Edmonton - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Pumpkin Muffins with Streusel Topping

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2014
Yummy, moist muffin! I used mini chocolate chips instead of nuts. I think a dollop of cream cheese frosting will make these muffins a close second to coffee shop muffins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Moist Chocolate Muffins

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2014
A wonderful, moist muffin! Way better then the leading grocery store muffin. The kids were so happy to see chocolate in their lunches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Garden Pasta Salad

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2014
I really enjoyed this but I only used 1 bottle of dressing and I think that was plenty. Next time I might even cut back on the dressing a little more. I loved all the vegetables and I added a thin slices of kubasa instead of the cheese because my daughter is lactose inteolerant. Would definitely make this recipe again as it is so good, colorful and easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diane DeLongchamp
Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Grandpa's Garden Chicken Soup

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2014
Really good flavour by using the whole chicken. It all disappeared, so we all liked it, including baby.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: High Prairie, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chef John's Tomato Sauce

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2014
Really nice consistency, but too sweet for our tastes. I think the tomato paste and sweet baby tomatoes were enough without sugar. When making this next time, I'll omit the sugar and just add to taste. I used one can of tomatoes and cut up a bowl of little ones from our harvest.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: High Prairie, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Rhubarb Cake I

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2014
Too , the topping really just melted off and burnt in the bottom of my oven, and it was too too moist. I won't be making this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: High Prairie, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Italian Sausage Soup

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2014
I think next time, i will try this with kale instead of spinach, just because I think the firm texture would go great with this soup. But as is, it's so amazing, and so easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dawn

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

Lazy Perogies

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2014
This is very similar to a recipe I use. I use the "Oven Ready" lasagne noodles and regular cottage cheese, thus skipping a step. For those that found them bland, try my version's addition of 1 tsp. of garlic powder and 1/2 tsp. celery salt to the cottage cheese mix, reducing the onion salt to 1/2 tsp. in this step. Of course serving with sour cream always helps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

Incredibly Cheesy Turkey Meatloaf

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2014
This is a keeper! I made half of the recipe, and after 45 minutes it was deliciously crispy. Used a bit less cheese than called for too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: High Prairie, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Olive Oil Dip for Italian Bread

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2014
Added a pinch of salt, cayenne and 1 tbsp lemon juice...YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JaneyC

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Spruce Grove, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Quick and Easy Grilled Potatoes

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2014
A 10 star way to do fries over a fire pit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JaneyC

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Spruce Grove, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JLynn

Banana Oatmeal Crumb Cake

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2014
Made this yesterday it is delicious. Family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JLynn
Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Shish Tawook Grilled Chicken

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2014
This is just a delicious marinade for chicken! Next time I will add mushrooms to the kabobs, and really use 2 pounds of chicken. I did marinate them overnight - and I'd do it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: High Prairie, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

World's Greatest Vegetable Broth

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2014
Really good stock! This is a HUGE recipe though - I do a lot of cooking, and I do not have a pot big enough for this stock! I used both of my soup pots, and that worked. It is an awful lot of shopping and chopping and peeling for a couple of ice cube trays of stock in the end, and I think the veggie puree will take longer to use up than the stock itself. Next time I would use only two cloves instead of three, I would replace the green peppers with yellow or orange ones, and I would not add more turnips than called for. Overall, very healthy and tasty stuff.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: High Prairie, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Amazing Lentils and Kale

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2014
Glad I halved the recipe, as other reviewers suggested. Hubby loved it, and said it was a keeper, and he's pretty picky.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: High Prairie, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Grandma's Slow Cooker Vegetarian Chili

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2014
i, like others add mushrooms, cumin, peppers, chili flakes, and a bit of sugar. It is an excellent recipe otherwise!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Red Deer, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Creamy Cajun Shrimp Pasta

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2014
I put all the ingredients in a big pan and cook till shrimp is light pink, then shake the milk and flour in a jar , pour it into pan and cook until it thickens, Much like a gravy. DONE. It is so easy and everyone loved it. Thank you for the recipe. It is AWESOME!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Red Deer, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Fresh Cherry Cobbler

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2014
Good, but too sweet. I should have done as other reviewers suggested and halved both sugar amounts. The cherries retain their flavour nicely, which is not my general experience when baking with them. Used gluten-free flour, and it turned out to be a nice cake-like dish. Got very soggy the next day though - if I make this again I will make sure we have company so it all gets eaten while it's still warm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: High Prairie, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Best Brownies

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2014
These brownies are amazing and really easy to make. I'm sixteen, and when I have movie night with my friends we always bake these. They're simple, delicious and quick! My only tip (that isn't in the recipe) is to add chocolate chips. Any kind (peanut butter, white chocolate, milk chocolate, etc) and REMEMBER TO HAVE SOME SORT OF NON-STICK (pam, etc)! I always forget and its a pain to have to unstick brownies :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Zucchini Brownies

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2014
I puréed the zucchini and it came out very moist. Almost cake like, but still delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States