 1 tsp. looking forward to getting another bucket of strawberries and baking more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sandi S.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chinese Cocktail Buns

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2014
WOW! So easy and they came out perfect!This made 16 and there are 5 left and its only been 10 minutes..I have 2 small boys and a husband who are very picky and these buns taste exactly like the ones at the T&T market. Thank you for such an amazing recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Mini Meatloaves

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2014
Was pretty good. BF asked me to use pepper jack cheese and it made it fantastic. Too much sugar for us in the topping though so we'll be omitting that next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by redfisher80

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bothell, Washington, USA

Whole Wheat Banana Strawberry Loaf

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2014
the strawberry disappeared into the bread and there was not enough banana to make a statement, even though I added slightly more than suggested in the recipe. It really didn't have anything wonderful about it, just a dry lacklustre fruit bread. I may try it again with increased everything, but not in any hurry
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Grandma Johnson's Scones

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
Absolutely wonderful! Made the basic scones (no extra additions this time but will definitely in the future) and served with homemade strawberry jam & raspberry jam. Num num num!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sandi S.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Slow Cooker Pulled Pork

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2013
Since I have never had pulled pork before, I have nothing to compare this to. One thing I do know, this was tasty! tasty! tasty! I only had 1 x 1-pound tenderloin so I used 1 cup root beer to which I mixed in about 1/4 cup of bbq sauce before pouring over the meat in the slowcooker. I also added a little extra bbq sauce to the top of the tenderloin while cooking. Even tho I reduced the amount of ingredients, I did not reduce the cooking time. I served it with homemade mac and cheese--hubby& I absolutely LOVED it! A definite make again recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sandi S.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Creamy Pumpkin Pie

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2013
I have tried other recipes for pumpkin pie, but this one is the best
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BioDave1955

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: North Bay, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Slow Cooker Chicken Marrakesh

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2013
Wow that was good. I had to make substitutions and I didn't have everything needed. Fresh onion and garlic became powdered versions. Large carrot became frozen mixed veggies. Sweet potato became yellow potato and tumeric became ground mustard. Because I used regular potatoes rather than sweet I added in tarragon. I'm sure once I cook this the regular way it'll be just as yummy too. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by redfisher80

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bothell, Washington, USA

Southwest Chicken

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2013
It was alright. I added the spices to the meat rather than at the end of cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by redfisher80

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bothell, Washington, USA

Chicken and Red Wine Sauce

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2013
I reduced the brown sugar and used Marsala wine...OMG I wished I had the mushrooms because this was so good. Next time instead of paprika (or in addition to) I'll add cayenne pepper. That mix of sweet with spicy will be super yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by redfisher80

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bothell, Washington, USA

Best Ever Popcorn Balls

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2013
The only thing I added was a little vanilla! They are fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Waffles I

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2013
nom nom nom can't talk mouth is full..... In other words I loved this recipe! it was so easy to make, I had all the ingredients on hand and the recipe can be easily adapted - add pumpkin pie & spices + a bit more flour for pumpkin spice waffles I have added this recipe to my do again pile These also froze really well
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Connie Levesque

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Honey-Glazed Pork Chops

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2013
Love that the recipe is easy to put together - had all of the ingredients and it doesn't take too much time. However, I did find it a little too sweet. I did make 1-1/2 times the sauce and added the red pepper flakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sandi S.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States