Fort McMurray - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Cheddar-Bacon Mac and Cheese

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2015
I added about 3/4 cup milk too, as the cheese thickened too much. Also as per another review added the pack of cheeses from a KD package, and bread crumbs. Maybe sliced tomatoes too on top next time - delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mbellis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Vegan Banana Blueberry Muffins

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2015
This is a great base recipe. My sons allergic to eggs so I'm always on the search for good muffins.. Finally found it with some tweaks:) doubled the recipe and I used 1/12 cups of white bread flour, 1 cup of whole wheat flour, 1 tablespoon baking powder, 1 cup applesauce, 2 tbsp flaxseed /6 tbsp water (thickens as stands) added chocolate chips for a treat this time.. The jars half gone and my husband doesn't know there's whole wheat in there as he hates whole wheat
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mbellis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Krisztina

Hungarian Poppy Seed Filling

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2014
Thank you so much for this recipe. I can't get Solo brand in Northern Alberta so have to make from scratch. I changed it a tiny bit. I was out of eggs so I used 4 tablespoons of arrow root flour instead. The food processor took time to grind the poppyseed up but eventually worked well. This is by far better than the canned. I'm never going to miss it again. I'm so very happy right now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Krisztina

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Eggless Peanut Butter Cookies

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2014
Our son has an egg allergy, baking cookies is always a challenge! Used butter in place of shortening and 1% reg milk for buttermilk, less sugar as I added a Hershey kiss to the middle - followed recipe except for those and they turned out perfect! Triple the batch if you have 4 boys in the house :) thanks so much for a versatile delicious recipe!!! And careful they spread a lot ...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mbellis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chicken Pot Pie IX

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2014
This pot pie is quick and easy. Instead of pie crust, I used a biscuit dough on top. My family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Best Ever Meat Loaf

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2014
This really is the best meatloaf I have tasted. Rather than ground beef, I used ground deer meat and ground pork. It was awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Boston Baked Beans

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2014
This is a keeper. The first time I made it following the recipe completely but next time omitted the bacon to save calories. It was still great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Baked Yam and Potato Casserole

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2014
I made this for the first time at Thanksgiving for guests and everyone including me loved it! It was simple and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Best Spanish Rice

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2014
Loved this rice! Easy and so tasty, use your favourite salsa and be sure to saute the rice and you'll have perfect rice every time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Treasure Cooper

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Rempel Family Meatloaf

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2014
As far as the taste...this meatloaf is great. I only rated rated it 3 stars however because it fell apart. Not sure what went wrong, followed the recipe exactly :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by eekala

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Easy Banana Muffins

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2014
I use just 1/3 cup of the brown sugar and it's plenty sweet, especially once you add fruits. I also use 1TBSP ground flax seed 2 TBSP water to replace the egg as my son is allergic to eggs. As per another reviewer I sub applesauce for the oil. Excellent and versatile recipe. I'm adding chocolate chips as opposed to a fruit this morning as it's the weekend and they be gone by tonight :) thank-you for a go to muffin recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mbellis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Mustard Green Beans

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2014
I tried this recipe as it's written, but after tasting it I added another TBSP of classic yellow mustard and a little sweetener (about 1/2 tsp) to taste and it was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Pork Dumplings

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2014
Followed the recipe exactly, These were incredible my whole family loved them. I made my own dough for the wrappers and steamed them, served with sweet chili sauce and a soya sauce dip, yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Treasure Cooper

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Apple Strudel Muffins

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2014
Delicious. My family begs me to make these, I double the amount of apples.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Treasure Cooper

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Banana Muffins with a Crunch

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2014
Yummy!! I used hard margarine, and special k granola. I also added a bit of brown sugar and finely chopped walnuts to the top .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Treasure Cooper

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Thai-Style Peanut Sauce with Honey

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2013
AMAZING. This is easily the best peanut sauce I've made. I didn't have the fresh ginger so I subbed it for 1 tsp ground ginger and added a sprinkling of chives. I used this for chicken and noodles, used half the sauce to marinate the chicken and then tossed everything in the remaining sauce when it was done. This is awesome cold as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KBots

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Best Spinach Dip Ever

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2013
I make it just as is and....This is the best spinich dip ever! Really easy, it disappears fast and everyone loves it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Treasure Cooper

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Sun-dried Tomato Butter

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2013
This is delicious. It made way too much for the 4 steaks I made. But the left over butter didnt go to waste! I used it on garlic bread, over pasta and in mashed potatoes with a bit of cream cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Treasure Cooper

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Dutch Apple Pie with Oatmeal Streusel

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2013
I followed Barb's suggestions and it turned out perfectly delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Dad's Leftover Turkey Pot Pie

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2013
This was awesome! I followed it almost exactly. I made my crusts from scratch. I only made enough for one pot pie in my casserole dish. I didn't have green beans or celery - I used peas and some other veggies and added lots of savory seasoning as well. I got the perfect compliment from my husband. "This was the absolute best meal you've ever made!" I was swooning :) I cook often, but this just hit the target perfectly. Thank you!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Krisztina

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States