Fort McMurray - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More
Photo by Krisztina

Hungarian Poppy Seed Filling

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2014
Thank you so much for this recipe. I can't get Solo brand in Northern Alberta so have to make from scratch. I changed it a tiny bit. I was out of eggs so I used 4 tablespoons of arrow root flour instead. The food processor took time to grind the poppyseed up but eventually worked well. This is by far better than the canned. I'm never going to miss it again. I'm so very happy right now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Krisztina

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Eggless Peanut Butter Cookies

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2014
Our son has an egg allergy, baking cookies is always a challenge! Used butter in place of shortening and 1% reg milk for buttermilk, less sugar as I added a Hershey kiss to the middle - followed recipe except for those and they turned out perfect! Triple the batch if you have 4 boys in the house :) thanks so much for a versatile delicious recipe!!! And careful they spread a lot ...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mbellis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Rempel Family Meatloaf

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2014
As far as the taste...this meatloaf is great. I only rated rated it 3 stars however because it fell apart. Not sure what went wrong, followed the recipe exactly :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by eekala

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Easy Banana Muffins

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2014
I use just 1/3 cup of the brown sugar and it's plenty sweet, especially once you add fruits. I also use 1TBSP ground flax seed 2 TBSP water to replace the egg as my son is allergic to eggs. As per another reviewer I sub applesauce for the oil. Excellent and versatile recipe. I'm adding chocolate chips as opposed to a fruit this morning as it's the weekend and they be gone by tonight :) thank-you for a go to muffin recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mbellis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Thai-Style Peanut Sauce with Honey

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2013
AMAZING. This is easily the best peanut sauce I've made. I didn't have the fresh ginger so I subbed it for 1 tsp ground ginger and added a sprinkling of chives. I used this for chicken and noodles, used half the sauce to marinate the chicken and then tossed everything in the remaining sauce when it was done. This is awesome cold as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KBots

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Dutch Apple Pie with Oatmeal Streusel

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2013
I followed Barb's suggestions and it turned out perfectly delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Dad's Leftover Turkey Pot Pie

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2013
This was awesome! I followed it almost exactly. I made my crusts from scratch. I only made enough for one pot pie in my casserole dish. I didn't have green beans or celery - I used peas and some other veggies and added lots of savory seasoning as well. I got the perfect compliment from my husband. "This was the absolute best meal you've ever made!" I was swooning :) I cook often, but this just hit the target perfectly. Thank you!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Krisztina

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Spiced Parsnip Soup

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2013
Just made this soup and it turned out great! The only thing I changed to cut on the calories but keep the creaminess, was to sub in 2% plain greek yogurt. It gives it the same creaminess but is absolutely delicious, and adds extra protein! I'm going to try adding an apple next time. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenn<3Cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Pork Medallions

Reviewed: May 2, 2012
My hubby absolutely LOVED the results. I added extra garlic because we just love garlic. Kept everything else the same. He licked his plate clean. Thanks for sharing, this is a keeper and will become a weekly staple in the house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Krisztina

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cinnamon Rolls II

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2012
I found these to be very very dry and I even used more filling. Not sure what went wrong, but I'm not very happy with the results. I gave it 3 stars because the dough was good, but the rolls themselves left you needing to drink lots of coffee or milk. Very disappointing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Krisztina

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chewy Brownies

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2012
The flavor was ok... but seemed a bit weak on the chocolate and it was cakey and not fudgy. I didn't use my mixer to mix the batter, I did it by hand to make sure I didn't over mix. I was a bit disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Krisztina

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Creme Brulee French Toast

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2011
I made all the egg mixture but only poured 1/2 of it into my pan, with store bought regular bread. I left the crusts and didnt soak it all night, yummy . This recipe is for a sweet - tooth ( : A once a year celebration food, recommend whipped cream or ice cream with this
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leanne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Apple Pie Muffins

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2011
Made this for a little get together we had. Thye were awesome even with replacing the egg(my sons allergy) (1TBSP flaxseed, 3Tbsp water) and buttermilk (1 cup of water, 1tbsp lemon juice) Made the recipe to direction, these were a great addition to the recipe box! Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mbellis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Apple Pie Muffins

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2011
Made this for a little get together we had. Thye were awesome even with replacing the egg(my sons allergy) (1TBSP flaxseed, 3Tbsp water) and buttermilk (1 cup of water, 1tbsp lemon juice) Made the recipe to direction, these were a great addition to the recipe box! Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mbellis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Stuffed Pork Chops

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2011
These are delicious! I didn't have any seasoned stuffing croutons so I used plain croutons and added poultry seasoning, sage, thyme, and marjoram for extra flavor. I had trouble with cutting a pocket in the pork chops so I just placed the stuffing on top, folded them in half, and inserted some toothpicks to hold them in place. I made some mashed potatoes for a side dish which pairs well with the gravy of course. I will be making this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Asian Lettuce Wraps

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2011
Loved this recipe! Word of advice though.. use iceberg lettuce instead of butter lettuce. Butter lettuce leaves aren't big enough to eat these without everything falling on your lap. Cut a whole head of iceberg lettuce in half and peel the leaves off. This is how similar lettuce wraps were served at a restaurant I went to.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

The Whole Jar of Peanut Butter Cookies

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2011
Peanut butter cookies are my boyfriends favorite. Ive been searching for the perfect recipe to make cookies for him. My search stops here, these cookies are amazing. A little bit crisp on the outside, soft in the middle and lots of yummy peanut butter flavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by eekala

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Spaghetti Squash I

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2011
If you don't have much time to cook, you can cook the squash in the microwave. Heat whole squash in the microwave for 3 minutes to soften the skin. Cut the squash in half. Place cut sides of squash down on a plate with some water on the bottom. Cover with plastic wrap to keep the moisture in. Heat in microwave for about 8 minutes (depends on the size of the squash). This is a delicious recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cinnamon Streusel Orange Muffins

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2011
I gave these muffins 4 stars instead of five because I found the orange flavor a bit lacking. Otherwise there were really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by eekala

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Buffalo Chicken Burgers with Blue Cheese Dressing

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2011
I was really excited to try these and thought they would taste great but I really didn't like them. I like all of the ingredients in the recipe but the overall taste was not to my liking. I followed the recipe exactly but my boyfriend and I are not fans. I couldn't even finish it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States