Calgary - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More
Photo by Oureatinghabits

Caramel Apples from Werther's®

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2015
Very tasty. You have to work quickly the caramel hardens very fast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Oureatinghabits

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Horchata de Arroz (Rice Drink)

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2015
Its very good ! exactly like the one served in my hometown in Mexico ! I switched the Evaporated milk with Soy milk, since I'm lactose intolerant, I also didnt use the cheese fabric, since I like to taste the small grain of rice. I just have to shake it before to take a sip.... Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EH

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Hermosillo, Sonora, Mexico
Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Famous Butter Chicken

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2015
A Huge success and a simple recipe ! Can it get better than that. I had just told my husband "I'm done with the picky eaters"...and now we have a win!!! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cara burtis
Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

Chef John's Tomato Sauce

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2015
Excellent! Really does need to simmer for an hour and a half as Chef John advises. Even better the next day. Freezes perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hungrygirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Adelaide, South Australia, Australia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Spicy Black Bean Salad

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2015
This recipe is wonderful, only change I made was to use only 3 tablespoons of oil as suggested by others. My husband said it is the best salad he has ever tasted. I think it tastes better on the day it is made. Thank you for the post
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Irene Graver

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Sopapilla Cheesecake Dessert

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2015
The general recipe was ok and the only reason I rated it this low is because there is WAAAY too much sugar. I thought that 1 1/2 cups was too much,however, decided to follow the recipe as is. I also cut the 1/2 cup coating to merely 1/8, still horribly sweet (and i love sweet cakes). The recipe would be better with half the sugar indicated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARTINATHEDIVA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Laval, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by RobTanner

Garlic Roasted Chicken and Potatoes

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2015
Smells amazing as it is cooking... You might think that it would be sweet but the combination of the maple and garlic is great. I made it without the potatoes and served it with mashed potatoes, great combo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RobTanner

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Restaurant-Style Prime Rib Roast

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2015
Timing of roast seems to be very tricky. My 4 pound roast took only 45 minutes. Fortnately I was using a meat thermometer and the resting stage is flexibke so the vegetables can 'catch up''.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Gluten Free Nutty Apple Crisp

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2015
Not enough sweetness in the topping. Consider more syrup in the topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Prime rib, Randall and Christina

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2015
Dinner was good. Cooked the roast at 400F in order to cook the potatoes at 400F and roast was done sooner than expected.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Slow Cooker Latin Chicken

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2015
Fantastic! We love this dish and serve it with rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda P

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

Pork Tenderloin in Bourbon

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2015
Very nice, be sure to cover it loosely with foil, and let it sit for 5 minutes before cutting into it... I did like the marinade simmered down to a sauce to drizle over the meat once cut into quarter inch slices for presentation and taste...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RobTanner

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Gyoza

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2015
Has anyone ever baked the gyoza? I am trying to avoid grease and frying from our diet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie Scriver
Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Maui Onion Dressing

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2014
This is a favorite of family and friends, they ask for it by name...thanks! Wouldn't change a thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Oureatinghabits

Cherry Spice Loaf

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2014
Would add spices next time. Cinnamon and Nutmeg.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Oureatinghabits

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Best Bean Salad

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2014
Made this last night, also used 1/2 splenda and 1/2 sugar, didn't add any onion as daughter hates onions, but did add chopped hearts of palm plus all other veggies and beans. It was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie Scriver
Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Figs and Toasted Almonds Brie

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2014
Guests and hubby like this. Works better with dried figs than fig preserves. Havn't been able to find fresh figs yet, but I look forward to using fresh figs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Pumpkin Pie

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2014
This made more than would fit in a standard pie crust. I poured the excess in a small tart pan, no crust and made an extra crustless pie. Cooking time also was a little more than indicated but not excessve.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Posh Squash

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2014
Most of my dinner guests really liked this dsh. My hubby prefers smple baked squash with no mashing or additives.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chef John's Pumpkin Pie

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2014
This was my first attempt at a pumpkin pie, and I am not sure what I am exoecting in a good pumpkin pie. I tried two separate receipies for Christmas dinner, bith were very dense but tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-60 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States