Alberta - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Death by Chocolate Mousse

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2015
Delicious! Amazing mousse consistency too. I halved the recipe (and it served 8) and added about a tsp of instant coffee, otherwise I left it all the same. SO good. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lece

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Stockholm, Stockholms, Sweden

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chocolate Cupcakes

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2015
Glancing through the reviews I realized I'd have to make a few adaptations. I did 4 tbsp butter and about 7/8 cup milk. The cupcakes turned out beautifully moist and flavourful! I also added a bit of finely chopped chocolate mint. It gives just a hint of mint flavour to the cake and was a huge hit with my family! I also added a bit of chocolate mint to the frosting recipe I used but that proved to be too much mint flavour for my family (though I still quite enjoyed it)!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Coaldale, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Creole Seasoning Blend

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2015
Was great in chicken gumbo
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shari

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by emmjae2000

Nanaimo Bars III

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2015
This was my first time making Nanaimo bars and I'll stick with this recipe. Really good!! Tip - make sure each layer is properly chilled before adding the next layer. I put them in the freezer to speed up the process
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by emmjae2000

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Slave Lake, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Blueberry Buckle

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2015
I doubled this recipe and used the 9x13 pan. It turned out great. I'm making it again now with blackberries this time. The cake dough in this is the best I've ever used for adding fruit to. For those of you that found it didn't turn out OR DID for that matter, we should all be putting our location in our comments. Altitude makes a huge difference. I am in B.C., Canada eh?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marilyn
Home Town: Fort Saskatchewan, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Grilled Pork Tenderloin

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2015
Simple and delicious. We'll be eating this a lot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Oakville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Oureatinghabits

Fruit-Topped Buttermilk Pancakes

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2015
Fruit topping is more like a homemade jam. We loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Oureatinghabits

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Doreen's Ham Slices on the Grill

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2015
Very tasty, adds interest to the standard ham steak. Be careful that you don't dry out the ham on the grill, it doesn't need a lot of time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by emmjae2000

Ooey-Gooey Cinnamon Buns

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2015
This is a great recipe! Don't be too alarmed if the first rise in the bowl doesn't look that risen....the second rise in the pan makes them perfect. Nice dough consistency, will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by emmjae2000

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Slave Lake, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Corn Muffins

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2015
Wonderful basic recipe! Great just the way they are, or you can add sweet or savoury items. I've tried cranberries, pineapple (drain it well!) walnuts, jalapeños, and even pesto. Just reduce the sugar to a third cup for the savoury muffins, and increase the flour by 2 tablespoons .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jacqueline

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Canmore, Alberta, Canada
Photo by Rob Tanner

Neiman Marcus Chocolate Chip Cookie

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2015
Great cookie! I made them a lot smaller than suggested at just one tablespoon per cookie using a small ice cream scoop and got 6 dozen cookies. Great taste with the instant espresso power, and I flatened the cookie with a Fork dipped in more of the instant espresso to give them a slightly different look. As suggested by another reviewer, I substituted 3/4 of a cup of the flour with a cup of rolled oats that I chopped to a fine powder in a food processor, just to give the cookies a but more substance.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rob Tanner

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

Homesteader Cornbread

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2015
My first attempt made a very dense, but flavourful cornbread which we thoroughly enjoyed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by emmjae2000

Apple Coffee Cake

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2015
It was very good!! I was concerned about the thick batter so I added an extra egg and it likely didn't need it. Family loved it, will make again. Not overly sweet, sprinkled the topping with a couple tbsp steel cut oats for extra crunch. Very good recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by emmjae2000

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Slave Lake, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chef John's Blueberry Clafoutis

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2015
Berries in custard, not too sweet. Probably best served warm, I haven't had any leftovers to try when chilled. Consider adding sprinkling of powdered sugar when out of the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chicken Suiza Cornbread Bake

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2015
sorry, I was so gung-ho on trying this recipe since I had a bag of cornmeal on hand, but was so disappointed when I read 'corn muffin mix'. We don't have anything like that here! Too bad. I wanted something more homemade.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie Scriver
Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Oureatinghabits

Banana Coconut Cream Pie

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2015
My daughters new favourite pie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Oureatinghabits

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Yummy Quiche

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2015
My gf doesn't like spicy so I took out the green chiles and put in some sliced mushrooms. I've also made it as a "leftover" breakfast after a big family meal using ham instead of bacon... I love this recipe and it's always a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chris Johnson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hanna, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Fort Saskatchewan, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Zesty Thai Cucumber Soup

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2015
Delicious. My son, who hates cooked vegetables, also enjoyed this soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KArdron

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Medicine Hat, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

No Milk, No Wheat, Banana Pancakes

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2015
These were fantastic! I read the reviews that said the pancakes were tasteless. I think that's just because of the "tang" of the bananas. I suggest putting in a pinch of salt and either cinnamon or vanilla. I tried one with syrup, it was not bad. The second I ate with homemade strawberry jam. It was heavenly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by threejewels
Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Creamy Garlic Sauce

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2015
Thank you for this recipe, it was a lifesaver at my boss' potluck bbq yesterday! I tried to make this as close to the recipe, but for my purpose I omitted the cream and cornstarch, and added about 3\4 cup of butter to my two medium size bags of frozen corn, 2 oven roasted garlics, otherwise made this the yummiest dressing\sauce to use!! Its very versatile :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States