Christchurch, Canterbury - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Vegetarian Moussaka

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2010
As a lot of others have said, this was very time consuming but totally worth it! It is definitely one of the most delicious meals I have ever had, I even have a fussy four year old eating it. Amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Invercargill, Southland, New Zealand

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Mexican Rice III

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2010
This rice had just the right amount of kick for me, and was a great side dish served with Acapulco Chicken from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chicken

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dunedin, Otago, New Zealand

Acapulco Chicken

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2010
This was spicy, simple and scrumptious! I served it with Mexican Rice III from this site and corn on the cob, and it was a great dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chicken

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dunedin, Otago, New Zealand

Baked Asparagus with Balsamic Butter Sauce

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2010
Who would have thought that something so simple could be so tasty! This was a yummy side when paired with lamb chops and mashed potato.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chicken

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dunedin, Otago, New Zealand

Creamy Cajun Shrimp Pasta

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2010
This had a good kick to it- the sauce was rather thick but that can easily be fixed with a little extra milk. I added some corn to the mix and it was a great easy dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chicken

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dunedin, Otago, New Zealand

Ham and Pineapple Pinwheels

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2010
These are one of my go-to appetizers that I use all of the time. Very easy to make and they taste great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chicken

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dunedin, Otago, New Zealand

Easy Mac and Cheese Muffins

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2010
What a great idea! I made a whole batch of these to freeze when I was pregnant and they have been great to pull out of the freezer and eat with a salad or vegetables on the days where I am too tired or frazzled to cook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chicken

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dunedin, Otago, New Zealand

Tomato Alfredo

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2010
I love tomato pasta dishes and ths one was a fantastically easy meal to prepare. Even my small son enjoyed it. I will keep trying this with some flavoured tomatoes to experiment.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chicken

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dunedin, Otago, New Zealand

Potato Potluck Dish

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2010
This was surprisingly tasty and was well received at a potluck dinner. This will be a good standby recipe to use when you don't want to take an expensive dish to a potluck if you need to feed a lot of people.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chicken

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dunedin, Otago, New Zealand

Pizza Casserole

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2010
This was super tasty, I did not change a thing with this recipe and it turned out wonderfully. A great dinner for a Sunday night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chicken

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dunedin, Otago, New Zealand

World's Best Lasagna

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2010
Ok, firstly I do have to say that I have searched long and hard over the years to find a lasagne recipe that would take mine from good to amazing!This recipe did just that! However.... if you add a whole TB of salt and 2TBs of sugar, like I did on my first attempt, you will probably be very sorry! I was! Especially all that salt, and I like salt, but even I couldn't cope with that much. I would also suggest doubling the Ricotta mixture. Though thats just me. I only simmer the meat for about 40 mins, and I also use the instant dried lasagne noodles as it speeds things up considerably. I have also used half sweet and half mild Italian sausage and once made it with half sweet and half hot. Its all wonderful. This recipe really has been the best lasagne recipe I have ever found. Oh, and use the fennel!!!!! I cut it down to just under 1/2 tsp, but I think it makes it! Remember to cut down on the salt considerably! What a great recipe though! Thank you!!! I am finally satisfied I have found THE lasagne recipe. I wont be looking any further:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Apple Pie by Grandma Ople

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2010
It was nice but when I cut it open (after leaving ti sit for 20 minutes) the liquid leaked everywhere, If I had let it sit for a lot longer it might have been ok. The apples were still quite solid but other than that it was tasty. Next time I will try with the lattice crust (I covered the whole thing with a couple of holes fro steam to escape) and cut the apple slices smaller.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda McC

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Rosemary Ranch Chicken Kabobs

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2010
This is excellent -- moist, tender and full of flavor! I thought the marinade tasted a bit too salty, but the final product on the chicken was outstanding. The Man loved it too! And, the leftovers were fantastic cold the next day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Good EatNZ

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Yuba City, California, USA

Ranch Dressing II

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2010
This is fantastic! In New Zealand, I don't have access to Ranch dressing mix, or American style buttermilk, but this tastes just like the real thing, if not better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Good EatNZ

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Yuba City, California, USA

Thai Shrimp and Noodles

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2010
This was a fantastic light dinner. The flavours worked together really well and I enjoyed eating it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chicken

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dunedin, Otago, New Zealand

Quick and Easy Peach Cobbler

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2010
This wasn't bad by any means but it took a lot longer than the recipe states to cook, and was still quite runny... and really ridiculously sweet... if I make it again I will reduce the amount of sugar and leave out the syrup. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Invercargill, Southland, New Zealand

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Grandma's Lemon Meringue Pie

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2010
Absolutely fantastic! It tasted so good and nothing went wrong, I didn't have to change a thing! Definitely a success.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda McC

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Risotto with Asparagus

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2010
This was heavenly! So creamy and full of flavour. It was relatively easy to prepare as well. This went great with some steamed fish for an impressive yet easy dinner for my family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chicken

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dunedin, Otago, New Zealand

Chicken Supreme III

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2010
I added some frozen mixed veggies and this became a complete meal for my family.We thought it was very tasty and I did not think it was too salty. Thank you for an easy and yummy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chicken

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dunedin, Otago, New Zealand

Swiss Chard with Garbanzo Beans and Fresh Tomatoes

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2010
This was an easy side dish to have with steak, and really impressed me. I followed the recipe exactly except for adding some lemon zest as well as the lemon juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chicken

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dunedin, Otago, New Zealand

Displaying results 81-100 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States