Edmonton - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Cheese Lover's Tuna Casserole

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2014
I only loved this recipe because it's a good base and I got some great ideas and suggestions from the other reviewers. On its own, I felt it was a bit lacking. It was delicious! Changes: 2 cups instead of 1 for the elbow macaroni; 1 can of milk; dollops of sour cream (used up what was leftover from our tacos last night); pinch of curry powder; about 1/2 a finely chopped onion, 2 pressed garlic gloves, GRATED cheese instead of cubed and only a 300 gram package of it; 3/4 cup of homemade seasoned breadcrumbs. I would definitely add frozen peas to this next time. And I used the broiler after uncovering the dish for some final toasting/melting of the top. And I was super curious about the French fried onions suggestions. I had to google image it. I have never seen this in the supermarket! Is there a possibility that we don't have it in Canada? I just can't get my head around it - fried onions in a can!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jo-Anne Farley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Rhubarb Cake I

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2014
Too , the topping really just melted off and burnt in the bottom of my oven, and it was too too moist. I won't be making this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: High Prairie, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Italian Sausage Soup

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2014
I think next time, i will try this with kale instead of spinach, just because I think the firm texture would go great with this soup. But as is, it's so amazing, and so easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dawn

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

Lazy Perogies

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2014
This is very similar to a recipe I use. I use the "Oven Ready" lasagne noodles and regular cottage cheese, thus skipping a step. For those that found them bland, try my version's addition of 1 tsp. of garlic powder and 1/2 tsp. celery salt to the cottage cheese mix, reducing the onion salt to 1/2 tsp. in this step. Of course serving with sour cream always helps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

Incredibly Cheesy Turkey Meatloaf

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2014
This is a keeper! I made half of the recipe, and after 45 minutes it was deliciously crispy. Used a bit less cheese than called for too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: High Prairie, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Olive Oil Dip for Italian Bread

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2014
Added a pinch of salt, cayenne and 1 tbsp lemon juice...YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JaneyC

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Spruce Grove, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Quick and Easy Grilled Potatoes

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2014
A 10 star way to do fries over a fire pit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JaneyC

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Spruce Grove, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JLynn

Banana Oatmeal Crumb Cake

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2014
Made this yesterday it is delicious. Family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JLynn
Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Shish Tawook Grilled Chicken

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2014
This is just a delicious marinade for chicken! Next time I will add mushrooms to the kabobs, and really use 2 pounds of chicken. I did marinate them overnight - and I'd do it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: High Prairie, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

World's Greatest Vegetable Broth

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2014
Really good stock! This is a HUGE recipe though - I do a lot of cooking, and I do not have a pot big enough for this stock! I used both of my soup pots, and that worked. It is an awful lot of shopping and chopping and peeling for a couple of ice cube trays of stock in the end, and I think the veggie puree will take longer to use up than the stock itself. Next time I would use only two cloves instead of three, I would replace the green peppers with yellow or orange ones, and I would not add more turnips than called for. Overall, very healthy and tasty stuff.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: High Prairie, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Amazing Lentils and Kale

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2014
Glad I halved the recipe, as other reviewers suggested. Hubby loved it, and said it was a keeper, and he's pretty picky.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: High Prairie, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Grandma's Slow Cooker Vegetarian Chili

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2014
i, like others add mushrooms, cumin, peppers, chili flakes, and a bit of sugar. It is an excellent recipe otherwise!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Red Deer, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Creamy Cajun Shrimp Pasta

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2014
I put all the ingredients in a big pan and cook till shrimp is light pink, then shake the milk and flour in a jar , pour it into pan and cook until it thickens, Much like a gravy. DONE. It is so easy and everyone loved it. Thank you for the recipe. It is AWESOME!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Red Deer, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Fresh Cherry Cobbler

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2014
Good, but too sweet. I should have done as other reviewers suggested and halved both sugar amounts. The cherries retain their flavour nicely, which is not my general experience when baking with them. Used gluten-free flour, and it turned out to be a nice cake-like dish. Got very soggy the next day though - if I make this again I will make sure we have company so it all gets eaten while it's still warm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: High Prairie, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Best Brownies

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2014
These brownies are amazing and really easy to make. I'm sixteen, and when I have movie night with my friends we always bake these. They're simple, delicious and quick! My only tip (that isn't in the recipe) is to add chocolate chips. Any kind (peanut butter, white chocolate, milk chocolate, etc) and REMEMBER TO HAVE SOME SORT OF NON-STICK (pam, etc)! I always forget and its a pain to have to unstick brownies :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Zucchini Brownies

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2014
I puréed the zucchini and it came out very moist. Almost cake like, but still delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Creamy Tomato And Cream Cheese Soup

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2014
Meh. Too watery for me. I loved all of residents, but didn't love the final product. And by the way, this recipe makes A LOT of soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: High Prairie, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Dad's Pan-Fried Green Beans

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2014
I left out the balsamic and I used vegetable oil instead of sesame. So tasty! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Duckball

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Butter Flaky Pie Crust

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2014
use this crust for everything! it is fast, simple and wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lizard_c9

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Bundt Dutch Apple Cake

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2014
My hubby wanted this for his birthday cake, and he really liked it. A bit bland for the kids, though. I did as another reviewer suggested, and replaced the oil with half buttermilk and half applesauce, and I thought this made it nice and moist. Also used gluten-free flour, and it turned out to be a nice batter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: High Prairie, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-80 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States