Perth - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Sweet Potato Pound Cake

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2009
Thanks for a great recipe, Anne. I made this at the weekend and it was a perfect cake to take into work. Not too sweet, even with the glaze, easy to cut and pretty light. I made the following modifications based on previous reviewers: - half butter substituted for apple sauce - more spice with 1tsp mixed spice, 1/2 tsp ginger - baked for an hour I should have put the glaze on earlier, I waited 20 minutes before inverting and glazing, the cake wasn't warm enough to fully absorb the glaze. Will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs Possum 08

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Teriyaki Tuna

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2009
Easy, healthy and tasty recipe. Next time, I will add some cooking mirin and sugar to my marinade.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs Possum 08

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Banana Chocolate Chip Cookies

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2009
I used half brown and half white sugar, like many of the reviewers suggested. I mostly blame my terrible oven, but I got a bit mixed results each time I made this. Also, as many people have commented it's more like flat muffins than cookies. But delicious nonetheless. =) Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Shuunk

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Porterville, California, USA

Curried Honey Mustard Chicken

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2009
A delicious blend of flavours. Will definitely cook again. I only used 2 tablespoons of butter, and substituted the rest for olive oil. I added 10 minutes to the cooking time and it turned out great. The husband loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tiffany

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Beef or Chicken Marinade

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2009
So good! I used my George Foreman Grill at 400 for about 7-8 minutes. This recipe is definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tiffany

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Easy Mint Chocolate Chip Ice Cream

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2009
From previous experience with non-cook ice-cream recipe I was skeptical... but this was wonderful. I took others advice and used 3/4 tsp of vanilla and 3/4 of peppermint extract. Just enough mint flavour. This recipe fit perfectly into my kitchenaid ice-cream attachment. For fun I added chunks of non-egg cookie dough at the end. Great easy recipe, will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tiffany

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Silver White Cake

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2009
There are no stars as yet because I am just getting ready to make this...but I had to dissagree with one review saying that you should use a cold bowl/mixers to beat the egg whites. That is true for cream but for egg whites you usually get a better end product with everything even the egg whites themselves being room temp!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by littleone101

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

White Chocolate Macadamia Nut Cookies IV

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2009
I always bring cookies in to the office and this batch got rave reviews from everyone. I bring different kids all the time and this by far has been the favourite! I followed the others recommendations and added cinnamon, more vanilla and doubled the batch leaving the normal white choc and nut amount. All day long my co-workers told me how good they were!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PIPERDOG

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by aquariusgal

Blooming Onion and Dipping Sauce

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2009
We've made this recipe 3 times in less than 3 weeks!! My family is just crazy abt this bloomin onion recipe and the Dippin sauce recipe is to die-for!! I ordered from ebay the " GREAT AMERICAN STEAKHOUSE ONION MACHINE" and it really does make beautiful onion bloomers!Very messy and lots of work - but the results is worth it!This recipe will work just as great with onion rings - so on lazy days, will just cut onion into rings and ditto with the rest of the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aquariusgal

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Restaurant Style Egg Drop Soup

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2009
I didn't add ginger but the soup ingredients helped guide me for my own egg drop soup. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Novice&Learning

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

One Bowl Brownies

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2009
Simply awesome. Even though I, oke other users, did adjust the recipe somewhat, these turned out awesome. I doubled the receipe (we have five children) but also cut the sugar in half. Like someone else, I did half brown sugar, half white. Really, really good. Good enough that I will only be making the normal batch now so we've got no choice but to eat only two or three each!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Geraldton, Western Australia, Australia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by aquariusgal

Old Fashioned Onion Rings

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2009
These onion rings are AWESOME!!If I could give them a 10* rating, I would!! They taste even better than Burger King's onion rings ( in Australia, the same franchise is called Hungry Jack )cos we can actually taste the real onion flavor. I used PANKO breadcrumbs( blend finer with a food processor 1st ) becos it has a nicer golden color n more crunchy than if using normal dry breadcrumbs. For lesser mess during preparation and also faster preparation - I followed this really good tip from a previous reviewer ie dip the floured ( I did add some garlic powder/ paprika/ dr parsley into the flour mixture for better flavor )onion rings into the egg/ milk batter and then placed them onto a layer of panko breadcrumbs in a large rectangle tupperware box. Put the lid on the tupperware box and shake gently sideways so tht onion rings are evenly coated. Set aside on wire rack ( not too long though or else the onion rings wont be so crunchy after u fry them )or for best results - immediately fry the crumbed onion rings. Its easier and faster to do this if u can get help from ur teenaged daughter! I did!! :) U can keep the earlier batches crispy n warm while u fry more by putting in a very slow oven ie 160-200F. My kids n I were greedy - we ended up making too much!! So we kept the left overs in the fridge n heated it up in oven next day. Taste almost as good as day its made but still crispy n yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aquariusgal

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Beef Pot Roast

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2009
This is my first Beef Pot Roast and it turned out yummy! I followed the searing directions exactly, but added a cup of beef broth since we like a bit more "au jus" and added carrots and baby potatoes. We loved it! He had seconds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Novice&Learning

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Slow Cooker Barbeque

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2009
This recipe is FANTASTIC! I made this for a bbq we were having on the weekend and I sliced the beef instead of shredding and served it in crispy hotdog rolls. Just delicious and everyone commented on how tender and nice it was. You didn't need anything else in the roll but the meat. I used topside roast beef and a whole bottle of bbq sauce and just kept basting it thru the day. A great recipe to do for when people are coming over to watch a game and you don't want to be stuck in the kitchen the whole time. Thanks for the recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Clare

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chocolate Chip Banana Bread II

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2009
Delish...used half brown sugar half white just a personal preference thing but I'm sure it's just as yum no matter what sugar you used.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by littleone101

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Super Easy Scones

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2009
yep these are great...I think any American may not get the whole scone thing...it's meant to be the equivalent of a biscuit but whats for sale labelled scone in the states is like a little muffin usually....easy and great with jam and cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by littleone101

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by aquariusgal

Strawberry Cake II

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2009
YUMMY!! This cake taste really good - i think adding fresh strawberries instead of frozen type, makes a discerning difference!! I baked at 325F for 35 mins using a 13" x 9" baking tray...cut into 2 and layered it with Whipped Cream Cheese Frosting ( also from allrecipes ). The layers were abit too thick - next time, will bake in 2x 9" round cake tins or in a jelly roll pan for thinner layers. I added 2/3s of the pureed and strained strawberries into the cake batter and the remaining 1/3 into the Whipped Cream cheese frosting. Both cake and frosting tasted really delicious n finger licking good!My dd couldnt have enough of the Strawberry Cream cheese frosting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aquariusgal

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by aquariusgal

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2009
Finally baked this much raved cake( more than 1000 reviews!)today! I was abit anxious when i poured the batter into my bundt cake tin as the thick batter did not look like the usual cake batter...infact, looked more like cookie mixture! Baked it for 55 mins at 325C ( as my bundt tin is dark colored ). I left the cake in the tin for 1/2 hr, then made the satiny choc glaze ( recipe also from allrecipes ). I was glad tht the cake unmoulded easily and looked perfect. Taste and texture of cake was fantastic - moist n soft, without a hint tht it came out from a boxed cake mix. My husband and kids love it - hubby n son had 2nd helpings and my young daughter, who normally dislike cakes finished her cake in no time at all!!Thks Denise for sharing this wonderful easy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aquariusgal

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Chocolate Zucchini Cake III

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2009
The best chocolate cake I have baked. Thank you for posting, Sandy. I followed the advice of using apple sauce in place of half the oil. I made a chocolate frosting with creamed butter, icing sugar, cocoa and milk and it was a perfect match. The cake is so moist and I can convince myself that it is healthy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs Possum 08

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Fragrant Chicken Curry

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2009
Thank you for a quick and healthy recipe. We loved this dish, serving with mango chutney and coriander really brought the flavours to life. I did not have ground cloves so added turmeric, cumin and ground coriander to my spice mix. For flavouring toward the end of cooking I added soya sauce and some honey with ginger pieces in it. I discarded the skin from my chicken befor adding the meat to the curry. I also bulked up the curry with chopped celery, capsicum (red and green) and some potatoes. Had quite a few extra vegies to use up thid weekend. Will definitely make this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs Possum 08

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-100 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States