Auckland City - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Apple Scones

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2015
Fluffy - they rose beautifully, very tasty but I absolutely cannot taste any apple. I read a number of the reviews which stated the same thing so I diced the apple, instead of shredding it, to get more direct apple taste but it made no difference. BTW, I didn't bother with the baking soda - it isn't needed. I did use a bit more baking powder. I'll have to continue my search for a really good apple scone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COOKINKIWI

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Milton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chili Chicken Stew

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2015
This is really good stew. As some other reviewers have noted it is a bit bland as written but that was easily fixed with the addition of a little salt and an increase in the chili powder. I had no bell pepper but I did have one baby bok choy which I added, chopped, to the mix along with carrots. I had no frozen veggies so the bok choy, carrots, onions and tomatoes were the extent of the veggies in the stew. I added some rotini (another reviewer's suggestion) and it became a very filling, thick enough, stew. We loved it. I halved the recipe and we still have enough to freeze for another meal. Thank you Corwynn Darkholme.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COOKINKIWI

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Milton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by COOKINKIWI

Cranberry Upside-Down Coffee Cake

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2015
Followed the recipe almost exactly - the only thing different is I added a little bit of whipping cream to thin the batter a bit. The recipe poster would do well to say "spoon the batter" rather than "pour the batter" to reduce the negative comments in that regard. A thinner batter would make it easier to spread over the cranberry / butter / sugar layer. I should also note that it took far longer to cook than the 60 minutes stated. We had it for dessert this evening and my husband is still raving about it. It's a perfect blend of sweet and tart. Oh, I just remembered, I used Splenda to replace regular granulated sugar. No matter what, this recipe is deserving of 5 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COOKINKIWI

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Milton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Baked Coconut Shrimp

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2015
I'm giving this 4 stars based on my husband's rating. I didn't care for it - I found it too dry, and not through over-cooking. They didn't take as long to cook as the recipe suggested. I've done them the traditional way in the past by frying in some oil, and I'll go back to that method next time. I did take the excellent advice of a couple of reviewers to put the coconut through the food processor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COOKINKIWI

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Milton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Simple Garlic Shrimp

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2015
Excellent recipe. Followed the recipe exactly, however, I would have liked it to be much saucier so that it could be served over rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COOKINKIWI

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Milton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Butter Tarts

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2015
Made a half recipe today to get 6 full sized tarts. I eliminated the nuts as I don't care for them in Butter Tarts. While they were baking, the filling rose to the top, then settled back after cooling to crater shaped. They took more like 35 mins to cook as opposed to the 20-25 indicated. This isn't a recipe I'd likely use again - the sugar amount is quite high - 1/8 c. per tart is a lot of sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COOKINKIWI

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Milton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Miracle Baking Powder Pie Crust

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2015
Made a double batch today - what an excellent pastry. As I was about to add in 2 c.shortening I realized I had only 1/3 c. in the cupboard - so I used that and enough margarine to get 1c. plus 1 c. butter. I reduced the salt to 1 tsp for the entire double batch. Following the comments of some of the reviewers, I upped the quantity of water to a little over 1 cup for the double batch. I didn't want to have to add it in later and have to work the dough that much more. The result was a lovely, beautifully browned, flaky pastry. It was really nice to work with. This may well be the only pastry recipe I use for now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COOKINKIWI

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Milton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Mrs Welch's Butter Tarts

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2015
This is my favourite Butter Tart recipe and I've tried many.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COOKINKIWI

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Milton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Creamy Rice Pudding

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2015
What a fabulous recipe! I made this to serve 40+. Followed the recipe exactly, except that I did as others and used only the one pot, both for the trial at home for my husband and myself and for the 40+ at our Senior Center - although next time I'd split it off in to two pots rather than the one - because it got too thick at the bottom of the pot. When reheating, it definitely requires more milk to return it to a desirable consistency but the quality remains the same. I've detested Rice Pudding but once I tasted this pudding, I kept taking another spoonful, and another spoonful and ....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COOKINKIWI

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Milton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cinnamon Rolls III

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2014
These are so delicious, thank you for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KiWi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Overnight French Toast II

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2014
This was a big success at our brunch today. Deserving of more stars than the 5. Several of our guests asked for the recipe. Very slight changes: substituted maple syrup for the corn syrup, egg nog for the milk and I added 2 tsp cinnamon to the custard. For serving, I inverted the French Toast onto a serving serving platter - there was no problem with the sauce hardening. Like another reviewer I made the Oats N Honey bread just for this recipe. Delicious - I'll be using this recipe again soon. Thanks for posting BOBSROAD
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COOKINKIWI

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Milton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Oat-N-Honey Bread

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2014
This is definitely a 5-star recipe. I was reviewing reviewer comments on an overnight French Toast recipe - when I noticed a reviewer used this recipe for the bread she used in that recipe. I was intrigued enough to read THOSE reviews and to end up making this bread myself. It's a bread machine recipe but as long as you have a stand mixer with bread dough hook, you can make bread. I don't bother proofing the yeast - just put all the dry ingredients in the bowl, add the wet ingredients (I had added the oats to the milk and let it sit for a few minutes) and let the hook do the work. I always take the dough out and finish kneading by hand because it allows me to get the feel of the dough. I did the lemon juice/milk to get buttermilk. I doubled the recipe - the resulting loaves are so large that next time I'll just add about 1 c. more of each of the flours and the milk & increase the yeast to 1 tbsp, to get 3 more manageable loaves. Great crust, great crumb, great taste. I'll be using this recipe a lot. P.S...I have to say that the loaf in the picture looks like it was taken out of the oven too soon and cut while hot. It looks doughy in the middle - it's not representative of my loaves
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COOKINKIWI

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Milton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

After Thanksgiving Casserole

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2014
This was pretty darned good. I used leftover stuffing instead of the bread cubes, which made more sense. A leftovers casserole should be made of leftovers. Other than that and adding more cheese than called for, I followed the recipe, scaled for two. I'll make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COOKINKIWI

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Milton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Beet Salad with Goat Cheese

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2014
Made this for a lunch for 40 - was a big hit. I used pecans instead of walnuts, feta instead of goat cheese, and granulated sugar to candy the pecans rather than maple syrup. As per the reviewer who commented that the recipe makes enough dressing to float the entire Andorra fleet, I cut the dressing in half and there was still plenty. Next time I might cut it by 2/3. Too much dressing can ruin this salad. As per a number of reviewers, I decided to bake the beets - I'll never do that again. For this salad I much prefer the texture of a boiled or canned beet. Update: have never served a salad when having a turkey dinner but this salad was so beautiful I decided to make an exception this year - serve it to 12 at Christmas dinner, halving the dressing - it was a hit, with several having seconds. Had requests for the recipe. I'll be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COOKINKIWI

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Milton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Grinch Kabobs

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2014
This was a lot of fun to serve. Used lemon juice to keep the banana from browning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COOKINKIWI

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Milton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Pumpkin Crunch Cake

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2014
Don't know what happened - the pumpkin layer was veeeerrrry soft. However, everyone who tasted it, said it was excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COOKINKIWI

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Milton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Ugly Duckling Cake II

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2014
Very nice cake. Used pecans rather than walnuts. Served it with whipped cream with very little sugar added. Was very much enjoyed by all who had it. Will make again if ever I have canned fruit cocktail in my cupboard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COOKINKIWI

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Milton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chicken and Biscuit Casserole

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2014
Excellent recipe. Made for 45 people for lunch at our senior centre, got raves all round. Followed the recipe exactly. Am making it this evening for my husband and myself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COOKINKIWI

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Milton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

White Texas Sheet Cake

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2014
I made this recipe up last week and while it didn't come out white, it really got rave reviews. I doubled the recipe for a larger cookie sheet. I cut the cake in half to make a layer cake and used raspberry jam for the filling. Other than that, followed the recipe exactly. I'll make this cake again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COOKINKIWI

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Milton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chocolate Banana French Toast

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2014
This was yum and a nice twist on a favourite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nonarina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States