Calgary - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Mushroom Saute

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2014
This was awesome!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sian

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Lamb Shawarma

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2014
This was a little on the spicy side for our tastes, next time I will cut back on the cayenne. Yogurt curdled on cooking, but flavour was still very good. Served on rice, which was helpful in absorbing the extra spicy heat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Zucchini Casserole II

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2014
I added mushrooms and added garlic. Very nice change.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Smiths Grove, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Pressure Cooker Beef Chili

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2014
Tried this recipie last night - First time using my Lagostina Pressure Cooker - turned out great, the whole family enjoyed it. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Connie's Corner

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

Coconut Walnut Squares

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2014
The crust turned out perfectly. 4 not 5 stars only because I felt it tasted a bit bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

'Calabacitas Guisada' (Stewed Mexican Zucchini)

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2014
This was super simple and a great way to use of garden zucchini. I used diced tomatoes, as I had no stewed. Turned out great!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SARAHCANADA

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

Corn with a Kick

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2014
This corn recipe was perfect. Wouldn't change a thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Oureatinghabits

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Rhubarb-Raspberry Crunch

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2014
This was excellent. I thought you could cut down on the sugar a bit, but the other members of my family thought it was perfect. Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wendynik

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

Sangria! Sangria!

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2014
Too much citrus as-is. Added more cherries and less citrus the second time around and was much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Kale, Quinoa, and Avocado Salad with Lemon Dijon Vinaigrette

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2014
I made the recipe as is and it was ok. very salty and the feta cheese was overpowering. I omitted the feta cheese the second time around and the flavour was excellent - definitely 5 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Kathy's Delicious Whole Slow Cooker Chicken

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2014
This was exactly the type of recipe I was looking for to make a whole chicken in the slow cooker! It was sooooo delicious! My husband couldn't stop praising it and has generously given me permission to make it every week!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Friday Harbor, Washington, USA
Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Oven Fried Chicken III

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2014
Excellent, the only thing I did that it didn't suggest was to turn it over half way through cooking so the top side would brown!!!!! Loved it!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sian

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chef John's Blueberry Muffins

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2014
Fabulous! I used blueberry & blackberry yogurt + lemon juice in place of the sour cream, and cut back on the sugar. I used ½ whole wheat flour and made a lemon glaze for them. Simple, light, fluffy and delicious. Cupcake like in texture. Thank you!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lece

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Stockholm, Stockholms, Sweden

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by cindylouwho57

Delightful Indian Coconut Vegetarian Curry in the Slow Cooker

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2014
Very delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cocktail Meatballs

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2014
I'd give the recipe as-is 4 stars but after adding a bit of extra lemon juice, cutting the brown sugar in half, and adding about a half teaspoon of Tabasco (enough to add some depth but not enough to make it spicy), the sauce was perfect! I doubled the recipe and added a couple cloves of garlic as well as some Worcestershire to the beef (because I don't think I've ever made anything with ground beef without garlic and Worcestershire). They were a hit, people were sopping up the sauce with bread and crackers after all the meatballs were gone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PolkaDot

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Photo by SugarBrown

Chicken Breasts with Lime Sauce

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2014
I couldn't help but take a picture of this and add it to the others. I added more lime (because I love it) and totally used this amount of butter. It's not like we eat this richly every day, and even though using chicken broth is also a great idea, I'm a fan of Julia Child's quote "With enough butter, anything is good." This was a treat! Thank you, SMLUCY (or rather SMLFISH) :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SugarBrown

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

Melt-in-Your-Mouth Slow Cooker Chicken

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2014
I made this as written and we all liked it. Very yummy and easy to put together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katheleen

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

Super-Easy Nutella® Cookies

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2014
It was really doughy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Old-Fashioned Pancakes

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2014
My daughter and I really love watching Chef John's videos and trying out his recipes (they look SO good in the videos!) We made these pancakes by following the recipe except I threw in a teaspoon of vanilla since I like it. The pancakes have a wonderful light, fluffy texture. A real hit with the kids who ate a lot more of them than they do the boxed mix. It cooks well too on the griddle..nice thick batter. Thanks again Chef John! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sabrina Markon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Country Sunday Breakfast Casserole

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2014
Good basic casserole recipe - next time I would skip the gravy mix because we all seasoned it with hot sauce and ketchup, I think it kind of masked the flavour. I would also increase the eggs so it wasn't so heavy on the sausage - maybe 10 eggs to 16 ounces of sausage. I added an onion and a clove of garlic to the sausage as it was browning, then browned the hashbrowns in the sausage grease. Very good - will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PolkaDot

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

Displaying results 61-80 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States