Christchurch, Canterbury - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Exchange Gang Pasta with Shrimp

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2011
This was quick and absolutely delicious. My husband commented on it again this morning! I made it with home-made fettucini which made it even better, and I also added some cubed fish, but the sauce was really the star.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Good EatNZ

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Yuba City, California, USA

MMMMM... Brownies

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2011
This was awesome!!! It was SO easy and turned out fantastic. I added some hazelnuts, but otherwise followed the directions exactly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Good EatNZ

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Yuba City, California, USA

Tandoori Fish

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2011
This is a great way to add fish to my weekly meals, and my whole family enjoys it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chicken

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dunedin, Otago, New Zealand

Pesto Pasta with Green Beans and Potatoes

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2011
Yum yum yum! This was a really good dish to prepare, and the whole family enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chicken

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dunedin, Otago, New Zealand

Parmesan Herb Bread

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2011
This was such a well flavoured bread and held its shape well. It was great for sandwiches but also delicious served alongside our main meal with some butter on it. The loaf didn't last long in our house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chicken

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dunedin, Otago, New Zealand

Mushroom and Spinach Ravioli with Chive Butter Sauce

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2011
This is terrific! It is important t get the pasta very thin, and even, but done the way the author instructs, is no fail! The brown butter compliments this superbly -- I would not be tempted to make the sauce any 'fancier' or different -- it is perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Good EatNZ

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Yuba City, California, USA

Three Chile Dry Roasted Tomatillo Salsa

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2011
I thought I had messed this up, cause I read the ingredient list first, prepared everything including unhusking the tomatillos, as that is what the ingredient list says. Then when I got ready to cook, I saw that the directions say to remove the husks AFTER dry roasting. That said I went ahead anyway and followed the rest of the directions. The result was amazing. Im sure it is easier to remove the husks first, so I would definately do that next time anyway. This salsa verde was pretty much perfect! It will be my go to recipe from now on. I couldn't fint pequin peppers, so like many other reviewers I added double the amount of jalapeno and serrano peppers. The result wasn't hot enough for our tastes, so I will adjust for that next time. One cooking note: The garlic and serranos will blacken much faster than the tomatillos and jalapenos. Next time I will add them in stages, as garlic does tend to become bitter if overcooked, and it would have been charcoal if I had left it in for as long as the rest. I had to fish around and remove half way through. I removed the tomatillos when the skins were blackened, just as they were splitting. Great recipe, wonderful authentic flavor. I have a very happy and impressed husband! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Pasta e Olio

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2011
For something that seemed so simple, this was amazing! I served this as a side dish with Chicken Parmigiana and it was a really great balance. The combination of flavours was spot on and I really enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chicken

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dunedin, Otago, New Zealand

White Chocolate Raspberry Cheesecake

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2011
Wow. The best cheesecake I have made to date. I used fresh raspberries for the syrup and it was amazing. Very pretty and professional looking (and delicious) cheesecake. Will be making this one every year for Christmas. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Poblano Corn Chowder

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2011
In a word - incredible! I have made this twice now for my extended family on Christmas Eve and is the only recipe which when asked, I selfishly don't give it out! In a family full of amazing cooks, I have to have some secrets up my sleeve! Only hope they don't find it here:) They talked about it from one Christmas to the next! Only adjustments I make (other than to increase the quantities to make a couple of vats of it at a time) is to increase the chile de arbol. Also, last time I added the shrimp a bit too soon and they ended up a bit rubbery, so next time I will dice them much finer just in case, and will add them at the very last minute. I do use the lobster base. It wouldn't be the same without it!Thank you so much for this recipe, Naiveray!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cajun Blackened Catfish

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2011
This was amazing! The rub was perfect, but at 3 mins per side my fish was a bit over-cooked. I waited till the skillet was just starting to look white hot before I put the fish in, but perhaps it could have been even hotter. Next time I will try to heat the skillet up for a lot longer so the fish blackens quickly but is cooking for less time. I melted the rest of the butter for pouring over, but didnt end up using it. I really didn't think it needed it as it was cooked in so much butter. Thanks for a great recipe! I will be making this again and again with some slight adjustments for cooking time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Rosemary Ranch Chicken Kabobs

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2011
I also added some summer squash and zucchini to the marinade and grilled them on seperate skewers. The vegetables were amazing. Red peppers would be good too. The chicken was also very nice but a little light on flavor for me. I used Maries Light Ranch (which is light on fat but big on flavor) Im a huge fan of ranch dressing, so Im thinking that next time I will regularly brush the chicken with the marinade (there was plenty) during cooking to boost up the flavor. I ended up drizzling some extra ranch dressing over the chicken to boost up the flavor afterwards, but of course that lacked the extra flavor of the rosemary and worsestershire in the marinade. I thought about cooking it in a foil lined basket with the marinade like one of the other reviewers. This would give additional flavor, but I do like the slight charring that you get from direct-grilling. I used the left over warmed chicken and squash in sandwiches with ranch dressing the next day - and they were to die for! All in all a great simple tasty recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Blackened Tuna Steaks with Mango Salsa

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2011
The rub is fantastic! My husband loves off-the-scale hot food and actually didn't add pepper flakes to this dish! He said it was perfect. I can handle pretty hot food, but this was a bit too close to my limit. I will probably cut down on the cayenne a little next time and let my husband add some pepper flakes to his! The salsa is wonderful!! The mango/cilantro combined with the rub was a very happy marriage. My only critique (and the reason I am giving this four stars) is that I found 3 mins on each side was far too long to cook the (2 inch) tuna steaks. The resulting steak was grey and dry with only a hint of pale pink in the centre. It was my first time cooking Ahi Tuna, so I followed the recommended time closely. Next time I will cut the cooking time down significantly. The rub blackened properly way before the 3 mins, so the shorter cooking time wouldn't affect the great blackened appearance/taste. I will be making this again, and would use this rub and the salsa for other dishes. Both would be great with chicken and shrimp too. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Carrot and Raisin Salad I

Reviewed: May 22, 2011
This was a really great side salad, just like I remember my mother making it. I did add a teaspoon of white sugar to make it a bit sweeter as when I tasted it the first time it was a bit bitter. However, the recipe was enjoyed by everyone and I will be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chicken

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dunedin, Otago, New Zealand

Baked Ziti I

Reviewed: May 16, 2011
This is the ultimate comfort food. It was so yummy, and just as good, if not better, reheated the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Good EatNZ

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Yuba City, California, USA

Homemade Flour Tortillas

Reviewed: May 16, 2011
Very quick and easy, and very tasty. I struggled a bit at first, to roll the dough out as thin as I wanted it to be, but after a few, I got the hang of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Good EatNZ

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Yuba City, California, USA

Limehouse Chicken

Reviewed: May 2, 2011
I was not expecting much from this dish but I was very pleased with how it turned out! The sweetness was nice and cut through by the lime, and the breading and baking techniques kept the chicken moist. I served this with steamed vegetables and rice and it was an easy weeknight meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chicken

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dunedin, Otago, New Zealand

Cheesy Beans and Rice

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2011
This was a pretty good vegetarian meal. I added a few tablespoons of salsa as well, and mixed in some peas, corn and carrots to get some extra vegetables in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chicken

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dunedin, Otago, New Zealand
Photo by Good EatNZ

Sirloin Steak Dianne

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2011
Absolutely delicious and very elegant. Fine dining at home! Next time, I will cook the onions a bit longer -- they were not quite soft enough. Note that I said, 'Next time,' and it will be soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Good EatNZ

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Yuba City, California, USA

Sweet and Sour Pork III

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2011
This was fantastic!!! It was as good, if not better, than my favorite Asian restaurants Sweet and Sour. I will be making this again, and again...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Good EatNZ

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Yuba City, California, USA

Displaying results 21-40 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States