Calgary - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More
Photo by Oureatinghabits

Pasta and Cauliflower

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2015
Bland
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Oureatinghabits

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Creamy Chocolate Frosting

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2015
Delicious and super easy to make. Requires less butter than other buttercream icing and the evaporated milk cuts the sweetness nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cranbrook, British Columbia, Canada
Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rob Tanner

Bumbleberry Pie I

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2015
I'll make this one again! I made a double batch of the Butter Flaky Pie Crust from Allrecipies site to do a lattice top crust and great flaky bottom crust, and added a teaspoon of fresh Lemmon zest, and a pinch of cinnamon to the crust to add a bit of zing. Followed the recipe exactly, and perhaps a touch sweet for some, but the tart rhubarb offset the sweetness for my taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rob Tanner

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

Mexican Grilled Corn

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2015
This is definitely in my favourites. My husband and I visited my sister who made a version of this. Since we don't have the awesome seasoning she purchased in New Mexico, I found this recipe to be as close as I could come. Thanks again, Chef John!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jacqueline

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Canmore, Alberta, Canada

Green Onion Cakes

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2015
Gummy and bland. Very disappointing. Still searching for a good recipe ...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DawnYYC
Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Johnsonville® Italian Meatballs

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2015
Followed Sarah Jo's review and added the onion soup mix but combined the sausage meat with ground beef. Very good and had nice compliments. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TEDLEY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

Brooke's Best Bombshell Brownies

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2015
the best!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Oureatinghabits

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chicken In Coconut Sauce

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2015
We all liked this. The sauce did not thicken at all though. We just served it over rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Oureatinghabits

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Lemon Raspberry Jumbo Muffins

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2015
Very good. Will definitely increase lemon extract to 2 tsp. next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Oureatinghabits

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Dinomite's Fluffy Bites

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2015
The wine choice is a perfect accompaniment to this recipe. I am always looking for new things to do with Kale. This has to be one of the best!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Death by Chocolate Mousse

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2015
Delicious! Amazing mousse consistency too. I halved the recipe (and it served 8) and added about a tsp of instant coffee, otherwise I left it all the same. SO good. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lece

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Stockholm, Stockholms, Sweden

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Oureatinghabits

Fruit-Topped Buttermilk Pancakes

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2015
Fruit topping is more like a homemade jam. We loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Oureatinghabits

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Corn Muffins

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2015
Wonderful basic recipe! Great just the way they are, or you can add sweet or savoury items. I've tried cranberries, pineapple (drain it well!) walnuts, jalapeños, and even pesto. Just reduce the sugar to a third cup for the savoury muffins, and increase the flour by 2 tablespoons .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jacqueline

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Canmore, Alberta, Canada
Photo by Rob Tanner

Neiman Marcus Chocolate Chip Cookie

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2015
Great cookie! I made them a lot smaller than suggested at just one tablespoon per cookie using a small ice cream scoop and got 6 dozen cookies. Great taste with the instant espresso power, and I flatened the cookie with a Fork dipped in more of the instant espresso to give them a slightly different look. As suggested by another reviewer, I substituted 3/4 of a cup of the flour with a cup of rolled oats that I chopped to a fine powder in a food processor, just to give the cookies a but more substance.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rob Tanner

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Photo by Oureatinghabits

Banana Coconut Cream Pie

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2015
My daughters new favourite pie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Oureatinghabits

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Creamy Garlic Sauce

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2015
Thank you for this recipe, it was a lifesaver at my boss' potluck bbq yesterday! I tried to make this as close to the recipe, but for my purpose I omitted the cream and cornstarch, and added about 3\4 cup of butter to my two medium size bags of frozen corn, 2 oven roasted garlics, otherwise made this the yummiest dressing\sauce to use!! Its very versatile :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Absolutely the BEST Rich and Creamy Blue Cheese Dressing Ever!

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2015
I added a touch of sugar as per my husband, the taste tester, but I also thought if was a tad sweet. a good recipe though, much better that the bland store bought dressings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie Scriver
Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Bread Machine Thin Crust Pizza Dough

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2015
Excellent recipe. Makes a beautiful crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALTAROSE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint-Bruno-De-Montarville, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Middle Eastern Cumin Meatballs

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2015
A bit bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Oureatinghabits

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Authentic Kicked-Up Syrian Hummus

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2015
Amazing!Made this so many times I have the recipe memorized. Friends love it! thanks so much for posting
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States