Calgary - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Laura's Quick Slow Cooker Turkey Chili

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2014
A little more heat than I'm used to, but I'm used to quite mild chili. Really enjoyed this, particularly with some Monterey Jack sprinkled on top. Used ground beef instead of turkey which I browned with the onion before adding it to the crockpot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carol Lysak

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

O' Henry Bars

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2014
Easy and scrumptious. I didn't change a thing. Wait, I did refrigerate before cutting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Oureatinghabits

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Slow Cooker Baby Back Ribs

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2014
I just made ribs In The slow cooker yesterday for the first time, then this recipe came this morning, next time I will add the onion and garlic, but instead of beer I'm going to try Bourbon. Several years ago I made marinated steak with a soy sauce/ bourbon marinade and it was amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Debby Momm " Momm-Knows-Best"

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Shelburne, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

Easy Marinated Pork Tenderloin

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2014
Works very well, easy and tasty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Apple Pie by Grandma Ople

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2014
My first use of this recipe was to use up some extra pastry dough that I had left over. I scaled back all the ingredients proportionate to one serving and simply wrapped sliced apples in the dough and poured the sauce in an opening that I left at the top. I followed the ingredients and the cooking temperature closely. The 'pasty' set beautifully ( not runny or gooey as others experienced) and the flavour was very good. I am looking forward to making a full pie, but the 1 star reviews have me a bit worried.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

MMMMM... Brownies

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2014
I made these while my sister and her friend were at the dog park, to surprise them, and the batter was so good, I was eating it... I ended up with not much batter left for the brownies themselves! In the end, these baked well in my pan and the girls adored them, but I had to limit myself to half a brownie after all that batter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Regan Rose

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Basic Crepes

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2014
Definitely the best crepes I've had since an actual french lady came and cooked for me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Regan Rose

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Blackberry Spinach Salad

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2014
I skipped the edible flowers and the green onion. Served with a balsamic berry salad dressing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Oureatinghabits

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Apple Pie by Grandma Ople

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2014
Excellent and utterly foolproof. I over-simmered the syrup and it got a bit chunky but still came out perfect. I added 1 tsp cinnamon in the syrup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Sharon's Scrumptious Souvlaki

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2014
I added just a lemon juice to the marinade as recommended by other reviewers, but it was too much acid. Next time I will follow the recipe more precisely to be able to give a fairer review. The cucumber yogurt sauce was ok, but the Safeway made tzatziki sauce is better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Mom's Ginger Snaps

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2014
Best Ginger snap cookie I ever tried. Thank You
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Classic Spanish Sangria

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2014
When I first read about rum in sangria, I thought no way! But I did it with CM Spiced Rum, strawberries, raspberries, oranges, pears, pineapple. Soaked it for about a day and a half. Added no sugar, and the wine and OJ. It was a big hit! I will definitely make it again. The only thing is you have to plan in advance. I used to make sangria with only red wine and OJ, plus the fruit and I thought THAT was good! LOL, thanks for a great simple recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KateP

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kamsack, Saskatchewan, Canada
Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SARAHCANADA

Blue Cheese Beef Tenderloin

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2014
Made this recipe last night and it was my first attempt at making beef tenderloin. I followed the directions exactly, although I added a bit of parsley to the cheese sauce. As far as the sauce goes, YUM!!! I'm not a huge fan of blue cheese, but am slowly acquiring a taste for it. This sauce was delicious and not overpowering. As for cooking the tenderloins...mine were a bit thick - maybe 2 inches - and although I kept pulling them out every five minutes and taking the temp... I overcooked before even hitting 140. They were medium well :( They were still very tender though, thanks to the cut of meat! I'd say don't put them at 450 for the full 15 minutes if you have a new, efficient oven! I will definitely be making this again though and will just have to tweak the directions as far as cooking the meat goes so it suits my oven better! My tip for you is to cut open a tenderloin after about 20 min at the 375 temp to make sure they are not done already! Served with maple dill carrots, garlic mashed and green beans. Sauce was great on the potatoes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SARAHCANADA

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

Hillbilly Punch

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2014
Awesome! I had to sub Bacardi Razz for the rum & peach schnapps as they didn't have any peach liquor or liquer here. I used a bit less juice and pop, and threw in frozen raspberries, strawberries and cherries. Was a big hit and we'll definately make it again! Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lece

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Stockholm, Stockholms, Sweden

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Whole Wheat Snickerdoodles I

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2014
As suggested, I replaced half the wheat flour with unbleached AP flour. Yum!!! I'm a cookie lover, so this definitely helps in the nutrition area. Also, my 13 year old even gave them a big "YUM!"!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Lacey, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Peanut Butter Marshmallow Squares

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2014
Easy, delicious and fun.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lori Klassen

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Potato Pesto Feta Pizza

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2014
We love this recipe! Make it just as described. Dip in sour cream! Its heavy so we add a salad on the side. yum!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mailforcarolyn

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

Amy's Cilantro Cream Sauce

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2014
I really liked this. Has a nice kick. I made it for my company's dip competition and came in 2nd place. I had to cut back on the cilantro a bit to please everyone but at home I follow the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chris Tobin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sydney, Nova Scotia, Canada
Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Gnocchi I

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2014
Great Simple gnocchi recipe :). If you have the time, cook the potatoes in the oven (wrap in foil so they don't dry out). For adventurous people, jazz it up with some dried herbs like parsley or oregano. To make em fluffier, a add a teaspoon of baking powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tamaralynn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Mocha Bundt Cake

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2014
Delicious!!! I cut the sugar down to about 1½ cup which was plenty. Definately not too strong of a liquer flavour, my friends went crazy for this cake and asked to take some home. A perfect cake to go with a cup of coffee in the afternoon. Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lece

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Stockholm, Stockholms, Sweden

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-40 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States