Calgary - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Sharon's Scrumptious Souvlaki

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2014
I added just a lemon juice to the marinade as recommended by other reviewers, but it was too much acid. Next time I will follow the recipe more precisely to be able to give a fairer review. The cucumber yogurt sauce was ok, but the Safeway made tzatziki sauce is better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Mom's Ginger Snaps

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2014
Best Ginger snap cookie I ever tried. Thank You
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Classic Spanish Sangria

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2014
When I first read about rum in sangria, I thought no way! But I did it with CM Spiced Rum, strawberries, raspberries, oranges, pears, pineapple. Soaked it for about a day and a half. Added no sugar, and the wine and OJ. It was a big hit! I will definitely make it again. The only thing is you have to plan in advance. I used to make sangria with only red wine and OJ, plus the fruit and I thought THAT was good! LOL, thanks for a great simple recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KateP

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kamsack, Saskatchewan, Canada
Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SARAHCANADA

Blue Cheese Beef Tenderloin

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2014
Made this recipe last night and it was my first attempt at making beef tenderloin. I followed the directions exactly, although I added a bit of parsley to the cheese sauce. As far as the sauce goes, YUM!!! I'm not a huge fan of blue cheese, but am slowly acquiring a taste for it. This sauce was delicious and not overpowering. As for cooking the tenderloins...mine were a bit thick - maybe 2 inches - and although I kept pulling them out every five minutes and taking the temp... I overcooked before even hitting 140. They were medium well :( They were still very tender though, thanks to the cut of meat! I'd say don't put them at 450 for the full 15 minutes if you have a new, efficient oven! I will definitely be making this again though and will just have to tweak the directions as far as cooking the meat goes so it suits my oven better! My tip for you is to cut open a tenderloin after about 20 min at the 375 temp to make sure they are not done already! Served with maple dill carrots, garlic mashed and green beans. Sauce was great on the potatoes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SARAHCANADA

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

Hillbilly Punch

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2014
Awesome! I had to sub Bacardi Razz for the rum & peach schnapps as they didn't have any peach liquor or liquer here. I used a bit less juice and pop, and threw in frozen raspberries, strawberries and cherries. Was a big hit and we'll definately make it again! Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lece

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Stockholm, Stockholms, Sweden

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Whole Wheat Snickerdoodles I

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2014
As suggested, I replaced half the wheat flour with unbleached AP flour. Yum!!! I'm a cookie lover, so this definitely helps in the nutrition area. Also, my 13 year old even gave them a big "YUM!"!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Lacey, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Peanut Butter Marshmallow Squares

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2014
Easy, delicious and fun.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lori Klassen

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Potato Pesto Feta Pizza

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2014
We love this recipe! Make it just as described. Dip in sour cream! Its heavy so we add a salad on the side. yum!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mailforcarolyn

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

Amy's Cilantro Cream Sauce

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2014
I really liked this. Has a nice kick. I made it for my company's dip competition and came in 2nd place. I had to cut back on the cilantro a bit to please everyone but at home I follow the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chris Tobin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sydney, Nova Scotia, Canada
Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Gnocchi I

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2014
Great Simple gnocchi recipe :). If you have the time, cook the potatoes in the oven (wrap in foil so they don't dry out). For adventurous people, jazz it up with some dried herbs like parsley or oregano. To make em fluffier, a add a teaspoon of baking powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tamaralynn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Mocha Bundt Cake

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2014
Delicious!!! I cut the sugar down to about 1½ cup which was plenty. Definately not too strong of a liquer flavour, my friends went crazy for this cake and asked to take some home. A perfect cake to go with a cup of coffee in the afternoon. Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lece

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Stockholm, Stockholms, Sweden

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Coconut Rice with Black Beans

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2014
My family did not care for this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Oureatinghabits

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Amazingly Succulent Roast Turkey Thighs

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2014
Great recipe! Hubby wanted turkey for Father's Day, I bought two turkey thighs and this fit the bill nicely :) I have cooked for many years and have to admit this was my first time using an oven bag. Turkey was wonderfully juicy and flavorful. As suggested by another reviewer, I opened the bag and switched the broil on for the last few minutes to crisp up the skin. Thanks :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tamaralynn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cheese Sauce for Broccoli and Cauliflower

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2014
Perfect easy peasy recipe that is quite forgiving of harried mums whether you have time to measure, or maybe don't when you have a family that decides they want cheese sauce right when the rest of dinner is ready to be served :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sabrina Markon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Yogurt Chicken

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2014
I think this is one of the yummiest chicken recipes ever! My family loves it and I find I look forward to making it again, and make it often! I make a lot of recipes with my teenaged daughter and we both enjoy cooking this one too (fun). I found the reviews very helpful. If I remember, I marinate the chicken in the yoghurt mixture ahead of time..I poke holes in the chicken with a knife too before putting in the yoghurt mixture. It's still delicious even if you don't have time to marinate first. I also took Martha's advice to put the chicken on a cooling rack coated lightly with cooking spray instead of right on the bottom of a pan (though I still put a tiny bit o' butter on top), and it did make a big difference. The chicken did end up nice and crunchy all over. For the breadcrumbs, we make our own the old fashioned way..break up bread I've saved and manually crush it into tiny pieces (not fine crumbs but tiny bits) then we season it. I think it might contribute to why our coating turns out so lovely (not sure). This recipe is a winner ..the lemony yoghurt is such a great flavor, and this one is definitely a part of my family's regular rotation now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sabrina Markon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Honey and Ginger Chicken

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2014
My family liked this recipe but I think we would have liked it more with a bit less ginger and honey (maybe because I didn't have as many veggies though) Also, next time, I think I'll try browning the the chicken first to make it a bit crispy on the outside before adding honey. I had run out of broccoli so added sliced carrots and extra red peppers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sabrina Markon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Easy Turkey Curry

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2014
Good and easy way to use turkey leftovers and easy to adjust to your own preferences, In response to the reviews, I tripled the quantity of curry and added some green peas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chef John's Turkey Noodle Casserole

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2014
Very good. Interesting flavours and a very useful way to use up the last of the turkey. Freezes well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Banana Cake V

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2014
I made this and my kids absolutely loved it. I used all purpose flour and made and oatmeat chocolate chip topping that added the extra sweetness to it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa Orianne Vincent

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Granby, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Balsamic Tortellini

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2014
Pretty good. I added tomatoes and fresh basil. It's only 2 servings, not 4. Not an outstanding dish but a good standby on those nights when you have very little time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lece

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Stockholm, Stockholms, Sweden

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States