Christchurch, Canterbury - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Homesteader Cornbread

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2011
This is great. My husband has been bugging me for 'good' cornbread for ages, and know I've found it! I made it exactly as written the first and it was excellent. The second time I had no corn meal so I subbed polenta, plus I wanted it to be gluten free (earthquake victims asking for GF donations) so I subbed GF baking mix for the flour baking powder and salt -- it was perfect. Husband said it didn't taste any different!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Good EatNZ

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Yuba City, California, USA

Chewy Peanut Butter Brownies

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2011
Wow, these were devine! My husband has asked me to make these again, but with peanut butter or chocolate chips in the main part of the brownie, so I will have to try these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chicken

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dunedin, Otago, New Zealand

Delicious Raspberry Oatmeal Cookie Bars

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2011
These were tasty but very sweet, I might re-try these with another type of jam with less sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chicken

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dunedin, Otago, New Zealand

Naan

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2011
Great recipe - I forgot the egg as I'm not used to using it in bread recipes, but it still turned out REALLY good. We used a hot frypan with a coating of butter and once cooked we stacked the breads with a dab of butter and a smear of minced garlic between (not diet friendly but fine as a treat).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Peanut Butter Fudge Cake

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2011
Oh my gosh, this was amazing! The cake was so dense and fudgy, and the peanut butter helped to cut through the chocolate nicely without being too overpowering. I did have some problems with the icing forming a hard crust on top and cracking after it had been sitting out for a while, but it did not detract from the taste. This even got a two thumbs up from my father in law, so I know it is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chicken

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dunedin, Otago, New Zealand

Lentil Burritos

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2011
These burritos were easy to make but it seems like they were missing something- I will expiriment with adding a bit more of something to the filling to see if I like them better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chicken

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dunedin, Otago, New Zealand

Baby Back Ribs

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2011
More of a cooking method than a recipe and what a great one it is. Of course make sure you have a tasty BBQ sauce, one that you would happily drink out of the bottle and you will surely end up with the absolute best results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ivy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Beefy Baked Ravioli

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2011
So yummy and easy for a mostly pre-packaged meal- fast to put together on those nights when I need to get food on the table.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chicken

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dunedin, Otago, New Zealand

Suki's Spinach and Feta Pasta

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2011
This is so quick, easy and tasty! I like the flavours together and it has just the right amount of spice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chicken

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dunedin, Otago, New Zealand

Andouille and Chicken Creole Pasta

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2011
We really liked this!!! The Man is a huge gumbo fan, and said it 'smelled' like N'Awlins. Like another reviewer, I didn't have creole seasoning so made up a batch of my own from another recipe from this site. We also like spicy, so we added a few fresh chiles. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Good EatNZ

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Yuba City, California, USA

Baby BLT

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2011
These are always a hit at any gathering, and it is nice to have a healthier option admist all the chocolate and cakes. I use a melon baller and this speeds the process up considerably.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chicken

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dunedin, Otago, New Zealand

Zippy Ground Beef Skillet

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2011
This was just OK for me., although my husband really liked it. I think next time I will add more seasonings and perhaps use a can of Mexican flavoured tomatoes. I used chilli oil to saute the meat and I think that helps give it a bit more kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chicken

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dunedin, Otago, New Zealand

Pineapple Chicken with Spaghetti

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2011
This recipe got the thumbs up from the whole family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chicken

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dunedin, Otago, New Zealand

Hearty Tuna Casserole

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2011
This was a really nice mid-week meal that the whole family enjoyed. The mustard taste was subtle and added a pleasant flavour. I really enjoyed this and will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chicken

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dunedin, Otago, New Zealand

Red and White Fudge

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2011
This was the best fudge I have tasted in a long time. We omited the nuts due to allergies. It reminded me a lot of nougat and had such a creamy texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chicken

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dunedin, Otago, New Zealand

Red Lentil Curry

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2011
This was really yummy, and so quick and easy to make! My husband and I try to eat one vegetarian dish a week and so this will definitely be made again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chicken

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dunedin, Otago, New Zealand

Frozen Raspberry Cheesecakes

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2011
These tasted great and were really easy to make. They do melt fast once you plate up so be prepared to serve them immediately.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chicken

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dunedin, Otago, New Zealand

Pineapple Breeze

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
Absolutely LOVED it! I also made a second batch with 1 tb (30ml) of cherry brandy added and it was great! Thx for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CABNOLEN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Taipei, Taipei, Taiwan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Heavenly Zucchini Salad

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2010
Delicious. I substituted the sugar for a squirt of diabetic-friendly sweetner, and tossed in a litte mustard to the dressing. Wedges of boiled egg and cubes of cheddar added to the salad just prior to serving made it a complete vegetarian dinner - YUM
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Amazing Whole Wheat Pizza Crust

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2010
This was a great helthy pizza crust to make in the breadmaker. I used all whole wheat flour. I would pre-bake the crust for a few minutes after putting toppings on though, otherwise it is harder for the dough to cook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chicken

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dunedin, Otago, New Zealand

Displaying results 61-80 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States