Christchurch, Canterbury - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Best Brownies

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2014
Didn't make the frosting, but it was delicious by itself. Had to make a second batch within a week. Yum. I added some strawberry topping I had lying around and swirled it in the batter and it was perfection.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ivy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

A Scotsman's Shepherd Pie

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2014
This recipe is to die for! It is so good that my husband and I thought it was quite possibly one of the best things we have ever tasted, and I have a very wide culinary repertoire having lived in three different countries, and I LOVE to cook! I have been making shepherds pie for 20 years but this will be the only shepherds pie recipe I ever use from now on! The only thing I changed was that I added more carrots and peas - I probably doubled them at least. It was wonderful and we couldn't stop eating it and my husband keeps asking me when I will be making it again (even though it is now 112 degrees outside, lol) Comfort food at it's BEST!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

ABC (Absolute Best Chewy) Chocolate Chippers

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2013
Loved these cookies...best cc recipe I've ever made! I like my cookies soft and thick and these delivered both. I didn't have dark corn syrup so used light corn syrup and they turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mtford

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Ivy

Rosemary Pull-Apart Dinner Rolls

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2013
I've been following Chef John on Youtube for years, everything I've made has turned out pretty awesome. This recipe is no exception. Yum Yum. One thing I will say is I only got 24 small rolls, any smaller might have been a little ridiculous. I made the rolls to act as burger buns and my burger became tiny sliders.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ivy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Dark Chocolate Cake I

Reviewed: May 16, 2013
It was indeed dark and pretty easy to make. It made a lot of cake and I couldn't be bothered frosting, so I just dusted some powdered sugar on top. I was good, but I think it need frosting to be 5 star.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ivy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Unbelievable Rolls

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2013
Half way through making this recipe I decided to read some reviews on it, because it has a couple of unconventional ways of making bread. So I wanted to see what other people had to say about it. I got a little worried, but my batch did come out fluffy and rich and delicious. If I was just judging on flavour and texture this recipe would get a 5, but because the instructions were not very detailed, I found myself doing a bit of guess work. 1. The yeast wasn't proofed before adding to the dry ingredients, so if your yeast happens to not work for what ever reason, the whole batch would be ruined. 2. The water and milk heated on the stove doesn't mention how hot. I guessed lukewarm because every other yeast recipe uses lukewarm liquid to activate the yeast, too hot would kill the yeast. I also tempered beaten eggs with the warm milk because I wanted to avoid scrambling. 3. The dough turned out to be more of a batter, I added 1c extra of flour just to get it to look like a very sticky dough, definitely to wet to knead by hand, so I mixed it in a stand mixer for about 3-5min, just until it looked like it was fully incorporated. If I was to make this recipe again, I think I would tweak it to the point where its a whole new recipe. All in all it produced very tasty rolls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ivy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Tamzen

Focaccia Bread

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2012
Made this tonight on my pizza stone and it was so fast to make and absolutely perfect and delicious. Will definitely make again, and muck around with toppings a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Invercargill, Southland, New Zealand

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Amish White Bread

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2012
We make this bread weekly, it is delicious - the best bread ever. The recipe is super easy too, even hubby can do it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Invercargill, Southland, New Zealand

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Pumpkin Spice Cupcakes

Reviewed: May 31, 2012
I followed the recipe exactly and wish I had read some reviews before I made them. True to all the reviews I thought they were a little dry and the texture more like a bread than a cake. If I ever make these again I will definitely add more pumpkin and spices. The cinnamon in the frosting didn't really add that much flavour and made the normally velvety smooth and creamy cream cheese frosting a bit gritty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ivy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Mango Corn Salsa

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2012
This was amazing! I will be making this again and again! I couldn't find fresh mango's and so I actually used a bag of frozen mango pieces. Sometimes these are not very sweet, so I defrosted them by soaking them in a cup of mango fruit juice to make sure they had plenty of sweetness and flavor and added the mango and juice to the salsa. Followed the recipe for everything else and the salsa was amazing! Oh, I did add extra tomato. Good to know that frozen mango can be used in a pinch. The second night we had this, I mixed diced avocado into it, and that was great too! Thanks for a terrific salsa recipe! My husband hasn't stopped talking about it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Spinach and Rice Alfredo

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2012
I was really happy with this recipe. It was a very quick way to use up left over rice. I added some extra parmesan 'cause I don't think you can ever have too much! I think that two cups of spinach leaves is conservative. I probably used three cups of fresh spinach and still feel like it would have been better with more. I served with steamed asparagus spears which went beautifully with the rice. And grilled fillet steak. I also quickly broiled some cherry tomatoes in the oven until till a little caramelized and scattered them over the steak when serving. The flavor combination was great and it was a really fast, easy and delicious dinner. I will make this rice again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Awesome Slow Cooker Pot Roast

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2012
I hate to be the only one that didn't like this. I guess I'm hard to please. All I could taste was the mushroom soup mix, and it was all just gluey, and grey-brown and very unappealing. I added fresh sauteed mushrooms and sprinkled with fresh parsley but it didn't help much and increased the cost. I did think it would make a good english style meat pie or pastie filling as that's what the texture reminded me of. I guess it has just confirmed that I don't really like tinned soup gravy. Sorry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Thai Ground Chicken Basil

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2011
Good, but ours was very salty and rather bland. Rather than follow the recipe, I think I would 'wing it' if I tried it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Good EatNZ

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Yuba City, California, USA

Quick and Easy Brownies

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2011
Didn't make any changes to the recipe, except for halving it. And I made a rooky mistake in baking them on grill setting which meant the bottom half wasn't really cooked. (made the browns all gooey and delicious so I didn't mind) Easy, fast, delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ivy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chocolate Surprise Cupcakes

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2011
This recipe is FANTASTIC. Easy enough for my husband to pull off and soooo good, will be making these when I want to impress people lol ;-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Invercargill, Southland, New Zealand

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Good EatNZ

Smashed Potatoes

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2011
These are so GOOD and SO easy! The first time I made them, I followed the recipe pretty closely, but when I have made them several times since, I have played around with the herbs togo with my main dish. Always excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Good EatNZ

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Yuba City, California, USA

Secret Burger Sauce

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2011
One word! YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Good EatNZ

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Yuba City, California, USA

Breakfast Sausage

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2011
Just what I was looking for. We don't get the bulk breakfast sausage here in NZ, plus I was wanting a good pizza topping sausage. This works well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Good EatNZ

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Yuba City, California, USA

Honey-Glazed Chinese Chicken

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2011
This was very, very good, and quite easy. The skin was nicely browned but not so crispy as to be burned, but it very effectively sealed in the moistue and juice of the chicken. I used the pan juices to make an excellent stir-fried rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Good EatNZ

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Yuba City, California, USA
Photo by Much.too.rare

Strawberry Cake from Scratch

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2011
I made this cake for my brothers 16th birthday. It was really easy to make, and tasted delicious. Definitely going to make again !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Much.too.rare

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States