Edmonton - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Sweet, Sticky and Spicy Chicken

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2015
I've made this 4 or 5 times now and it's been great every time. It's very forgiving, too. I've substituted chicken thighs, more brown sugar instead of honey, all different kinds of hot sauces... Never too hot or too sweet or too anything. They all work very well! I love to top it off with fresh chopped green onion and toasted sesame seeds. Thanks for a great addition to my regular dishes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Plum Blueberry Upside Down Cake

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2015
Very very good. Instead of melting the butter and sugar in a springform pan, I used a cast iron skillet and cooked it over the stove, then baked the cake in the skillet. I also doubled the butter and brown sugar. Amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dawn

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

Best Mug Cake (Paleo)

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2015
Awesome recipe for a quick chocolate fix! Followed other users' suggestions and switched out olive oil for coconut oil and coconut flour for almond flour. Tossed left over chocolate chips on top to melt as the cake cooled for a nice "frosting". Delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katrina Roldan

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Easy Puffed Wheat Cake

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2015
This is the classic, in order to keep the wonderful chewy texture after storage you really MUST use real butter and keep the boil time to around a minute. I never have a storage issue since this stuff disappears rather quickly in my house! Thanks for sharing this :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by island jen

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Strathmore, Alberta, Canada
Photo by island jen

Greek Lemon Chicken and Potato Bake

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2015
I really wanted to try this recipe and I had the majority of the ingredients on hand minus the beans so I used carrots (my kids love carrots) and some greek seasoning from missingingredient.ca. Due to the heat outside I decided to wrap everything up into a large foil pouch on the BBQ. When I opened the pouch it smelled DIVINE and tasted even better! I served it with a salad and balsamic dressing... definitely making this one again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by island jen

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Strathmore, Alberta, Canada

Shrimp and Spinach Sauce Pizza

Reviewed: May 19, 2015
It was so delicious! There was way too much cream cheese mixture leftover and I'd say I went heavy with what I did use. I used 3 naan bread as crusts but still brushed them with olive oil, sprinkled with Italian and baked them for 10 min. I also used frozen uncooked shrimp instead of canned and I cooked them with the onion & red pepper. I thought this would be too much Italian seasoning at first, but it was great! These are ingredients I always tend to have on hand, so thank you for a new regular menu item.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Amish Cookies

Reviewed: May 14, 2015
Love this recipe! It's simple and easy to freeze. Just scoop and freeze on a tray...then put in a container. Bake the extras at a later date. Makes a lot of cookies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by April
Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Pico De Gallo

Reviewed: May 11, 2015
It was ok but I definitley prefer it with fresh lime juice and fresh garlic
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VinylSmack

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Slow-Cooker Pepper Steak

Reviewed: May 9, 2015
Very tasty but I would either use a cheaper cut or cut down the cooking time as the steak almost disintegrated. But having said that we still really enjoyed the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bill Ligertwood

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chicken Enchilada Pasta

Reviewed: May 9, 2015
This was really tasty. Did it exactly to the recipe and loved it. Took the leftovers for lunch the next day and it was just as good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bill Ligertwood

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Slow Cooker Barbequed Beef Ribs

Reviewed: May 8, 2015
I was very easy, we had all ingredients on hand, but I would not make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Pressure Cooker Mashed Potatoes

Reviewed: May 5, 2015
I am not sure if my pressure cooker is different but 30 minutes would cook 3/4" sliced potatoes into oblivion in my cooker... 15 minutes would be more than long enough... I normally quarter my potatoes and they cook through in less than 10 minutes. I'm at high altitude which may make a small difference!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by island jen

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Strathmore, Alberta, Canada

Pressure Cooker Beef Stew

Reviewed: May 5, 2015
Great basic recipe but definitely needed some added green colour! I added green beans, celery and course chopped green pepper- fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by island jen

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Strathmore, Alberta, Canada

Slow Cooker Low-Carb Santa Fe Chicken

Reviewed: May 5, 2015
this is a definite keeper. In place of the seasonings I used a Tbsp of taco seasoning which seemed to work nicely. I ate mine like a dip with tortilla chips and the kids used theirs as burrito filling. This is as 'clean' as my eating gets in order to avoid forfeiting flavor... great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by island jen

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Strathmore, Alberta, Canada

Shrimp and Asparagus

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2015
The taste was fine but it was just too much butter! At the end there was a soup of butter and oil left on our plates. This is a recipe we'll be passing up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Oakville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Lemon Zing Cream Cheese Frosting

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2015
Tried it with 5 ounces of icing sugar and it is incredible. Tried with 5 cups and it is with out flavor except for icing sugar flavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Lemon Cream Cheese Frosting

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2015
Tried it with 5 ounces of icing sugar and it is incredible. Tried with 5 cups and it is with out flavor except for icing sugar flavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Bread Pudding II

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2015
Great recipe and moist! My husband doesn't like bread pudding or raisins. I changed it to use diced apples and diced canned peach slices, a tiny bit of cinnamon and brown sugar on top prior and then used only 1/2 c brown sugar instead of white. (I sometimes use a combo of the canned peach juice for almost a cup, add buttermilk for a bit and regular milk. Other times a combo of a half cup buttermilk and the rest 2% milk or half and half cream) It's nice! My husband actually eats this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Whole Egg Mayonnaise

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2015
Tried this using Instructions from Buns review. It turned out tasty if a little thinner in consistency than store bought. Next time I'll reduce the oil abit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

The Famous Seafood Seasoning Recipe

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2015
This is excellent! My sweetheart and I are getting health conscious so it's nice to find recipes to our favourite seasoning blends where we can control the salt. Thank you for posting :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States