Edmonton - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Low Sugar Oatmeal Raisin Cookie

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2014
I, too, have tried other low sugar cookies and they don't compare AT ALL to these! I used 1/2 cup of Splenda instead of the packets as suggested by others, and added 1/4 tsp of ground cloves. Awesome recipe, thanks! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Belleville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jaymee

Alternative Baked Salmon

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2014
Really liked this dish... Super easy to make.. Followed the suggestions from the most helpful review and was awesome.. Had it with Caribbean stewed okra and jasmine rice... Delish!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jaymee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marystown, Newfoundland, Canada
Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Master Pizza Dough

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2014
Meh
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shari

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Bread Machine Calzone

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2014
Dough was meh
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shari

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Tiramisu II

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2014
Amazing!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HOLLYNOEL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Photo by Bonnie

Banana Oat Muffins

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2014
Used half whole wheat flour, half white flour. Added 1/2 tsp of cinnamon. Added 1 cup of fresh blueberries, and topped with walnuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bonnie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Slow Cooker Chicken Cordon Bleu

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2014
I took it a step further and butterflied the breasts to fold the ham and cheese inside. Otherwise, I followed it to a tee, and it was a smashing hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Genevieve

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Gibbons, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Mediterranean Chickpea Salad

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2014
Very nice salad - I used Mediterranean spice instead adobo seasoning and added an avocado - Delicious !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lori

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

Braised Balsamic Chicken

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2014
Everyone loved this! I was worried it would be too sharp tasting because of all the vinegar, but it was just perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Genevieve

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Gibbons, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Baked Pork Chops I

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2014
I tried to make these as directed but was unwell and wasn't really thinking clearly. Now with that being said, I over browned the pork, not burned but close. Sauté the mushrooms in the pan with some white wine (1 cup) and mixed that in with 2 cans of mushroom soup. Added more wine 1.5 cups, threw it all in the oven (totally didn't see that I was to cook the pork chops half the time without sauce. TURNED OUT WONDERFUL!!! My chops were 2" thick and huge (costco, love it ) so the cook time of 1 hour was perfect, not dry but moist with that lovely breading. Made baby potatoes with dill and broccoli with lemon. Again, wonderful. Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

Chicken Quesadillas

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2014
I go a little lightly on the fajita mix as we don't like things too spicy and we prefer a crisper crust, so I don't use the oven. Instead, I prepare everything ahead of time, then using a 12" skillet, with a bit of oil/margarine I place one tortilla in, scoop filling, cheese, and spread to 1/4 inch from the sides, place a tortilla on top and heat on a medium heat. When the bottom is browned, I place a similar sized plate over the skillet and flip it onto the plate, then slide the uncooked side back into the pan with a little more oil, margarine...easy peasy and I don't have to turn my oven on. Slide onto a plate when cheese is melted and bottom crust is browned, cut up like a pizza and serve with salsa, sour cream, bacon bits, chopped green onions (optional) or whatever you choose really, and a side salad. Great easy recipe for nights when you don't have a lot of time. Takes about 1/2 hour in total to prepare from cutting/prepping to serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by puppyluv

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Janine's Best Banana Bread

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2014
I loved the fact that this recipe doesn't call for any oil or vanilla. It tastes great just as is - although I omitted the salt, as it is unnecessary. Nice banana flavour to this bread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: High Prairie, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Apple Crisp II

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2014
Great recipe...even a picky husband has asked me to save it and use it. This has great flavor. I used 10, golden delicious apples (I hate it when a recipe says how many cups of a fruit/veggie and not how many of the fruit it's. Not everyone is going to cut the same apples the same, so 10 cups for someone, could be more or less for someone else). I also doubled the crust, but used Demerara sugar in the crust (on hand thanks to hubby thinking it was the same thing as brown sugar...needed to use it for something and it works great in this recipe).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mama22

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Sherwood Park, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Taco Seasoning I

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2014
This is my favorite taco seasoning - better than the packaged stuff. I ran out of onion powder one day - put fresh chopped onion in your meat while cooking to substitute. Works with fresh garlic as well if no garlic powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tamaralynn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Kristen's Potato Leek Soup

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2014
Delicious soup - and very few ingredients needed. I always leave out the salt, as it is unnecessary, and use my hand mixer to blend a bit in the pot. Great as frozen leftovers too. This recipe is a favourite in our house. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: High Prairie, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Creamy Cinnamon Rice Pudding

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2014
Finally, a rice pudding recipe that explains how to temper the eggs, everyone should know how to do this when making rice pudding!! Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by island jen

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Strathmore, Alberta, Canada

Creamy Parmesan Sauce for Fish

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2014
Very good. A perfect combination of flavors to complement the fish. Thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Red Deer, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Kentucky Biscuits

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2014
Awesome. Crispy on the outside and fluffy on the inside.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Redcliff, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Lentil Soup

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2014
Really good soup. I have never made a lentil soup before, but this one was delicious. Took another reviewer's suggestion and added some cooked brown rice, and this was a good addition. Really thick soup...and I fully recommend the fresh parmesan as garnish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: High Prairie, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Tejano Style Shrimp Cocktail

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
I've made this 4 times to bring to parties and it is always a huge success. Each time there were requests for the recipe. I have made it as is, and have also added avocado and an extra serrano pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Frankie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-80 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States