Edmonton - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Absolutely Fabulous Greek/House Dressing

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2015
Best dressing recipe yet ! I make it by the Quart and keep it in the fridge so I have to let it warm up a bit before I use it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bill Ligertwood

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Absolutely Fabulous Greek/House Dressing

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2015
Best dressing recipe yet ! I make it by the Quart and keep it in the fridge so I have to let it warm up a bit before I use it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bill Ligertwood

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Asparagus and Mozzarella Stuffed Chicken Breasts

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2015
I made this tonight for dinner and it was a hit. I did have a small issue in that I didn't get the breasts thin enough and so it took longer to cook and then the asparagus was overcooked and the mozza cheese oozed out but that was purely my error. Everyone loved it and said it should be a staple in my recipe box. Yeah!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Oakville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by island jen

Chocolate Butter Tarts

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2015
Really good tart!! If you are not a fan of the traditional butter tart but love pastries and dark chocolate- you should really give this a try! I used pre-made tart shells, baked at 450 for 12 minutes, some of my tarts boiled over but just barely. The brand of shell I used were a little more flaky than I would prefer for a butter tart but once it was in my mouth, no complaints!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by island jen

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Strathmore, Alberta, Canada

Famous Butter Chicken

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2015
A Huge success and a simple recipe ! Can it get better than that. I had just told my husband "I'm done with the picky eaters"...and now we have a win!!! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cara burtis
Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

Seafood Chowder

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2015
Awesome recipe. Was the first time I made Seafood Chowder and I even invited company for dinner. Worked out!! The chowder was amazing, everyone loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

One Egg Lemon Pound Cake

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2015
I must agree with other negative reviews. The cake took well over an hour to bake. Cutting the butter into the dry ingrediants was an odd step for this type of recipe. The flavour was lacking, and the cake had a hard crust, and a dry interior. I was attracted to the reciepe, because I didn't have a lot of eggs. Sorry I will not be making this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hungry Lawn Gnome

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

Sex in a Pan I

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2014
Served at our Boxing Day dinner and we all went back for seconds. It was amazing! So simple yet so darn good. As most of us cooks do, we add or make a little change. I did add two thin sliced bananas onto vanilla layer, great addition! Only change I may do is to increase the pecan layer by 1/2 and add 12 ounces of cream cheese instead of 8 ounces.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DOTJO

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Leamington, Ontario, Canada

Chocolate Chocolate Chip Cookies I

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2014
Its perfect! no nuts needed :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by April
Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Dynamite Halibut

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2014
We love our halibut and we really enjoyed this recipe. Added a little more chill sauce then called for and it was still not overly hot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bill Ligertwood

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Spelt Pizza Dough

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2014
The dough handled very well and was really easy to roll out. I made two cookie sheets of pizza with this recipe. However, the taste was overpowering compared to the rest of the pizza.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Danielle

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Carrot and Cranberry Muffins

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2014
These are very dry and sweet. I had to mix the ingredients by hand, as the batter was insanely dry. The taste is good but if your batter seems way too dry try adding another banana or 1/2 cup greek yogurt or something.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Danielle

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Creamy Banana Bread

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2014
3 ripe bananas was not enough, I recommend 4. Added a tsp of pumpkin pie spice based on other reviews to add some flavour and it was wonderful. The pecans worked perfectly except next time I would simply add pecans into the batter and use the sugar/nut mix on top. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by khueggen

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Extra-Yummy Fluffy Pancakes

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2014
I made these for my brother and I this morning and neither of us cared for them. The initial sight of these made me feel like I was eating some sort of vegan, healthy, flax pancakes and so naturally I was disappointed. This uses way too much cinnamon and overtakes all the flavor, these don't feel "fluffy" when you make them, they feel really cakey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Babycakes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Hunnybunch's Special Apple Muffins

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2014
These muffins are a five for taste, but I'm glad I read the reviews first. The oven temp I used was 375 and 20 - 25 minutes for regular sized muffin tins. It was a very thick batter that needed to be tapped down in the tin before baking. A cup measure of apples would have been better as even Mac's can vary in size. Taking these minor things aside it's a recipe worth saving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

Turkish Red Lentil 'Bride' Soup

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2014
First time I saw "Bride's soup" on allrecipes! Awesome. I had been winging it for a while. The only difference I made was that I added Sumac (a purple Turkish spice) and cooked with a pinch of lemon salt. (Squeeze of lemon while cooking will work too, in addition to the lemon slices at the end that are already mentioned.) I cook the lentils first, then hand-blend, then cook the bulgur after. And also, just because I only ever have this on hand, I always use fresh Miso paste for my stock for all my soups and I think it makes no difference. Great recipe. Thanks for sharing! My fiancé and I lived on Bride's soup when we were in Turkey, even though the traditional "Lentil çorba" is more common...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by burntgrilledcheese

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orillia, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

Classic Goulash

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2014
Made this last night for the family and it turned out great! I followed some of the reviewers and added diced green pepper and diced carrots along with the onions. My picky son went back for THIRDS! It's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by island jen

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Strathmore, Alberta, Canada

Laura's Unbelievable Chicken and Pasta

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2014
Pretty good. I like the healthy spinach, but it does overpower the other flavours a bit. Nicely cheesy - not enough tomatoes in this recipe. Good way to use frozen cream cheese too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: High Prairie, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Three Meat Cannelloni Bake

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2014
Fantastic to say the least! Besides doubling the garlic, everything else was per the recipe. Everyone absolutely loved it! Gibby
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gibby

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Sherwood Park, Alberta, Canada

Honey-Garlic Slow Cooker Chicken Thighs

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2014
This was very bitter. A bit oily as well. I used chicken thighs with bone in and skin on so that would be why but the sauce was terrible. The chicken was delicious and moist so I will do it in the croc pot again but next time I would use a different sauce for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States