British Columbia - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

The Amazing Swedish Meatball

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2015
I was looking for a fast meatball recipe and this recipe did not disappoint! They were flavourful and kept their moisture and I served them with pasta. On reading reviews regarding the salt content of the sauce - even though I didn't make it myself - I always air on the side of conservatism. Aside from baking (cakes breads etc) I always start with zero salt and add to taste from there. There is always sodium in added ingredients so I like to get a base before adding more. A tbsp of salt would have sent my alarms up immediately. LOL! Otherwise a great recipe and I will definitely file this in keepers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VRCOOK

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Mom's Favorite Baked Mac and Cheese

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2015
I only gave it 3 stars due to the processed cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dwleo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Baked Mushroom Thighs

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2015
I just tried this recipe and was not happy about it at all. I would recommend not using bone in chicken. It was messy to eat. I added garlic and poultry seasoning as suggested by others to add extra flavour but still wouldn't make it again. It was quite bland and I am going to throw out 95% of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sue

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Pesto Chicken

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2015
These were amazing! We served the chicken with couscous rice and boiled vegetables. It made for a great healthy dinner and the guests loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by obdrew

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Best Big, Fat, Chewy Chocolate Chip Cookie

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2015
After leaving these cookies to cool for two days they became tough and hard to chew, almost like a bar instead of a good cookie. The center was not as chewy as promised. The taste was excellent, however. 3/5
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by obdrew

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Beef Stew VI

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2015
great recipe! My hubby doesn't like stew usually, but loved this recipe. I put it altogether in my crockpot before I left for work and it was ready when I got back 8 hours later (on low). Otherwise, my changes were minor, I added a little bit of salt as I too did not use boullion. My husband is diabetic so I used a sweet potato instead of a regular white or red potato, but it was perfect! I'll be using this recipe often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BUTTERCUP_CA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ronan, Montana, USA
Living In: Cranbrook, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Easy Chocolate Crackled Cookies

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2015
Used butter instead of shortening, chilled in fridge. They were still sticky but I coated my hands in powdered sugar before rolling and it worked well. Moist, chewy, easy!! Hardest part is hiding from the kids!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Queen Llemon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Oven-Roasted Asparagus

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2015
So simple and delicious! Why haven't I made this in the oven before? I usually steam, but this worked well tonight since I had potatoes and chicken in the oven. Just reduce the salt - a lot - I used maybe 1/4 tsp (a few twists of pink himalayan salt) and it was plenty as the cheese is salty. A drizzle of balsamic vinegar is fantastic if you don't have lemon juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by karen u

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

NO YOLKS® Chicken Noodle Soup

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2015
I followed the recipe exactly, and it turned out perfectly! Our family of four enjoyed this soup for lunches over a few days of "at home sick time". Perfect comfort food!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by westcoastmom

Cooking Level: Expert

Black Beans and Pork Chops

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2015
not bad. we enjoyed. will try again before making any serious judgement
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Mom's Chocolate Chip Cookies

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2015
excellent easy recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chef John's Salt Roasted Chicken

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2015
Yes, yes, and yes! The best white chicken meat we ever ate! I used "Himalayan Natural Crystal Salt" and reduced it to 1.25 tbsp at medium grind since it's much denser than the flaky "Kosher Salt". Chef John, you're a genius. Paired it with a fragrant Pulao and it was the most exciting Tuesday we've had in a while.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wiggles

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kitchener, Ontario, Canada

Almond Wild Rice

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2015
Love this, although like others have mentioned, I changed the method. Threw the rice and broth into my rice cooker, dry toasted the almonds on the stove, and then threw everything in the rice once it was done. Stirred it all up and let it sit for a few minutes and voila - a side dish simple enough for a weeknight and elegant enough for an occasion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Best Big, Fat, Chewy Chocolate Chip Cookie

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2015
I have made this recipe both regular & gluten free & loved it every time! For gluten free cookies, just use gluten free flour in the EXACT same proportions as regular recipe with a 1/2 tsp of xantham gum. I do not bother with the extra egg yolk, I put in 2 whole eggs. It has never affected the outcome. I would NOT sift the flour as some have suggested nor would I use the mixer to combine the wet & dry ingredients together. When I've tried that I end up with a dryer, bread like cookie that is not dense or chewy. I put the choc chips in with the flour & mix in wet ingredients by hand with a spatula. DO refrigerate for at least an hour. I bake 1 sheet of cookies at a time & put the dough back in the fridge between each spooning. All in all, a great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by boobooetta

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Mill Bay, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Bran Muffins II

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2015
These are just wonderful! Bake as is or add raisins, nuts, fruit - whatever you like. I've even added carrots and zucchini, all with fabulous results. Can't praise them enough!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orofino, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Sweet Chicken Adobo

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2015
LOL..this is my recipe...it should say 1/4 cup chicken stock...(not boulion), and 4 cloves of GARLIC.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa Poetzschke

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Marathon, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Pizza Casserole

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2015
Made this several times and we all enjoyed it. A quick and easy recipe. The pizza sauce really makes it so don't substitute for pasta sauce. VDries out quickly so I wouldn't save it for another day unless you were putting more sauce in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

Zesty Zucchini and Squash

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2015
The zucchini ended up overcooked and the squash was barely cooked. Hubby really liked this dish anyway so I may do this again as a side but I surely won't be using butternut squash and will add the zucchini half way through cooking time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cher

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ingersoll, Ontario, Canada

Portobello Penne Pasta Casserole

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2015
Not so appealing to look at but sure did taste good. Easy to put together for Meatless Monday so keeping on my repeat list. Didn't change anything, made exactly as directed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cher

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ingersoll, Ontario, Canada

Stephanie's Freezer Spaghetti Sauce

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2015
I suggest using shredded carrots, (2 or three of them), to replace the sugar. I have also added mushrooms (a pound of sliced white mushrooms is nice for most people, but I would put in 3-4 if I could being a BIG mushroom lover) and 2-3 diced zucchini. This adds more veggies to the sauce and makes moms happier when their kids eat veggies. Who's gonna tell the kids right? I also cook this in a big pot on the stove, putting the tomato paste in at the beginning. My sister bakes hers in the oven. This is an all day thing, cutting veggies at 6 to get the sauce on the stove at 8am in time for dinner at 6 pm. The house smells great, and the sauce freezes well in single portions, (1 cup), or multiple portions 4 or more depending on who is at the table and portion size. Can throw meat in or veggie ground round, and adjust for spiciness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Bay, Ontario, Canada

Displaying results 61-80 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States