Perth - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Mexican Rice II

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2011
This recipe has become a staple in my house! I was skeptical at first because the recipe I used to use for Mexican rice was so much more complicated, but this has given me consistently wonderful results time and time again. The texture is perfect, the taste is beautiful. The only thing I can say is that as written, it is a little bland. When stirring in the cumin, I also ad about a half a teaspoon each of chili powder and dried oregano, sometimes other things depending what I have on hand. Overall a fantastic recipe! Thanks, Mommyto2!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Shuunk

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Porterville, California, USA

Holiday Chicken Salad

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2011
Yum, yum, yum. At last, a recipe for chicken salad, which I can make without adjustments because of Australian ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by yummy mummy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chicken Parmigiana

Reviewed: May 10, 2011
Wow, so many 5 star reviews! I like this recipe, but the crumbing takes so much time when cooking for 7. So I make a lower fat version my family loves... so, its not the same as the traditional method, but its always a hit! No crumbs, just chicken baked in spaghetti sauce, topped with lots of stringy mozzarella, and there's never leftovers. Yum yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by yummy mummy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Deviled Sausages

Reviewed: May 2, 2011
This is great! Finally I have found a recipe from scratch! I use plain beef sausages, add diced onion, apple slices (and sometimes diced bacon :)) and serve on mashed potatoes, with greens on the side, and my kids come back for more... I can never make enough of this for the family - its always ALL gone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by yummy mummy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Donut Muffins

Reviewed: May 1, 2011
Lovely, easy, fast.... great recipe! Definitely let them cool before eating (if you can manage!) as the taste and texture are perfect at that time. Only thing I changed was they got coated in the margarine/sugar mix rather than just the tops dipped. Made it more like those donuts you get at the carnivals! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by misskim

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

White Cheese Chicken Lasagna

Reviewed: May 1, 2011
Thanks for the recipe. I just made this last night and the only thing I changed was adding a touch of white wine to the sauce. I did find that there was definitely room for more flavour! Next time I will follow other suggestions and add bacon to the mix (and using the same frying pan for the chicken!).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by misskim

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Clone of a Cinnabon

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2011
Yum, yum, yum!!! Hubby and the kids couldn't get enough, so I will be making these pretty often from now on. I have tried using a scone mixture instead of the dough, and that works well too. Plain sugar frosting is a less creamy option, which I've used when I didn't have cream cheese. Not quite Cinnabon anymore, but still yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by yummy mummy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Great-Aunt Nina's Noodles and Chicken

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2011
I used dried noodles, because making my own sounds like too much hard work, what with 5 kiddies to cook for! But I have to agree with another review that the end result was quite bland, and we had to pep it up with salt/seasoning. I will stick with my good old favourite chicken & vegetable noodle soup recipe, and won't make this again. Sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by yummy mummy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Marzetti® Chicken Enchiladas

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2011
We all love these enchiladas - even my toddlers can't get enough! I like the creamy option, rather than a tomato base. I use mayonnaise instead of slaw dressing and cheddar instead of monterey, since ingredients are different in Australia. Now this recipe is one of my most requested... even my friends ask me to make this for them!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by yummy mummy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chocolate Cake II

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2011
I served this cake at my birthday... everyone loved it! Drizzled with marsala, filled with strawberry jam and topped with fresh cream... mmm mmm! It was easy to whip up, but it took 3 times as long as instructed to be baked. That was disappointing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by yummy mummy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Absolute Best Liver and Onions

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2011
perfect base recipe - then add your own touch. Loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Amy's Healthy Fruity

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2011
Used Vanilla Yogurt instead and it was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tiffany

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Alfredo Sauce

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2011
Made this exactly as written. I found the parmesan to be a bit too powerful, next time I'll use white cheddar with just a bit of parm. The consistency was perfect though, and I will definitely be making this again. Quick and easy, thank you for posting :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Shuunk

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Porterville, California, USA

False Cabbage Rolls

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2011
We didn't like this one at all :( It ended up a sloppy mess and very unappetising. The cabbage and tomato combination just doesn't do it for me. Sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by yummy mummy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Quinoa and Black Beans

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2011
Yum. I was a bit leary as I have never had Quinoa before but being on a diet right now I decided I needed a high protein meal to fill me up. I left out the cayenne pepper and used one can of beans. I'll be taking it to lunch and eating it cold for the next few days!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PIPERDOG

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Italian Spaghetti Sauce with Meatballs

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
Best tomato sauce I've ever made, really flavoursome and tasty. I think 2 tsps of salt is too much, I had to add another can of tomatoes to make it edible! I used cracker crumbs instead of breadcrumbs because that is what I had on hand and it was great. I was sceptical about putting the meatballs straight into the sauce without browning, but they turned out great! Brilliant recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Norwich, Norfolk, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Piernik - Honey Bread

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2010
After some minor tweaks (like adding some baking powder for lifting power and more walnuts for extra flavour and texture) this bread was truly delightful and has become a staple in my family. Best eaten warm with butter. Just delicious! And the aroma that fills up your kitchen as it's baking is heavenly too..Thanks for posting..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Slow Cooker Beef Stroganoff I

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2010
My husband (who is a huge fan of the Hamburger Helper beef stroganoff) absolutely raved about this! I think I've converted him for good! I followed the advice of MomSavedByGrace and thanks to the changes - this was an excellent dinner that we'll be making for years to come!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karis T.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Katy, Texas, USA

Stuffed Peppers with Turkey and Vegetables

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2010
Not only was this a super healthy meal, but they were outstanding! I followed the advice of Michelle K. and used Ragu Garden Vegetable sauce instead of the tomatoes and paste. I used 1 tsp of Italian seasoning, 1/2 tsp of garlic powder and plenty of salt and pepper when cooking the meat, which gave it perfect flavor. This will be a usual in our dinner rotation from now on! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karis T.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Katy, Texas, USA
Photo by Mrs. Shuunk

Spooky Halloween Eyeballs

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2010
I LOVED this recipe! I pieced together quite a few helpful tips from other reviewers and I thank them for the success of these, I can see how making them as written would be very frustrating! Firstly, I recommend making the "dough", refrigerating it over night and rolling into balls the next day. They form easily this way and you don't have to worry about them being too greasy or mushy. Poke toothpicks in each ball and stick in the freezer for at least a half an hour. I didn't use any shortening in my white choc mixture and it turned out fine, although I found I ran out of white choc with about 5 eyeballs left, so you may need a bit more. Dips into the white choc while holding the tooth pick, allow to dry a few seconds before pushing the ball off of the end. You may leave a fingerprint or a blemish, but you can cover it up when you create the pupil. I used decorating icing for the pupils as well as the veins. They looked great, tasted exactly like a Reeses peanut butter cup. Will definitely make these again! =) Thank you for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Shuunk

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Porterville, California, USA

Displaying results 21-40 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States