Alberta - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Best Bean Salad

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2014
Made this last night, also used 1/2 splenda and 1/2 sugar, didn't add any onion as daughter hates onions, but did add chopped hearts of palm plus all other veggies and beans. It was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie Scriver
Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Sex in a Pan I

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2014
Served at our Boxing Day dinner and we all went back for seconds. It was amazing! So simple yet so darn good. As most of us cooks do, we add or make a little change. I did add two thin sliced bananas onto vanilla layer, great addition! Only change I may do is to increase the pecan layer by 1/2 and add 12 ounces of cream cheese instead of 8 ounces.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DOTJO

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Leamington, Ontario, Canada

Cheesy Turkey Rice Casserole

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2014
Family loved this. I didn't have evaporated milk, so used ordinary milk, and it worked just fine. I also added some seasonings - sage, salt and pepper - to the mix. It was easy to prepare, and really tasty! I will definitely be making this one regularly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sheena

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Airdrie, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Figs and Toasted Almonds Brie

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2014
Guests and hubby like this. Works better with dried figs than fig preserves. Havn't been able to find fresh figs yet, but I look forward to using fresh figs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Pumpkin Pie

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2014
This made more than would fit in a standard pie crust. I poured the excess in a small tart pan, no crust and made an extra crustless pie. Cooking time also was a little more than indicated but not excessve.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Posh Squash

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2014
Most of my dinner guests really liked this dsh. My hubby prefers smple baked squash with no mashing or additives.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chef John's Pumpkin Pie

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2014
This was my first attempt at a pumpkin pie, and I am not sure what I am exoecting in a good pumpkin pie. I tried two separate receipies for Christmas dinner, bith were very dense but tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chef John's Roasted Brussels Sprouts

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2014
This worked very well for me. The sprouts were tender without being mushy and the sprout eaters in the family liked the dish. Of course, not everyone likes sprouts, even if they are done to perfection.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

12/25/14- Christmas dinner

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2014
Spent the whole day, partly because I was in a strange kitchen. brussel sprouts were a hit, everthing was timed pretty well. dave was a big help in the kitchen.b Sheleey didn't eat the salad or the stuffing because they had meat in them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Nana's Yorkshire Pudding

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2014
I tried this and the puddings did not puff up with the characteristic hollow. Although I did cook with my roast at a lower temperature than suggested. Will use my old recipe next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Peter

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Athabasca, Alberta, Canada

Chef John's Perfect Prime Rib

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2014
We followed the recipe to the T and it was amazing - thanks so much Chef John . . . the fam just loved it. will make again. btw : we love watching your recipes and we love cayenne pepper too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melisa
Home Town: Red Deer, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chewy Chocolate Chip Oatmeal Cookies

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2014
Wonderful recipe! I've used it several times now and they've turned out great each time. I've made a couple of modifications, one being I added 1/3 c more oatmeal and another time I added finely chopped walnuts and 1/2 tsp cinnamon. They're so good, I can even use them as bribes for my staff. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jacqueline

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Canmore, Alberta, Canada

Chocolate Chocolate Chip Cookies I

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2014
Its perfect! no nuts needed :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by April
Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Aussie Chicken

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2014
Made as directed and really enjoyed. Will take the advice from others and skip the corn syrup and use a grain or Dijon next time. This is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wks880

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sherwood Park, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Morinville, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Dynamite Halibut

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2014
We love our halibut and we really enjoyed this recipe. Added a little more chill sauce then called for and it was still not overly hot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bill Ligertwood

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Nanaimo Bars I

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2014
These were very good. I would decrease the graham cracker crumbs to 1 1/2 cups next time to make the crust portion a little less gritty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Oureatinghabits

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Easy Chicken Korma

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2014
I loved this recipe. I didn't change a thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Oureatinghabits

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Krisztina

Hungarian Poppy Seed Filling

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2014
Thank you so much for this recipe. I can't get Solo brand in Northern Alberta so have to make from scratch. I changed it a tiny bit. I was out of eggs so I used 4 tablespoons of arrow root flour instead. The food processor took time to grind the poppyseed up but eventually worked well. This is by far better than the canned. I'm never going to miss it again. I'm so very happy right now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Krisztina

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Spelt Pizza Dough

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2014
The dough handled very well and was really easy to roll out. I made two cookie sheets of pizza with this recipe. However, the taste was overpowering compared to the rest of the pizza.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Danielle

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

12/19/14, Gary and Jill

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2014
Preparation wasn't spot on, eg salad wasn't as pre-prepped as it could have been. Timing on roast wasn't very precise. Meal was generrally pretty good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States